Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"

"Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"

Item# 177019
"This Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber provides a unique triple-chain system that saves time by pulling up entire clumps instead of small trees individually. Loop system acts as a choker, holding materials in place for removal. 6 feet of no-slip grip links make tool ideal for removing larger shallow-rooted shrubs and clumps of brush and small trees. For use with any compact tractor, ATV or UTV can be used with up to 6000 lbs. of pulling force. Application Grubber, Chain Length in. 72, Works With Compact tractor, ATV, UTV, Recommended Use Shallow-rooted shrubs and clumps, Material Steel. Unique triple chain system grips shallow-rooted clumps instead of small trees individually Loop system acts as a choker 6-ft. loop of 7/25' no-slip grip links can grab larger clumps, up to 1ft.9in. dia. For use with ATVs and UTVs High-visibility color helps prevent loss"
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (38 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
33 of 38(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Review 1 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I expected

,
September 23, 2014
By KMS4747
from Louisiana
"I had a lot of brush and small trees to pull up. Used this on bushes in large clumps. Many clumps up to 8" in diameter. Worked great. 65 HP tractor didn't break it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
September 19, 2014
By MarvinJ
from Plano, TX
"Used properly this can be an amazingly useful tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Mode

,
September 7, 2014
By CDH1
from KINGSLAND, GA
"I GOT THE 6' GRUBBER, IT IS A LITTLE HEAVEY BUT WORK LIKE A CHAMP, I PULLES DOWN A 4' TREE AND IT DID NOT SLIP. I USED A KUBOTA TRACTOR AND PUT THE GRUBBER UP ABOUT 4' WHERE IT WOULD PULL OVER AND OUT. I WOULD BUY IT AGAIN"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grubber

,
August 31, 2014
By SeabeeVet
from Mt Eden, KY
"Works well. I like the length, it gives me plenty of grubber surface and maneuverability while attaching to the load. I like it better than choker style (nylon & wire rope) I have been using for the same task. Nylon wears easily and the wire rope will develop "fishhooks". Bright color is a big help in keeping track of this tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
August 1, 2014
By Bob91
from Buffalo, Mo
"I had 2 dead pine trees, about 3" Dia. I hooked the chain around the stump (10"-12") high and attached my truck thru my 2" receiver and pulled them both out with no problem. Great Item."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked better than expected!

,
July 9, 2014
By blmontne
from Michigan
"You always wonder when you read reviews if they really do work as people say.
Well this product did not disappoint, it even worked better than I had expected it to work. I was able to up root small trees, remove Russian Olive bushes and basically clean up my food plot and hunting area with this, a chain and my tractor. Trees I thought I would have to use a chainsaw on to remove popped right out. Granted they were Red pine with a shallow root system, but I was surprised at how easily they came out. It didn’t get all locked up either. I thought after removing one tree that it was going to really be difficult to remove the brush grabber, because it would have dug into the tree and lock onto its self, but it wasn’t, it was just as easy to remove as it was to wrap it around the tree to begin with. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone that needs to remove bushes, small trees, and even move larger trees after they are cut down.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This grubbing chain works as said.

,
July 3, 2014
By wanttobefarmer
from Lower Michigan
"As does everything with the grubber name. Would buy anything to make the job easier. This does that. Would recommend to a friend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
June 18, 2014
By MiHawkeye
from Michigan
"This thing is awesome! I used my truck to pull the trees out. It grabbed everything and got root ball and everything out easy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Mode

,
June 16, 2014
By Roadking02
from Pennsylvania
"This product has saved me a lot of time and effort. It grabs clumps of shrubs and small plants and grabs on tight. It does not slip or slide off like other chains or cables that I have uses. It is also very well build and heavy. I'm glad I purchased this product and you will be as well. You can't go wrong purchasing this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

6 trys!

