Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"

"ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"

Item# 177200
"This ProCom Blue Flame Heater warms your home the same way a central heater does. Patented dual fuel technology allows you to choose between natural gas and liquid propane fuel. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 300, Product Style Wall heater, Includes Diamond mesh grill for added safety, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 1/8 x 6 3/8 x 19 1/8, Thermostat Included Yes, Color White, Blower Included No, BTU Output 10,000. Nonadjustable regulator prevents over-firing and thermostat control allows you to maintain desired room temperature Cool to the touch outer cabinet Thermostat control Diamond mesh grill for added safety Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company."
Average Customer Rating:
4.58 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (50 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
48 of 50(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Review 21 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Excellent, well-built little heater

,
September 18, 2013
By SilverfoxDan
from NH., Made it to retirement!
" An Excellent, well-built little heater (I now own two of this model).
The mandatory things I needed included:
1. A room sensitive/automatic thermostat (NOT the low-med-high manual type)
2. The size needed to be around 10,000 BTU's
3. That it was made by a trusted company
4. Priced low enough to fit my retirement budget
This unit fit the bill perfectly. I have used a much larger PROCOM heater as my primary living space heater for many years and, as long as I clean out the pilot every year (shut off for the summer), it runs perfectly.
The good:
- The unit was well packed and the Installation instructions were accurate.
- Everything needed to install the heater(including wall mounting anchors/screws, an allen wrench to UN-cork the gas port, and wall stand-offs were included.
- The unit has a glass cover plate that extends across much of the front burn area (behind the metal grill) which serves as an added flame safety device, dust shield and draft blocker (to keep the pilot from being blown out) which is really an excellent idea. Access to this area to service the pilot is via four screws, two at the top and two at the bottom of the front grill.
-The igniter spark is strong and consistent. Once air was out of the gas pipe the pilot lit quickly and stays on.
Notes:
As a dual use type (can be set to either Natural gas or Propane) it has two internal regulators and independent pilot systems. You should note that the pilot on the right is for the propane. It burns cleanly and fully covers the thermocouple which glows red as it should.
The gas pipe inlet ports are located on the bottom left as you face the heater. I ran my pipe to the left of the heater which allowed for a gentle “s” type curve of the flex pipe. I also purchased the Mr. Heater F271239 One-Stop Universal Gas-Appliance Hook-Up Kit which has everything you will need (except a gas pressure tap which is optional as long as you know your line pressure is in spec.)
Summary:
The unit burns cleanly with a perfect blue flame and It puts out a good amount of heat for the modest size of the flame area. I liked the heater so much that I purchased a second one and will now be able to run the entire winter with the oil burner off.
Good luck and stay warm! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wall heater

,
September 17, 2013
By cuccihucci
from long island n.y.
" easy to set up/ easy to start up/ works well/ been using it for the last five winters ,working in my one car garage evey weekend. very reliable heater "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
April 25, 2013
By KB87
from VT
" We use this heater in our greenhouse and it works great. Because we were using this in the greenhouse we had to modify some of the fittings to work with our existing gas fittings but other than that it works fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy little heater

,
April 23, 2013
By Djelg
from Idaho
" This unit is smaller than I imagined it but it performs well and puts out a comfortable amount of heat for a small 400 sq ft. apartment. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

procom blue flame heater

,
April 23, 2013
By Tinfoil
from Michigan
" I am very pleased with this heater it does everything I thought it would. It heats my 400 sq. ft. building with no trouble at all. The thermostat controll keeps the room at the tempature I want. It cycles on and off just as it should. I would recomend this heater to anyone. I have bought other products from northern tool and have never been dissatisfied. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wall Heater

,
April 23, 2013
By kvncot
from NH
" I have the bobhouse version of this heater and I love it. It takes no time at all to get it to a comfortable temperature even on the coldest of days. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

,
April 5, 2013
By racecar42
from Idaho
" Used the heater in my 33 ft. Fifth Wheel trailer. The temperature outside on the first night was -5 and the inside temp maintained 55 on med setting. Once the temp outside came up the inside temp maintained at 65. Was pleased at the performance of the heater. It cycled on and off as necessary to maintain the temp. Installation was easy just follow the instructions. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Money savers

,
October 15, 2012
By j2913
from Montana
" These are great. Purchased 2 for the bedrooms, and they work great. The only draw back is the flickering noise that the pilot flame makes, you have to get use to it.
These work great and have saved me money and the pain of leaving doors open to heat rooms with my fireplace. Easy to install and operate.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pro com blue flame heater

