Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041

US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041

Item# 175087
This omnivorous heater can burn corn or pellets out of the box and can be adapted to burn soybeans, cherry pits, olive pits, bio mass fuel grains and processed silage. Great for those who want to reduce waste while they stay warm. U.S.A. BTU Output 52,000, Blower CFM 200, Blower Included Yes, Fuel Type Corn/pellet, Full Load Run Time Hours 30, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 9, Dimensions W x D x H in. 27 3/4 x 30 1/2 x 30 3/4, Door Opening W x H in. 19 3/4 x 11 11/16, Fire Box/Hopper Capacity lbs. 60, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,000, Igniter Yes, Thermostat Included No, Heat Settings 5, Clearance from Corner in. 4, Clearance from Side Wall in. 8. Blower controlled by LED control panel Built-in diagnostics Easy ash removal with large ash pan Mobile home approved
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
6 of 9(67%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041
Review 1 for US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

tough unit

,
September 25, 2013
By Pelletboyroy
from ny
"I have had this unit for three heating seasons and felt compelled to review. The unit is tough as nails and I have burnt corn, soft wood , hard wood, and blended wood pellets, as well as a blend of corn/wood pellets in this unit. Bad/ down side first, the blower is quite loud. I f you have it in the living room be prepared to turn up your television volume. Up side, this thing is built tough and it heats beautifully. It cleans easily , as compared to other brands. We clean our unit once a week, every day I bang the side walls with a broom handle to release fly ash, and clean the glass with a clean cotton rag. We shut it down every month to do a thorough cleaning of ash from behind the heat exchanger and clean fly ash from the sidewalls, takes 20 minutes. This unit is multi fuel so the agitater takes care of daily cleaning of "clinkers" that build up. It saves us 50% of our original costs of wood for our outdoor wood boiler over a heating season. I just tore the entire unit down this year for a thorough cleaning and service, it is one tough built rugged unit!!!! Parts are available right from the factory, yet in three seasons we have never bought a part."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

,
September 13, 2012
By curlet
from MA
"I usually don't write reviews but I've seen some one star comments on this item and figure I'd add a five star to the mix because I've had this stove for over three years and it has saved me a fortune in oil costs. For those complaining about heat, you need to purchase quality pellets or you won't get the BTU out of the unit. Pellets are also rated in BTUs. Easy clean up and operation. Will need to replace some parts prior to this year's start-up, but figure doing nothing to it for three years is a good run. I live in northern Massachusetts so we see consistant below 32 nighttime temps during the winter and my furnace rarely comes on. The unit is undersized for the square footage of my house, but I knew that going in. House is a two floor, approximately 2,200SF. Will keep house at 66-68 with outdoor temps at 32(ish). Need to run furnace (infrequently) if we want the house warmer or if the temps go into the teens. Hope this helps."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great while it worked

,
January 4, 2012
By DHill2
from Central New York
"When you buy a big ticket items you would expect a company to stand by its product.
I purchased the US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater, Model# 6041 stove in the Dec 2009 and ran it for 3 months. In 2010, I ran the stove for another 3 months. This year I ran the stove for 1 month. After running the stove for about a month the system showed an error on the console. After waiting 6 days to contact customer service due to a holiday closure, I was informed that the controller board was bad. The replacement cost is around 20% of the price I paid for the stove. Even though I only used the stove for about seven months the company would not warranty the part due to the one calendar year limitation. My wife has been laid off and we were using the stove to cut back on heating costs in the North East. Buying this controller will erase all cost savings. So the stove sits idle.
When the stove was working it ran great, but they have lost a customer and I have specifically recommended to 2 people in the market not to buy this product or anything else from this manufacturer.
I tried to contact Calvin Haggard the CEO of the company but received no response.
This review in no way reflects on Northern Tool. They are great to do business with!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJanuary 27, 2012
DHill2, a Customer Service Representative will follow up shortly to make sure you are connected with the right people to assist you. Thank you for your feedback on your stove and thanks for shopping with Northern Tool + Equipment.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
DHill2
Central New York 
 
Please wait while more information about DHill2 is loaded.
Additional information about DHill2 could not be loaded.
Revised review
February 2, 2012
"I would like to make my review a 4 out of 5 star. After posting comments online and contacting a company executive US Stove did indeed stand by their product and made provided the parts and support needed.
I must also say how impressed I was with Northern Tool for advocating on my behalf with their supplier. That level of service is extraordinary in this day and age and they have made a customer out of me for life.
Thank you Northern Tool!"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

where's the heat?

