Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19

Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19

Item# 177019
This Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber provides a unique triple-chain system that saves time by pulling up entire clumps instead of small trees individually. Loop system acts as a choker, holding materials in place for removal. 6 feet of no-slip grip links make tool ideal for removing larger shallow-rooted shrubs and clumps of brush and small trees. For use with any compact tractor, ATV or UTV can be used with up to 6000 lbs. of pulling force. Application Grubber, Chain Length in. 72, Works With Compact tractor, ATV, UTV, Recommended Use Shallow-rooted shrubs and clumps. Unique triple chain system grips shallow-rooted clumps instead of small trees individually Loop system acts as a choker 6-ft. loop of 7/25' no-slip grip links can grab larger clumps, up to 1ft.9in. dia. For use with ATVs and UTVs High-visibility color helps prevent loss
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (25 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
22 of 25(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Review 1 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great brush removal tool

,
April 23, 2013
By aksanta
from Tennessee
"This product works great and pulls brush, blackberry briars, and small trees really well. I have used it extensively this spring without any problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Surprised

,
April 13, 2013
By DieselNut
from Taxachusetts
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Bought this in hopes it would help reduce my amazon of a front & back yard. Physically it had the right idea but I still had my doubts. Now. What I was pulling out was nothing magnificent but substantial enough that I didn't want to spend the day digging. Eventually, when I went around to the front I tried it on a rats nest of a bush, no leaves yet thank god, and it yanked it out pretty good. Smaller stuff needs to have it wrapped appropriately for it to work, but work it did.
Worth the money. just get it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

brush grubber #177019-2301

,
October 15, 2012
By cinmar65
from lapeer mi
"the day I got it I started pulling brush out of my back yard. It works awesome pulled brush out like it wasn't even there. If you have land you need to clear, this is the tool for you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Choker

,
August 13, 2012
By packard666
from santa barbara, ca
"Have been using to rip out large bougenvilla roots. Heavy duty, cleats on chains help grip good.
So far it's held up, although I haven't hooked it up to my pickup and really put some stress on it!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

brush grubber

,
August 13, 2012
By HankB
from Long Island, NY
"I used it to pull out established hedges. Performed flawlessly"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Useful, but not perfect

,
August 13, 2012
By GCtraveler
from Holland, Michigan
"The clump grubber is a useful chain, but not perfect in pulling rooted plants. Photos in the product ad would lead you to believe that by wrapping the chain around the base of a clump, you can expect to extract the the clump successfully. We tried it on several willow clumps around a small pond, but found it would strip over the bush. Even with digging around the base of the roots, we did not have complete root removal. Buyers should be aware of the limitations and expect to still do a fair amount of digging and re-attaching of the grubber chain. I believe the grubber chain is better than a traditional log chain, but it is far from perfect in actual use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

MUCH BIGGER than image suggests!

,
August 3, 2012
By BurkyB
from Chelsea, MI
"I have a BG08 Heavy Duty brush puller (which is a wonderful product) but wanted something smaller to work with saplings and hedgerow brush that sprouts around the farm, that are too small to really use the BG08 on.
Based on the product image shown for this BG19 it looked perfect to meet my needs where the similar BG16 choke-chain looked a bit too small.
Was I ever shocked when I opened this BG19 box and found a mammoth chain! Way too big for my intended use of small brush pulling. The product appears very sturdy and well built, and I have little doubt it will do the job, but I already have the functionally equivalent BG08 puller and don't need 2 similar items.
The product image with this item should show its size in a better fashion. The little brush stalks it is wrapped around look pencil thin when they must be much larger. Perhaps having a hand in the picture for perspective would help!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

brushgrubber does not grab

,
May 24, 2012
By a225a2a
from Farmington,NM
"What a hunk of junk. Purchased this a couple of months ago with intent of pulling some brush around our property. Almost impossible to get 6ft. around clumps with teeth facing towards brush. Then when you pull, it slides right over the top leaving a barkless clump of brush still standing. I found its faster to cut brush at ground level with clippers or a chainsaw and use a shovel to dig it out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Buy the other one!

,
May 14, 2012
By Nemesis
from Sussex, WI
"I bought both this unit and the BG-08 and I find that the BG-08 is the one that always works. I am not saying that the BG19 doesn't have it usefullness but the BG08 should be your main tool for pulling small to medium bushes / stumps.
I use the BG08 off the back of my John Deere 420 and it rocks..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have for any tractor owner!

