Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS

Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS

Item# 177029
Skidding tongs open to 32in.W and grip logs with 360 no-slip grip teeth. A swiveling hook prevents chain twisting. Jaw Opening in. 32, Material Steel, Product Type Tong. Made with 1.1in. diameter steel Replacement gripping teeth set available, sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Review 1 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but could be better.

,
September 4, 2014
By Arctic37
from MI
"I like the way it stays on the log in any position with the cone shaped points, but the hook is too weak. It bends easily and it would be nice if they could make the hook replaceable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skidding Tongs

,
February 4, 2014
By RedRider
from Huntingtown, MD
"I used these tongs to help me haul 8-12 foot logs that ranged in diameter from 14-28 inches out of some ravines. The tongs held the logs perfectly and never let go. I was very pleased at how easy it was to get them to "bite" into the logs in the first place and then to hold them. The ravines were very steep but I was able to haul every log up the slopes. I typically placed the spikes of the tong lower on the front of the log to keep them from digging into the ground and it allowed them to slide more easily. Definitely made my task easier!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timber Tough 32" skidding tongs

,
December 25, 2012
By jollyrancher
from Compton, Il
"These tongs are awesome! I rarely use them for skidding, instead they get used to lift large rounds onto my horizantal only log spltiier. They have lifted black locust rounds that were cut 18" to 20" length and 48" + in diameter with no problem. Most of the time I can just put the tongs over the log on the ground, lower the bucket down, and pick it up without getting off the tractor. I have been using these pretty heavily for over 6 months and they still work just as well as the day I got 'em. I have never used any other tongs, but I can't imagine there would be any that are better than these."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

DISAPPOINTING

,
August 20, 2012
By ramrod1
from Ravenswood WV
"I bought these as they looked like they were heavy duty and because the points could be replaced. I have had one set replaced under warranty and now the jaws on the replacement set has twisted and points spread out. The jaws have kept their arched shape but when dragging they have a tendency to twist just below the rivet point. Definitely soft steel and not heat treated. Seeing how they were the most expensive set I thought that they would last longer.They do however bite really well"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

skidder tong

,
May 15, 2012
By tong
from nevada city ca
"AAA+++ this product works so good we have two at the ranch :)"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
January 16, 2012
By ca1012
from Newnan,GA
"I got these for my husband for christmas and he loved them."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NO ORDINARY TONGS

,
January 10, 2012
By Bloyd
from Somerset, Kentucky
"I had shopped and priced logging tongs from a few other companies when I decided on Timber Tuff from Northern. These are not over-sized ice tongs,but serious logging tongs that are large enough and sharp enough to handle the hardest woods. The points are replaceable too. The price was even better than some inferior models."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs

,
October 11, 2011
By Neal45
from Middle Tennessee
"I have used this product in helping lift thick logs onto my wood splitter. Some of the logs we cut up were so big you could not put your arms around them and touch your hands. We have used it all summer and it works great. It is easy to hook and it has a swivel that helps us get the wood easily into tight spot for the splitter. It was well worth what we paid for it and has saved our backs! I would recommend this item."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid strong product!

,
October 10, 2011
By Anonymous
from Litchfield CT
"I use these tongs to carry heavy logs with a bucket loader and position them on a bandsaw mill. Up to 30" diameter ash logs 14 feet long, without a problem."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

skidding tongs

,
June 14, 2011
By oldoz
"I bought these tongs quite a while back and had never used them until recently. What a nice piece of equipment. My friend had a pair of tongs that we used for about an hour. They were so heavy that we quit for the day! I brought these tongs the next day and what a Godsend they were! We moved more logs in 15 mins than we moved in the whole hour the day before! The points dug in so well that we never had to rehook one time! We drug and lifted some mighty big logs and they looked good as new at the end of the day and they made it easy! There are so many cheap tongs out there that I was skeptical buying them, but they have proven to be everything they said they were and more. Most of the wood we drug out was green and heavy cherry and oak. Go get em'! The suckers really do work well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Timber Tuff 32" Tongs

,
August 30, 2010
By pinebark
from Nacogdoches, TX
"I ordered these tongs a couple months ago to remove logs from a building site with my 65 hp tractor. I pulled the pine and hardwood logs to a staging area where they were loaded for market. I liked the ease of use and functionality of these tongs so well I have gone ahead and selectively harvested more trees in the area for firewood and to go to market. The wide gap jaws made it so much easier to grab hold of the 20" plus logs I had to pull; no multiple tries at hooking up like you have with smaller tongs.
These tongs grip and release the log better than any I have used in the past. I would definetly recommend these tongs for the above average user although they aren't quite heavy enough for commercial every day use.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves Time, Money, and Possible Injuries

,
August 23, 2010
By Michael79
from Seymour, TN
"I've had three sets of standard tongs before this with many dangerous slips, and after I sharpened standard tongs, got breaks and bends at the tips. Had I bought this one to begin with, I would have been a lot better off. I also save a lot of time and grunts not having to get off the tractor with a mallet; these tips dig right in!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Timber Tuff Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 32in. Jaw Opening, Model# TMW-04SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong and well made

,
June 1, 2010
By GMac
from Nacogdoches,TX
"I bought these tongs, with a little reservation with regards to the points. They are not forged into the tongs but apparently replaceable. When the tongs arrived, my reservations were without merit. The tongs are very heavy duty and well made. I used them the following weekend at my farm to haul downed trees into one area. The tongs are strong, and the points are sharp, and held on to the logs well. When I was finished hauling the tongs released easily. So far so good"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.