Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400

Item# 175098
This US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove packs powerful pellet stove heat in an easy-to-install, slide-in design that fits most popular window sizes or can be installed in wall. Produces 8000 to 24,000 BTU with no external venting or special wiring required. Plugs into standard household outlet. Draws combustion air from outside and expels the exhaust back outside without affecting indoor air quality. Safe to use in garages and shops, all-season patio rooms, small apartments, attic expansions and hard-to-heat areas. Five heat settings and dual blowers. Mobile and modular home approved. U.S.A. Igniter Automatic, Full Load Run Time Hours 40, Heat Settings Five, Clearance from Side Wall in. 2, Thermostat Included No, Fire Box/Hopper Capacity lbs. 30 maximum, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Dimensions W x D x H in. 23 x 23 x 21 1/2, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110-120V, 60Hz, 3.0A, 175-425W, Door Opening W x H in. 23 x 22, Fuel Type Pellet, BTU Output 24,000, Blower Included Yes, Blower CFM Dual, Heating Capability sq. ft. 750. Easy-to-install, slide-in design Fits most popular window sizes or can be installed in wall Produces 8000 to 24,000 BTU No external venting or special wiring required Plugs into standard household outlet Draws combustion air from outside and expels the exhaust back outside without affecting indoor air quality Safe to use in garages and shops, all-season patio rooms, small apartments, attic expansions and hard-to-heat areas Five heat settings and dual blowers Large 30-lb. maximum capacity
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
15 of 18(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Review 1 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
December 4, 2012
By WarmBody
from California
"I installed the unit into a wall. This unit works great, no problems noted at all after a couple months use. The hopper could be at a steeper angle to feed all the pellets, but otherwise, it runs flawlessly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product for the right application

,
November 15, 2012
By GiantsFan
from Maine
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought this one year ago and wanted to use it for a whole season before reviewing it. It is a good stove for heating a small space. It might heat my whole downstairs if I had better air circulation, but I only want it for the one room, so it works great. That being said, it still helps to have a small fan on low to help circulate the air (depending on where you install it, I suppose). It matters if you use good pellets. It is noisy, like an air conditioner-no better, no worse than that. It was easy to set up and install (read all directions, esp. about testing outside first). My window is narrow, so I could not use the side pieces that came with the unit. I had to improvise with blue board and other forms of insulating material. I was able to seal it very tightly, and there are no drafts around it. After one year, there are a few rusted screws and bolts, which I can replace with stainless steel from my hardware store. The vent piece on the back has rusted (very disappointed in that) and I will have to scrape the rust off and spray it with a heat resistant/stove paint. Also, the pellets do have to be poked every once in a while, as they don't slide down the hopper all that well. It's not a big deal to just keep a ruler nearby and just poke them a bit.
Also, I installed replacement windows this year, and it was very easy to pull the stove out and then put it back in after the new windows were put in.
Overall, I am happy with this product, with just minor complains about the noise, pellet flow and rust issues. I would recommend getting an ash vacuum as it makes it really easy to do the periodic cleaning of the ash bin,"
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Initial burn.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product for my purposes

,
October 15, 2012
By afjdad
from Westfield, MA.
"I bought this product to heat my unattached garage/workshop., it has exceeded my expectations.
It was easy to install as advertised.
However I chose not to use the outside window braces,instead I built a shelf on the inside and placed a 4x4 on the window sill to take the weight of the heater off of the vinyl window frame.
It it very easy to clean, the cleanout door giving access to most of the gas passages. and the only dissasembly required is removing the spark arrestor. (4 easily accessable sheet metal screws)
The exhaust coming out of the spark arrestor is no hotter than a hand dryer in a public restroom.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Unit

,
October 11, 2012
By honestly
from Lowell Ma.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The only reason I give this unit only 4 stars, is because of the hopper. it will burn 1/3 of its pellet supply and then turn off, UNLESS you reach inside and move the pellets around. Besides that I am VERY HAPPY to have this unit. Runs perfect.. Plenty of heat output. I found out it REALLY DOES MATTER what type of pellets you burn. I used premium wood pellets. and they worked fine, decent heat. But now I am using super premium ( HARDWOOD) pellets MUCH more heat and less ash to clean"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorest design I have ever seen