,
January 2, 2012
By richg
from northern maine
"twice the btu of my other stove.....and 1/7 of the heat! Good thing i didn't have this stove when i talked my Dad into buying a pellet stove. He would have laugh....and would have never gone from all the work of real wood to pellets."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pellet Stove

,
March 14, 2011
By LuckyLinda
from Penn Yan, NY
"As a single female living in upstate NY, this is the easiest pellet stove that I have seen, to work with. I looked at a few and listened to others who owned pellet stoves and I don't have any of the problems that others have had. Once the stove was installed, it was up and running immediately. The purpose of the stove was to supplement my home heating. It now seems that the fuel oil furnace is the supplemental heating when it becomes extremely windy out. The stove is extremely easy to use and maintain. Keeping up with the ash cleaning is on a once a week routine and there is hardly any ash to discard. the cleanout is a little messy and cumbersome, but that's true for most and expected. The digital readout is easy to read and follow for any adjustments that need to be made, if any at all. Again, as a single woman, I find this to be amazingly easy to operate and maintain."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Do it Myselfer

,
October 24, 2010
By dh2ok
from Mason City, Iowa
"We are just entering our 3rd heating season with this stove. We originally bought it to put in our basement that we had just finished off. After getting it down there we found that where we wanted to put it would require too much vent pipe making it less efficient and even hazardous. So, we took it upstairs and put it in our living room. I made a nice raised ceramic tile platform about 8" high in one corner and vented it directly outside. It really looks cozy and puts out the heat too. We have cold winters in Iowa with below zero temps and this stove has definitely made a difference in our heat bill. We often will turn on our furnace and get the temperature up to where we want it, then shut it off and let this stove maintain it. If need be we can just turn on the furnace fan and circulate the heat throughout the whole house.
The fan may be a little loud, but we have found it very relaxing and not an issue. I highly recommend getting a small shop vac with attachments and cleaning out the ash (see manual) after each use. Also, take out the burn pot and keep it clean from build up. I just had to replace the original ceramic brick which cost about $50, but the new one is a little thicker and made of better materials. Along with that I replaced the door and window gaskets which you can buy locally. I rarely have had to run this stove on the highest setting and have found settings 3 - 7 out of 9 to be adequate. Very low maintenance on this stove, but as with any stove does require regular cleaning to maintain efficiency and safe operation. We have only burned wood pellets with this stove. All pellets are not the same so that can make a difference too. The one feature this stove has over others is the burn pot agitator and that convinced me to buy this stove. No Regrets!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy stove to setup and run

,
February 22, 2010
By skelo
from Towanda,PA
"This is my first pellet stove or for that matter wood stove of any kind.
It installed quickly and started easy. The only thing I find troublesome is that the feed bins slope does not allow the pellets to completely slide down to the auger opening. This may (questament) reduce burn time by 4 hours, maybe more.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
TBone65
Maryland 
 
Please wait while more information about TBone65 is loaded.
Additional information about TBone65 could not be loaded.
Poor hopper design
February 22, 2011
"I also have trouble keeping the stove burning to max time because the pellets will not slide down to the auger. I spayed the sides of the hopper with silicone spray but that was not much help. I will now attempt to spray the inside of the hopper with graphite paint. If that does not work, then I will have to say that it was just design poorly. Hard to believe they don't test this before mass producing the units.Also when the stove is burning and I dump another bag into the hopper, the stove will occasionally burn out shortly after. The hopper lid is closed also. Anyone else have this issue?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

USSC model# 6041 - Nice stove

,
October 9, 2009
By oldetavern
from Western NY state (50 miles from Buffalo, NY)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this multi-fuel stove last year and have already used it for one whole season and have been very pleased with it. I haven't experienced any problems with the stove yet. I started on my second heating season last week. I live in western NY near Buffalo, so we have very cold winters. This is my only source of heat for approx. 800 sq.ft. of living space. I have a really old and lightly insulated house. As an example, I mainly burn hard wood pellets in this stove and it keeps two of the three rooms that it heats right at 70 degrees when it's at it's highest setting of 9 when the temp outside is at 32. My bedroom is farthest away from the stove and under the same circumstances the bedroom averages around 64 (which is okay because I use a heating blanket). On mild days I turn the stove way down to the 2 or 3 setting.When the temps. outside are below 32, the temp inside come down accordingly....On occasion I also burn corn in this stove and find that it raises the room temp. an extra degree or two. Last season we had some lower temps down into the teens. On these occasions I had to suppliment with a kerosine heater to keep the temp above 65. The stove is really easy to operate as it's all digital. Also, I'm not sure what the last reviewer on here was talking about...but there are no different settings for the different types of fuel used. Regardless if you use corn, wood pellets, cherry pits, etc., there are no speical settings for each type. Very easy to operate and it was really easy to install the venting, I installed a direct vent using simpson dura vent, the kind that connects by twisting together. I do agree with the other reviewer in that the fan may be a little loud but not annoyingly so. I do find that I have to turn my tv up a bit when the stove's fan is running. Howvever, the blower seems pretty powerful and really helps circulate the warmth so it's worth it for me. Additionally, I found that I go through 3 tons (150 40lb. bags - which is three tons of pellets) duing the heating season. I would definitely recommend this particular stove."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for US Stove Freestanding Multifuel Heater - 52,000 BTU, Model# 6041
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs a sound proof room

,
September 10, 2009
By Bailey16s
from Michigan
"The room blower is noisy and the controls don't work can't get the setting to pellets. Over priced and belongs in a garage or sound proof room"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-10points
2out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.