Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA

ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA

Item# 177201
This blue flame heater warms your home the same way a central heater does. Patented dual fuel technology allows you to choose between natural gas and liquid propane fuel. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Thermostat Included Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 700, Includes Diamond mesh grill for added safety, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, BTU Output 20,000, Color White, Product Style Wall heater, Blower Included No sold separately, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 1/4 x 8 x 23 1/2. Nonadjustable regulator prevents over-firing and thermostat control allows you to maintain desired room temperature Cool-to-the-touch outer cabinet Thermostat control Works with Manual/Automatic Thermostat Blower, Item# 173957 Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Review 1 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom wall heater

,
September 5, 2014
By SteelMagnolia
from Flovilla, GA
"The propane technician who installed it said it is a good quality heater, but I have not tried it yet since weather is still warm. He did test it after installing it for me, and it worked very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater

,
February 4, 2014
By N111
from ont. Canada
"This is my second winter with this heater and has worked amazing. My hut is 9x9 and keeps it toasty warm. Amazing little heater for the size of it. Always fires right up. Thanks Northern for the great great service"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom 20,000 BTU

,
February 4, 2014
By Jeb2007
from Concord, N.C.
"I was wanting a heater that would knock the chill off of the house on a very cold day and something that would be good for backup heat if the power went off.. This was the perfect choice. It does the job very quickly with no smells. I also bought the blower and it works very well. I would highly recommend this heater for anyone wanting a backup heat. I would give it a ten plus rating with ten be the highest. If it ever needed replacing , I would go back to ProCom."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Heater

,
January 22, 2014
By NevadaBillCC
from Carson City, Nevada
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is my second ProCom heater and it exceeds my expectations. I was especially pleased to find the pilot light to be very quiet. My other ProCom (10,000 BTU Gas Radiant) has an unusually large and noisy pilot light. The thermostat on the MD200TBA is GREAT! Although not mentioned in the specs, the burner has al least two (maybe three) burn levels that the thermostat controls depending on the amount of heat output needed. Very good design. Good job ProCom."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

just right

,
December 13, 2013
By platypus1
from Eastern Washington
"I installed this wall heater in a small (20'x20') cabin. It is just the right heater to cut the cold when I first arrive at the cabin on a cold day, before the wood burning stove catches up. I had trouble finding a universal connection locally, so I recommend you purchase the one from Northern.
ps. The low oxygen sensor really worked. A nice safety feature. Opened a door briefly and I was back in business.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater!

,
October 16, 2012
By piecebypiece
from Oklahoma City, OK
"I put in this heater last winter in a two car garage. This little heater warms up that 520 sqft pretty good. Installation was pretty straight forward which is a plus because the instructions weren't exactly clear or they were just downright wrong.
I'd definitely recommend this heater to anyone. It puts off good heat, shuts off the way it's supposed to when the room gets up to temp. I haven't tried the fan yet but I don't think I'll need to since the heater warms up the room just fine. And that's okay with me because that means I won't have to up my electric bill any more than I have to this winter.
My only complaint is about the set of instructions the heater came with. I was really hoping that they were going to be more detailed or a little more clear but that didn't stop me from installing this heater correctly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great heater!

,
October 16, 2012
By jdgarfield21
from Minnesota
"I've had this heater in a small one car garage and currently in my 2 1//2 car garage. Can keep it 70 + degrees. Seems like it takes a little longer to light pilot light when changing thanks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Procom Wall Heater review

,
October 15, 2012
By Marshman
from Sulphur, LA
"Ordered this product and was amazed how easy it was to install the mounting bracket and hang the heater on the wall. Fired right up and we used it several times at our camp to warm up the bedroom. Have used several of these same type heaters before but this was by far the easiest to mount. A+++"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Camp

,
October 15, 2012
By DaYooper
from Escanaba, MI
"I bought this for my Dad last Christmas and we installed it in our camp (16'x14'). It works great. It is easy to set up with little plumbing knowledge. We have it hooked up to propane. Originally we had it hooked upto a 20lb tank buck it would freeze up in cold weather so we upgraded to a 100lb tank and it works awesome."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
May 7, 2012
By tkfloyd
from Gatesville, Tx
"Great price and very easy to install, had it working in no time. Have it in a 16x20 work shop and it keep it nice and toasty all winter long. Just a great heater for the money"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

PROCOM wall heater

,
January 9, 2012
By countrygirl14
from Pauline, SC
"We use this heater in our 2000 square foot home to heat the back of our house. I love the look of the flame. We chose not to purchase the blower until we decided if we needed it. It turns out that the heater heats so well that we don't need the blower. This heater (along with another one in the other end of the house) are what we use to heat our house. We have a furnace, but only use it about twice a year. These heaters heat our entire house for pennies a day!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The MD200TBA is a good heater

,
October 31, 2011
By GrandTbird
from Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The MD200TBA is a good heater. It arrived prompty and undamaged. I ordered the Feet and the Electric Blower accessories. I hooked it up to my natural gas line. It functioned very well in a power failure. This is the second ProCom Vent Free Heater that I have installed. The first is a MD300TBA that ran extremely well all last year. I put this heater in a room, 35' x 35' x 11' high, that I built as an add-on to my home and had installed electric baseboard heat. I added this heater to reduce the electric consumption. This is the first season of use and so far it has performed flawlessly, as expected, even through a long power failure. I purchased another MD200TBA to place in my basement and I plan to hook it to my Natural Gas line.
The heater is very stable with the feet installed. The fan is not necessary, but does help to dispearse the heat... so if the fan accessory places too much of an unduen burden to your wallet, you need not buy it, and the heater will work just fine without it. In fact, the MD200TBA that I am installing in my basement will only have the feet acessory and not the fan. I needed the feet, because I was not wall mounting it. There was a very slight odor until the "newness" burned off. Now, there is virtually no smell. Now this room is heated without the need for electricity. So far the humidity in my home is excellent, 50%-59%; so I am not experiencing excess water vapor as a result of the two vent free heaters operating. In the off season, I shut off the gas supply and adequately cover the heater(s) so that dust will not accumulate in or on them while they are "OFF-Season". I wish that "custom" covers were made available for these heaters... Maybe in the future they will be available. The built-in thermostat works as well as can be expected; I experience no drastic swings in heat from either of my heaters. I highly recomend these ProCom Vent Free Heaters.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 year old ProCom heaters still heating!