,
July 5, 2012
By Mechaneer
from Salem, NH
"I purchased this unit in December 2011. After setting it up according to the instructions, filling with pellets, and starting it up, I left the room where it was located. Upon my return a few hours later, I found that the unit had stopped working. I checked the pellet hopper and found it almost full. On further investigation, I determined that the auger was jammed. after freeing up the auger and starting the unit again, I found that it jammed again almost immediately. After several fruitless hours of trying to determine the cause of the constant jamming of the auger, I concluded that I needed some technical assistance from the manufacturer. I emailed the technical assistance address and received a reply in a few days. The reply was not helpful, so I requested a call from the company's engineering department to discuss my problem directly. I am still waiting for that call after 6 months.
I should state here that I am not a complete novice in the use and maintenance of pellet burning appliances, having used and maintained a stove from a different manufacturer as my primary source of heat for about 5 years with no difficulties or issues.
I also have a reputation as a talented mechanical engineer, and, given the opportunity, could probably solve most, if not all the problems with this unit that have been mentioned by other reviewers."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Window Stove

,
May 14, 2012
By Fineart
from Broad Run, Virginia
"This is basically a good product. I think it works better in an open space, but it helped a lot in the upstairs of my house. Great idea. I would suggest they add an agitator to get the pellets to move down the chute, because it quits after about 5 hours or so when the pellets get stuck on the sides. I also found I couldn't use it on the highest two settings, because it would switch off, but the 3rd level works best anyway and is about where I'd want it for pellet use. It does put a good amount of heat out."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good, but All Pellets Aren't Feeding

,
January 9, 2012
By meGinger
from Seaford, DE
"The stove has been a OK for the most part, but the pellets are gathering around the edges of the hopper. I wish they all would go down without having to be manually pushed down. On the lowest setting, I have to get up in the wee hours of the morning to push the pellets down. And that's NOT good.
I purchased a pedestal fan to put in front of the stove which helps to move the heat farther."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Window Mount Pellet Stove

,
January 9, 2012
By artm3333
from Massachusetts
"Great pellet stove. Five temperature settings to maintain room temp. Easy to clean out ash deposits. I own another pellet stove-this one is much easier to operate and maintain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

auger

,
December 29, 2011
By jasperjax
from RAYMOND, NEW HAMPSHIRE
"I WAS SO EXCITED TO GET THIS STOVE BUT AFTER USING IT FOR 5 DAYS THE AUGER SUDDENLY STOPPED MOVING. NO MATTER WHAT i DO i AM UNABLE TO GET THE AUGER UNSTUCK. DOES ANY ON HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS. I AM ON SSDI AND DON.T HAVE MUCH MONEY AVAILABLE FOR SERVICE. RAYMOND, NH"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Louisa
Virginia 
 
Please wait while more information about Louisa is loaded.
Additional information about Louisa could not be loaded.
Auger not working
February 23, 2012
"The one year warranty should cover that."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
tgtv
Rhode Island 
 
Please wait while more information about tgtv is loaded.
Additional information about tgtv could not be loaded.
Auger not moving
January 18, 2012
"It could be a broken shear pin (or hairpin as they call it) connecting the auger motor to the shaft of the auger. I have snapped two already and would not be surprised if it happens again. You can also press power on and power off over and over to see if the shaft turns. I have had a lot of problems with mine and I am in the process of contact US Stoves claims dept. to try and get a replacement."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

,
December 22, 2011
By mikeyvw
from Upstate NY
"Great for family room, low to medium heat does the job nicely. Easy to install, but ditch the side panels and make your own. Make sure you run it before installing in window to burn off manufacturing oils. (directions have you doing this after you install it)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice

,
November 30, 2011
By frostburn
from hudson , nh
"I bought this fall of 2010 and no problems so far . I live in a mobile home in southern N.H. This will be my primary heat this winter . Heats interior to 68 on lowest setting when outside temp is 40 . It has 5 settings . Interior fan is medium loud and not adjustable . Exaust fan has a noticable hum which cycles on and off which is normal . I need to empty the ash and vacuum it out after 12-15 hrs . Plan on making a bracket to support this stove . Also , run it outside before you install it for 3-4 hrs . If you dont mind the daily maintence , this stove rocks ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
frostburn
hudson , nh 
 
Please wait while more information about frostburn is loaded.
Additional information about frostburn could not be loaded.
2 yr follow up
October 4, 2012
"I replaced the rope gasket on the door this fall , no other problems . Unit requires some maintence beyond the scope of some people to run good . I've had to removed the exaust fan to clean the soot off it several times . Keep the hopper full when its cold , the pellets act as isulation and it will put out more heat . Cleaning daily is a drag ,I will buy a full size when it dies ."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
Fella
Pennsylvania 
 
