Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"

"Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"

Item# 177021
"Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs, made with high-carbon steel, open to 25in.W and grip logs with 360 no-slip grip teeth. A swiveling hook prevents chain twisting. Length ft. 26 3/4, Jaw Opening in. 25, Material Steel, Product Type Tong. Made with strong high-carbon 1in. dia. steel Jaws open to 25in. to grip large logs 360 rotating no-slip teeth start sharp and stay sharp Swiveling hook prevents chain twisting Powder-coated for durability and long life Replacement gripping teeth set available, sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"
Review 1 for "Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beats chokers

,
November 12, 2012
By Brown61Dawg
from S.E. Michigan
"Work as advertised. These TONGS grip well, only had them pull out once, but that log was dry rotted. Put an angle cut on the face and the logs will pull like nothing. I use a 4x4 Rancher and have pulled 12" x 12' logs w/o a hitch. Just line them up and a quick "pop" into place and they grab. Easy to back out as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

4

,
October 8, 2012
By Takman2
from Twining, MI
"The skidding tongs have been doing an adequate job, for me. I have experienced one problem. The replaceable tips have a snap ring goove in them, to retain them in the frame. There was too much paint in the groove and the snap ring came out. Fortunately, I was able to recover the tip and replace the snap ring."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Skidding Tongs

,
August 13, 2012
By bruf
from Darlington, WI.
"I`am very satisfied with the skidding tongs. they work very well. There is not any thing that I don`t like about them. They grab the logs well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Snap ring problem

,
April 18, 2012
By Danderup
from Chattanooga, TN
"The first and second time I used these the snap ring popped off. This ring hold the spike in place, and when it comes off the spike falls off the device. The first time the ring was recovered, but the second time was in a grassy area and it could not be found. So I until I can get another snap ring for the tongs they are useless."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for moving logs!

,
October 11, 2011
By Hooch
from Southern Ohio
"I was tired of wrapped chains and working harder than I need to to move logs in my woods. I cut several trees each year for wood and clearing land so I needed these tongs. I researched many and decided on the 25". I tried them out on several very large Ash logs and they worked perfect. Not once did they slip and I simply tapped them in place by hand. They came off easily as well.
These should last me a lifetime and will save a lot of time and effort."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great Tool

,
March 14, 2011
By Dennis1
from Califon, New Jersey
"In the past I always had to cut up downed trees where the fell, safe or not. Now using my new thongs a chain and my tractor I can pull the downed tree to a safe place to cut up with my chain saw. The thongs are very easy to use and very well made"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy duty and sharp

,
November 16, 2010
By Alfontz
from NH
"Thongs work well skidding and lifting logs over even terrain. Save’s time when used as a grapple to pick up logs, don’t even have to get off the tractor. Heavy duty and sharp. I tried to use them to pull trees from odd angles and tangled where they would break loose."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

dragging tongs

,
May 24, 2010
By CoryL
from Central Illinois
"I hate to admit we use them for loading cuts too big to be loaded by hand, though not recommended they work great and save a lot of back strain!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 25in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW03SS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Same time and effort

,
November 2, 2009
By Hockey1
from Ann Arbor, MI
"I use these tongs with a chain on my tractors front end loader. They enabled me to pick up and move much larger logs than I was able to by just wrapping the chain around the log itself. They are well made and work well for grabbing all logs. I was unable to find any logging tongs at local stores in my area, so I ordered these they came fast and work great. I have used them 3 times for about 2 hours each time over the past 6 weeks. I have no dislikes at this time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.