,
August 13, 2012
By 1fishguy
from Idaho
" I installed this heater in my 30 ft travel trailer to use in the winter for steelhead fishing. I wanted to heat the trailer without using battery power because we dont have electrical service down this river. I didnt want start a generator every day. The heater has worked very well in temps down to 0 F. It will create a lot of moistuer inside the trailer so you do need to ventilate and keep the walls dry. I have been very satisfied with the product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

heater

,
January 16, 2012
By ladybugg
from Arlington wa. and tonasket wa
" we use are wall heater a lot in our cabin and it works very good it keeps us warm, its easy to use andnever any trouble with it in the last 6 years. we have friends come over and they think its wonderful cause they seem to be always cold. So they sit close and get the ful benifits if gives. thank you "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Little Heater

,
January 12, 2012
By Cree
from West Ky.
" Excellent small room heater. I use it in a 400sf. well insulated room and it's very good. Temps here run around 20 deg outside so it's not real cold but I never need to run it more than 1/4 open. Thermostat is nice but it could use a small fan and it would be even better. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
January 9, 2012
By Davidzzz
from Liberty Mtn, WA
" Bought this to heat a small area beneath my mountain cabin to keep the water heater and pump from freezing up in winter months. I don't need much heat and wanted something that uses very little fuel (which I haul). Area being heated is enclosed only by tarps so far but is inside crawl space. I only run the heater at night since the demand water heater runs enough during the day to prevent freeze-ups.
This works great, keeping my water works area at about 40 F when the outside air is about 20 F.
I've only roughly measured fuel consumption, but it is low. I expect a 20 lb tank to last about 4 nights. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best price

,
January 9, 2012
By quarterguy
from New Orleans, La.
" After shopping this size heater everywhere...Northern tool had by far the best price as well as the best looking heater. Product arrived quickly. I havent had a chance to use it yet, but, judging from the other reviews, I have no doubt I will be satisfied! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This heater worked for me.

,
December 14, 2011
By AZHunter
from AZ
" I got this heater for use in my camp trailer. It worked well at 4000 ft elevation using propane tanks just larger than BBQ size on camper with existing regulator. I didn't notice any odor and got no alarm from my carbon monoxide detector during a 5 day hunting trip. Kept us warm on low setting. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

PILOT LIGHT KEEPS GOING OUT

,
November 26, 2011
By RCAM1
from FORT LUPTON,CO.
" I have 2 of thes heaters, and 1 the pilot light keeps going out, Plus they do have a gas odor. They do heat well when they work. I also have 2 of the PROCOM dual fuel stoves MODEL# QD250T and they work great with no odor, PROCOM has a good product here, I think they need to do alot more work on this model in question. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good

,
November 18, 2011
By VinceB
from Swedesboro, NJ
" Good heat output, low odor (not quite odorless, but almost). Thermostat works pretty well with a fairly tight degree range (on-off points seem to be about 3 degrees apart).
Only downside? Keeping the temperature in the high 60's puts the control at almost the bottom of the range. I'd prefer that the thermostat's range started lower. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Buy

,
October 17, 2011
By OleBill
from Wiley,Colorado
" I have ordered 2 of these units last year and I do not have any con's to say about them they work very good I will purchase them again if/when I need a small unit "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Less than an hour I had HEAT

,
March 14, 2011
By ponytl
from memphis tn
" Nice heater... READ THE INSTRUCTIONS ... If I had read them fully I could have installed it and had heat in 15 minutes... Very simple Install it is duel fuel meaning you can use LP or Natural Gas ... it comes set for LP I needed Natural.. very simple to switch ... IF YOU READ THE INSTRUCTIONS...
Things I needed... to finish the install... A flex gas line like you use for a stove or water heater... teflon tape the yellow kind for gas or pipe dope... a cordless drill, 2 cresent wrenches, and a small pipe wrench or channel locks...
simple to get up and running simple to use... very little to go wrong with it... since it is ventless I did check the battery in my co2 detector as an after thought... which you should do anyway... and have..... if you have any type of burning appliance.... Thumbs up for this product
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor customer service

,
January 1, 2011
By csft
" The pilot was noisy. Flame is lifting off the seat of the pilot when the burner is on.
I called and told them I thought the hole that gives combustion air to the pilot was too big.
When I called back they said the problem was resolved but no one called me to tell me that.
They said I had too much water column, (gas pressure, needs to be 5 to 10wc) I have 8inches wc.
If I limit the air to the pilot it works fine.
I think they have very poor customer service and Northern Tool should quit carrying their products.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 10,000 BTU Output, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD100TBA"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Procom

,
November 23, 2010
By 19047
from PA
" I installed this heater in my detached garage. Works fine with a full LP tank but the combustion and efficiency significantly decreases when the tank is about half full. Do not buy unless you have a 100lb tank. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
ColoradoHermit
Canon City, Colorado 
 
Please wait while more information about ColoradoHermit is loaded.
Additional information about ColoradoHermit could not be loaded.
Tank size
October 2, 2011
" What size tank were you using with it? How long did a tank last? I'm looking for one to put in my new detatched garage workshop that 12'x20' and fully insulated. I need something that will work in these Colorado winters and I have one 100 gal tank and access to another if I need it.
Thanks
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)