Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP

Item# 174984
Slim-profile design is less obtrusive and more attractive than traditional vented heaters. Heater requires no electricity so it will even work in a power failure electricity required for blower. 115V, 0.4 Amp blower has 4-ft. electric cord for a standard wall outlet. Use in accordance with local codes and ordinances. U.S.A. Product Type Forced air, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Thermostat Included Yes, Needs Direct Venting Yes, BTU Output 18,000, Blower Included Yes, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 1/4 x 8 3/8 x 25 1/4, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 115. Mounts on any outside/exterior wall from 4 1/2in.-12in. thick Thermocouple safety valve Heater requires no electricity electricity required for blower Easy to install 10-year limited warranty on heat exchanger 1 year on balance of product
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
26 of 29(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Review 1 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats my 2 1/2 car garage nicely

,
May 7, 2012
By mez6266
from upstate NY
" at the lowest setting it about 45°F and can get to 70° in about 1 hr. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
11out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good heater

,
January 16, 2012
By hddeering
from Cloudcroft, NM
" I put this in the dinette area, heats well, blower not too noisy. Good way to fend off winter chills!
Used two winters. Glad I did.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
11out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!

,
January 16, 2012
By InXition
from NM
" We bought our vented heater in October and the box came damaged. The company quickly resent another one. We replaced an old unit and the new unit was installed very easily, especially since we are not "experts". The blower is very nice and keeps our 400sq ft. guesthouse nice and cozy. It's also very efficient. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the Ticket!

,
January 15, 2012
By FirstTimeRider
from Brazil, IN
" I bought this unit for two reasons: 1) To supplement our electric furnace (electric heat is expensive!) and 2) To guarantee we'd have heat if the power goes out.
It took about 2 hours for me to install the unit on the wall in the living room - had to cut the hole in the wall, measure the vent pipes and cut them to size, use some furnace cement to hold them in place, mount the unit on the wall and fit the pipes appropriately. I am no expert handyman, but the project turned out great!
Then I had to have an HVAC guy come and run a propane line from outside to the heater, which took him about an hour.
Finally, the propane supplier had to come out and trench a line from the tank to the hookup point, install a regulator, and hook up and test the heater.
It's been up and running for about five days, and with the daytime temperatures in the teens it's been keeping the main body of the house toasty and comfortable - just what we'd intended for it to do.
Time will tell how long it will take to pay for itself, but we are VERY pleased that so far it's doing exactly what we want it to do!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
16out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

,
January 9, 2012
By frank602
from Henniker, NH
" I got one unit for one bedroom first. It works fine so far. I then got another identical unit for the 2nd bedroom and also removed the old trunky system. Both units work fine for the 2-bedroom cottage house. Tenants are happy.
But, I am not sure how long these things will last. I also don't know about its energy efficiency. Tenants said the bill is fine so far but it has been warm in NE so far. I put it 4-star for now.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really good heater

,
October 17, 2011
By Kbecker
from Burton, ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Throws off the heat very well. Only thing thats not so good is the blower doesn't direct the heat along the sides of the heater very well, so the sides get very hot, probably hot enough to burn if you let it. If they re-thought the blower then it would be 5 stars. Very easy installation. I purchased the propane heater, Then over the summer they ran natural gas down my street, so i converted it over. Kit is available through northern tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Housewarmer

,
June 6, 2011
By Russ1866
" I found the installation easier than the heater I was replacing.
The fan is very quiet. We don't need to run our ceiling fan anymore to keep an even temerature in the room.
The pilot light is easy to ignite. However, it would be nice if the pilot was replaced with a spark ignition to save on the propane.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heater

,
June 6, 2011
By Padanner
from Pa.
" I had a handyman install the heater in our apartment we rent out. Easy installation. Approximate size of heating space 650 sq ft. It is well insulated. Heater worked very well. No smell like unvented heaters. Kept apt. very comfortable and did not use a lot of propane for the time it was in service. We are very satisfied. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not so easy to adjust

,
March 14, 2011
By WoodenNickel
from Central NJ
" My wife found the control adjustment knob very hard to turn on both the units we purchased. I also found them a bit tight to turn. Other than that they are AOK "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

economical solution

,
March 14, 2011
By bigdog07
from GEORGIA
" I USED WOOD HEAT FOR 20 YEARS, BAD BACK MADE ME FIND SOMETHING ELSE, COMPARED TO ELECTRIC THIS IS FAR LESS EXPENSIVE. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Heater, but fan is a little weak

,
February 16, 2011
By Hipdaddy
from Northern Ohio
" I mounted this heater in my workshop about a year ago. I didn't want to review it til I had used it for awhile. When I got it the fan was mounted backwards. I received a letter telling me how to correct it. No problem, but even mounted correctly, the fan doesn't blow much air...not like I expected. I keep my shop in the 50's and wear a light jacket to save on gas. It is really efficient on propane use if kept at that temperature but I wish it would blow more air for distribution purposes. I tried placing an auxiliary fan below it to force more air through it, but it must have affected the thermostat because it required a different setting to maintain the temperature. It's a very well built stove and I like it, but wish it moved more air. That's the only reason I rated 4 stars. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
explorer789
west virginia 
 
Please wait while more information about explorer789 is loaded.
Additional information about explorer789 could not be loaded.
February 28, 2012
" you have this heater as being a 18,000 btu output but the manual says it is a 18,000 btu input. With the blower operating what is the btu output ratining? "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old Fashioned Quality

