Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"

"Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"

Item# 174338
"Portable propane heater offers efficient temporary heat for construction sites, agricultural buildings, industrial workspaces, remodeling jobs and more. Features a high-output fan to maximize air circulation, 10-ft. hose and regulator. High-temperature limit switch/flame safety. Compact and lightweight with attached carrying handle. Uses 40-lb. tank not included. CSA certified. Heat Settings Low, medium, high, Clearance from Corner in. 24, Oxygen Depletion Sensor No, Clearance from Side Wall in. 24, Blower CFM 350, Blower Included Yes, BTU Output 125,000, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 24, Remote Included No, Thermostat Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 3,000, Category Type Forced air, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 115, Dimensions L x W x H in. 23 x 13 x 16, Needs Direct Venting No, Regulator Included Yes, Igniter Piezo, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 11 hrs. on 40-lb. tank. Minimum required tank size - 40 lb. sold separately Ready to use - simple hookup 10-ft. hose and regulator included Made-to-last - rugged, durable steel construction High temperature limit switch"
Average Customer Rating:
4.92 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (25 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 of 25(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Review 1 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Model# MH125FAV

,
November 16, 2014
By Allbiz13
from Anchorage, Alaska
"Light, portable, powerful, and well built.
Very user friendly and simple, even an apprentice could figure it out.
I like the variable temp control...great for various applications.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
November 13, 2014
By Xtreme08
from Blaine, MN
"I have a oversized 2 car un-insulated garage. It warmed up the garage from 45 degrees to 66 degrees in about 45 minutes."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater

,
November 6, 2014
By Tgm8785
from Eastern Shore Maryland
"Did quite a bit of research before deciding on the Mr. Heater 75-125K BTU unit. I was surprised at the size when it was delivered but don't let the size fool you this small package puts out the heat. The guys that came to set my 100 gallon propane tank even commented when we initially fired the unit that it puts out the heat. My shop is an un-insulated pole barn 32'x32' with a 10' ceiling, fire it up 15 minutes on low and I'm in shirt sleeves. Great unit for the money and I have recommended this to my friends."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Took the chill off just fine

,
January 1, 2013
By CooperMac
from Louisburg, Kansas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Took the chill off in the barn on a cold 24 degree day. Worked pretty good in my uninsulated 30 x 50 outbuilding. The work area was 50 degrees and warm enough to work in overalls & stocking cap, no gloves.
Definitely worth the price and would recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extreme Heater

,
February 20, 2012
By vikingroovin
from Baldwin, Wi
"Very easy to use right out of the box. Just connect to a 40LB tank of LP gas plug it in to 120V outlet and let it burn. I had my 26' X 36' x 12' shop so warm in about 35 minutes I started to sweat and had to open the garage door for a bit to let out some heat. It was only 19 degrees F in the shop when I started out. after over heating I realized I could leave the 4' X 5' window in the shop half way open and stay plenty warm in a t-shirt with the heater on low. I won't have to worry about our -20 below weather here in Wisconsin anymore. This may be a bit more than is needed for a shop this size but the nice thing is that once it was warmed up I no longer needed to run the heater continuously. I have no doubt in my mind that I can heat my 30' X 40' non-insulated pole barn with this also."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best in the field

,
January 17, 2012
By msgt
from Fountain Inn South Carolina
"This heater is able to warm up my work shop of 5000s/f in abouy 15 to 20 minutes. The winter temperature in Greenville SC is not as cold as in the North. On a day when the temp. was in the low 40's this heater made working in my shop comfortable
I am able to engage in my nunerous hobbys in a short sleeve shirt.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater — 75

,
January 16, 2012
By JimII
from In.
"I have a 24 - 40 ft uninsulated garage so I bought two of these heaters to be on the safe side. I found out that one was more than enough to get and keep it plenty warm when I'm working in the garage. I find most the the time I need to shed my coat to stay comfortable.The built in thermostat works great. The only thing I can say bad about these units is something that all units of this kind is they are quite loud when they are running, but it is well worth it. The amount of LP these units use is great for what I use them for. I would highly recommend these units to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr. heater protable forced air heater

,
November 24, 2010
By papaweisbach
from gallatin mo
"great heater heats fast and works great. love it. wount have to buy anouther for again. thanks"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr heater ,heater

,
November 23, 2010
By bburrows63
from Shingle Srpings Ca.
"I have used this heater for for construction, heating my garage and shop with no problems it works perfect, easy starting and adjustable heat for different uses."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane heater

,
November 23, 2010
By Crownline
from IL
"This is a great heater. It heats a 1000 sq ft. building from 30 deg. to 60 deg. in under 7 minutes. I was not sure about the carbon monoxide output but soon learned it is nearly 100% efficient. My digital CO detector does not pick up any levels of CO. I have worked around the heater running for long periods of time with no problems. It is excellent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WARMS LARGE AREA UNBELIEVABLY FAST!

