Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA

ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA

Item# 177200
This ProCom Blue Flame Heater warms your home the same way a central heater does. Patented dual fuel technology allows you to choose between natural gas and liquid propane fuel. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Color White, Blower Included No, BTU Output 10,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 1/8 x 6 3/8 x 19 1/8, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Wall heater, Thermostat Included Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 300, Includes Diamond mesh grill for added safety. Nonadjustable regulator prevents over-firing and thermostat control allows you to maintain desired room temperature Cool to the touch outer cabinet Thermostat control Diamond mesh grill for added safety Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 of 37(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Review 1 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little unit

,
October 13, 2014
By Glady
from idaho
"I needed a heater for my RV that would run only off propane, a coworker recommended a Blue Flame Heater. Upon opening the box it said it needs a 100lb propane tank to run, however any and ALL propane tanks operate under same pressure /and volume makes no difference. Hooking it up was easy. Running three days with nighttime outside temp around 40' and inside temp set around 73' it used 0.9 gal of fuel and C.O. detector stayed at 000. I'm now thinking about putting one in my house."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wall Heater

,
February 4, 2014
By wildwilliam321
from Hopkinton, MA
"Bought for our cabin bedroom and bathroom in NC. I was surprised when I realized that the propane inlet was on the bottom of the unit. I had expected it on the side and that it would free stand. The great thing about the heater beside the heat output is that all the supplies needed to get the unit running come in the box. You just need a few screws for the wall mount bracket and a propane tank. Turn on tank Hold pilot button 30 seconds for first time use and press the ignition button. It took about 15 minutes to warm up the area."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane heater

,
February 4, 2014
By Rog3
from Canton, Ohio
"I bought this heater to heat my 30 foot camper when I go deer hunting in Ohio. This heater does a great job and is very efficient. It is very quiet not like my regular camper heater and keeps the camper temperature at a constant heat. This is my second heater and I love it. I will never use the regular camper heater again. I would recommend this heater to anyone who has a camper or cabin."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Save !

,
February 4, 2014
By ricbrk
from Farmington, Pa.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We put this unit in the bedroom side of our home for emergency heat in the fall of 2013, as we live in the mountains and are very secluded. It has performed flawlessly. We also have a ProCom freestanding unit in the living room at the opposite end of the home. Our primary source of heat is a oil furnace. These work without electricity, so we have a back up heat if power is out a extended time. We keep them set between #1 & #2. An unexpected surprise with the unusually cold winter we've had is our heating bill for the year is "down". Even buying propane which is cheaper than oil, in addition to oil, we've spent much less. We filled the oil tank 30 days later than usual, and, we only used a half tank ! These heaters will pay for themselves fast. We keep our thermostat on furnace on 71. Also, we have carbon dioxide detectors at each end of the house just in case."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
February 4, 2014
By AZ2014
from Taylor, AZ
"I bought one of these for a camp trailer. It works well, no odor, no CO alarm. I plan on using them in a cabin I have under construction to backup wood heat."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pro comm heaters

,
December 28, 2013
By 1990Harley
from Richmond VA
"I rate this unit good as it's basic and works. I tried 2 other models from Pro-com that didn't work at all, 30k BTU. Proper input pressure tested good. After reading reports on other models I have concluded they have low QC. A roll of the dice. You may get one that works great, you may get a dud."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camper heater

,
October 24, 2013
By delta1
from Colorado
"This is a great unit for winter camping because 10,000 BTU will keep the chill off and the thermostat will prevent overheating, a problem with non-thermo controlled radiant heaters. It is intended to hang on the wall and the gas connection sticks out the bottom. I added feet to mine so that it sits on the floor. I used two pieces of wood, 2x2x6" and screwed one on each side of the bottom so that a 90 degree elbow on the gas connection would clear the floor. Now it's portable. Crack the bathroom vent an inch and you're good to go."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
6out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Excellent, well-built little heater

