Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO

Item# 177212
This 99.9 efficient vent-free fireplace's included corner conversion kit lets you place it anywhere you want flat against the wall or snuggled up into a corner. The fireplace warms and enhances the feel of any room the way fire only can, but without messy wood fuel or the need for ventilation. Drawing on patented dual-fuel technology burns propane or natural gas, this fireplace heats without needing a chimney or unsightly vent. Heats up to 850 sq. ft. Thermostat helps you maintain desired room temperature. Works with Blower for ProCom Fireplace/Stove, Item# 178119 sold separately. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company Blower Included No, Includes Corner kit, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Fireplace, BTU Output 23,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 850, Color Light oak, Thermostat Included Yes. Straight mantel fireplace dimensions 44 1/8in.W x 12 1/8in.D x 34 7/8in.H Corner mantel fireplace dimensions 44 1/8in.W x 33 1/2in.D x 34 7/8in.H
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 of 19(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Review 1 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for quick warm-up

,
April 23, 2013
By Wstnbldrs
from West Bend, WI
"We enjoy the quick warm-up. Upgraded the push button igniter, pretty noisy. Warms up the whole house too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fireplace

,
October 31, 2012
By RichhDD
from Lansdale, Pa.
"No problem putting the unit together. Had a plumber run the line. I lost power during Hurricane Sandy. This unit heated the whole house and was a lifesaver until the power came back on. The fire looks real and the fireplace was a great deal for the money!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ProCom Fireplace

,
May 15, 2012
By kubbear8
from Delaware
"We purchased this unit last fall. It is small and compact and doesn't look out of place in a small room. It heats very well and we are very pleased with the unit. The only fault that we had with it was in constructing the oak surround and mantel. The screws did not fit well and catch well in the intended wooden parts. I"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ProCom vent free gas fireplace

,
January 11, 2012
By tee2green
from USA
"Small, heats well(heating 550sqft). Purchased October 2011. Must adjust flame manually. No remote control with this model but it would be a nice addition. We use as additional heat source for a lower level of our home. Looks good with a low profile. 55 flat screen about unit. Heat does not effect TV. TV is about 3 ft above heat element."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and toasty

,
January 9, 2012
By GMHorn
from Van Lear,Ky
"We bought this fireplace in October as an alternate heat source,our home in total electric . We had a professional install it....and have loved it! We use it alot,haven't had any power outages yet but we have really enjoyed using the fireplace,it warms the house nicely!,,would recommend this product for everyone."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fireplace

,
January 9, 2012
By Ghorton
from Bristol, VA
"It does a great job heating our den/ office. Easy to install and looks great."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Dual Fual Vent Free Fireplace

,
January 9, 2012
By J1960
from NC
"Saved shipping by having product delivered to local store. Customer service was excellent! Very happy with the product so far; takes the chill off and helps keep the electric bill down."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

get warm no bagage

,
January 9, 2012
By petery
from yonkers ny
"great item nice on the eye easy on the pocket that said it all."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Buy

,
October 17, 2011
By OleBill
from Wiley,Colorado
"I boughtg this stove and blower last year and I would buy one again It was easy to assemble and does a great job"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks, Works Nice, but...

,
October 17, 2011
By willy3
from Ludington, MI
"The unit went together very easily but the fit of all the wood parts (seams) is not real tight. Also, an internal gas connection was leaking when the gas company tried to hook it up and we had to take it apart to get to the leaking fitting. Otherwise, nice addition to the living room."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy, and we save a fortune...

,
October 10, 2011
By TerrySoe
from Mechanicsville MD
"My wife and I needed an alternate heat source in our house. In the winter we had been facing electric bills of $600 plus. We also have nasty weather and if the power went out we were stuck without heat. Starting looking on the Northern Tool website and saw many option. Picked this fireplace out because of the price and it was vent free. After it was delivered (very timely) we had a professional hook up our propane lines to it. What a difference! Electric bills in the winter were cut in half! I can't believe how warm our home got in such a short time. The heat is almost immediate. I love the built in thermostat. You set it and the flame will go out and come on when the house heats up and cools off. The only problem we had was a small chemical smell when we first fired it up. It continued for a few weeks but started to disappear after a few weeks. From the ordering to the delivery and set up...easy...The fireplace is great if you don't want to have to cut a hole in the side of your house to vent it out. Have a carbon monoxide detector just to be safe."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great we love it

