Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"

Item# 177200
"This ProCom Blue Flame Heater warms your home the same way a central heater does. Patented dual fuel technology allows you to choose between natural gas and liquid propane fuel. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Heating Capability sq. ft. 300, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 1/8 x 6 3/8 x 19 1/8, Color White, Blower Included No, BTU Output 10,000, Product Style Wall heater, Includes Diamond mesh grill for added safety, Thermostat Included Yes. Nonadjustable regulator prevents over-firing and thermostat control allows you to maintain desired room temperature Cool to the touch outer cabinet Thermostat control Diamond mesh grill for added safety Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company."
Average Customer Rating:
4.58 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (50 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
48 of 50(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Review 1 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
April 10, 2015
By bayoudave
from Jena, Louisiana
" Ordered this heater and was well pleased with the speed of delivery and the quality of the product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have severial

,
February 28, 2015
By Johnsee
from east ky
" I bought my first one was impressed with how well it worked bought 3 this size and a larger model .
Pros you can switch from natural gas to propane .So if you think you may in the future need one or the other,it beats buying a new heater .The thermostat works well .pilot stays light . I have never had a problem with gas leaks or anything.I have had these 2 and three years .
cons be sure to either leave the original plug in the fuel side you do not want to use or a valve, It will back flow out the open inlet .This is just common sense though. I use natural gas and propane .
I have never had a problem with these using natural gas or propane .The blue flame is a great lil heater I prefer the blue flame over the plaque inferred .I did have one of those crack .,but never any trouble out of this model .One lives in our greenhouse which gets a real torture test .High humidity huge temperature swings .No problem .I do recommend these .
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small and quiet

,
February 12, 2015
By Jim54
from Provo, UT
" The product was easy to install on the wall with excellent instructions. I already had gas to that point in my home, so I just had to hook it up. Lighting the pilot light was easy, and it has different heat output settings. Very quiet, small heater. I would buy it again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

conveneant heat

,
January 30, 2015
By Tikle
from NE Iowa
" flexable heat and no baby sitting.set it and forget it.takes care of it self and changeable for different settings by different folks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Heater

,
January 11, 2015
By Gandydancer7
from Batesburg, SC
" I unpacked this heater and was surprised at the quality of it. It is a well made heater and has clean lines with no sharp edges. It looks great and will be a good complement to my shack. So far I have not seen any negative thing about this heater. Will get it hooked up in a couple days and see how it operates. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Heat source for your man cave

,
December 31, 2014
By DaveB2014
from NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" So far so good, this man cave heater does the job. It takes time to heat up a cold garage but I noticed a change in temperature about 20 minutes after I turned it on. It did not come with a stand so I built myself one and mounted it there so it's portable. It is very warm and toasty as well as easy to use. I highly recommend this product to anyone else out there that needs a space heater and is looking for a natural gas solution. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Right for Tiny House

,
December 20, 2014
By MH1953
from Wetumpka, AL
" This unit with the oxygen sensor and thermostat is just right for a 300 sq ft tiny house. Set it and forget it to keep out the winter chill. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

overall good product, would make one change though

,
November 23, 2014
By redmomma1
from Salyersville, Ky
" We were looking for a heater that is cool to the touch as we have a 1 1/2 year old. It is a plus that this particular heater helps to conserve gas by shutting itself off when the room reaches the selected setting. The one thing I did not notice in the picture was the gap at the top where the glass and mesh did not extend all the way up. I would much prefer that at least the mesh extend all the way up as I feared my son would want to stick his hand or some toy into the gap. As soon as we put it on the wall, my son immediately put his hand in the gap. We immediately told him 'no, ouch, hot' and for once he actually listened and we have had no further issue with him putting his hand in the gap (so far). He has occasionally touched other parts of the heater but as it is cool to the touch did not burn himself though we still make a point to tell him not to touch.
Overall, I am pleased with this purchase and would recommend to anyone looking for a good heater. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater. Couldn't be Happier!

,
November 22, 2014
By Radam
from Kanas City, MO
" I purchased this heater as my daughter has her room in the basement where the ceiling heat registers do not provide adequate heating. Had a local HVAC guy come and run a gas line to her bedroom. Wasn't too involved as the gas meter is on the other side of her wall. Once he did that, I finished it off by adding the mounting brackets to the drywall, one side on a stud and the other using the provided sheet rock anchors. Very simple to do and had the united mounted in just a few minutes. Ran a gas connector to the main gas line, opened the valve and started the pilot. The pilot took a couple minutes to get going probably due to some air in the lines from the new installation. I then fired her up. The large master-size bedroom went from cold to warm in a matter of several minutes. It cycled off at a specific temperature so the thermostat appears to be in good working order. Glad to get rid of the electric space heaters. Those things scare me with my daughter using them by herself. She was concerned the heater would ruin the look of her room. Both she and my wife were happy with the attractive design of this heater. Should be seeing a saving from the electric bill now too. Highly recommend this well-built heater. Service at Northern Tool is excellent and the in-store staff was very helpful. I was told these heaters sell extremely well and they have never seen one returned or have had a complaint on them. "
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Heater in action
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Small Space Heater