Please wait while more information about Fella is loaded.
Additional information about Fella could not be loaded.
Nice stove, but ours quit
December 10, 2011
"We got our stove about a month ago and it worked well, but then it broke down for no reason...still trying to get replacement . Called USSC , and they are shipping us a new one. Maybe ours was a fluke, but we'll try another one."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd year

,
November 19, 2011
By NicknameDuh
from New England
"Worked perfectly last year, Just starting to use for supplemental heat again. The heat from my first floor pellet stove(different brand) did not carry well to 2nd floor. So I bought this for an upstairs window and now the wife sometimes says it's to hot upstairs. She uses one bag of pellets a week. It does stick into the house a bit more than an air conditioner unit. That is not a complaint just want you to be aware of it. She filled it with sawdust last night (bad bag of pellets)and the auger started screeching so she shut it down,cleaned the hopper, and now it's running good again. U.S. Stove Great Quality!. I like it. For small to medium area heat, Fantastic. I am really glad I bought it. It has never run an higher than the low heat setting for ample amount of heat. I highly recomend this pellet heater by U.S. Stove."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
GiantsFan
Maine 
 
Please wait while more information about GiantsFan is loaded.
Additional information about GiantsFan could not be loaded.
Augur also screeching/grinding
December 6, 2011
"Did your wife do anything special when she cleaned the hopper? Our augur is also very loud and I didn't know if that was normal or not. I've only had the unit a few days."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Has its quirks but better than paying for oil!

,
November 16, 2011
By Doylez
from Bolton, MA
"We've had the window pellet stove for about a month now. When it works, it's great but it can be annoying when it keeps going into the shutdown phase for no obvious reason. The blinking lights don't tell us anything and the troubleshooting guide seems to be for advanced users and might require opening up the chassis.
The installation was simple and you do need help with it. Someone typically would hold the stove steady while the other secures it to the window frame. We couldn't use the included insulation kit because our window is not as wide as the kit would allow. So I cut a few pieces of wood, fit them to the width between the unit and each side of the window frame, and used the foam insulation in between each piece. Then used silicone caulk to seal off the gaps. No cold air getting in anymore. Instead of using the included support braces, we decided to use a 2x6 board behind the intake fan.
Operation is simple, just turn it on and set the level of heat you desire. After about 5 minutes, the fan will turn on and blow warm/hot air into the room. Now, this worked flawlessly for a little while but if you don't empty the burn pot every few hours of use, ash buildup will accumulate at the bottom of the burn pot and cause the unit to go into shutdown mode. Every 4-5 hours of use, I vacuum out all of the ashes and empty the burn pot. However, sometimes the unit will still go into shutdown mode even after only 1-2 hours of use. The troubleshooting guide tells you to check this and that but some of those checks might require you to open up the chassis (e.g. check that the pressure switch is connected to the firebox) or go outside and get up on a ladder (e.g. check if the exhaust is clear of any obstructions - you'll enjoy doing this in the middle of the winter).
Another gripe as others have mentioned is how the pellets in the hopper don't get completely fed into the auger. Pellets on the sides do not get fed into the auger because the bottom of the hopper isn't at enough of an angle for the pellets to fall towards the auger on their own. So, every 2-3 hours, just open up the hopper door and push the pellets toward the center. No big deal really.
This pellet stove is not super strong. It is installed at one end of our house on the lower level which is about 1200 sq-ft. We don't need the entire lower level to be warm, just the family room where the stove is in and the kitchen which is right next to it. Thank god we have a ceiling fan which helps to distribute the heat from the family room.
The fan is noisy, not much you can do about that. I'm excited to see our utility bills over the next 3-4 months as we enter the cold season."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stove!

,
November 7, 2011
By PNM14
from Leominster, MA
"We bought this stove for my mother's in law apt that is over our garage (approx 700 sq feet). It is AMAZING to say the least! Makes her place nice and toasty warm! She uses about a bag of pellets every other day (and she keeps her place hot and turns it off over night). Simply an amazing stove. I wish we had seen this a few years ago because it is so small and puts off almost as much heat as our large pellet stove!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I saw it in use and HAD to order it!

