Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"

"Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"

Item# 177015
"Brush Grubber's unique system of three 4-ft. long chains with 1/4' V-shaped gripping links act as a choker to remove shallow-rooted shrubs and clumps of saplings instead of individual trees. Use with ATVs or UTVs up to 2000 lbs. of pulling force. Recommended Use Shrub, clump, Chain Length in. 36, Works With ATV/UTV, Product Type Grubber. Grubber's bright color helps prevent loss"
Average Customer Rating:
4.163 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (43 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
36 of 43(84%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Review 1 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brush Grubber

,
April 22, 2016
By
from Idaho
Product works well, used to remove Rabbit Brush, pulls it out of the ground by the root system. Used my 4 wheeler ATV with a short chain to attach to the product. Most time spent is on installing it to the brush.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

broke on first use

,
March 7, 2016
By
from Oklahoma
this is a very bad weak product. broke on first use WEAK PRODUCT, do not buy it waste of your money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

,
October 4, 2015
By
from Portland, Oregon
Used this product twice and the second time the small ring split like it was pot metal. I was using it to pull out some small briar patches and pulling it with a honda rancher atv. Not sure if whats left of the product is still usable or not, trying to figure out a way to try to use the chain sections to pull out the briar patches but the cheaply welded rings will not hold up to light use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grubber grabs

,
September 18, 2015
By
from Battle Creek, MI
I had the much larger puller, but had a lot of small saplings to pull so got this. Worked most of the time, but once in a while, the Grubber just slid up the smaller saplings leaving them in the ground. I found that looping the chain through the loop a second time worked every time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worked well before it broke, twice.

,
September 9, 2015
By
from Missouri
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I bought this in store in Murfreesboro, TN, because I don't have a store local to me and I was traveling. The very first day of use, pulling small to medium sized bush honeysuckle, the small end ring split at the weld. I was able to thread a loop of 3/8", three strand nylon rope to repair and keep on working. The second day, same scenario, only the big ring end split as well...Also at the weld. Now I'm stuck with three lengths of chain and nothing to do with them. I suppose I'll try to find a pair of appropriately sized clevis' to try to put this thing back in service, but as it stands, this tool was not worth the money that I spent, in order to get a day and a half worth of use from it. I must say that I'm disappointed. Maybe I got a lemon. I don't know. I will say that it worked well before it broke.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber

,
August 27, 2015
By
from Kingston. Ma.
Sounds like a funny name but it works. I pulled brush and small stumps no problem, had to put the ford in 4 wheel drive for a few but the chain held and really locked on.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grabber

,
July 31, 2015
By
from Owego NY
We purchased this product to try to pull cattails from a pond but they are too slippery. Used it to pull over grown shrubs and it works great!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes pulling brush a piece of cake

,
July 9, 2015
By
from Abita Springa, LA
After receiving the "Brush Grubber" I quickly realized my lawn tractor did not possess enough torque to effectively pull several small brush clumps and small trees from my property. After switching to my pickup truck the task was made extremely easy! Having the proper sized lawn tractor is a must..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy this!

,
June 27, 2015
By
from michigan
Takes alot for me to recommend something - bottomline, if you don't own one of these and you clear brush - buy it!
Very easy to use. Doesn't slip off. I use it attached to a front loader and it hasn't failed yet.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush gripper

,
June 17, 2015
By
from CA
My tractor is down but as soon as I get it fixed I have tons of manzanita that needs to be removed, and this will do it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful tool

,
June 4, 2015
By
from WA state
In western WA scotch broom is a plague and can take over an unused pasture in short order. I had purchased a BG-19 (good for 6000lbs) and was having great luck with it using my jeep winch and it to pull the scotch broom out by the roots , but at 18 lbs, it was wearing when many of them were smaller than an inch. So I also bought the BG-16 (good for a 2000 lbs pull) to handle the smaller ones and it works great; actually much better than the larger one on the smaller stuff and is much easier to manhandle.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

made well

,
April 24, 2015
By
from Northern Wisconsin
it is a heavy chain with grippers on one side, it works and is made well. take care to orient the grippers to the inside towards the trunk, and it performs
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The right way to grub...

,
April 7, 2015
By
from Yerington, NV
Used to use a plane-'ol chain to drag rail ties, pull out fence posts, grub brush & stumps, drag cut trees. I should have bought this product years ago. Attachment to the item to be moved is easy and I simply drop the small end ring over my hitch ball and away we go. This tool will always be in the big truck from now on AND we're purchasing the large Brush Grubber for the heavier work. We (the boss and I) believe that if you have ONE need to be served with such a device then by all means get one - you'll then find it is handy for many functions. Regards, Dave
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too Strong!

,
March 6, 2015
By
from Gainesville, FL
I have a property with many different vines. It definitely handles the large vines like a champ, but its too string (as there is such a thing) for the small vines.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Grab

,
December 4, 2014
By
from Santa Rosa CA
I have about 200 or so clumps of brush I need to remove, In about a half day I cleared about 75 of those with the Grabber. Quick and easy, solid capture of the brush made for easy removal - roots and all.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works on Brush

,
July 16, 2014
By
from Colorado Springs, CO
I had made several failed attempts to pull some fairly mature willow bushes as my log chain kept slipping off from under/around the base of the bush. Using the Brush Grubber it grabbed it - held tight and I was able to pull them out of the ground. I highly recommend it!.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brush Grabber

,
May 27, 2014
By
from attigun@yahoo.com
Performed as advertised, was a little iffy on multi-flower roses, but, grabbed most of the time. Far better than anything else I have tried.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shrub free

,
February 6, 2014
By
from Houston,TX
My husband bought this to help clear some property. Nifty little gadget works well not quite as pretty as the picture though.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Property owner

,
February 4, 2014
By
from East of St. Louis Mo --30 miles in Ill.
For pulling the clumps of brush such as the Olive Bushes we have very thick on Deer Plots if left untilled .
To just wrap a chain does not work as it will slide with the green bark up and off the bush.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Virginia Beach, Va
Recently purchase a home with a large overgrown lot that needed clearing. Purchased the Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16 and was very pleased with the ability to pull up various types of underbrush with ease. Made it simple and much easier than trying to remove with a pick and shovel. Would definitely recommend this product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.