Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"

"Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"

Item# 177025
"Here is an easy and effective way to clear larger tree stumps, shrubs and other shallow-rooted invasive plants. The Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus has 3 1/2in. grip pads that rotate 360 with 5 grip teeth per pad to ensure a firm grip no matter what. Made with heavy-duty 1 1/2in. steel, this grubber is suited for use with pickups, SUVs, tractors and skid loaders. Application Grubber, Jaw Opening in. 6, Teeth qty. 5 Per pad, Works With Pick-up, SUV, tractor, skid loader, Material Steel, Recommended Use Brush, trees, Cutting Width in. Up to 6. Easy and effective way of removing larger tree stumps, with wide-opening jaws 3 1/2in. grip pads rotate 360 with 5 no-slip grip teeth per pad for a secure hold Large handles make it easy to open Heavy-duty 1 1/2in. steel construction Suited for use with pickups, SUVs, tractors and skid loaders"
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 of 12(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Review 1 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tree puller

,
September 8, 2014
By mrhdl
from Elkhorn, WI
" The Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20 works great. I will soon buy the small brush grubber for smaller trees. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Monster Device

,
May 1, 2014
By SBRanch
from Dallas, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Just works well! Is heavy but after a few stumps I figured it out where I let the weight of the device do the work for me. Does not work well on anything under 2", just rips it apart. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

BG - 20

,
April 12, 2014
By Anonymous
from Arkansas
" I haven't actually used the product as it arrived with a broken spring. I contacted the manufacturer to obtain a new spring. Customer service is none existent! I was treated as if I broke it and I had to buy a new spring. When I explained further what happened I was told that they "Will review with the team." Two weeks and no reply. NORTHERN TOOL sent a call tag and they are going to send a replacement BG-20, not just a spring. I had planned to buy one of the smaller units in addition to this one, but I can't recommend Brush Grubber due to their poor customer service. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BRUSHGRUBBER CAN DO IT !

,
August 16, 2012
By JASEHO
from Bremerton, Wa.
" This tool has done everything I have asked it to. Fun to use. No complaints. I was excited to tell my friends how well it worked. It grabbed the stumps easily & it was also easy to release the stump when I was done. Great design. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grabber Xtreme Plus

,
May 14, 2012
By Gjr221
from Canton, Ct
" This device works like a champ. I chained it up to my pickup and pulled out several large bushes and shrubs. It is a heavy duty piece of equipment that is beefy enough to last a long time. I would have no problem attaching this to a tractor to pull out larger shallow rooted trees and brush. The chain shackle loop is large enough to pass logging chains through it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid hunk of metal, have a good chain.

,
October 17, 2011
By EEPilot
from Ohio
" This thing is solid. I popped an old but pretty heavy duty log chain using this with my 4x4 pickup and low gear. Get a heavy chain for this thing. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush grubber extreme lives up to expectations

,
June 8, 2011
By BigRoe
from Saint Paris, OH
" I ordered the brush grubber extreme a couple months ago and have used it to pull brush and up to 8" osage orange trees -- the tree was large enough that the grubber would barely fit arount it. It is solidly built and handled everything I hooked up to my 70 horse tractor with no problem. I will be using it some more this summer, we'll see how the dry soil imacts the performance. I believe the more moisture in the soil, the better it will work, so spring conditions are probably best. It is heavy, but that is necessary due to it's purpose. I recommend the brush grubber extreme to anyone who has brush and smaller trees they want to get out of the ground roots and all. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Xtreme Plus Brush Grabber

,
June 6, 2011
By dynodan
from New Brunswick, Canada
" Very well built, but therefore it has to be heavy, which it is.
This one is specifically for larger stumps up to 6", but don't buy this one to pull out smaller bushes, because the the teeth are too big and to far apart for a smaller bush.
However, this tools works very well for the purpose intended, and for the right sized stump.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

SOUTH TX USE

,
April 28, 2011
By str1
" This product will not pull mesquite. I attempted to up root a small mesquite tree with this product attached to my 110 HP John Deere tractor. It only shredded the top off and did not pull the root out. "
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
MDCSC
Houston, TX 
 
Please wait while more information about MDCSC is loaded.
Additional information about MDCSC could not be loaded.
You Need The Original Brush Grabber
June 14, 2011
" I think if you would use the original brush grabber (which is the smallest made) you would have great success in pulling up your mesquite trees. The brush grabber extreme is intended for use on large trees and stumps. "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Xtreme Plus is excellent buy

,
April 11, 2011
By ReefPoint
from Maine
" We purchased this tool a year ago from NT, and use it frequently clearing our land of alder-bushes, cut roots, trees, & you-name-it, it hauls it. We use it on a CAT backhoe chain and also attached to chains on ATV's. We have hauled 30' & 50' cut pines, up to about 18" diameter out of thick woods using this tool, sometimes just to see what it can't haul. Even if a tree trunk appears too wide, just get a bite into the bark of a bit of the circumference, and you are in business. It's heavy-duty, takes a beating (being run over by the CAT several times now) and really is our most versatile tool for hauling out wood, roots, and much more. Highly recommend for land clearing, firewood hauling, tree pulling; if you don't have a skidder, this is the tool for you. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stump Eater

,
January 15, 2011
By Raider88
from Southern Ohio
" First, let me say this piece of equipment is a beast. The photo does not do it justice. It is one heavy duty piece of iron. I adapted my drawbar with a six foot piece of heavy chain and went from there. I had pre-cut almost 100 4-8 inch aspen trees in anticipation of it's arrival. It attached to large and small stumps with no problem, but I must say it was a workout. The grubber is large and heavy, but suited for the job at hand. So far it has worked flawlessly, gripping each stump very well. I am glad I bought it and will be clearing many more trees with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Brush Grubber Xtreme Plus, Model# BG-20"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber Extreme Plus

,
May 26, 2010
By Outdoorsman10
from Louisburg, Kansas
" This product is FANTASTIC!
The first time I used it, I picked a small stump (8 inches in diameter) to remove. The Grubber is heavy and holds very strong. I connected a 9600 lb logging chain to it, connected it to my 40 HP tractor, took up the slack and pulled the stump out the very first try. I have pulled 5 more since I've had it and many more to go. These people got it right!! I would highly recommend this product to anyone who needs to pull stumps and trees out!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.