Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003

Item# 174897
Elegant high-efficiency stove has built-in blower to circulate heated air. 'Airtight' stove heats up to 1400 sq. ft., with a maximum heat output of 26,300 BTU with Douglas fir and 68,000 BTU with hardwood. One full load burns approx. 6-8 hours. Not for sale in Washington. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Mobile Home Approved No, Dimensions W x D x H in. 25 1/2 x 20 x 32, UL UL approved, Product Type Stove, Thermostat Included No, Clearance from Side Wall in. 15, Blower Included Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 20 x 12, Clearance from Corner in. 12, EPA Exempt No, Door Opening W x H in. 17 x 12, Heat Settings No, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 12, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,400, Blower CFM 165, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 120, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 18, Stove Pipe Included No, Full Load Run Time Hours 6-8, BTU Output 68,000, Fuel Type Wood, Igniter Manual. Ideal for cabins, garages, hunting camps, lodges and more Heavy-duty 3/16in. steel plate construction Primary air inlet at front ignites wood at bottom secondary rear air inlet feeds air to top of firebox to fully consume wood for maximum burning efficiency Flue Type Round Door Opening 17in. Stove pipe not included Cannot be installed in mobile homes
Average Customer Rating:
3.632 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
13 of 19(68%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Review 1 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Good Little Stove

,
January 12, 2012
By MomofFive
from Sunset, Texas
" We purchased our stove 7 years ago and it is still beautiful and running great! We use it as our only source of heat so we run it non-stop. We have had to replace the blower once and repaired the second one. That's why it only got a 4 is because the blower doesn't last long. All blowers on stoves are loud in my experience! The key to a good fire and good temps is the kind of wood your burning. If it's green forget getting a good fire, however our woods burned up a couple years ago from a wildfire so we have been slowly cutting down and burning that wood and it is awesome. It's like burning with charcoal. Messy, but what a great source of heat. Oak is definately the best. This fire does need to be checked on in the middle of the night, but I'm usually up anyways and it's no big deal to have to throw a log or two on it. If your home is properly insulated then you shouldn't get that cold at night. We could definately see a huge difference in our home after we replaced all windows and doors and insulated. It's been a great source of heat for us and I would buy another one if I had to. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

A waste of time and money

,
January 11, 2011
By ChiTown
from Chicago
" We have been using this stove for over a month. We bought it because of the claimed 6-8 hr. burn time which is impossible to achieve on this stove; maybe if you burn petrified wood. I get no more than 2-3 hrs max burn time. It is impossible to control the burn rate on this stove. It either burns Extremely hot where you go through your full load in an hour, or too low; where the fire just smolders and you get no heat out of it.
During the 1st week of ownership. The door hinge pin fell off and the door came off in my hand with a fire blaring. I managed to put the door back on, luckily I had thick fire-proof gloves on as I was adding yet more wood to the fire, but not before I cinched my eyebrows.
The blower stopped working, which is fine by us since the thing is way too loud. Don't expect to carry a conversation in the same room with the blower on high. Also, the air control knob broke off; it's a welded piece so I was not able to put back on.
After a month of fighting with this thing, I called the company and they gave me the ok to return the piece of cr@p to the store.
I did a lot of research online and found on one of the forums (hearth.com) that the Pacific Energy Summit is highly recommended. I bought the PE Alderlea (same size as Summit) and it's an incredible stove that does everything the manufacturer claims (It was pricey but well worth the extra money).
Like other posts explained here; if you want temporary, occasional heat out of a poor quality stove, the Highlander may be ok for you, if you have a small house or only want to heat ONE room. But If you want something that works reliably, get another brand. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
24out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Toasty Household

,
August 30, 2010
By PuuOo6785
from Volcano, HI
" Easy to Install, maintain, and keep clean indoor
Small yet powerful with warmth for the entire house
Only tricky part is adjusting the airflow to burn efficiently
Fun and romantic to be able to see the fire burning
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what it is cracked up to be

,
April 15, 2010
By Brian113
from Woodland Park, CO
" I bought the Highlander 3 or 4 years ago. I use the stove as my primary source of heat and have to say that ever since I started using the Highlander I have regretted not buying a different stove. The blower is very noisy, the worst part about the blower is the bearings, they are of very poor quality requiring re-greasing every week or two. The bearings are not sealed so the grease comes out during normal use. I have had to buy a new blower assembly each year for $150.00 since because Vogelzang does not sell a bearing kit. Also the burn time is about 3 hours which is not even close to the burn time listed when I bought the stove (which is one of the main reasons that I bought this stove. The unit does not have an ash hopper which makes cleaning more difficult but is in my opinion one of the lesser problems with this stove. The stove does look good and does produce heat but only for a limited time. If you want a stove for occasional burning and for burning for short periods the highlander will work fine, but if you want a stove for a primary source of heat so you can save on gas like I did you do not want the highlander. The reason that I am writing this review so long after purchasing the stove is that I am looking for a replacement stove that will do what I need. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
ChiTown
Chicago 
 
