Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M

US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M

Item# 175059
This US Stove Company Pellet Heater is fully automated with auto ignition and easy-to-use electronic controls. An exhaust blower provides a negative draft that pulls flue products through and out to completely eliminate smoke spillage. An automatic circulation blower spreads heat evenly. The durable, sleek design delivers years of high performance and blends nicely with any room setting. U.S.A. Igniter Yes, Fuel Type Pellet, Blower CFM 120, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 9, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,200, Thermostat Included No, BTU Output 48,000, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Blower Included Yes, Heat Settings 5, Clearance from Side Wall in. 3-right, 7-left, Dimensions W x D x H in. 26 x 25 x 35 1/4, Full Load Run Time Hours 25-75, Fire Box/Hopper Capacity lbs. 120, Flue Collar Size in. 3. Large 120-lb. hopper capacity allows extended operation for many days between fill-ups Digital control board allows adjusting heat and draft control with the push of a button and features built-in diagnostics LED display makes is easier to set and operate Large view air wash glass Integrated damper control Approved for use in mobile or modular homes Compatible with wall-mounted thermostats not included
Average Customer Rating:
3.96 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (25 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
22 of 25(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Review 1 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

cheapest fuel alternative

,
February 4, 2014
By DBWman
from Central Vermont
"I was undergoing spinal surgery, worried about cutting firewood or affording oil!
I purchased this Pellet Stove, 2 tons of pellets,(2 months heat) for 1/2 the price of a full tank of oil! With pellets you always know where you stand...just how much you have left...when to buy...spreads the payments out through the winter.
P.S. Surgery was a success...sold the fire wood and bought twice as many pellets!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the $$$. 4th heating season!

,
March 13, 2013
By Conis
from Michigan
"I have a earlier- lower pellet capacity version of this stove and am totally satisfied with it. I intend to buy another for my work shop.
This is my 4th heating season. I am heating 2000' sq ft on 80lb pellets a day in 0-20º temps, half that at 32º ^.
Reading these reviews, thought I would address some of the negative comments. Reading any product reviews, keep in mind that those that are satisfied with a product sedom post anything.
Addressing some of the negative reviews: Any pellet burner requires maintenance, a thorough understanding of how it works , and how to prevent and correct intermittent problems. You will get auger jams and malfunctions from time to time. Some pellets (brand or batches) are better than others.
You should also know how to service this burner yourself. It isn't rocket science. If you are mechanically inept, then you won't like a pellet stove. There isn't that much service involved, anyway.
Ignitor failure complaints? Typical of any brand pellet stover with an "auto ignitor" They are a pain and only. last a year or so. It's isn't the stoves fault because the ignitor fails. Comes with the territory. I use some wax/sawdust "fire starter" on top of the pellets and a propane torch, easier, more predictable and I know when its lit. .
I keep mine cleaned with a small $20 HD shop vac, stationed outside, with a long flexible vaccum hose run inside through a hole in the wall: 100% dust free. Cleaning takes 5 minutes every 4-5 days.
One of the complaints of this particular stove seems to be excessive room fan noise. It's caused by vibration and resonance. Mine used to be noisy so I modified it by removing the entire blower fan assembly (4 screws, unplug two wires) disassembling the motor from the fan housing and putting three soft rubber washers over the studs, 3/32" thick. While it is out, make certain the impeller is running dead true. Doing these two things reduced fan noise by 80%. My refridgerator now makes more noise.
My stove is located in a 8' x12' room downstairs, adjacent to the stairwell so heating the upstairs living area.. It worked well enough like this for 2 seasons except the small room would get to 90º. I modified the stove with a sheet metal plenum over the hot air exit vents on the stove, (front over the door) then 6" duct direct upstairs. Now the room stays 60-70º and my pellet cosumption went down 25-30% .
I use an external thermostat upstairs which will cycle the heat range from lowest (#1) to whatever I preset as "higher" Usually range 2 in warmer temps, 3 (higher) in 0-25º winter temps. keeps the house within +/- one degree , much more even heat than my furnace. Ive never needed to run it any hotter. If it's below zero, my furnace may kick in 1-2 times through the night, then the pellet stove can pretty well keep up.
Generally, I check it in the morning, put in 1-2 sacks in the evening and it's good until the following evening. I use 5 tons in a Michigan winter, bring them into the basement in the fall (easier). I figure this stove is saving me $2000 annual against propane.
So... There is a pellet stove learning curve and some hands on mechanical now and then. I am fine with that for the money saved. The first season I used it, I bought the stove and a winters with of pellets and still came out $800 ahead... and this was before I improved efficiency by addig the plenum to move more heat upstairs.
So if there is a problem now, I know what has caused it and how to easily fix it. Have had no catatrostophic failures or needed any replacement parts (other than ignitor issues which simply have ignored as pointless overkill).
This stove isn't pretty. It's "sporty and efficient" cranks out the heat and holds together. Thats the effect I was after!
Tip: buy pellets in the spring for the following winter, keep them out of the weather. I just saved $600 on five tons "clearance". About 50% of fall prices which are around $175-$200/ ton in Michigan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