,
May 31, 2014
By GrizzlyA
from central Vermont
"I got this product in the mail...was excited to try it, wrapped it around about 6 saplings, {thumb sized}, tried to pull with my new 10G winch, slid off! tried the Chevy 2500 HD, slid off, thied the polaris ....you got it! Did'nt matter where it was hooked on the trees or the vehicle....very well made, in fact so heavy that 6 tries were enough. When I get the 35hp. 4X4 tractor up and running next week we shall try again, meantime it looks awsome wrapped around my trucks heavy-duty bumper!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
May 29, 2014
By JimJD
from NH
"Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19 worked well on medium & larger stuff. You do need to pay attention to which way the teeth are pointed or it won't grab properly. I liked it well enough that I will probably buy the smaller version for smaller brush."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't live up to expectations

,
May 28, 2014
By PROG
from Bozeman, MT
"Semi-difficult to use & wrap around the willows that I was trying to remove...then pulled over the top about 50% of time. Better than regular chains, but not by much."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very effective

,
May 10, 2014
By PlainKyle
from Plain, WA
"The Brush Grubber has turned out to be a very effective tool for removing small trees. We use it mainly on vine maples and pull with a small tractor. I'm continually surprised by how large a clump I can pull. The chain is easy to loop around the trees and grips well.
The only problem we've had is gripping small shrubs. The chain can't wrap tight enough to grip them. Not a problem with the tool in this case, just with the user."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great brush removal tool

,
April 23, 2013
By aksanta
from Tennessee
"This product works great and pulls brush, blackberry briars, and small trees really well. I have used it extensively this spring without any problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Surprised

,
April 13, 2013
By DieselNut
from Taxachusetts
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Bought this in hopes it would help reduce my amazon of a front & back yard. Physically it had the right idea but I still had my doubts. Now. What I was pulling out was nothing magnificent but substantial enough that I didn't want to spend the day digging. Eventually, when I went around to the front I tried it on a rats nest of a bush, no leaves yet thank god, and it yanked it out pretty good. Smaller stuff needs to have it wrapped appropriately for it to work, but work it did.
Worth the money. just get it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

brush grubber #177019-2301

,
October 15, 2012
By cinmar65
from lapeer mi
"the day I got it I started pulling brush out of my back yard. It works awesome pulled brush out like it wasn't even there. If you have land you need to clear, this is the tool for you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Choker

,
August 13, 2012
By packard666
from santa barbara, ca
"Have been using to rip out large bougenvilla roots. Heavy duty, cleats on chains help grip good.
So far it's held up, although I haven't hooked it up to my pickup and really put some stress on it!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

brush grubber

,
August 13, 2012
By HankB
from Long Island, NY
"I used it to pull out established hedges. Performed flawlessly"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Useful, but not perfect

,
August 13, 2012
By GCtraveler
from Holland, Michigan
"The clump grubber is a useful chain, but not perfect in pulling rooted plants. Photos in the product ad would lead you to believe that by wrapping the chain around the base of a clump, you can expect to extract the the clump successfully. We tried it on several willow clumps around a small pond, but found it would strip over the bush. Even with digging around the base of the roots, we did not have complete root removal. Buyers should be aware of the limitations and expect to still do a fair amount of digging and re-attaching of the grubber chain. I believe the grubber chain is better than a traditional log chain, but it is far from perfect in actual use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

MUCH BIGGER than image suggests!

,
August 3, 2012
By BurkyB
from Chelsea, MI
"I have a BG08 Heavy Duty brush puller (which is a wonderful product) but wanted something smaller to work with saplings and hedgerow brush that sprouts around the farm, that are too small to really use the BG08 on.
Based on the product image shown for this BG19 it looked perfect to meet my needs where the similar BG16 choke-chain looked a bit too small.
Was I ever shocked when I opened this BG19 box and found a mammoth chain! Way too big for my intended use of small brush pulling. The product appears very sturdy and well built, and I have little doubt it will do the job, but I already have the functionally equivalent BG08 puller and don't need 2 similar items.
The product image with this item should show its size in a better fashion. The little brush stalks it is wrapped around look pencil thin when they must be much larger. Perhaps having a hand in the picture for perspective would help!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.