Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"

"Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"

Item# 177015
"Brush Grubber's unique system of three 4-ft. long chains with 1/4' V-shaped gripping links act as a choker to remove shallow-rooted shrubs and clumps of saplings instead of individual trees. Use with ATVs, UTVs or lawn tractors up to 2000 lbs. of pulling force. Works With ATV/UTV, Recommended Use Shrubs and clumps, Application Grubber, Chain Length in. 36. Grubber's bright color helps prevent loss"
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
33 of 37(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Review 1 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grabber

,
July 31, 2015
By Melbee
from Owego NY
" We purchased this product to try to pull cattails from a pond but they are too slippery. Used it to pull over grown shrubs and it works great! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes pulling brush a piece of cake

,
July 9, 2015
By Abitagolfer
from Abita Springa, LA
" After receiving the "Brush Grubber" I quickly realized my lawn tractor did not possess enough torque to effectively pull several small brush clumps and small trees from my property. After switching to my pickup truck the task was made extremely easy! Having the proper sized lawn tractor is a must.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy this!

,
June 27, 2015
By gaj17
from michigan
" Takes alot for me to recommend something - bottomline, if you don't own one of these and you clear brush - buy it!
Very easy to use. Doesn't slip off. I use it attached to a front loader and it hasn't failed yet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush gripper

,
June 17, 2015
By RJL41
from CA
" My tractor is down but as soon as I get it fixed I have tons of manzanita that needs to be removed, and this will do it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful tool

,
June 4, 2015
By Berr
from WA state
" In western WA scotch broom is a plague and can take over an unused pasture in short order. I had purchased a BG-19 (good for 6000lbs) and was having great luck with it using my jeep winch and it to pull the scotch broom out by the roots , but at 18 lbs, it was wearing when many of them were smaller than an inch. So I also bought the BG-16 (good for a 2000 lbs pull) to handle the smaller ones and it works great; actually much better than the larger one on the smaller stuff and is much easier to manhandle. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

made well

,
April 24, 2015
By WiconsinJohn
from Northern Wisconsin
" it is a heavy chain with grippers on one side, it works and is made well. take care to orient the grippers to the inside towards the trunk, and it performs "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The right way to grub...

,
April 7, 2015
By Tuggybuddy1
from Yerington, NV
" Used to use a plane-'ol chain to drag rail ties, pull out fence posts, grub brush & stumps, drag cut trees. I should have bought this product years ago. Attachment to the item to be moved is easy and I simply drop the small end ring over my hitch ball and away we go. This tool will always be in the big truck from now on AND we're purchasing the large Brush Grubber for the heavier work. We (the boss and I) believe that if you have ONE need to be served with such a device then by all means get one - you'll then find it is handy for many functions. Regards, Dave "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too Strong!

,
March 6, 2015
By VineKiller
from Gainesville, FL
" I have a property with many different vines. It definitely handles the large vines like a champ, but its too string (as there is such a thing) for the small vines. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Grab

,
December 4, 2014
By JSB3
from Santa Rosa CA
" I have about 200 or so clumps of brush I need to remove, In about a half day I cleared about 75 of those with the Grabber. Quick and easy, solid capture of the brush made for easy removal - roots and all. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works on Brush

,
July 16, 2014
By HuskerMilt
from Colorado Springs, CO
" I had made several failed attempts to pull some fairly mature willow bushes as my log chain kept slipping off from under/around the base of the bush. Using the Brush Grubber it grabbed it - held tight and I was able to pull them out of the ground. I highly recommend it!. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brush Grabber

,
May 27, 2014
By Chandalar
from attigun@yahoo.com
" Performed as advertised, was a little iffy on multi-flower roses, but, grabbed most of the time. Far better than anything else I have tried. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shrub free

,
February 6, 2014
By Lkboettger
from Houston,TX
" My husband bought this to help clear some property. Nifty little gadget works well not quite as pretty as the picture though. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Property owner

,
February 4, 2014
By Tarrant
from East of St. Louis Mo --30 miles in Ill.
" For pulling the clumps of brush such as the Olive Bushes we have very thick on Deer Plots if left untilled .
To just wrap a chain does not work as it will slide with the green bark up and off the bush.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16

,
February 4, 2014
By TLB52
from Virginia Beach, Va
" Recently purchase a home with a large overgrown lot that needed clearing. Purchased the Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16 and was very pleased with the ability to pull up various types of underbrush with ease. Made it simple and much easier than trying to remove with a pick and shovel. Would definitely recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Strips bark well

,
May 25, 2013
By Bruce2
from Illinois
" I bought this to remove dogwood type clumps of vegetation- pretty much like in the marketing picture. Even with trying to get the chain choked tight and near the ground it slips off the clumps about 3 out of 4 times. Maybe there's a trick to setting the chain that I haven't figured out yet but it seems like the chain barbs prevent the chain from tightening enough on the vegetation because they catch on the O ring,. I'll have to play with it some more to see if I can get it to work better but so far I'm not impressed. It does grip and pull saplings well though so it has some utility. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

another way to use if it slips

,
January 8, 2013
By Hayseed9N
from Los Angeles
" For those of you who had a problem with this slipping, there is a second way to use it. Fold it in half, so you are holding the two rings together and have a loop at the opposite end. Wrap it around the plant/trunk and pull the two rings through the loop forming a bite. Then attatch the hook or what ever your going to pull with through both rings and pull. I have never ever had it slip off anything when used in this manner. When the pressure is off the chain, it comes apart real easy too. It also makes it twice as strong, and less likely to break "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great brush grubber

,
May 14, 2012
By Robie24
from Pittsburg, New Hampshire
" I was looking for a solution for pulling up brush and sapplings. After trying some things that didnt work very well i bought this item MODEL BG - 16 and it does the job everytime. I would highly reccomend it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16

,
January 16, 2012
By Rich57CT
from Oxford, Ct
" This product is great, besides ripping out weeds, shrubs and small trees I used it to rip 6" fence posts (6' high and 3' in the ground) out of the ground when replacing 90' of fence. I looped it around the post and connected the big loop to my tractor bucket and raised the bucket. It ripped all the posts right out of the ground and never slipped once. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding tool

,
January 9, 2012
By asapmedic
from Lumberton,Ms
" I would recomend this tool to all my friend and already have to a few. this thing pulls up the old plants that you keep cutting back each spring and you are through with them "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's worth every penny of its cost.

,
October 17, 2011
By capndan
from Pensacola, FL
" This thing works so well that my wife even loves to use it. She cleared scrub brush off of a building lot while I was out of town; but tried to pull some trees and broke it so I got a second one. I reminded her that we have a "Brush Grubber" for the trees. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.