Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V

3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V

Item# 1746366
Substitute the noise of the jobsite or workshop with your favorite music. The 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector features Handsfree Voice Assist to guide you to your favorite radio stations without having to remove WorkTunes from your ears and helps program up to 50 stations. Features simple button design controls, excellent sound quality, bass boost and improved reception. Upgraded technology and programming enables use in other countries. Ear muff hearing protector provides noise reduction rating of 24dB. Adjustable stainless steel headband and soft, comfortable gel ear cushions. Voice Assist low battery indicator, with a redesigned battery cover with hinge to minimize breaking. Disposable No, Adjustable Fit Yes, Pairs qty. 1, Hearing Protector Type Earmuffs, AM/FM Radio Yes, Battery Required Yes, Case Included No, Noise Reduction Rating NRR dB 24. Digital tuner can scan and save up to 50 stations Hearing protector with 24dB NRR Voice Assist tells you what radio station you are on without having to remove Work Tunes from your ears Voice Assist guides you to your favorite radio stations and helps program new stations Simplified button design enables easy operation Voice Assist low-battery indicator Improved radio reception Easy-to-use auto scanning to quickly find and save radio stations Bass boost option Enlarged center knob for easy operation Adjustable stainless steel padded headband Soft, comfortable ear cushions Redesigned battery cover with a hinge to minimize breaking Automatic shutoff helps save batteries Recessed MP3 and two-way radio jack Scooped-out buttons give tactile identification when headphones are in use Includes MP3 cord Requires 2 AA batteries not included
Average Customer Rating:
4.249 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 217
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (217 reviews)
5 stars
128
4 stars
49
3 stars
20
2 stars
6
1 star
14
192 of 217(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Review 1 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Headphones

,
July 17, 2014
By massey202
from Brighton, Il
"These headphones work great and are easy to use. I did have to look back at the instructions a couple of times to refresh my memory, but after that it was simple. Hearing protection much better than the old pair I had and the sound quality is very good. The only problem that I have is the radio stations don't always get good reception, but neither did my other ones and I'm sure it is just a matter of where I live. Turn our head a little bit or move locations and it corrects itself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work entertainment

,
July 16, 2014
By spin30c2
from Maine
"This is my third set of Work Tunes since they first came out many years ago. I purchased this set as a spare when others are working with me cutting firewood and such. They are great for the time spent mowing the lawn and doing any other job requiring hearing protection. I absolutely love mine and so do my friends that use them!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boredom relief

,
July 15, 2014
By Dymo
from Maryland
"I have a big yard and a good size mower - this makes the trip easier since I can listen to classical music and still concentrate on not hitting something I shouldn't. It was easy to setup and is pretty good to wear for mowing and some woodworking projects."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Protects hearing

,
July 15, 2014
By c95heco
from Illinois
"If you want this solely to protect your hearing, it's a good choice. If you want to listen to the radio too, not so much. I do like the "announced" channel selection. I wanted to use these while mowing with a lawn tractor. There is some kind of interference that emits a constant buzzing noise when I'm mowing. Because of that, I went back to my old radio/hearing protection device."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hearing Protection Headsets

,
July 15, 2014
By Bear55
from Tennessee
"Overall these are good for hearing protection. The addition of being able to listen to music helps make the time go by faster if you are mowing or working out in the yard or fields. Also being able to connect to your smart phone and listen to music is a plus also. The only thing that would be a good improvement would be to have bluetooth capabilities instead of using wires."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
July 14, 2014
By 12drew
from Oklahoma
"I have a large open cab tractor, and these headphones are great at blocking out the sound of the engine while providing great music quality."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Work Tunes Headphones

,
July 14, 2014
By scurra1
from Marinette, WI
"Nice to shut out the noise and listen to some music whille mowing. They work great, nice that it tells you what station you are listening to also. Happy with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Recommend with qualifications.