,
November 14, 2014
By fts1120
from Western Kentucky
" This product was easy to install, is sized right for the space for which a supplemental heat source was needed, will operate without need for electrical power in the event of power loss. It is attractive and safety oriented in design. The price was probably the best I found for any comparable units from other sources. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Procom Wall Heater

,
November 6, 2014
By Ben19853317
from Maine
" This product is great, simple to operate, works very well and is a terrific bargain. I am hooked up to natural gas and expect that my use of this heater will cost less than $1 per day. I will be using it as a supplemental heater for my living room to boost the temperature without heating the whole house up. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always reliable

,
November 6, 2014
By ladydawn
from Pennsylvania
" I have many of these Pro Com heaters and they have always been reliable. Would definitely recommend them to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cabin installation

,
October 20, 2014
By DHG71
from Ogden, UT
" Could not even light this unit because it requires a 12-14 inch water column pressure of propane in order to function thus it is not compatible with my other installed appliances that must not exceed the normal water column pressure of 11 inches. This requirement was obtained from the company technical support line. If line gas pressure is not an issue this appliance may well be a great purchase. Northern Tool and Equipment was very gracious in granting a refund. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little unit

,
October 13, 2014
By Glady
from idaho
" I needed a heater for my RV that would run only off propane, a coworker recommended a Blue Flame Heater. Upon opening the box it said it needs a 100lb propane tank to run, however any and ALL propane tanks operate under same pressure /and volume makes no difference. Hooking it up was easy. Running three days with nighttime outside temp around 40' and inside temp set around 73' it used 0.9 gal of fuel and C.O. detector stayed at 000. I'm now thinking about putting one in my house. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wall Heater

,
February 4, 2014
By wildwilliam321
from Hopkinton, MA
" Bought for our cabin bedroom and bathroom in NC. I was surprised when I realized that the propane inlet was on the bottom of the unit. I had expected it on the side and that it would free stand. The great thing about the heater beside the heat output is that all the supplies needed to get the unit running come in the box. You just need a few screws for the wall mount bracket and a propane tank. Turn on tank Hold pilot button 30 seconds for first time use and press the ignition button. It took about 15 minutes to warm up the area. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane heater

,
February 4, 2014
By Rog3
from Canton, Ohio
" I bought this heater to heat my 30 foot camper when I go deer hunting in Ohio. This heater does a great job and is very efficient. It is very quiet not like my regular camper heater and keeps the camper temperature at a constant heat. This is my second heater and I love it. I will never use the regular camper heater again. I would recommend this heater to anyone who has a camper or cabin. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Save !

,
February 4, 2014
By ricbrk
from Farmington, Pa.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" We put this unit in the bedroom side of our home for emergency heat in the fall of 2013, as we live in the mountains and are very secluded. It has performed flawlessly. We also have a ProCom freestanding unit in the living room at the opposite end of the home. Our primary source of heat is a oil furnace. These work without electricity, so we have a back up heat if power is out a extended time. We keep them set between #1 & #2. An unexpected surprise with the unusually cold winter we've had is our heating bill for the year is "down". Even buying propane which is cheaper than oil, in addition to oil, we've spent much less. We filled the oil tank 30 days later than usual, and, we only used a half tank ! These heaters will pay for themselves fast. We keep our thermostat on furnace on 71. Also, we have carbon dioxide detectors at each end of the house just in case. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
February 4, 2014
By AZ2014
from Taylor, AZ
" I bought one of these for a camp trailer. It works well, no odor, no CO alarm. I plan on using them in a cabin I have under construction to backup wood heat. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pro comm heaters

,
December 28, 2013
By 1990Harley
from Richmond VA
" I rate this unit good as it's basic and works. I tried 2 other models from Pro-com that didn't work at all, 30k BTU. Proper input pressure tested good. After reading reports on other models I have concluded they have low QC. A roll of the dice. You may get one that works great, you may get a dud. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camper heater

,
October 24, 2013
By delta1
from Colorado
" This is a great unit for winter camping because 10,000 BTU will keep the chill off and the thermostat will prevent overheating, a problem with non-thermo controlled radiant heaters. It is intended to hang on the wall and the gas connection sticks out the bottom. I added feet to mine so that it sits on the floor. I used two pieces of wood, 2x2x6" and screwed one on each side of the bottom so that a 90 degree elbow on the gas connection would clear the floor. Now it's portable. Crack the bathroom vent an inch and you're good to go. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
6out of 17found this review helpful.