Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN

Item# 174983
Slim-profile design is less obtrusive and more attractive than traditional vented heaters. Heater requires no electricity so it will even work in a power failure electricity required for blower. 115V, 0.4 Amp blower has 4-ft. electric cord for a standard wall outlet. Use in accordance with local codes and ordinances. U.S.A. Product Type Forced air, Thermostat Included Yes, BTU Output 18,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 529, Igniter Piezo, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 5.5, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Heat Settings Infinite, Needs Direct Venting Yes, Blower CFM 125, Gas Inlet in. 3/8, Dimensions L x W x H in. 9 3/8 x 22 1/4 x 25 1/4, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 115, Blower Included Yes. Mounts on any outside/exterior wall from 4 1/2in.-12in. thick Thermocouple safety valve Heater requires no electricity electricity required for blower 115V, 0.4 Amp blower has 4-ft. electric cord for a standard wall outlet Easy to install 10-year limited warranty on heat exchanger 1 year on balance of product
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN
Review 1 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater!

,
October 18, 2012
By slmorgan25
from Bergen, NY
" We bought this heater to heat our backroom that was being heated with an unvented propane heater. Heater seemed easy to install (My husband did it, not me!) and it works great! Very quiet, keeps the room nice and warm and its not even on high! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
7out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

space heater

,
May 7, 2012
By djkris
from PA
" I installed this heater in my basement. It keeps the basement and first floor of the house nice and warm. I like that it comes on and off as needed. I was looking for a vented heater , but most of them cost twice as much. This is a good value for the price and just the right size to keep the chill off. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very good wall heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Lewis3
from Ct.
" Needed a new natural gas wall heater to replace an old one in a room built on a concrete slab and this heater is perfect for the application.
Decided to go with this unit after doing a ton of research. The heater’s BTU size and direct vent design were the deciding factors. It was very easy to install due to the good instructions that came with it, and this unit works very well.
I may be needing a wall heater for another property and if so, will be buying another one of these.
I would highly recommend this unit.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Installation through window too

,
October 22, 2011
By BobCP
from Connecticut
" I didn't want to install directly through a wall (2nd floor, asbestos siding), so I made a box that fit in a window opening. Passed the exhaust and intake through the box to the outside. Had to raise the unit up about a foot on custom legs. Everything works well, but not an installation for a novice. Maybe they should offer a similar option, although it would have to be customizable for various window configurations. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

18,000 BTU House Warmer Direct vent furnace

,
March 29, 2011
By EveryWareConstruction
from Lincoln City, Oregon
" Price for this unit is great. I had to bargain shop for a family this one fit the bill perfectly. These units are quick and easy to install and connect. If I had to improve this item I would offer 100% stainless steel vent kit. As well as an accessory a mounting block that could be installed weather tight, after the hole was cut into the siding. You can create this block. However you need to make sure it meets local codes and building practices. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and Efficient

,
November 16, 2010
By Adobe2100
from Rensselaer, NY
" The heater was relatively easy to install and operates quietly and consistantly. It has been running for approx 60 days without incident. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

5* for Northern Tool

,
October 22, 2010
By JerNM
from Ruidoso, New Mexico
" I installed this heater with little difficulty and called a licensed plumber to pipe in gas. The plumber was unable to light the pilot and finally called the manufacturer to be advised the gas control valve was faulty. Northern Tool told me they didn't stock parts, but, sent me a replacement heater. I was unable to light the pilot and called the manufacturer to be told it was a faulty control knob which they replaced. It was identical to the one installed. Northern Tool sent me a third heater, and I was able to light the pilot with no problem. Don't know yet how well I will like the heater, however, I rate the manufacturer's "Tech Help " 1 Star and give
Northern Tool a 5 star plus.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
December 19, 2009
By ppem45
from Rhode Island
" This unit is very quiet and does a great job of heating my 12'X16 insulated shop. the drum blower is very quiet and is sufficient for my space. I leave it at a low temperture and it keeps all my paint and glues etc from freezing. Good investment! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

House Warmer Heater Review

,
December 3, 2009
By Mooreman
from Detroit, MI
" I ordered the 18K BTU natural gas version with the blower already factory installed. Installation in my 2-car garage was pretty easy. The hardest part I had was chiseling through the outer brick wall of my garage. The combination air intake/exhaust vent is a slick design. I replaced the supplied vent screws with blue screws to fasten the vent to my outside brick wall. I did not bother with the cardboard template, but simply used the supplied steel hanger plate to determine the location of the inside vent opening. I used a drywall saw on the inside and a pneumatic chisel to punch through my outer brick wall. I did most of the work from the inside. Connecting the gas line was straight forward.
Pros: The unit draws outside air for its combustion, so that should theoretically make it more efficient than other heaters that draw inside air for combustion. Natural gas is much less costly to heat with than electricity. The unit takes up less space as compared to other gas heaters. Has a nice finished appearance once installed.
Cons: The upper front surface of the sheet metal case gets hot enough to burn fingers. The blower could be better designed. It lacks a proper squirrel cage to direct the air flow. As a result it tends to recycle air in a circular air flow pattern. This limits the air flow across the heat exchanger, which results in the outer sheet metal getting overly hot. Large openings in the bottom of the heater could allow a child to get their hands up into the blower area where they could be injured. I would not recommend using this heater in a child's bedroom. Its fine though for a garage. I found if I positioned a conventional fan underneath it, blowing up inside, that this improved the hot air circulation and reduced the sheet metal temperature to a safe level.
This unit is a little small BTU-wise to be a good garage heater. The garage had better be well insulated, including the garage door, or this heater won't be able to maintain a comfortable inside temperature during the Winter months.
The manufacturer needs to redesign the blower to improve the air flow through the heater and add a finger grill to cover the large bottom openings, before I would recommend using this heater indoors. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Natural Gas, Model# HWDV181BDVN
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

direct-vent wall heater with blower

,
November 19, 2008
By bushpatchtrader
from Northeast Pa.
" Easy to install if you follow template, kit is complete except for a 5" hole saw (and the pipes to fit the gas intake) which I used instead of the sawsall or jigsaw, it makes a neater job when drilled from the inside out. I made the inside hole in the drywall the size of the template so The exaust pipe could be jiggled and fitted from the outside. I cut the pipes with a hacksaw and vise instead of the plier cutters, Worked great, the blower installs well, the mounting plate has tabs to align it. The onty problem was the screws, the outside ones could be a 1/2 " longer and I am partial to phillps or read& prince screws. I do not like straight slots or those hex heads that I have to dig in my toolbox for one to fit my drill. Otherwise the heather works well, the blower is quiet and cycles well with the heather settings. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.