,
December 22, 2010
By fred2281
from Bath, PA
"My in laws told me about this window unit pellet stove and I could not believe it. Well, they got one and installed it so I had to see it! The next day I ordered mine. I have oil heat which I am trying to suppliment with the pellet stove. It does not 100% replace the oil but about 90%.
I have a 1/2 a double which has an open floor plan on the 1st floor (40' x 15') and the stove is able to keep it around 68 degrees. I also have my ceiling fan on reverse to help disperse the heat. So I am very pleased with the unit. Also my floor space is limited so I was not able to get a free standing pellet stove, which makes this stove great!
I have large replacement windows which made it a bit difficult to properly seal off the opens on either side of the stove. Also I built a platform for the stove to sit on instead of sitting on the sill of the window itself.
There should be a vibrating mechanism in the hopper so that the pellets continue to feed to the auger. After several hours I find myself pushing pellets from the sides of the hopper to the center.
The stove is easy to clean out every day."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Smoke Smell?
September 29, 2011
"My wife has allergies so we can't have a true wood burning stove. Does this heater have any kind of a smokey smell or leave a fine dust like some wood burning stoves?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Window Pellet Stove

,
November 16, 2010
By dpotter2
from Northern Oswego County, New York
"When I first saw this product I didn't quite believe that it would work. After receiving it, I have totally changed my mind. The installation was extremely simple, the instructions are precise and clear and I was up and running within 30 minutes (including the dry run recommended in the instructions). The price is comparable to other similar BTU stoves but you have no stove pipes to buy or install. My house has a hip roof and with the Ice and Snow we have in northern New York, I know I would have had problms with stove pipe damage. Not with this unit. It sits clearly behind the eaves and I anticiapte a nice warm winter with this great product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 17 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

US Stove Model #2400

,
November 15, 2010
By ByCo
from Nebraska
"This stove works good for me, if anything I wish it put out a little less heat! With outside temperatures in the mid 30's or above the stove will heat my 17'X14' living room to 80 degrees on the lowest setting. The coldest night so far has been 15 degrees and the stove kept the living room and adjoining 17'X15' kitchen/dining room at 72 to 75 degrees with the heat setting on 2.
Too install the stove I chose to eliminate an old window that needed to be replaced anyhow. I framed in the opening leaving an opening size that was indicated in the manual and the stove fit nicely leaving about an 1/8" gap on each side that was easily caulked, the top had about a 1/2" gap that I filled using the foam weather stripping that came with the stove. I ended up building a support for the front of the stove, the brackets that are supplied just weren't doing it for me. I found that the front of the stove needed to be slightly higher than the back or the front door wouldn't stay closed (there's nothing mentioned in the manual about leveling stove that I could find). I also mounted the stove so that the top is about waist high, this makes it easy to load the hopper.
As far as things that aren't so great.
The shape of the hopper makes it difficult to get a full load of pellets in the stove. After putting about 15 lbs of pellets in it looks like it's full but I found that if I reach in and push the pellets back I can get another 10+ pounds in if I work at it (I also found out that there are some sharp edges in there that can scratch and even cut the back of your hand).
I've also found that even after spraying the inside of the hopper with silicone lube the pellets don't fed smoothly to the auger, after burning all night I need to reach in and redistribute the pellets to keep it from starving for fuel.
I really wish the stove came in black. No mattern how carefull I am I always seem to get some soot on my hands when I clean the fire box and then get some on the front of the stove, and since the front isn't a smooth surface I can't get it completely cleaned off.
I also wish that the louvers on the front of the stove were angled downward a bit to give more even heat distribution in the room.
Overall I'm pleased with my purchase. I have a small house and floor space is at a premium, this stove keeps me toasty warm and I lost less than two square feet of floor space!
I would recommend this stove for anyone that doesn't want too or can't give up the floor space for a free standing unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
ByCo
Nebraska 
 
Please wait while more information about ByCo is loaded.
Additional information about ByCo could not be loaded.
Not so good.
January 26, 2012
"After only a year and a half the control board failed. So I kind of through the money out the window, so to speak. I'm off to find something better."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for US Stove Window-Mount Pellet Stove - 24,000 BTU, Model# 2400
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't give this stove a second thought!!

,
November 10, 2010
By PiperPilot
from Varden,Pennsylvania
"The concept is good but you get very little heat from this stove.I've tried several brands of pellets on the manufactures recommendation and still the same luke warm results.I am arranging to return the unit.Certainly not worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-26points
13out of 52found this review helpful.