Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 3M ELC-22 Shooter's Ear Muff

3M ELC-22 Shooter's Ear Muff

Item# 174648
This 3M shooter's ear muff is perfect for shooting and hunting. Noise reduction rating of 22dB. Adjustable headband, cushioned earcups. Hearing Protector Type Earmuffs, Noise Reduction Rating NRR dB 22, Adjustable Fit Yes, Pairs qty. 1, Battery Required No, AM/FM Radio No, Case Included No, Disposable No.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (7 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 7(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 3M ELC-22 Shooter's Ear Muff
Review 1 for 3M ELC-22 Shooter's Ear Muff
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Low priced item - Don't expect a lot

,
October 8, 2012
By lawnpirate
from Florida Gulfcoast
"These ear muffs are functional and comfortable to wear, but don't expect them to last a long time. If used for shooting as the product name implies, they should be okay for a while with careful handling (we don't use them for that and I can't say how well they work at suppressing those sounds). We use them for our lawn service crews to attenuate the sounds of our backback blowers and other 2 cycle equipment. They do a fine job, but with the constant handling only seem to last a couple of months. Invariably, the ear cups pop off the mounting base and once that happens, their days are numbered. You can pop it back on, but each time you do the fit is looser and it pops off easier until it eventually won't stay on anymore."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 3M ELC-22 Shooter's Ear Muff
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ear muff

,
October 8, 2012
By B1234567778
from Oklahoma City
"The ear muff works as advertized. I have noticed two differences from my past earmuff set: 1. The head connection is quite short and will not fit coimfortably over a ball cap and 2. the sound that I hear is louder than my last pair ( I suspect because the head connection does nt allow the muffs to seat well over my ears and they probably do not atinuiate sound as well as my old ones."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 3M ELC-22 Shooter's Ear Muff
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect to quickly protect your hearing

,
November 15, 2009
By WorksWithHands
from Billerica, MA
"Pros: Inexpensive. Comfortable. Greatly tones down any sound. Keep your ears quite warm.
Cons: Does not block out much sound when worn with a hat... I don't like not wearing a hat landscaping.
I put these over the AO Stafety ear plugs and they work great! I use anything from leave blowers to lawn mowers. Good product."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 3M ELC-22 Shooter's Ear Muff
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
November 18, 2008
By huntman
from Arlington, WA
"Works great. The price is definately right. I use them for sighting in.
Holds down the sound just great.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 3M ELC-22 Shooter's Ear Muff
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AO Safety Ear Protection

,
April 14, 2008
By beattofit
from Royal City, WA
"I initially bought this ear protection for the price. I needed a few spares to keep around for when the guys loose their own. Well these are comfortable, they stay put on your head and the noise reduction is amazing. Normally we will use earplugs and put these over the top. With this style we don't have to use ear plugs anymore. We operate a Vactor for our City's Sewer Department and the noise levels can be very high with two diesel engines turning 3,000 rpm's 5 feet from your head. Another thing I noticed is, when we are not wearing them we like to hang them from our necks under our chin. My old ones were so tight I could not do this without some discomfort to my neck. These allow me to wear them like this and they don't slide around on my head."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Avaa
 
Please wait while more information about Avaa is loaded.
Additional information about Avaa could not be loaded.
Clicked wrong button
April 10, 2011
"When asked 'if this question was helpful', I hit the 'thumbs down', I meant to hit thumbs up"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for 3M ELC-22 Shooter's Ear Muff
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Versitile

,
January 21, 2008
By Bonn
from Ada, Ohio
"I had bought 1 pair of AO Safety ELC-22 Shooter's Ear . But once I found that I could use them for a variety of tasks I bought 3 more pair. Of course they are excellent for target practice. When we get desperate we try anything!!
I started using the muffs for feeding some very noisy animals and when I nead to cut wood for projects. Then I found that if I take naps, on my back, they are excellent for taking the edge off sound so that I can still hear but it's muted enough to let me sleep. My husband likes me to watch TV with him, but I like reading, now I can be in the same room reading while he watches TV. He looks at me and snickers but at least we are in the same room.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 3M ELC-22 Shooter's Ear Muff
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
July 11, 2007
By williewillie
from Texas
"Used the ear muffs with chain, table, and jig saws. Worked well and were comfortable. I recommend to use ear muffs intead of foam type ear plugs to prevent ear wax from clogging ears and to keep sweat from entering ear canal and causing infections (this is why I purchased this product)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.