Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001

Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001

Item# 174899
High-efficiency airtight stove heats up to 1200 sq. ft., with a maximum output of 28,337 BTU with Douglas fir, and 68,000 BTU with hardwood. Heavy-duty 3/16in. steel plate construction and fully firebrick lined. Features secondary air reburn combustion system, a cast iron feed-door with gasket, clear-view air-washed ceramic glass, cam-lock latch and cool-touch spring handle. Stove accepts logs 17in. long. One full load burns approx. 8-10 hours. Safety tested to UL 1482. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Firebox Size W x D in. 18 x 12, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Full Load Run Time Hours 8-10, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,200, EPA Exempt No, Mobile Home Approved No, Clearance from Side Wall in. 15, Dimensions W x D x H in. 23 1/2 x 20 x 27, Door Opening W x H in. 17 x 12, EPA Certified Yes, Clearance from Corner in. 12, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 12, BTU Output 68,000, Product Type Stove, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, Igniter Manual, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 17, UL UL approved, Blower Included Yes. Includes blower Ideal for cabins, garages, hunting camps, lodges and more Primary air inlet at front ignites wood at bottom secondary rear air inlet feeds air to top of firebox to fully consume wood for maximum burning efficiency Firepot Depth 12in. Door Opening 17in. Not for mobile home installations
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001
Review 1 for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Stove Nice Price

,
February 4, 2014
By SteveD1
from PA
"Bought this for our hunting camp. It heat the camp well only issue is the fire box is kind of small."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best I ever had!

,
October 20, 2013
By Daddyniowa
from Northern, Mo.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been burning wood since like 1989 in my homes, and have had several different wood- burners. This one has been the best one ever. I seen another post where he said that is hard to light or does not draft well. This I found true as well, but once you get it lit and don't let it go out, it burns like a champ and is very miserly on wood. Against the manufacturers recommendations. I installed a damper right on top of the stove, so I can damper it down at night and that works fantastic! Had mine for like three years now with no problems for my main heat source in the Winter"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our Wonderful Wood Stove

,
August 13, 2012
By MommaLittle
from Lubbock, TX
"We are so excited about our wood stove! I must admit that we have not yet used it since it's 100 degree weather right now in Texas, but this stove is obviously quality made and built to last! We are so glad that we purchased it!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-30points
0out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Some minor issues

,
December 1, 2010
By MrSustainable
from Maine
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I installed this stove in my workshop to augment my solar/propane radiant floor heating system back in 2005. I have had a few issues with it.
First when it arrived they provided a replacement gasket because apparently the adhesive they use to adhere it was failing. I replaced it and that went fairly well, but the latch does not close tight enough on the gasket to form a good seal all around - especially near the latch. I did try various adjustments with the latch to no avail.
I'm also a bit disappointed with the draw. My chimney is all metal with 10 feet inside and 12 feet outside -- and it goes basically straight up from the stove. I also have a Magic Heat reclaimer 2ft above the stove. I have to leave the damper wide open at all times, and even leave the door cracked open to get enough draft unless I have REALLY dry wood such as construction scrap.
I think they should engineer the damper to open up more to allow for low draft installations. Leaving the door cracked open (on the latch) compromises the internal air flow.
Nonetheless this little stove really puts out the heat and I am pretty please with it in general."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little stove

,
February 1, 2010
By MommomNant
"We purchased this stove from Northern about 5 years ago to do the major heating in our 12,000 sq. ft. home.
It has been great! On a good night the main room can get up to 80 degrees, takes the chill off of the upstairs and if the fire is started early enough and if we remember to open the doors upstairs, its just fine up there.
We put the last log on about 11 or midnight, and in the morning at about 6:30 am, the house is at about 50 degrees. Enough to keep the pipes from freezing. I will put the gas heat on for two hours in the am, then we start the fire up again around 4:30 in the afternoon.
It works great! We are very pleased, considering the price...it's not a bad little stove.
Extremely windy nights, its a little harder to get the tempture up really high, but warm enough to be comfortable."
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value for a good stove