,
December 19, 2012
By Russellyzf
from maryland
"I bought this stove and the extended warenty 2 years ago. I read the negative reviews and thought "well I will get the warrenty".This stove and the warrenty co. is junk!!I installed it last year and soon after the igniter went up.the warrenty co. couldnt even find a place to fix it.when they did the place came and cleaned it and then came back and replaced it.2 months later the igniter went up again.I called informing the warrenty co. about the issue then the sent the stove co. back out.The stove co. cleaned it again!and charged the warrenty co.. Then they had to make another trip out to fix it.Now only 3mo. later the fan started squeeling and binding up and the igniter went out again! So i call the warrenty co. .They sent the stove co. and they cleaned it again! Now the warrenty people say they have fixed the stove up to the value of the stove(by paying all the cleanings) so they will send me 90$ to settle and they are no longer obligated.In short this stove has sat unused longer than it has been running.I now have to purchase 200$ worth of parts to fix it myself.Save yourself a whole lot of problems and get another stove and dont trust the AMT warrenty co. you will be happier and warmer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Purchase products by USSC

,
March 16, 2012
By PA1111
from PA
"I purchased this stove December 2010. It did not function properly according to the manual. I spent countless hours with customer support. I had to fix the stove myself with replacement parts sent to me, the stove still did not function according to the manual. Customer support then told me it was fine and it should work that way. Now the igniter went and they will not cover it under warranty. I plan on replacing that once a year. Also, no ash pan, the stove is impossible to clean properly without a vacuum. I did not enjoy my experience with USSC. Pick another brand."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

US Stove(Pellet) Model 5500M

,
October 17, 2011
By Rgiff
from East Millinocket Maine
"I bought this stove here about 3 or 4 yrs ago. It is the easyest Pellet stove to clean and adjust for burn. I use a vaccum to clean it with that handles soot ect. You never have clinkers in the fire box as you can adjust youre air to give you the right burn. I had a bout with the auto ignitor, Had to replace it three times, but the company when good for it and was very helpful installing it over the phone. Therfore I give it a 4 star."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy stove

,
March 20, 2011
By bassin
from Anson Maine
"I did alot of shopping and asking questions before buying this pellet stove. I was told by dealers and friends get a top loader, stay away from double agaer and to make sure you have two blowers not one. This stove meet all requirments. The stove runs great and I have had no prblems. I rate it a 4 only because it does not have an ash clean out try but my stove vacume is just as easy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pellet Stove

,
March 14, 2011
By Mandolino
"My only issue is that the feeder sometimes does not stop feeding pellets into the hopper and then the ignitor will not work. The stove shuts itself off if there is no ignition. I don't know how to fix that problem. I tried to hit the delay auger button, but nothing changes. I unplugged the entire stove hoping it would reset. I cleaned the fire box many times. It works great with 9 settings when it is working."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kept me warm all winter

,
July 20, 2009
By BackHome
from Salem, NH
"This Pellet stove was the best investment that made since moving back to NH from Fla. I heated a non-insulated cottage through this past winter(2009) for $300/month(1pallet) and it maintained 73 degrees on all but the coldest days that dropped below 0 deg. with 30+mph winds. The only issue that I had was the igniter failed, but US Stove overnighted one(warranty) and I never lost a day of operation. The 150 pound hopper was fantastic because I could fill it and not have to refill for 24+ hours(depending on the temp and wind). I have recommended this Stove to everyone that I know."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

u.s.stove

,
March 16, 2009
By Anonymous
"great stove heats my whole house. holds a little more than 3 bags of pellets. Ran for about a whole season now and no problems . I would and have recommened it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pellet Stove with hopper

,
March 5, 2009
By customan
from Long Island, New York
"The hopper is an excellent idea since you are less of a slave to the stove. The stove is advertised as holding 150 lbs, but actually holds (3) bags which equals
120 lbs. I wish that the stove could hold 5 bags of pellets.
I use a pellet stove vacumn cleaner to clean out the stove about every three days since I run the stove 24/7. This particular stove is reliable and puts out good heat.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Stove for the price with fast shipping

,
December 23, 2008
By KB1AEF
from Burlington, Ct.
"I ordered this just before Thanksgiving and received it within the 4 to 6 days they claim. Stove has been up and running for almost a month here in Connecticut. I love the large hopper, a big plus, I have a Harmon IRON pellet stove with a 40 lb hopper which requires a lot of tending, but is a great looker, built strong and very dependable. This one has the 150 Lb hopper which for me is great for my application. I have this heater in the lower level of a high ranch which is not currently finished (900 Sq ft) except for a 12 x 16 Foyer & stairwell leading up to the second floor. I keep the setting on a low setting to keep this area warm to supplement the Harmon on my 3 season Patio room on the upper floor along with a Wood insert in the Living room also on the upper floor.
The King 5500 feeds a nice slow but steady heat on the lower floor to even out the house. The design of this heater is quite nice for the money. Not like the Harmon pellet stove or the Regency wood insert but does a nice job. I called King to verify the test results I received compared to what was printed in the instructions before I fired it up and they walked thru the test with me over the phone to assure me that the stove was working right. The onboard controller was probly newer than when the instruction manual was printed. Instruction for install is pretty straight forward but I installed both of my prior heaters (stove & wood insert) so the install wasn't new to me.
Good Product, Customer service and fast shipping, What more can you ask for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Electronic Stove Controls