,
November 24, 2010
By Yoopper
from U.P. of Michigan
"I purchased 3 ProCom 20,000 BTU heaters with optional blowers which I installed, over 10 years ago, from Northern Tool, when I built my new 3-stall garage. One stall is used for my wood shop and the other two house my classic cars. The wood shop is separated by a wall to keep the dust out of my car shop. These heaters have been trouble free for over 10 years. The one in the wood shop does require frequent cleaning, only beacuse of the wood dust, but has never given me any problems. The heaters are very effecient to run and use very little propane. Now my wood shop business has grown along with the size of my wood shop so it's time to say goodbye to my ProCom ventless heater and install a Mr Heater 75,000 BTU garage heater which vents to the outside. The two ProCom heaters in my car shop bays will remain for many years to come. The only draw back I ever found to the ProCom 20,000 ventless heaters was the moisture they cause, since a by-product of LP gas is moisture. With any ventless heater you will get moisture, especially if you start and stop the units. I leave mine on all winter and the moisture concern is much less. My wood shop tools with steel table did show signs of rusting, due to the moisture, but I cleaned and treated them with a rust prevenative coating and it solved the problem. As I stated above with the increase in my wood craft business, the increased shop size and the amount my wood shop tools cost, I decided to go with a vented garage heater. I purchased my new Mr Heater MHU75LP through Northern Tool also. This heater is also amazing and since it is vented outside there will be no more moisture in my shop and the 75000 BTU will keep me warm for many winters to come up here in the U.P. of Michigan. The ProCom heater I removed was still in excellent shape with slight discoloring around the vents. This discoloration over time comes from the oil which is present in LP or natural gas. My friend who helped me lift my new Mr Heater up to the ceiling asked if I had any plans for the ProCom heater that I removed. He made a call to his son and the heater is now installed in his garage!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
November 23, 2010
By jeepjam
from Altus, Ok
"I got this from Northern last winter after an ice storm knocked out electrical power for ten days. I installed this unit in my hall and it kept my whole house warm enough to stay in. Now I use this unit more than my central heat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Procom Blue Flame Wall Heater is Fantastic!!!!

,
November 23, 2010
By SouthernNorthern
from Garland, Texas
"This product's heating is great. I have bought two of these radiant heaters for my mother's house. She is a real critric when it comes to products and this one really impressed my mother. I am sold on all the features of this heater. It heats fast and heats the surrending area very well. Last year in the middle of the winter we had to replace our old heater and replaced it with the Procom."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Heater

,
November 17, 2010
By HiTecRedNec
from N/E PA.
"I bought this 2nd heater for the other end of my large house so I wouldn't have to start my wood stove until sometime in December. Between the 2 vent-free propane heaters ( both from Northern Tool ) they are saveing me alot of hard work from wood and not over heating my large house. They are easy to hook up, efficient and dependable. Who knows as I get older they might be my primary heaters."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
November 16, 2010
By BakerBob
from NW PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this heater to replace a 80,000 BTU round LP space heater. It had no thermostat and the orange flame was very dirty leaving a film on windows, walls, ceiling and TV screen. This Procom Blue Flame is so clean burning there is no trace of dirty film or smell of propane. The thermostat control is a big plus as you set it and forget it. Installation was a breeze as it is already set up for duel fuel, so pick your choice and you're all set to go. I purchased the self standing feet instead of wall mounting so I can move it from place to place.
I don't know why they say it needs a 100# LP tank...mine works just fine on a 30# cylinder. I use my heater as auxiliary heat to reduce electric use and for emergency use if the electric goes out. So far, it heats my dining room, living room and kitchen with ease with my ceiling fan running on low in the living room. I did not purchase the heaters blower.
Depending on your application I don't think you could go wrong with this heater...I'm sure glad I got one for this Winter..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

needed good heat

,
May 24, 2010
By Sopeman
from Washington, NC
"Installation is easy, everything you need comes with the product except gas cock. Puts out the kind of heat I was looking for, (not like porcelin bricks that often give you a headache)without burning up alot of propane."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

20,000 BTU Blue Flame Heater

,
February 17, 2010
By Dori
from Cedar Lake, IN
"Our house is 1580 sq ft and we bought the heater that heats 700 sq ft. Our house is completely open and It heats our whole house. We run 2 ceiling fans and our house stays warm. During the day we turn the heater way down or it gets too hot. This heater really puts out heat! We just started using it so I haven't gotten a heating bill. We will post another review when we get our first bill. I can say, if our heating bill drops significantly, everyone should invest in a heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ProCom Blue Flame Wall Heater - 20,000 BTU Output, 700 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD200TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the procom blue flame heater

,
February 16, 2010
By montana87
from middle of Montana
"We got the heater for the garage. It took a couple of hours to hook into the existing propane line and plumb it in but not at all complicated or hard. We also got the fan that goes with it and they both work very well. Before we would have a couple of little heaters going and struggle to keep it above freezing when it was windy and below zero outside. Now we have the Procom heater on the lowest setting and it keeps it around 60 all the time.
We love it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.