Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V

3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V

Item# 1746366
Substitute the noise of the jobsite or workshop with your favorite music. The 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector features Handsfree Voice Assist to guide you to your favorite radio stations without having to remove WorkTunes from your ears and helps program up to 50 stations. Features simple button design controls, excellent sound quality, bass boost and improved reception. Upgraded technology and programming enables use in other countries. Ear muff hearing protector provides noise reduction rating of 24dB. Adjustable stainless steel headband and soft, comfortable gel ear cushions. Voice Assist low battery indicator, with a redesigned battery cover with hinge to minimize breaking. Pairs qty. 1, Battery Required Yes, Case Included No, Disposable No, AM/FM Radio Yes, Hearing Protector Type Earmuffs, Noise Reduction Rating NRR dB 24, Adjustable Fit Yes. Digital tuner can scan and save up to 50 stations Hearing protector with 24dB NRR Voice Assist tells you what radio station you are on without having to remove Work Tunes from your ears Voice Assist guides you to your favorite radio stations and helps program new stations Simplified button design enables easy operation Voice Assist low-battery indicator Improved radio reception Easy-to-use auto scanning to quickly find and save radio stations Bass boost option Enlarged center knob for easy operation Adjustable stainless steel padded headband Soft, comfortable ear cushions Redesigned battery cover with a hinge to minimize breaking Automatic shutoff helps save batteries Recessed MP3 and two-way radio jack Scooped-out buttons give tactile identification when headphones are in use Includes MP3 cord Requires 2 AA batteries not included
Average Customer Rating:
4.283 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(184 Reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (184 reviews)
5 stars
109
4 stars
43
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 star
10
165 of 184(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Review 1 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hearing Protection w/MP3

,
April 19, 2014
By MickeyM
from Raleigh, NC
"Unit works as advertised, BUT setting the radio stations is awkward. Would be nice to have a display for the station #. You spend a lot of time listening to each station to verify what station it is. Also, if I want to add another station to the pre-set list ( which doesn't happen often), I have to find the instructions to remind me how to do it. MP3 is really the reason that I got this headset. I actually already had one with radio only, but I like listening to old radio programs and have an app on my phone for them. This way I can plug it in directly to the headset. Bluetooth would be a nice option, but that may be asking too much in regards to the conditions that the headset would be most often used."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

work tunes

,
April 17, 2014
By bd103
from Middlebury, vt
"the radio's tuning is a lot better than an old set I had. The radio tells the frequency so I know if I'm getting close to the station I want although the frequency announcement is a little loud."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3m tekk work tunes.

,
April 17, 2014
By Mike350
from western new hampshire
"I use headphones almost daily during the summer months,These are the best I have use ,The sound protection is good, The auto scan for channels is awesome.
thanks Mike350"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great sound diffuser

,
April 17, 2014
By Quaker10
from Atlanta, GA
"It fits well and the noise blockage qualities are great. I can hear the radio clearly even when the blower and mower are in full force. Great investment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3m tech headphone radio and hearing protector

,
April 16, 2014
By docmd
from arkansas
"Good outside noise suppression--good reception for local stations"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Tunes 90541-80025V

,
April 16, 2014
By Jimbo1950
from NJ
"This is my second Work Tunes headphone radio. My old one has been in service for several years and has taken a lot of abuse. It is still working fine, but I wanted this newer model because of the aux. input. I used my original radio mainly for hearing protection while working with farm equipment and mowing. The fact that I could listen to music at the same time was an added bonus. This model is even better with the addition of an aux input! There is no longer an LCD screen, but you don't need one because the radio reports the frequency audibly every time you tune up or down. You no longer have to remove the radio from your head to see what station you have tuned to. Very clever! Work Tunes has made a good radio even better! If this model holds up as well as my original radio has, I will be more than satisfied! Highly recommended!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes work go by faster

,
February 4, 2014
By TN12
from Michigan
"The work tunes have been helpful in allowing me to listen to music while having more protection from the noise of equipment. These offer much better protection than regular earbuds and are more durable. I have had these get caught on tree branches and other things and get throw off my head and they always work well. It would be nice if I could get additional stations in my area, but it still works well. The batteries seem to get used up rapidly, but I also run these long hours...so thats to be expected."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job....well.