,
November 18, 2008
By PhredG
from Colorado
"This is a good stove for exceptional value. As with all wood stoves you just gotta learn how to work with it. As noted in previous comments the stove itself is only part of a larger heating system which also includes correct stovepipe installation, combustion air intake, and - not wanting to be silly here but - installation & use in a heatable space. That means the space you're trying to heat must be heatable (read: insulated with limited & controllable air ventilation). For example, I don't think this stove would be a good option in an uninsulated garage in a very cold environment. But it works great for me in a small (900 sq ft) well insulated cabin with an open floor plan. It doesn't heat particularly well closed down for the night. And it tends to burn more wood than a smaller, tighter, maximum efficiency stove (think: Jotul). But it is a nice compromise between a wood burning heating stove and a fireplace. Not sure I would recommend it as my only heating source for an entire winter unless I had unlimited wood to burn. But it is great for a vacation cabin or fishing/hunting retreat. Again, very fair value for a decent product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a difference!!

,
September 24, 2008
By bababooeyfafafooey
from Jamaica, Vermont
"I purchased this stove to replace my antique stove to heat my 1000 sq ft home. It is very efficient and puts out tons of heat! The large glass window gives my entire living room a new feel while the fire is going. So far I am heating my house with much less wood that my antique stove. The only drawback, which could be the fault of my chimney, is that I get some smoke in the room when I open the door to feed the fire.
The stove was delivered quicker than expected and everything was in good condition.
If you have a good chimney set up and dry firewood I don't see how you could go wrong with this stove.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little stove!

,
August 18, 2008
By 68chevyII
from Hartland, Mi.
"I have an 1100 sq. ft. home and this little stove has has heated it excellent. I have not turned on my furnace in almost 3 years now. Great fire control, great heat, and a nice size window for viewing the fire. I would recomend getting the optional blower. The Defender has saved me thousands of $$$ on fuel oil. Excellent stove for a smaller house or barn."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

defender defenceless

,
January 14, 2008
By wolfonce
from northwest
"not a bad stove but will not heat 900 sq feet. it is simple and well built but won't fire well and barely keeps itself warm let alone heats a shop. I would try a larger stove."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern Tool + EquipmentProduct ExpertJuly 14, 2010
This issue is likely associated with poor chimney draft and does not represent problems with the stove's manufacturer design. Draft is solely a function of the chimney. The stove is unable to create draft. Draft is the engine that is absolutely necessary for any wood stove to operate properly. Without the proper amount of draft, the fire will burn slowly (if at all) and soot the glass. Insufficient draft can also cause smoke to leak from the stove. A fire that is starved for oxygen on account of poor draft will put out very little heat.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vogelzang Defender Wood-Burning Stove, Model# TR001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Defender Wood Stove

,
October 29, 2007
By DBSUP
from Northern Michigan
"I purchased one of these stoves to heat my cabin in Northern Michigan. When I uncrated the stove I thought that it could have been packed better, it had a few broken fire bricks (Which by the way were replaced by the manufacturer free of charge) I had initially set up the stove last winter, and it never seemed to draft well, or develop a rolling fire, I had to keep the door cracked so it could draft better. Over the summer I had a friend of mine take a look at it, ( He intalls wood, and coal stoves). He very aptly pointed out that my chimney pipe was not long enough. We added another six foot section of pipe, and that was the answer. This stove now drafts properly and efficiently consumes the firewood. My cabin is just short of 1200 sq feet, and this stove heats the entire place in a very short time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
85down
upper mn 
 
Please wait while more information about 85down is loaded.
Additional information about 85down could not be loaded.
Air tight pipes make a good stove work great.
January 17, 2012
"Use a lighter to see if you have a vortex draft (upward) when first installing the stove pipe. If not must make sure pipes air tight. This stove heats my 900 sq. ft garage to 85 with outside temp in the single digits. i leave windows open which creates a nice cool draft and fresh air to cool it down. I burn maple, red oak, white birch, and basswood. Con is splitting the wood into smaller pieces to get hot embers. Once you got those you can put 16" long by 5 inches thick into it and will burn up to 3 hrs top. There is no 8-10 hrs of fire time. You might have some golf ball size embers after 8 hrs but that rarely happens, depending on damper control. If you have it all the way open(to the right) it burns only 3-4 hrs tops but puts out so much heat you can go without putting wood into it for 8 hrs once you have a your ideal heat (70 for me) you can fill it not put wood in for it for another 8 hrs. I work in my garage and it provides me heat all day and night if necessary. My buddy bought a 1500 dollar stove and wishes he got this one instead. Its given more than i expected. Great stove."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)