,
September 15, 2011
By PhilipAndAmy
from Ohio
"We bought the fireplace with the blower and it all works very well. It heats the house very nice and helps save on electric bill in the winter. It was missing some hardware when I was putting it back together but I called and they sent a hardware kit with extra dowels and fasteners so all is well. In the end I was very pleased with the purchase and it really gives my living room a nice warm look and feel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

ProCom 23k BTU gas vent free fireplace

,
March 17, 2011
By FrozinND
from Larimore, ND
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was a bit torn how to rate this product. I decided to give it an average 3 stars. Here's why: I placed an order for this fireplace from Northern Tool early December 2010. I had it shipped to my closest N.T. store which is 110 miles one way for me. It took some time in shipping due to the holidays. I picked it up Dec 30, drove all the way home only to discover the assembly directions for the mantel & hardware pack for the entire fireplace were missing! I called ProCom after New Year's explaining in painstaking detail what was missing to two different ProCom associates in Georgia. They seemed to think the entire fireplace should have come fully assembled. They finally told me the hardware pack was on back order. I waited 2 weeks; no one called or emailed me. Suspecting this company didn't care about me, I called again only to be told to go buy the parts at my local hardware store! What a joke! I then called Northern Tool. The customer service rep was courteous & on it right away. She suggested to order/ship another fireplace. She even mailed me a $20 gift card after explaining I lived 110 miles from the store. The 2nd fireplace arrived about a week quicker and had all the parts inside. I installed it a few days later. No problems with the firplace. It lights easy & heats very well. I noticed it does have a burnt smell the first few times it's used but that is expected since it's new. Overall, very pleased with the fireplace itself. ProCom is another issue; they need to revamp their quality control and customer service big time! Would recommend this fireplace to a friend but advise him/her to closely inventory the ENTIRE box contents for all parts! I've noticed I'm not the only one that has had this issue with ProCom."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money

,
March 14, 2011
By Regal
from New Jersey
"This fire place is great. Bought it with the blower. Heats half our house up in minutes by twenty degrees when I turn it on. I highly recommend it and have not found anything dissappointing about it. We use it alot and haven't noticed it affect our gas bill. Even built a tiled harth for it to sit on. Was easy to install."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful little heater

,
March 14, 2011
By Feather
from South Western New York
"We bought this fireplace for supplemental heat in the living room of our old drafty farm house. While we run this heater it keeps our living room nice and toasty and the rest of the down stairs as well. Our furnace never runs while the fireplace is on. We usually run it on number two setting. I bought the fireplace on sale and have seen the same heater advertised locally for much more money. The only problem I have is that some of the cam locks that hold the mantle on were missing. I called the manufactuer and have yet to receive them after a couple of months they said they were on back order. Other than that it is a great little unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

missing parts can not put together to use

,
February 8, 2011
By eeezeegoin76
from Towanda
"This unit I thought was a good price, I see why, some parts was missing.I called to order the parts, just a simple hardware pack. Procom keeps telling me the parts are on back order. They say there sorry but don't want to help in anyway. Mean while I got a pile of mantle pieces setting in my living room for 5 weeks and can not use the heater in the middle of winter, when I need it the most.My biggest fear is if I ever get the parts to put it together and get to use it and I need another part for the burner would I ever get the part I need or will the unit be junk.$$$ down the drain. I would not recommend this brand, no customer service"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heat

,
December 22, 2010
By cassell
from Virginia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was looking for another heat source and found this fireplace. When I received it I was very pleased. No missing parts. The heat output is exceptional. Heats 1000 sq ft easily. Not even used the oil heat, even when the temp was 0 outside. I like the propane heat alot better anyway. Overall I love the fireplace. It's soothing, no smell, heats great, and looks great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FIREPLACE

,
November 24, 2010
By DOCGENE
from Deland Fl
"The fireplace is great there was some parts missing that I got here but is working very good"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 23,000 BTU, Light Oak Veneer, Model# BD23TCC-2-LO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT BUY

,
November 16, 2010
By DUCKBOB
"I was leery about ordering the fireplace without seeing the product. I wasn't disappointed one bit. We just love it. And it works great. No fumes. Better than I expected."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.