,
May 7, 2012
By Bob43
from Frankfort,mi
"This is an essential tool to keep close to your tractor. For clearing and moving logs,stumps,brush,or anything you can get it around there is nothing better. Teeth on the chains grip the object to be moved preventing slippage. End rings are different sized so one fits through the other to form a noose around object to be pulled. Saves time!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush grubber works great.

,
January 19, 2012
By MichaelWS
from Snow Hill, MD
"I used the brush grubber to remove a row of bushes that were beyond repair. The tool is incredibly effective and made quick work of the project that I originally thought would be an all day ordeal. All I had to do was wrap the chains around the bushes and attach the chain to another chain attached to my truck and take off. Much better than digging them all out with a shovel."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very helpful tool

,
October 17, 2011
By LogCutter1
from Mass
"I use this with my L39 Kubota, and as long as you use it as directed, it will work well on most small groups of bushes. The key is to get a good tight fit near the base, and make sure the no slip teeth are facing towards the shrub base. Also, initially put the big loop 180 degrees away from the side your pulling from, so it can tension properly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 10, 2011
By MarkJD
from Hartsville, NY
"I used this with my 35hp New Holland tractor this weekend and it performed great. You just need to make sure you have it hooked up right. This was
worth the money.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber

,
October 10, 2011
By kubotaking
from Goodlettsville, TN
"I bought the Brush Grubber to help with tree trimmings. I lay the Brush Grubber flat on the ground. Lay tree branches and brush on it. Slide the chains through each other, hook up to a chain attached to my tractor. Then drag it down by my pond for burning. Unhooking is very easy. Love the way this tool works."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The boxwood remover

,
June 9, 2011
By GrubberLover
"We had an arch of boxwoods off our patio for ten years. Unfortunately, the leafminer got to about 30 of these beauties. I had to pull them out. Digging was just not an option. It would have taken me days of work. I reluctantly bought the grubber. But, it was fantastic! I removed all the infected boxwoods in one short half day (into a 10 yard dumpster).
The hardest part was positioning/placing the chain around the base of each boxwood and chinching it tight before effortlessly pulling it/them out with my truck. Regardless, this is one great tool Absolutely worth the price and more!
.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber

,
June 8, 2011
By moonmcm
from Sweeny, Tx
"Awesome product. Works real good on 3" & up single trunks. It will grab clumps but has trouble sometimes if bark is real slick. Use with Kubota 28 hp and depending on ground and root system will pull quite a lot of stuff. Using primarily on yaupon clumps and larger individuals. If it can't pull it, it will usually break it off below ground level on larger ones 4"+. Don't think you could tear this thing up. Well built. If you can get the traction and have the power, this thing will pull it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 6, 2011
By Tango401
from Alabama
"I had purchased this product with hesitation at first, but glad that I did after the first time using the product. I got tired of doing it the old way with ropes and chains. After the first shrub I knew I was hooked. The chain released easily and was ready to take on the next 18 shrubs. Made for quick removal. I would highly recommend purchasing if having to remove allot of under brush, shrubs, small trees and works wonders on kudzu also, pulls them out by the roots leaving no stubs to have to worry about digging up. Not had any problems with the product except trying to figure out whom has borrowed it, so I could use it again. ***GREAT PRODUCT***"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very handy

,
March 14, 2011
By Hawki
from GA
"The brush grubber works great. It does the job as advertised, just don't try to pull up a clump of bushes that are too large."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber

,
March 14, 2011
By OkieJoe
from Oklahoma City, OK
"This piece of equipment has exceded my expectations. It will not slip off whatever you are trying to remove and I have dragged big trees that I cut down into an area where they were more easily cut up. I would recommend this product to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brush Grubber Heavy-Duty Shrub/Clump Grubber, Model# BG19
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked for me

,
February 21, 2011
By MyExp
from Alabama
"Used this product on some shurbs and it worked well. Had tried to pull up small groups before with a rope and it would just slip off .I was somewhat worried this would do the same but it did not slip and pulled the groups out roots and all. I have not used it a lot but the trick seems to be to get a good tight choke on the shrubs with the chains 1st, then pull. It worked for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.