,
July 13, 2014
By DOCNURSE
from Jackson, Michigan
"Nice combo of hearing protection and source of entertainment but reception is poor for signals generated more than 20-25 miles away. I use the radio mostly on my tractor mowing. Although I haven't tested it, the radio reception is probably nil in a factory or warehouse environment unless the transmitter is located in the parking lot. I believe that reception would be greatly improved with a better antenna. The antenna provided is very directional. That being said, the digital tuning with the nice lady telling you what mode you are in, what band, and what frequency you are tuned to is very nice. The controls feel solid, durable and of high quality. Battery life is very good; I'm getting 6-7 hours on a pair of double A's. The ear cups seal well. Used in the right setting this is a handy addition to the tool box."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good ear protection +

,
July 13, 2014
By Vette7566
from Knightstown, IN
"Very good ear protection, pretty easy to use the controls. I accidently ran over my set with my tractor, after cleaning some dirt off and snapping a couple pieces back on, they worked fine. I would have gave them 5 stars but the FM reception isn't the greatest, when it picks up a station is sounds great though. I would still recommend them to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT STUFF!!

,
July 13, 2014
By Saydie
from Connecticut
"I'm not real good with the ear protection, but this product, bought on sale, gave me my country music and protected my hearing. My wife noticed it worked extremely well, I couldn't hear a thing!!! :-) Good for lots of things I don't need to listen to......lawn mowing, weed whacking, leaf blowing, etc. I'm sure you can think of some uses....."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Ear Protection and Headphones!

,
July 13, 2014
By GDarbo6844
from New Hampshire
"I use hearing protection when I cut the grass and for otehr high noise situations. While cutting the grass I like to listen to my iPod. Previously I was using my high end Bose Noise Cancelling headphones. I bought these 3M Tekk Hearing Protectors thinking they would be adequate but the sound would not be great for listening to music. Instead, I found they work great for this activity and the sound quality is great. I don't even have to turn on the power to the headphones to listen to my iPod. I feel the price was great for the quality I am getting. I highly recommend these if you want to listen to your music while you work. Very, very happy with this purchase!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3m Tekk protection hearing protector

,
July 13, 2014
By bixbywood
from savannah ny
"I am using them mowing a cemetery and weed eating and they really work nice keeping the loud noises out but still able to hear noises"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Headphones

,
July 12, 2014
By gumby2262
from NY
"These work great at reducing surrounding noise. Sound quality is decent. Programming stations takes getting used to."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Purchase

,
July 12, 2014
By yleden
from attica ny
"Use them while mowing and they block out the mower and you don't need them turned all the way upl"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good!

,
July 12, 2014
By ChristmasJoe
from Inver Grove Heights, MN
"These ear muffs work awesome! They block out my overly load riding mower! The volume on the radio could be a touch louder, but it works great! They have to make a good seal on your head to work properly. For example when I had sun glasses on they don't block as much sound and I could barely hear the radio. So I just angled my glasses up to the top a bit and it worked better. The radio portion is nice. When you turn the tuner and stop, it tells you the frequency in the head phones. They are comfortable to where all day. I would defiantly recommend them to anyone who likes music and wants to drown out loud noises! Worth every penny!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

3M Tekk head phones

,
July 12, 2014
By mogimash
from Mt. Pleasant, IA
"The bad: Tuner nob fell off during first use. Can still tune without it but its not very convienant. I've tried multiple different batteries and have never gotten more than 4 hours run time. Usually 2-3 hours. Burns up way to many batteries!!
The good: Tuner voice for am/fm is nice. Connectability to other devices. Works great for noise suppression.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
July 12, 2014
By EdStef
from Lebanon, PA
"Awesome! AM-FM reception crystal clear. Battery life longer than expected. Hearing protection better than expected. For all the haters out there, read the manual and stop complaining."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Radio & Hearing Protector

,
July 12, 2014
By Ellmer
from Tolland CT
"Love this radio! So glad I bought it..Great when mowing my lawn with my John Deere rider and I will
use it when I plow my driveway in the winter (I have a cab for my John Deere). This is one of the greatest
items I have recently purchased from Northern Tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hearing protector

,
July 11, 2014
By alvamello
from Hamilton,Mt
"Works well as hearing protection, but the radio or antena has poor reception for FM radio"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Radio Earphone

,
July 11, 2014
By StPat
from Alaska
"Seems to be a well made and the audio feature works well, I may buy another set."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.