,
September 18, 2013
By SilverfoxDan
from NH., Made it to retirement!
"An Excellent, well-built little heater (I now own two of this model).
The mandatory things I needed included:
1. A room sensitive/automatic thermostat (NOT the low-med-high manual type)
2. The size needed to be around 10,000 BTU's
3. That it was made by a trusted company
4. Priced low enough to fit my retirement budget
This unit fit the bill perfectly. I have used a much larger PROCOM heater as my primary living space heater for many years and, as long as I clean out the pilot every year (shut off for the summer), it runs perfectly.
The good:
- The unit was well packed and the Installation instructions were accurate.
- Everything needed to install the heater(including wall mounting anchors/screws, an allen wrench to UN-cork the gas port, and wall stand-offs were included.
- The unit has a glass cover plate that extends across much of the front burn area (behind the metal grill) which serves as an added flame safety device, dust shield and draft blocker (to keep the pilot from being blown out) which is really an excellent idea. Access to this area to service the pilot is via four screws, two at the top and two at the bottom of the front grill.
-The igniter spark is strong and consistent. Once air was out of the gas pipe the pilot lit quickly and stays on.
Notes:
As a dual use type (can be set to either Natural gas or Propane) it has two internal regulators and independent pilot systems. You should note that the pilot on the right is for the propane. It burns cleanly and fully covers the thermocouple which glows red as it should.
The gas pipe inlet ports are located on the bottom left as you face the heater. I ran my pipe to the left of the heater which allowed for a gentle “s” type curve of the flex pipe. I also purchased the Mr. Heater F271239 One-Stop Universal Gas-Appliance Hook-Up Kit which has everything you will need (except a gas pressure tap which is optional as long as you know your line pressure is in spec.)
Summary:
The unit burns cleanly with a perfect blue flame and It puts out a good amount of heat for the modest size of the flame area. I liked the heater so much that I purchased a second one and will now be able to run the entire winter with the oil burner off.
Good luck and stay warm!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wall heater

,
September 17, 2013
By cuccihucci
from long island n.y.
"easy to set up/ easy to start up/ works well/ been using it for the last five winters ,working in my one car garage evey weekend. very reliable heater"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
April 25, 2013
By KB87
from VT
"We use this heater in our greenhouse and it works great. Because we were using this in the greenhouse we had to modify some of the fittings to work with our existing gas fittings but other than that it works fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy little heater

,
April 23, 2013
By Djelg
from Idaho
"This unit is smaller than I imagined it but it performs well and puts out a comfortable amount of heat for a small 400 sq ft. apartment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

procom blue flame heater

,
April 23, 2013
By Tinfoil
from Michigan
"I am very pleased with this heater it does everything I thought it would. It heats my 400 sq. ft. building with no trouble at all. The thermostat controll keeps the room at the tempature I want. It cycles on and off just as it should. I would recomend this heater to anyone. I have bought other products from northern tool and have never been dissatisfied."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wall Heater

,
April 23, 2013
By kvncot
from NH
"I have the bobhouse version of this heater and I love it. It takes no time at all to get it to a comfortable temperature even on the coldest of days."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

,
April 5, 2013
By racecar42
from Idaho
"Used the heater in my 33 ft. Fifth Wheel trailer. The temperature outside on the first night was -5 and the inside temp maintained 55 on med setting. Once the temp outside came up the inside temp maintained at 65. Was pleased at the performance of the heater. It cycled on and off as necessary to maintain the temp. Installation was easy just follow the instructions."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Money savers

,
October 15, 2012
By j2913
from Montana
"These are great. Purchased 2 for the bedrooms, and they work great. The only draw back is the flickering noise that the pilot flame makes, you have to get use to it.
These work great and have saved me money and the pain of leaving doors open to heat rooms with my fireplace. Easy to install and operate.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pro com blue flame heater

,
August 13, 2012
By 1fishguy
from Idaho
"I installed this heater in my 30 ft travel trailer to use in the winter for steelhead fishing. I wanted to heat the trailer without using battery power because we dont have electrical service down this river. I didnt want start a generator every day. The heater has worked very well in temps down to 0 F. It will create a lot of moistuer inside the trailer so you do need to ventilate and keep the walls dry. I have been very satisfied with the product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

heater

,
January 16, 2012
By ladybugg
from Arlington wa. and tonasket wa
"we use are wall heater a lot in our cabin and it works very good it keeps us warm, its easy to use andnever any trouble with it in the last 6 years. we have friends come over and they think its wonderful cause they seem to be always cold. So they sit close and get the ful benifits if gives. thank you"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Little Heater

,
January 12, 2012
By Cree
from West Ky.
"Excellent small room heater. I use it in a 400sf. well insulated room and it's very good. Temps here run around 20 deg outside so it's not real cold but I never need to run it more than 1/4 open. Thermostat is nice but it could use a small fan and it would be even better."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
January 9, 2012
By Davidzzz
from Liberty Mtn, WA
"Bought this to heat a small area beneath my mountain cabin to keep the water heater and pump from freezing up in winter months. I don't need much heat and wanted something that uses very little fuel (which I haul). Area being heated is enclosed only by tarps so far but is inside crawl space. I only run the heater at night since the demand water heater runs enough during the day to prevent freeze-ups.
This works great, keeping my water works area at about 40 F when the outside air is about 20 F.
I've only roughly measured fuel consumption, but it is low. I expect a 20 lb tank to last about 4 nights."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best price

,
January 9, 2012
By quarterguy
from New Orleans, La.
"After shopping this size heater everywhere...Northern tool had by far the best price as well as the best looking heater. Product arrived quickly. I havent had a chance to use it yet, but, judging from the other reviews, I have no doubt I will be satisfied!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.