Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V

3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V

Item# 1746366
Substitute the noise of the jobsite or workshop with your favorite music. The 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector features Handsfree Voice Assist to guide you to your favorite radio stations without having to remove WorkTunes from your ears and helps program up to 50 stations. Features simple button design controls, excellent sound quality, bass boost and improved reception. Upgraded technology and programming enables use in other countries. Ear muff hearing protector provides noise reduction rating of 24dB. Adjustable stainless steel headband and soft, comfortable gel ear cushions. Voice Assist low battery indicator, with a redesigned battery cover with hinge to minimize breaking. Disposable No, Adjustable Fit Yes, Pairs qty. 1, Hearing Protector Type Earmuffs, AM/FM Radio Yes, Battery Required Yes, Case Included No, Noise Reduction Rating NRR dB 24. Digital tuner can scan and save up to 50 stations Hearing protector with 24dB NRR Voice Assist tells you what radio station you are on without having to remove Work Tunes from your ears Voice Assist guides you to your favorite radio stations and helps program new stations Simplified button design enables easy operation Voice Assist low-battery indicator Improved radio reception Easy-to-use auto scanning to quickly find and save radio stations Bass boost option Enlarged center knob for easy operation Adjustable stainless steel padded headband Soft, comfortable ear cushions Redesigned battery cover with a hinge to minimize breaking Automatic shutoff helps save batteries Recessed MP3 and two-way radio jack Scooped-out buttons give tactile identification when headphones are in use Includes MP3 cord Requires 2 AA batteries not included
Average Customer Rating:
4.237 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(228 Reviews) 228
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (228 reviews)
5 stars
135
4 stars
50
3 stars
20
2 stars
8
1 star
15
200 of 228(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Review 1 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3M TEKK PROTECTION WORK TUNES AM/FM

,
September 5, 2014
By HIGA
from WASHINGTON
"This was a great product, compared to my previous purchase of Hyskore AM/FM Radio Hearing Protector, Model#30194. The 3M Tekk Protector beat the Hyskore in every category, reception to hearing protection to fit and comfort."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Reception

,
August 29, 2014
By Distracted
from Texas
"Product offers poor reception for AM stations. 820mhz band has a loud buzz when tuned. Radio Shack headphones were much better."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT RADIO

,
August 27, 2014
By AF21
from San Francisco
"Love this new model headset. Voice frequency announcement is really cool and prevents guesswork. Sound and reception are excellent and they're comfortable. I use them to catch the radio broadcast at baseball games for example. They reduce stadium noise considerably, but they also work great in the garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3M Tek Headphones

,
August 25, 2014
By Fred2003
from Cape Cod MA.
"These headphones are a great benefit for my work. I am constantly operating some form of machinery, using these headphones while plugged into my i-phone allows me to enjoy music, cancels the unwanted noise, and gives me the ability to monitor phone, e-mail, and text alerts. They are extremely comfortable, I should have purchased a set of these years ago."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

90541-80025V Radio hearing protector

,
August 23, 2014
By R9999
from Lynden Wa.
"Work in a very noisy metal fabrication shop,db. level is good better with addition of ear plugs
I'm very hard of hearing so volume is a little low but has nice crisp sound , good separation of stereo channels
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless in fringe reception areas

,
August 14, 2014
By DocW
from East Tennessee
"This would be a great product if it had a more sensitive receiver. I live out in the country with marginal radio reception. This radio will not pick up any of the stations I listen to. It is useless to me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

headphones

,
August 7, 2014
By kevinator69
from hadley
"great for noise protection while mowing the lawnor using power tolls ect."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product

,
July 31, 2014
By Camo1
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Just what I was looking for, with state of the art technology. Clear sound and great noise reduction from engine noise."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

To complecated

,
July 25, 2014
By Ulako
from Gibsonia Pa.
"I have 2 other sets of this style. And I like the digital window. This unit is a little to complecated to set up, not sure yet if I will keep it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much improved product

,
July 24, 2014
By Donaldgs
from Ypsilanti, MI
"I have had a set of these before. This generation is a great product I like the pre sets, and the reception is improved greatly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hearing protection and a radio

,
July 21, 2014
By Skeeter47
from Millersburg PA
"I listen to the radio and spend a lot of time outside and this product has by far been the best we have ever bought."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Headphones

,
July 17, 2014
By massey202
from Brighton, Il
"These headphones work great and are easy to use. I did have to look back at the instructions a couple of times to refresh my memory, but after that it was simple. Hearing protection much better than the old pair I had and the sound quality is very good. The only problem that I have is the radio stations don't always get good reception, but neither did my other ones and I'm sure it is just a matter of where I live. Turn our head a little bit or move locations and it corrects itself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work entertainment

,
July 16, 2014
By spin30c2
from Maine
"This is my third set of Work Tunes since they first came out many years ago. I purchased this set as a spare when others are working with me cutting firewood and such. They are great for the time spent mowing the lawn and doing any other job requiring hearing protection. I absolutely love mine and so do my friends that use them!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boredom relief

,
July 15, 2014
By Dymo
from Maryland
"I have a big yard and a good size mower - this makes the trip easier since I can listen to classical music and still concentrate on not hitting something I shouldn't. It was easy to setup and is pretty good to wear for mowing and some woodworking projects."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Protects hearing

,
July 15, 2014
By c95heco
from Illinois
"If you want this solely to protect your hearing, it's a good choice. If you want to listen to the radio too, not so much. I do like the "announced" channel selection. I wanted to use these while mowing with a lawn tractor. There is some kind of interference that emits a constant buzzing noise when I'm mowing. Because of that, I went back to my old radio/hearing protection device."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hearing Protection Headsets

,
July 15, 2014
By Bear55
from Tennessee
"Overall these are good for hearing protection. The addition of being able to listen to music helps make the time go by faster if you are mowing or working out in the yard or fields. Also being able to connect to your smart phone and listen to music is a plus also. The only thing that would be a good improvement would be to have bluetooth capabilities instead of using wires."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
July 14, 2014
By 12drew
from Oklahoma
"I have a large open cab tractor, and these headphones are great at blocking out the sound of the engine while providing great music quality."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Work Tunes Headphones

,
July 14, 2014
By scurra1
from Marinette, WI
"Nice to shut out the noise and listen to some music whille mowing. They work great, nice that it tells you what station you are listening to also. Happy with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Recommend with qualifications.

,
July 13, 2014
By DOCNURSE
from Jackson, Michigan
"Nice combo of hearing protection and source of entertainment but reception is poor for signals generated more than 20-25 miles away. I use the radio mostly on my tractor mowing. Although I haven't tested it, the radio reception is probably nil in a factory or warehouse environment unless the transmitter is located in the parking lot. I believe that reception would be greatly improved with a better antenna. The antenna provided is very directional. That being said, the digital tuning with the nice lady telling you what mode you are in, what band, and what frequency you are tuned to is very nice. The controls feel solid, durable and of high quality. Battery life is very good; I'm getting 6-7 hours on a pair of double A's. The ear cups seal well. Used in the right setting this is a handy addition to the tool box."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 3M Tekk Protection Work Tunes AM/FM Radio/MP3 and Hearing Protector, Model# 90541-80025V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good ear protection +

,
July 13, 2014
By Vette7566
from Knightstown, IN
"Very good ear protection, pretty easy to use the controls. I accidently ran over my set with my tractor, after cleaning some dirt off and snapping a couple pieces back on, they worked fine. I would have gave them 5 stars but the FM reception isn't the greatest, when it picks up a station is sounds great though. I would still recommend them to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.