Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"

"Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"

Item# 177019
"This Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber provides a unique triple-chain system that saves time by pulling up entire clumps instead of small trees individually. Loop system acts as a choker, holding materials in place for removal. 6 feet of no-slip grip links make tool ideal for removing larger shallow-rooted shrubs and clumps of brush and small trees. For use with any compact tractor, ATV or UTV can be used with up to 6,000 lbs. of pulling force. Application Grubber, Recommended Use Shallow-rooted shrubs and clumps, Works With Compact tractor, ATV, UTV, Chain Length in. 72, Material Steel. Unique triple chain system grips shallow-rooted clumps instead of small trees individually Loop system acts as a choker 6-ft. loop of 7/25in. no-slip grip links can grab larger clumps, up to 1ft.9in. dia. For use with ATVs and UTVs High-visibility color helps prevent loss"
Average Customer Rating:
4.489 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (45 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
40 of 45(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Review 1 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Sturdy

,
June 23, 2015
By gwhizz63
from Houston, TX
" I used this hooked up to my John Deere 310D Backhoe to pull some small trees and big bushes and it worked awesome. Great at holding and doesn't tighten, comes off easily afterwards. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Name says it ALL!

,
June 4, 2015
By whit1
from Ohio
" Wasn't sure if product was going to be worth the price but it WAS! Very easy to use and grabs anything you can put it around except for very small saplings (1/2"and smaller). Would recommend smaller Brush Grubber if that is all your removing. You won't be disappointed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well

,
April 24, 2015
By WiconsinJohn
from Northern Wisconsin
" the grubber works well enough, it probably justifies the price. grips better than a chain, but if you don't have a lot of shrubs to pull out a chain will suffice "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brush Grubber BG 19

,
February 6, 2015
By Schoolbusdriver
from Lincoln, VT
" The brush grubber is heavy duty and looks like it will do the job for which it was designed for. I am waiting for spring to use it, because there is too much snow to get access into the area of concern. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clears Heavy Brush well

,
February 1, 2015
By HobbyFarmGuy
from Richmond Virginia
" Used this to clear trifoliant orange and Russian Olives. Worked well. The studs on the chain gripped the brush nicely, the only real limitation to what I could pull out was slippage of the wheels on my tractor. The bright green color was easy to see in heavy brush. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

brush grubber

,
December 22, 2014
By bobtny44
from New York
" I think this works as advertised. Has worked well so far, and does not slip. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"What do you mean it's out already?"

,
December 7, 2014
By Rasil
from Everett, WA
" That was the reaction of my customer after pulling a Wild Rose hedge in one short afternoon.
Just wrap it around the clump of Roses and ease the truck forward, and they were out. The teeth on the chain really helped to keep the tool in position and not slide up and off.
This will be a tool that sees lots of use.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I expected

,
September 23, 2014
By KMS4747
from Louisiana
" I had a lot of brush and small trees to pull up. Used this on bushes in large clumps. Many clumps up to 8" in diameter. Worked great. 65 HP tractor didn't break it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
September 19, 2014
By MarvinJ
from Plano, TX
" Used properly this can be an amazingly useful tool. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Mode

,
September 7, 2014
By CDH1
from KINGSLAND, GA
" I GOT THE 6' GRUBBER, IT IS A LITTLE HEAVEY BUT WORK LIKE A CHAMP, I PULLES DOWN A 4' TREE AND IT DID NOT SLIP. I USED A KUBOTA TRACTOR AND PUT THE GRUBBER UP ABOUT 4' WHERE IT WOULD PULL OVER AND OUT. I WOULD BUY IT AGAIN "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grubber

,
August 31, 2014
By SeabeeVet
from Mt Eden, KY
" Works well. I like the length, it gives me plenty of grubber surface and maneuverability while attaching to the load. I like it better than choker style (nylon & wire rope) I have been using for the same task. Nylon wears easily and the wire rope will develop "fishhooks". Bright color is a big help in keeping track of this tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
August 1, 2014
By Bob91
from Buffalo, Mo
" I had 2 dead pine trees, about 3" Dia. I hooked the chain around the stump (10"-12") high and attached my truck thru my 2" receiver and pulled them both out with no problem. Great Item. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked better than expected!

,
July 9, 2014
By blmontne
from Michigan
" You always wonder when you read reviews if they really do work as people say.
Well this product did not disappoint, it even worked better than I had expected it to work. I was able to up root small trees, remove Russian Olive bushes and basically clean up my food plot and hunting area with this, a chain and my tractor. Trees I thought I would have to use a chainsaw on to remove popped right out. Granted they were Red pine with a shallow root system, but I was surprised at how easily they came out. It didn’t get all locked up either. I thought after removing one tree that it was going to really be difficult to remove the brush grabber, because it would have dug into the tree and lock onto its self, but it wasn’t, it was just as easy to remove as it was to wrap it around the tree to begin with. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone that needs to remove bushes, small trees, and even move larger trees after they are cut down.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This grubbing chain works as said.

,
July 3, 2014
By wanttobefarmer
from Lower Michigan
" As does everything with the grubber name. Would buy anything to make the job easier. This does that. Would recommend to a friend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
June 18, 2014
By MiHawkeye
from Michigan
" This thing is awesome! I used my truck to pull the trees out. It grabbed everything and got root ball and everything out easy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Mode

,
June 16, 2014
By Roadking02
from Pennsylvania
" This product has saved me a lot of time and effort. It grabs clumps of shrubs and small plants and grabs on tight. It does not slip or slide off like other chains or cables that I have uses. It is also very well build and heavy. I'm glad I purchased this product and you will be as well. You can't go wrong purchasing this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

6 trys!

,
May 31, 2014
By GrizzlyA
from central Vermont
" I got this product in the mail...was excited to try it, wrapped it around about 6 saplings, {thumb sized}, tried to pull with my new 10G winch, slid off! tried the Chevy 2500 HD, slid off, thied the polaris ....you got it! Did'nt matter where it was hooked on the trees or the vehicle....very well made, in fact so heavy that 6 tries were enough. When I get the 35hp. 4X4 tractor up and running next week we shall try again, meantime it looks awsome wrapped around my trucks heavy-duty bumper! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
May 29, 2014
By JimJD
from NH
" Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19 worked well on medium & larger stuff. You do need to pay attention to which way the teeth are pointed or it won't grab properly. I liked it well enough that I will probably buy the smaller version for smaller brush. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't live up to expectations

,
May 28, 2014
By PROG
from Bozeman, MT
" Semi-difficult to use & wrap around the willows that I was trying to remove...then pulled over the top about 50% of time. Better than regular chains, but not by much. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG-19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very effective

,
May 10, 2014
By PlainKyle
from Plain, WA
" The Brush Grubber has turned out to be a very effective tool for removing small trees. We use it mainly on vine maples and pull with a small tractor. I'm continually surprised by how large a clump I can pull. The chain is easy to loop around the trees and grips well.
The only problem we've had is gripping small shrubs. The chain can't wrap tight enough to grip them. Not a problem with the tool in this case, just with the user. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.