,
December 15, 2010
By TOAPres
from Bartow, WV
" Made the way America used to build stuff. Really good design. Before I found this unit we spent more than a thousand dollars on various blue-flame and radiant propane heaters. None lasted more than a year. Gummed up by bugs, etc. Installed my first HouseWarmer two years ago. No problems. Have since bought three more. And these direct vent units are not fire hazards like the old radiant heaters. Won't ever buy another another unvented heater.
Only complaint: The thing stinks first time you light it up. Keep the widows open for a few minutes until the manufacturing grease burns off. Otherwise it's as close to perfect as you can get in a propane heater.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and Warm

,
November 23, 2010
By swranch
from Livermore, CA.
" We replaced an old heater in our cabin. Easy to install. Two holes to drill, for propane line and exhaust.
Keeps our 500 sq ft cabin 65-70 while it is in the 20's outside!
No regrets what so ever on buying this heater! Only one defect, fan was installed "upside down"
but with in days got a letter from the company with easy fix instructions.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

propane heater model# hwdv181bdvp

,
November 23, 2010
By j6strng8
from Morgantown Ms.
" Heater replaced a smaller unvented heater for safety reasons. The room is 288 sq. feet with ten foot ceiling. Heater does not heat as well as the smaller heater and seems to lose as much heat thru the vent as it puts in the room. "
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HouseWarmer Directvent 18,000btu Propane Heater

,
November 18, 2010
By Spiderman1
from Fife Lake,Michigan
" I would recommend this heater because it is pretty easy to install.I put it in my one room log cabin and it works like a charm. It is easy to light and operate.It also doesnot take up a lot of room. We have spent several days there deer hunting and have not had a problem.I am very pleased "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good heater

,
November 17, 2010
By JamesT187
from Rochester, NY
" I bought this to reduce the amount of moisture in the air from my unvented heater and this has done that just fine. It does take a bit longer to bring the mobile home up to 70 from 40 then the other one did but I have to take into account that some of the heat (with moisture) is exhausting thru the vent. So I am happy because it does what I expected it to do. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Ironbrow
On the Ute Trail of Colorado 
 
Please wait while more information about Ironbrow is loaded.
Additional information about Ironbrow could not be loaded.
Better check your installation
September 18, 2011
" If you are losing air and moisture out this vented heater, you'd better check the heater and your installation. "Direct Vent" heaters use outside air to burn fuel and only heats inside air that is recirculated from floor to ceiling. No inside air should be exiting the building through the heater. All that nice heated air stays right where it belongs; inside with you :-) BTW, we have two of these and we're adding two more in guest cabins this fall. Great heater, easy installation and they never blow out. "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HouseWarmer Direct Vent Wall Heater

,
November 16, 2010
By BeachLady
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" We installed this heater about a month ago in my newly built studio. It is 200 sq ft with a 12 ft ceiling and partial loft. We did install a ceiling fan which is wonderful for pushing the heat back down into the room. The heater seems to work very efficiently, takes up little space and heats my studio toasty warm. Yes, it is a bit institutional looking, but really not that bad. My neighbor is a furnace guy by profession, so came and checked everything out and lit the pilot for us.
I would definately recommend this unit as it is vented to the outside. I keep it on pilot and then when I am going to work in the studio turn it up. Seems to take 10 minutes to get it warm enough to work. Perhaps I will have to turn it up a bit as it gets colder. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
ColdWinters
 
Please wait while more information about ColdWinters is loaded.
Additional information about ColdWinters could not be loaded.
Great Photos! Thanks.
November 23, 2010
" Thank you for your detailed review. Do you happen to know how many inches the exterior vent protrudes from the wall? It would help me out a lot if you know...I can not find the info anywhere on the web. Thanks! "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

efficiency

,
November 16, 2010
By ALF668
from Northern New Hampshire
" Great heater - have it on our porch and it does a great job of keeping our 3-season porch warm. The cat really loves it as he sits on the window sill right above the heater! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
November 16, 2010
By cegan
from Rural Montana
" Just what I needed. Installed easily and heats the space perfectly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HouseWarmer Slim-Profile Direct-Vent Wall Heater with Built-In Blower - 18,000 BTU, Propane, Model# HWDV181BDVP
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Orfice Install problems / pilot lighting problems

,
August 6, 2010
By jthomas
from Montana
" I have had 2 problems with this heater that cause me to rate it low
- Orfice
After ordering the heater, I checked the online install manual and it stated that if the installation was at 2000 ft altitude or greater one needed a different orfice. It took a few calls and I found a company that stocked the orfice and I had it mailed and it got here at the same time as the heater. If I had not noticed this, my install would have been delayed by a few weeks.
But in addition it had no info on how to install the orfice. Luckily I had invited over a friend that is a heating engineer and he helped, but it was a complicated procedure. Poor design!
- Difficult to light pilot.
Once I had it installed. I was unable to light the pilot. Eventually I called the manufacturer tech support and they did call back and told me that on the initial lighting one had to hold the knob in pilot mode down for 5 minutes and then when one can smell the propane, press the red button to light the pilot. This did work but it is no where documented in the install manual. Also it seems to require the 5 minute hold in pilot mode on subsequent attempts also.
I am hopeful that this winter, our cabin will be warm and I will happy that I got it.
John "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.