Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"

"Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"

Item# 177015
"Brush Grubber's unique system of three 4-ft. long chains with 1/4' V-shaped gripping links act as a choker to remove shallow-rooted shrubs and clumps of saplings instead of individual trees. Use with ATVs, UTVs or lawn tractors up to 2000 lbs. of pulling force. Application Grubber, Chain Length in. 36, Recommended Use Shrubs and clumps, Works With ATV/UTV. Grubber's bright color helps prevent loss"
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
25 of 29(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Review 1 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Grab

,
December 4, 2014
By JSB3
from Santa Rosa CA
" I have about 200 or so clumps of brush I need to remove, In about a half day I cleared about 75 of those with the Grabber. Quick and easy, solid capture of the brush made for easy removal - roots and all. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works on Brush

,
July 16, 2014
By HuskerMilt
from Colorado Springs, CO
" I had made several failed attempts to pull some fairly mature willow bushes as my log chain kept slipping off from under/around the base of the bush. Using the Brush Grubber it grabbed it - held tight and I was able to pull them out of the ground. I highly recommend it!. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brush Grabber

,
May 27, 2014
By Chandalar
from attigun@yahoo.com
" Performed as advertised, was a little iffy on multi-flower roses, but, grabbed most of the time. Far better than anything else I have tried. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shrub free

,
February 6, 2014
By Lkboettger
from Houston,TX
" My husband bought this to help clear some property. Nifty little gadget works well not quite as pretty as the picture though. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Property owner

,
February 4, 2014
By Tarrant
from East of St. Louis Mo --30 miles in Ill.
" For pulling the clumps of brush such as the Olive Bushes we have very thick on Deer Plots if left untilled .
To just wrap a chain does not work as it will slide with the green bark up and off the bush.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16

,
February 4, 2014
By TLB52
from Virginia Beach, Va
" Recently purchase a home with a large overgrown lot that needed clearing. Purchased the Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16 and was very pleased with the ability to pull up various types of underbrush with ease. Made it simple and much easier than trying to remove with a pick and shovel. Would definitely recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Strips bark well

,
May 25, 2013
By Bruce2
from Illinois
" I bought this to remove dogwood type clumps of vegetation- pretty much like in the marketing picture. Even with trying to get the chain choked tight and near the ground it slips off the clumps about 3 out of 4 times. Maybe there's a trick to setting the chain that I haven't figured out yet but it seems like the chain barbs prevent the chain from tightening enough on the vegetation because they catch on the O ring,. I'll have to play with it some more to see if I can get it to work better but so far I'm not impressed. It does grip and pull saplings well though so it has some utility. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

another way to use if it slips

,
January 8, 2013
By Hayseed9N
from Los Angeles
" For those of you who had a problem with this slipping, there is a second way to use it. Fold it in half, so you are holding the two rings together and have a loop at the opposite end. Wrap it around the plant/trunk and pull the two rings through the loop forming a bite. Then attatch the hook or what ever your going to pull with through both rings and pull. I have never ever had it slip off anything when used in this manner. When the pressure is off the chain, it comes apart real easy too. It also makes it twice as strong, and less likely to break "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great brush grubber

,
May 14, 2012
By Robie24
from Pittsburg, New Hampshire
" I was looking for a solution for pulling up brush and sapplings. After trying some things that didnt work very well i bought this item MODEL BG - 16 and it does the job everytime. I would highly reccomend it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16

,
January 16, 2012
By Rich57CT
from Oxford, Ct
" This product is great, besides ripping out weeds, shrubs and small trees I used it to rip 6" fence posts (6' high and 3' in the ground) out of the ground when replacing 90' of fence. I looped it around the post and connected the big loop to my tractor bucket and raised the bucket. It ripped all the posts right out of the ground and never slipped once. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding tool

,
January 9, 2012
By asapmedic
from Lumberton,Ms
" I would recomend this tool to all my friend and already have to a few. this thing pulls up the old plants that you keep cutting back each spring and you are through with them "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's worth every penny of its cost.

,
October 17, 2011
By capndan
from Pensacola, FL
" This thing works so well that my wife even loves to use it. She cleared scrub brush off of a building lot while I was out of town; but tried to pull some trees and broke it so I got a second one. I reminded her that we have a "Brush Grubber" for the trees. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

,
July 7, 2011
By mick907
from Spfld,Ill
" If you are pulling up shrubs or bushes this is for you , I purchased this to pull up Four fully grown Boxwoods and it worked great , hooked on to the base and winched them out we ease. I also used a saws-all to help with the Roots but all-n-all it was worth the investment to me . the Grubber gripped and held on and did what it was designed to do " HOLD " no slip >!!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Grubs some - Leaves others

,
June 13, 2011
By Skybird564
from Upstate SC
" Bought this to eradicate Honey Locust in my pastures. It needs a real clump - with the chain wrapped tight - to be effective. Tried pulling up a clump of Autumn Olive and nearly pulled my bumper off! Recommend using it with a tractor for really large stuff. The grubber itself seems to be pretty destruction proof, but then again, there are some folks that can bend an anvil.
I recommend this tool. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber

,
June 6, 2011
By John349
" This was a great buy. It takes out unwanted shrubs like wild honey suckle and other small clumping bushes. Just wrap around the base, put the small ring through the large ring and pull with a chain. My son welded a large hook on the bucket of my compact tractor and made it even faster. Great for clearing snowmobile trails or just borders around your property. Very happy with this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this

,
March 14, 2011
By farmliving
from Morrow, Ohio
" This has been a great addtion to my farm tools. I was able to clear over 1000 feet of fence line with my atv in no time at all. I usually use my tractor to clear my fence lines but I have over 1000 feet that goes though a dense section of woods that I can only access with my atv. Now I have a large path along the fence line. Awesome. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber not great

,
November 17, 2010
By Trax
from Sarasota, FL
" This tool just did not do the job for me. It seemed that unless the tool was used on something very bushy, it just slipped off. I think the single chain model would have worked much better. In fact, I had better luck with a stainless steel 5/16" cable than I did with this brush grubber tool. It was disappointing, because the Stump Tool worked great and I was hoping for the same results with this tool. I assume that there are many bushes that it will "grab", but none on my property. I also tried it on wood vine, catbriar, and other clumps of vines without success. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't Really Grab

,
November 16, 2010
By NotBob
from Michigan
" I had high hopes that this little chain would latch on to the small buckthorn that we were pulling, but no matter how hard we tried, it slipped off just like a straight chain. It worked fine on the larger stuff, but then so did a plain chain. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

brush grabber # 1

,
August 23, 2010
By irodeminethere
" i love my brush grabber
using a 4 wheeler and a 4 cyclinder truck to pull up evergreen bushes
it does what ever i need it to do
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Brush Grubber Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-16"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

brush grubber

,
June 3, 2010
By dbjb
from Barron , Wi.
" used it to remove several low shrubs from my yard and it worked great. I pulled them using my 4 wheel drive truck and it held up very well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.