Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"

"Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"

Item# 174339
"Portable propane heater offers efficient temporary heat for construction sites, agricultural buildings, industrial workspaces, remodeling jobs and more. Features a high-output fan to maximize air circulation, 10-ft. hose and regulator tank sold separately. High-temperature limit switch/flame safety. Compact and lightweight with attached carrying handle. Includes a built-in thermostat. CSA certified. Clearance from Side Wall in. 24, Dimensions L x W x H in. 26 1/2 x 16 3/4 x 11 1/2, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 17 hrs. per 100-lb. tank on low, Heat Settings Low, medium, high, Clearance from Corner in. 24, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 24, Igniter Electronic, Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 115, BTU Output 170,000, Blower CFM 450, Oxygen Depletion Sensor No, Remote Included No, Thermostat Included Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 4,000, Category Type Forced air. Minimum required tank size - 100 lb. sold separately Instant Heat - Economical, efficient and clean burning Easy Start Ready To Use - Simple Hookup 10ft. hose and regulator included. Made To Last - Rugged, durable steel construction High Temperature Limit Switch"
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Review 1 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable and toasty

,
December 15, 2014
By Greenbuilder
from Concord, NH
" Unit works well and is very dependable. The thermostat control seems reasonably accurate. I use this as temporary heat inside a partially closed in building under construction ~2000 sqft. and 3 stories tall. I put it in the basement and it heats all three floors to 50 degrees. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable propane heaters

,
December 12, 2014
By Neckringer
from Ferndale Wa.
" Easy to order and were in stock. Performed as advertised. Will buy from Northern Tool & Equipment when more are needed. Have had good success with everything I have purchased. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Takes the chill out

,
October 15, 2012
By EricinColorado
from Denver, CO
" Great product! Really heats a space quickly. Easy to operate, and most importantly, very stable on the ground. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 17

,
August 13, 2012
By Denny16
from Wittenberg, Wi
" Own several of these and use them in the fall for drying corn, had some spark plug issues but seemed to be resolved "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good heater

,
May 7, 2012
By Joey853r1
from Hudson Valley, NY
" This heater is powerful and, so far, reliable. It takes the chill off in my airplane hanger in about 20 minutes even on a 20 degree day. There is none of the burning eyes or odor that I got with my old kerosene salamander heater. The hose is a bit kinky and the heater is a bit noisey but overall it;s a good unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater

,
March 13, 2011
By powerdiamond
from Washington
" My shop is unfinished and uninsulated and this heater still does a first rate job of allowing me to do woodworking during the winter time cold. The shop is about 700 sq. ft. with 21 foot ceiling so the heater does have it's work set out for it. It has a increased heat setting so when it's blowing it's blowing exceptionally hot it which case I can not let it run too long without it getting to warm at ground level. Been trying to find a good heater for the past 10 years and I finally think I've found it with this one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater 170,000 BTU Propane heater

,
August 31, 2010
By stonewall
from Massachusetts
" I am a mason and work outdoors year round. Great product...easy to setup, start, and operate. Even works out in the open on freezing and below freezing days. Only negative is hauling around a 100 pound propane tank. Would reccommend to anyone needing a portable heat source. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
June 1, 2010
By rmoore
from Oregon
" This thing heats up my very large shop in no time at all. I love it. Compared to others I have used, it does not use as much gas as the other. I am very happy!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater portable propane force air heater

,
February 17, 2010
By James1201
from Ellsworth, Ks 67439
" I am very happy with the preformance of this heater. It heated the work area in about 15 minutes and kept it a constant tempture. I really like the automatic saftey of the electronic ignition so the heater would keep the room at a steady temperture without having to restart the heater by hand. I would strongly sugest to the MR HEATER company to make the electrinic ignition a standard on all models of heaters to reinsure the wonderful saftey and economic's of this product. This make it a fool proof way that no one will get injured from this wonderful product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed!

,
December 22, 2009
By Gopher
from SE North Dakota
" This heater replaced a kerosene "Knipco" style heater that I had used for many years, but has recently stopped working correctly.
I was tired of the kerosene smell whenever I ran the old heater. I also have easier access to LP gas and it is less expensive than kerosene.
I went to my local Northern store with the intention of buying the next size smaller heater, but this model had a built in thermostat, and electronic ignition. You do not have to push the red button like you do on your gas grill to get it started... just plug it in and turn up the thermostat! Though I do not need the capacity, I sure do like the convenience!
On the "trial run" today, it warmed up my 900 sq ft shop from 30˚ to 65˚ in about 20 minutes (building is insulated) and there was no smell of kerosene! Outside temp was about 15˚.
Also of note is that the manufacturer recommends using a 100# tank with this heater. I tried it with a 30# tank, and it seemed to work OK. I had the flame control set on low (125,000 btu setting). This could be a problem when the temperature gets colder... will have to see how it works out. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 21, 2008
By gregtu
from ca
" I use this heater every morning in my garage office and it works excellent. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
January 14, 2008
By GaryD01
from North Idaho
" I perched the portable forced air heater (propane) a month ago and we have used it a lot. It has done a great job and we are looking at purchasing one more for our other operation. Keep up doing it just like you are.
Gary
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 170,000 BTU, Model# MH170FAVT"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Heater For Your Buck

,
February 13, 2007
By Onix159
from Fernley NV
" This heater is cheaper to run due to the auto shut off than the smaller heaters. The 55k or 125k run through a 100lb propane tank twice as fast as the big heaters. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.