,
December 8, 2008
By scotsman127
"I would not even select 1 star except for the fact there is nothing lower. I would not recommend this product to my worst enemy. The electronic stove controls are all automatic interfaced with no operator control even though the owners manual states there is a manual override option for manual controls The draft fan goes from full on to full stop every two to four seconds so the draft output pulsates resulting in incomplete combustion and subsequent black soot covered viewing glass in as little as 15 minutes and the outside pulsing is staining my brand new vinyl siding with black soot. I have repeatedly tried to resolve these issues with the company but have been repeatedly ignored. No response to my E-Mail asking for manual controls, no resolution. All I need is a manual control board, is that too much to ask of a company that states the owner has a manual option in their owner's manual that came with the unit ???? A substandard product in my opinion, I would never buy another one !!!!"
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT stove!

,
December 6, 2008
By Warmcustomer
from Maine
"The stove is more than powerful enough to heat my 1400 sq ft home, i dont even use my oil furnace anymore. I'd say the stove has more than enough power to heat 2000 sq ft+ not the 1200 as advertised. The stove looks very classy and is very easy to use.
Drawbacks: The hopper only holds 120 lbs, not 150 as advertised.
The stove could use more room for ashes, i clean it fairly often.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Stove

,
November 26, 2008
By C5ripper
from Upstate New york
"I installed this stove in my Game room. Outstanding price and quality. Heats the lower half of my home on Low. Electronic lighting is outstanding. I had a pro install stove. Did not want to mess a round with safety."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great heat, but the blower noise may irritate some

,
November 24, 2008
By TSMC
"I have the 5500 for about 3 months now. After some intial issues with the newly designed control board (more of a employee training issue) my stove has been operating full time with a few issues. The first room blower had to be replaced due to what I can best describe as a fluctuating harmonic ringing/whistling sound that would drive anyone absolutley crazy. They replaced that with a new blower unit, but I still get a constant dull ring/whistle sound that causes me to keep the heat and room blower settings at the lowest. Any higher setting and the noise just gets too irritating. Currently US Stove support is checking into the issue. I want to like this stove, but the noise issue is a major problem. If it was just a blower type sound there would be no problems as that would just be a white noise, but there is another harmonic sound that just doesn't sound right and is irritating to the human ear. Hopefully, US Stove can assist, but as of now I cannot fully utilize this stove they way I intended and that's dissapointing. Other then the noise issue that may be isolated to just my stove I would recommend it. Does anyone else with this stove have a similiar problem?"
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

USSC 5500

,
November 17, 2008
By Jerm
from Johnstown, PA
"I bought this stove 2 years (winters) ago, and it is still running strong. I use this stove as primary heat source for a 2200+ sq ft home. I would recommend this stove to anyone. Just be sure to place it in the most ideal area of your home for the most out of it! I havent had any problems so far. I run it 24/7 during the winter, and they run long here in the northeast."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 stars

,
November 17, 2008
By RTC1960
from Goffstown NH
"This was the best thing we could have purchased for our basement in helping our woorkshop and home more energy effiicient have recommended Northern tools to many business associates and friends and family."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wanted the stove with the larger hopper

,
November 17, 2008
By Turbo6x2
from Caledonia, MI
"But this is the one that was available at the time of purchase. Other then no thermostat included this seems to be a great buy so far. We average about 20 hours on a bag of pellets so far on a setting of 2, which is keeping our house at 68 degrees. Leaving the stove on the automatic settings during this time. We have tried 4 different pellet types and have found all can burn efficiently in this stove. Our basement is now 6 degrees warmer then it has ever been. The cleaning of the stove is pretty easy with a shop vac and something to scrap the ash out with."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New 5510 Pellet stove from Northern Tool

,
November 9, 2008
By Allan101
from Souther Tier, NY state
"Bought 5510 stove a few weks ago. Installation went very smooth. Control board is very versatile with settings. Stove performs perfecrtly Tech support from Northern tool and US Stove is excellent. This is a lot of stove for the buck. no fancy gold plate, just honest value.
Am using only Premium pellets, vertually no ash.
Would absolutely recommend stove and dealing with Northern Tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for US Stove Company Pellet Heater with Automatic Ignition - 120-Lb. Capacity Hopper, Model# 5500M
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

5500xl & 5500

,
October 31, 2008
By housebuilderextrordinary
from Wyoming
"I have both 5500 models. Both work well. the 5500 xl is a bit noisy but I like only having to load the hopper once a week. US STOVE customer service was helpfull resolving my door gasket issue. Had to replace the gasket because it was to short. I like the simple controls and the easy cleaning features of the 5500. I don't even have to shut down to take the ashes out. Easy to install and to use I give it 8 out of 10 for ovaral satisfaction. Not perfect in every way but nice any way."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.