Please wait while more information about ChiTown is loaded.
Additional information about ChiTown could not be loaded.
I too had a highlander, but now I'm happy!!!
January 11, 2011
" I have two words for you. Pacific Energy.
Get a PE Summit and it will solve all the cons you mentioned. The Summit solves all the shortcomings of the Highlander.
I get tremendous heat output and REAL 9 hour burn times consistently.
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not purchase Highlander TR003

,
February 24, 2010
By Tyler1
from Indiana
" We purchased this wood stove a few months ago and we are VERY disappointed. The blower is so loud even on the lowest setting you cant even hear the fire and have to crank up the TV. The damper design does not let enough air flow to the fire. We have to leave the door cracked open a bit so that the fire gets enough air. Also the gasket around the door already fell off and had to be reattached. We wish we would of had this information before we installed this wood stove. Don't make the same mistake we did. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Should have bought something else

,
November 29, 2008
By Joyg6940
from Harrisburg, Pa.
" I bought this stove and have used it for 2 full heating seasons. I have been trying to heat approx. 1100 sq. ft. with it. It is a nice looking stove, and once it gets going heats well. However, the firebox is undersized and I find I am refilling it every 3-4hrs. I noticed that many ppl complained about lighting it. I installed an automatic damper on the stovepipe which took care of the problem. In addition, having to shovel out the firebox daily is a pain too.
I am planning on trying a Durango woodstove and hope that I can get at least 8 hrs burntime out of it. In the right situation, the highlander might be ok. So I guess I dont want to say its a bad stove, but it was bad for me! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Highlander - Almost a Great stove

,
March 3, 2008
By Kindler
from Hanover, NM
" This is a wonderful stove with exceptional features. It's also Beautiful! The catalitic feature works perfectly and you have to look hard to see if there is any smoke coming out of the flue. The only feature the Highlander lacks is an ash clean out box. This is so common on good stoves these days, it's hard to understand why it isn't included. So, if you don't mind the old shovel & ash bucket routine, this is a full 5 star stove.
That said, I'll now explain why I had to return my Highlander and the simple problem that Vogelzang should have figure out immediately. As you'll see in a few other reviews, my stove would barely light and didn't draw and would only get to about 200 degrees. I talked to the stoves designer 3 times and all he could come up with was more flue and opening a window. I added 4 more feet of triple wall pipe and went up to 18 feet, as it didn't help when I went up to 15 feet. He thought opening a window might help. No change. So, reluctantly, I arranged to send the stove back as defective. Northern was wonderful to me and even paid return shipping. When the new stove (the dismally designed "Mountaineer" - see other reviews) arrived and I took apart the Highlander, I decided to see what might have been wrong internally as so many people liked this model. The problem was so simple it makes me mad, now, just thinking about it.
The air couldn't escape the firebox because a ceramic insulating blanket slid forward in transit and was blocking the air passage at the front top of the stove. I called Vogelzang again and the engineer confirmed my discovery. The blanket is supposed to go up the back of the stove about 2-3 inches and leave that much space in the front for escaping air. Why couldn't that blanket been attached?! It simply jigged forward and blocked the air flow. Why couldn't Vogelzang's engineer and this stoves designer known about this problem after 4 years of production?!
So, I slid it back where it was supposed to go and reconnected the flue - and it burned wonderfully. Don't hesitate to buy the Highlander. Just check the position of the white ceramic blanket when you install it. You'll be very pleased with this advanced stove. Northern - 5 stars! Vogelzang - 00
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove

,
January 16, 2008
By Leo1300
from Connecticut
" I have purchased this stove for all the unique features it has. It has a great wood capacity, fan blower, venting for both exhaust and intake. I have had it cranking with a few logs and bio bricks and I will say the heat is excellent. I have purchased a magic reclaimer also and between both blowers it does a great job. I would recommend this stove to the average home owner or business individual without any thinking twice. I love it !! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Beauty

,
January 14, 2008
By KatieandOwensmom
from Clermont, Ga
" This wood burning stove is spectacular. It has the charm of an antique, but the features anyone would need in a new product. The appeal is captivating. We can sit and watch it for hours (even the children). We have not even installed a TV in the room because our family loves spending time around the fire. Our friends cannot believe the great value either. Thank you for offering great products and amzing prices. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Second winter... ready for another