,
November 16, 2010
By newbuyer
from Rock Creek, OH
"After alot of tedious comparisons, I chose this for my husbands 32x76 uninsulated workshop as a birthday gift. He loves it! The issue of how much propane is used for each hour it runs did concern me at first. This heater only needs to run about 1/2 hour to warm the whole building. I called our local propane company where the price per gallon is 1/2 what it is to fill a bbq tank and they supplied a free 100 gallon tank with a gauge and hookup was simple. Now my husband can work without the aches and pains of working in the cold or with an electric heater that costs half the price, uses mega electricity and only warms you if you stand next to it. This heater is a great deal. It has 3 tempature settings, electric start, forced air and I can't think of one negative thing about it. Everything I read did say to buy a heater that is more than you need based on square feet. One way to calculate BTU needed is LxWxH then x4 for poor insulation. (32Wx76Lx8H=19456x4=77,842btu).
I bought the best rated, best price, high quality heater from my new favorite store. Also, now everytime my husband turns it on, he thinks of me.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

EASY-FAST HEAT

,
November 16, 2010
By RESQRICH
from LONG ISLAND NY
"WORKS WELL TO GET THE CHILL OUT OF A SHOP IN THE AM. HEAT IS SHUT DOWN O/N. REGULAR HEAT TAKES A WHILE TO KICK IN. THIS GETS THE TEMP UP SO THE HEATER CAN AMINTAIN.
USING A 20# CYLINDER WE GET 3-4 DAYS OF CHILL CHASING.
IT WAS A SNAP TO SET UP AND USE.
FOR FULL TIME HEAT IT WOULD BE COSTLY WITH PROPANE AT NEARLY A DOLLAR A POUND.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and effective

,
November 3, 2009
By Solaris
from Estes Park, CO
"Worked great for heating home while under construction. Fast, effective heat with very little set up work or time. Would buy again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
March 28, 2009
By Mike678
"This Heater works remarkably well heats my oversized two car garage in 15 minutes , I have a gas wall furnace in the garage but it always took to long to get up to 70 degrees. This heater works great I would highly recommend it."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable heater for the price

,
March 16, 2009
By JeepDr
from Arkansas
""I have a 2000 sq ft shop and this heater will warm it up quickly. It is a little noisy but I have been around several of these type and none were quiet running. Great heater and Northern's prices are hard to beat!""
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater

,
March 16, 2009
By spongebobby
from South Jersey
"This thing puts out some serious heat...Also some serious noise. I found I was going through propane bottles too quick, so I plumbed it in to my 500 cft. underground propane supply tank for my pool heater. It heats my 30' X 45" barn in about 30 minutes to the point where I need to turn it off. Perfect for spot heating or even preheating farm equipment to make it easier to start."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for a home shop

,
March 16, 2009
By Cirruspilot
from Bucks County, PA
"So far, this heater has been much more reliable than others I have used. In particular, the igniter looks and feels far more substantial than previous versions. Puts out a good amount of heat. Heated up my three bay garage work area in less than 20 minutes on a very cold day to "working comfortable" level. Recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hot heater

,
November 18, 2008
By hockeyguy
from St. Paul, MN
"This heater is really awesome. It will heat my 24X26 garage to about 60-70F in a matter of minutes. Simple to operate, and would recommend this to anyone looking for some fast heat."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 21, 2008
By Todd73
from NC
"light weight and very portable, and very powerful, perfect for construction sites or medium size work shops"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 75,000 - 125,000 BTU, Model# MH125FAV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Heater I Have Found

,
January 21, 2008
By Anonymous
from Vermont
"I have used various heaters to heat a variety of enclosed but uninsulated spaces and this has been the best by far. I have only encountered one issue which had to do with the unit refusing to stay lit after about 2-3 months use. The issue was a contact on the solenoid that delivers the gas to the nozzle. I called Customer Service and was walked through the simple procedure to fix the issue (Just had to sand the contact) and I was back up and running. I have had the heater for two years and have only had to do that twice. Other than that is a very efficient tool for heating a large space to workable conditions if you get the right size. I would recommend getting a 40 lbs. propane tank but then again I work and live in VT and need it to take more than the edge off the cold some days. I would highly recommend you also buy a CO2 monitor "just in case" but mine hasn't even registered a change in the two years I have run this unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.