,
February 4, 2014
By wisoak
from Wichita, KS
"Bought this hearing protection device to use with a chipper that is very loud. Works well...and I can see myself using these while mowing my lawn this summer...while listening to my favorite country music station.
Northern Tool even matched the advertised sale price in our local store.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3M Tekk Hearing Protection

,
February 4, 2014
By ebenezer2014
from Minnesota
"Excellent, but would prefer a bit more adjustability for comfort. The previously carried Husgvarna radio protectors were a bit more flexible in adjustment. Good reception and controllability."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Tractor Tunes

,
December 21, 2013
By DaveVT
from Lake Champlain
"I've had an older pair of these for years and use them primarily when I mow the lawn and run the tractor. The new digital version locks onto the stations much better, and the stored presets and scan features are really handy when you're busy. This makes hours on the tractor much more enjoyable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for working outdoors on loud equipment.

,
December 2, 2013
By skippy1968
from Alabama
"I have used this product for about 4 years and I still love it. I use it when on the lawn mower and tractor. I live in rural South Alabama and can pickup several radio stations. The audio jack is great too. I like to listen to audio books on my mp3 player. I have purchased 2 more of these for my brother in-laws and they don't do any work outside without them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product

,
December 2, 2013
By DCT455
from Indianapolis, IN
"I live in the city and get great radio reception, the air protectors work great against background noises. They muffle out lawn mower, blowers, sanders, buffers and table saw noises and you can still hear your favorite radio station. Well worth the money, it has great features when changing stations etc."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken MP3 Jack

,
September 30, 2013
By woodse
from Essex CT
"The FM reception quality is poor and the MP3 jack no longer cuts out the radio so I am stuck with crackling FM. To get at the torx screws to open up the case to fix is almost impossible"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V

,
September 17, 2013
By asemaster
from Elkhorn, NE
"Very happy with this model, Hearing suppression is good. Radio reception is good, a little static at times but no more then expected."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3M work tunes

,
September 17, 2013
By police
from Trenton Mich
"I have had these for about six months they are good but I would rather have a LED screen then the voice to see what station I am on voice is to slow they seem to work OK but I do have a few stations that cut out time to time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

A bit disappointed

,
September 17, 2013
By fourcorn
from Vermont
"I am disappointed with this product. As far as hearing protection is concerned, this product passes with flying colors - but you could purchase over the ear hearing protection for considerable less money. So I will assume you are interested in this item because you want to listen to the radio or your ipod while working. If that is the case, you could probably rule this product out from the radio point of view. Granted I live in a place that is a little remote and I don't get a lot of stations - BUT - I get some. This product was unable to get in any FM radio station with any clarity. It is hard to program (perhaps because I was only able to get intermittent signals) and it seems to eat batteries even when turned off and sitting on the shelf. I will say that when I hooked up my ipod I was able to listen to songs and the quality was good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MUCH IMPROVED !

,
September 17, 2013
By Elkbuster
from Kalamazoo Michigan
"The first pair I purchased through Northern Tool & Equipment gave GREAT service for over 10 years ! I expect even more from the new & improved version. They're more comfortable , easier to adjust fit wise & radio station wise . I can also hook it up to my phone for " my music " . EXCELLENT hearing protection that still lets you hear the machine you are operating run!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super sound and protection

,
September 17, 2013
By Dupman
from NC
"Like this product for two reason:Super sounds while working/mowing fields.Cuts down on the noise,but still can hear changes in equipment/RPMs etc.Also work perfect for hearing protection when you need a quick test while working.Very high quality product!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

,
July 7, 2013
By Usatisfied
from Concord, NC
"The FM radio drifts in and out. It won't even pick up the main station I want to listen to. I turn corner on my mower and lose station. I even pick up two stations at once. I have a MP3 player that picks up stations better. I suggest you get a good set of hearing protectors and use ear buds. I am returning these tomorrow. I was very disappointed. They need to go back to the drawing board and come up with better internal parts for the radio. The MP3 connection works fine, but that's not what I bought it for."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Sturdy

,
June 27, 2013
By Anonymous
from Massachusetts
"I have bought three different sets in the past, none lasted more than a couple of months. One drop was all that it took. One set I bought for my wife who wanted to use it for vacuuming, she dropped them once and that was the end. They still work for hearing protection, so I still have them, but the radio is worthless."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.