,
December 3, 2007
By jriemen
from NW Arkansas
" The summer of 2006 me and my father installed the Highlander into the den of my house. Over all I am very pleased with its performance. However, there are a few things to watch out for. One, the chimney must be at least 15 feet high. This is the required minimum height from Vogelzang and they mean it. Not 14 feet, not 11 feet, 15 feet OR more. Mine is 16 feet. I have good draft (now) and the glass stays much cleaner. Two, the “z” bar will rest above the front air feed. This requires some time on your back with someone holding a flashlight and a bit of patients… but you can slip it into place and the fire bricks will rest on top of it. Once the bar is slipped into place over the air feed, it will not fall (anymore). Third, if I get to rough cleaning the glass or removing ashes, the fiber glass door can be knocked loose. For this, I keep a container of chimney “fine grit” mortar repair handy. I also purchased a stove pipe thermometer and placed it 18 inches about the stove so I could see operating temperate. The fan is loud, very loud. Not much I can do about that. All-in-all, I would buy another one! Price wise, I have not found anything that comes close to the style and functionality of this stove in my area for under $1000.00! I’m enjoying “sticking it to” the utility companies! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
October 29, 2007
By JoenNC
from North Carolina Mountains
" We bought 2 of these stoves to heat our two rental cabins. They are east to use and heat our 1,200 sq.ft. cabins very well in the cold winters here in the mountains of North Carolina. We looked at several wood burning stoves, most of which cost 3 to 4 times what the Highlander cost. The wide door makes it easy to put logs of 16 to 18 inches in the fire box. The glass door gives you all of the beauty of a fireplace, with none of the heat loss. I highly recommend the Highlander. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

vogelzang tr003

,
October 15, 2007
By mudman
from Warrenton, North Carolina
" The small size makes it easy to find a spot for this powerful stove. Installs easily and looks nice in any enviroment. Flame burns evenly and produces a beautiful picture thru the front glass. I am happy with my purchase and would recomend the stove to a friend.
Mudman
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

As advertised

,
October 14, 2007
By TheMeastro
from Massachusetts
" I read all the reviews before I bought the Highlander.I also called Vogelzang and spoke with their tech. dept. to make sure I was getting the stove I wanted.(I only wanted to do this once) By knowing your needs it is possible to get the right product for your indivdual needs,(size,price,effiecency,etc.)
I found that this stove is as advertized for value and usefullness.
The only thing I'd like the company to add at some future time is a water heating jacket(for domestic hot water)
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what I expected

,
March 8, 2007
By Sukey
from Kentucky
" We purchased this stove to replace an existing wood stove. We wanted one where we could see the flame. We were very disappointed. The fire box is very small and you cannot put enough wood in it to last for any period. It did not burn well unless you kept the door cracked to get enough air to the fire. With the door cracked, you cannot leave the stove unattended. We took it out and put back the old one. It is now sitting in the garage collecting dust. It was a total waste of money. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blowe

,
March 7, 2007
By cewick
from St. Louis Mo.
" I purchased this stove to provide supplimental heat and emergency heat during
power outages. After experiencing a 300% rate increase from the power company I turned off the electric furnace and heated my entire house (1200sq. ft.) with this stove for three months now. It preformed flawlessly and provided more than enough heat to keep my house comfortable well into the single digits. A couple reviews mentioned a problem with the door gasket. I experienced no problem so I assume this issue has been corrected. I would have no reservations recommending this Stove to anyone.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

what a stove.

,
January 17, 2007
By FrankinNC
from Salisbury, NC
" When purchasing my highlander stove I went by discription and did not measure the firebox as Northern did not have a display model. If the wood is a fraction over 18" it will not fit and I had to recut my whole wood pile.
My other point is that the Z baffle bar that is installed loose (I suppose for brick replacement) keeps falling down. I called the factory to find out what was up and they said that it just fits in there loose and the bricks hold it. Well, guess what ? It isn't so. Mine falls out about every other time that I build a fire or stoak
wood. I am ready to weld it in as they say its necessary to have it in there.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wood Stove

,
December 26, 2006
By southernlady
from Kings Mountain, NC
" I have heated with a wood stove for about twenty years and this one was a Christmas gift from my son and daughter-in-law to replace my old one. I am very pleased with the heat output. The only problems I have had is the door gasket had to be replaced immediately because it was falling off and I can't get the air control vent to regulate the airflow so the wood burns up faster than I want it to. Because of this instead of burning for 8 to 10 hours as stated a full load of wood only lasts about 5 to 6 hours. If I can get this straightened out I will be 100% satisfied with this wood stove. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stove review

,
December 5, 2006
By irwinshomerepair
from Peabody Ma.
" I'm pleased with the heat this stove puts out. It is small but i have a small house so it works for me. The only problem is the blower fan is so loud. assembly was simple and only took minutes. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vogelzang Highlander Wood-Burning Stove with Blower, Model# TR003
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Stove for the Money

,
December 5, 2006
By RonB
from Pasadena, MD
" This is a very nice stove with high quality construction. I spoke to the company (Vogelzang) twice before purchasing from NT and they were very helpful. I've had my stove for 3 weeks and have had no major issues at all (and haven't turned on my oil furnace either). Only one small issue to report: I would recommend buying a replacement gasket for the door glass as the one that comes with the unit leaks air causing soot on the glass. Once I replaced the gasket, this went away. I bought the Highlander to replace an old box stove, and the difference is tremendous. With the Highlander, there's little to no smoke due the high efficiency burning system, putting more heat into my house, instead of smoke going up the chimney (I'm burning about 1/3 less wood to get the same heat) and the view of the flames through the glass is also very nice to watch. If you're looking for an inexpensive, high quality, high efficiency stove, this is a great choice. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.