Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD

Item# 177204
Enjoy the look and feel of a wood-burning fireplace without all of the mess. This dual-fuel log set is hand-painted to look like real burning wood. Dual fuel technology allows you to choose between natural gas and liquid propane fuel. Blower Included No, BTU Output 32,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 24 3/8 x 14 x 13 3/8, Fuel Type Natural gas or liquid propane, Thermostat Included Yes. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Not for sale in California or Canada Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Review 1 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great heat source

,
January 16, 2012
By Idahocouple
from Burley, Id
"easy to set up, great source of heat and the price is right. we do get gas residue noticeable on the windows."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice set of logs

,
January 10, 2012
By MustardEater
from Geneva, AL
"I was looking for a relatively inexpensive set of vent-free logs to help heat my kitchen/breakfast room. This set arrived in great shape and was a piece of cake for the gas company to install in my existing fireplace.
I really like the fact that the logs have a thermostat. There are five settings (not specific temp, but each stage will get the room warmer). It would be nice if there was a remote that controlled the thermostat, but for the money, it's a good deal."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
11out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Note: If they shut down automatically!

,
December 9, 2011
By KeithTX
from Dallas TX
"That is totally normal !! I installed 2 sets and wondered why they keep shutting down. Thought the control was flame height. No flame ht. control. Knob is temperature! 1 colder to 5 hot. So if you have it on 1 or 2 it will shut down pretty easy and then relight itself when the temperature drops below the setting. Love them! Also NOTE: If shut off w/ main key on fireplace, the pipe seems to eventually drain of gas. Thus you need to hold the pilot in for a long time (several minutes) to get gas to the igniter in the proper gas ratio. Had this happen on both sets more than once. No soap bubbles on any fittings so it is not the pipe. I keep the piot on now in winter & not an issue."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Gas Logs

,
October 17, 2011
By HarryK
from Loudon, TN
"Great price and they are easy to setup.Work fine.
High heat output and great looking fire.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 10, 2011
By JP323
"I had been checking around for a while trying to find a good replacement gas log set. Having ordered other products from Northern with good results, I decided to gives this unit a try. Installation was simple and the unit work great. I am very pleased with its function and heat. Good job Northern on finding a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
December 21, 2010
By coldnnc
from Pikeville, NC
"My husband and I shopped around for 3 months trying to find just the right set of logs for the right price. We found everything we were looking for with this product. We have a 1400 sq ft 2 story home and currently are only using these to heat our home and they are standing up to the challenge. They were easy to install and easy to control. I would recommend them to anyone."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality gas logs at an awesome price

,
December 11, 2010
By kgroombr
from Evans, GA
"I shopped around for ventless gas logs for some time. The ones I liked best were about $500. I saw these and they looked almost the same as the expensive ones. I took a chance with these and they are great for the price.
They aren't as fancy as the expensive ones, but to save $300, it was well worth it.
The only downfall with these gas logs is the instructions. It would be nice to have just a couple pages of step by step instructions. These instructions have a few steps on one page, followed by a couple pages of safety stuff and other filler, to be followed by more instructions on another page, then a page or two of more safety/filler stuff.
This also came with a bag of what appears to be charcoal and I can't find any reference of what to do with them in the instructions.
Finding nicer gas logs at even double the price will be difficult in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ventless Burner works well

,
November 16, 2010
By Frugal
"The ventless log works well as a replacement for a wood-burning fireplace. The look of a log fire is nice in that it fits what the stone fireplace was built for. It heats a large area at high efficiency without odor.
The installation was simple, but one must pay careful attention to log placement. You must read the instructions carefully.
My concerns about water vapor were unfounded. No problems.
It takes a day or so to get used to the burner noise though. Its not loud, but you can hear the gas flowing.
Features I really like:
1-Battery powered spark ignitor. 2-Onboard thermostat. 3-Ventless operation.
What I don't like:
The front 'log' obscures part of the flame. The flame is visible from the top, so a hearth at floor level should work just fine. My hearth is about 20 inches above the floor and only the flame fron the back burner is visible.
This product should pay for itself in less than one heating season. It makes an old inefficient fireplace useful again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality

,
November 7, 2010
By WifeandPennyPincher
from Birmingham, AL
"I am so pleased with the purchase of my new gas logs. They heat my whole house perfectly and all of my guests ask so many questions regarding the efficiency, price, and various details of this product. The installer from the gas company could not believe the quality received for the price paid. He kept commenting on how they didn't smell at all and wanted to write down where I purchased them so he could get some for his home too. My favorite qualities about the logs is the adjustable thermostat and that they are aesthetically pleasing. I really wanted a remote control, but comparison logs that did include a remote control did not have an adjustable thermostat. It helps to have a ceiling fan in whichever room the logs will be placed, to evenly disperse the heat. I also keep the pilot light on at all times like the other reviewers stated. No logs were broken when package was received. Thank you Northern Tools for this great product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Basis for a Custom Fireplace

,
May 31, 2010
By thesolarguy
from Flagstaff,AZ
"I used this gas log set (fueled with propane) as the basis for a custom fireplace in my house on a masonry foundation. It's an excellent choice as the heat is adjustable and does not require a full-size flue (although I did provide fresh air feed and an exhaust vent at the top of the fireplace for safety). Lots of comments from visitors on the realistic look and an excellent supplement for my passive solar heating. I have used a number of blue flame heaters and this log set incorporates all the best features at a bargain price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vent-free Gas Log Set

,
May 24, 2010
By Earthangel1209
from Jacksonville, Florida
"Converting our fire place to vent-free with the propane gas was the best thing we could have done. These logs provided perfect heating for our home and brought our heating cost down by $75.00 a month during our unusual freezing temperatures this past winter. we are so glad we made the change. We completely enjoyed the fact that there is a thermostat to control the heat. When the logs reach the selected temperature they shut down to the pilot light and then automatically come back on when the temperature drops. These logs are the best!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Gas Log set is working great for me

,
May 24, 2010
By islandream
from East Texas
"Bought this ProCom unit to replace a failing system at my little lake house. Directions were a bit slim, but installation was simple enough. The logs look good, light easily, and put out plenty of heat. The thermostat is a very helpful feature. I am quite pleased with both the dollar value and function of this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased

,
February 27, 2010
By behart43
from Kingsport TN
"I bought these logs when no one else had them. January of a cold winter and all the stores where stocking for spring. I ordered these logs from NorthernTool. They arrived in a week and I had them installed a few days later. They work very well. the thermostat works well, on and off. Used 100 lb tank and it lasted almost a month. Working on the second tank now. I like them a lot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Gas Log Set - 32,000 BTU, Model# PCD24TD
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ProCom Logset

,
October 9, 2009
By duality
from Ohio
"I had been looking for a replacement log set for my 18 year old gas fireplace for almost a year. Couldn’t bring myself to spend 5 or 6 hundred for what I viewed as a gas burner with some painted logs. I was skeptical as to why this was relatively inexpensive compared to all the other log sets I had been looking at but took a chance & ordered. Installed it a week ago and couldn’t be happier. The instructions are halfway decent and contain a parts list. (Most instructions today are Chinese poorly translated into English on cheep paper but the ProCom is a bit better) One thing missing is reference to the temperature sensor that comes ty wrapped to the bottom. You have to free it from the ty wrap and physically place it somewhere that makes sense so the burner will turn off in case of overheating. If you leave it ty wrapped to the bottom of the assembly the burner turns off and on as the sensor sees heat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.