Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Heritage Cherry Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-HC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Heritage Cherry Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-HC

Item# 177215
Can't decide where you want to place your vent-free fireplace This unit comes with a corner conversion kit that lets you switch between flat wall and backed into a corner. Choose this 99.9 efficient vent-free fireplace to warm up to 1200 sq. ft. without the need for messy fuel or ventilation. Drawing from patented dual fuel technology burns propane or natural gas, this vent-free fireplace heats without needing a chimney. Oxygen depletion sensor automatically turns off the heater in case of low-oxygen levels. Thermostat helps you maintain desired room temperature. Works with Blower for ProCom Fireplace/Stove, Item# 178119 sold separately. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Color Heritage Cherry, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,200, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Fireplace, Includes Corner kit, BTU Output 32,000, Thermostat Included Yes includes thermostat remote control, Dimensions L x W x H in. Corner setup is 37 3/4 x 44 1/2 x 42 13/16, Blower Included No. Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (7 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 7(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Heritage Cherry Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-HC
Review 1 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Heritage Cherry Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-HC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Efficient, Attractive, Easy

,
September 18, 2013
By BayCountry
from Coastal Virginia
"Heating a great room with high ceilings.
Replacing an electric fireplace that was noisy, expensive to run and inefficient.
Chose the non-vent model because of high winds where my propane line comes in.
Decided against getting the blower since I don't like air moving around and the additional noise.
This unit is attractive (I am using it in a corner), easy to set up, a snap to operate and really puts out the heat. While hooking it up, my propane company said it was one of the "neatest" units they had ever seen.
Get a high quality carbon monoxide monitor for peace of mind.
I'm really looking forward to a toasty warm fall and winter this year.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Heritage Cherry Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-HC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, instant heat

,
April 23, 2013
By lakeliving
from Guntersville, Alabama
"The gas mantle was bought to provide ambiance and warmth to a large, open kitchen-dining room. After installation, there was a problem with the On/Remote/Off module responding to the remote control. After a few telephone calls to tech support, we determined that the module was not functioning regards the remote control. A new unit was sent and swapped out. Then the unit was completely functional. The thermostatic blower coupled with the thermostat remote makes it a great way to warm up a space versus the whole house or a super emergency heat source."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Heritage Cherry Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-HC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stove

,
October 16, 2012
By Fireplace123
from kingsport, TN
"this fireplace is awsome for heating the whole house, i use it to heat 1500 sq ft house and works great. the wireless thermostate works great and the fan is thermostate control or stay on your choice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Heritage Cherry Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-HC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCam Duel Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace 32,000 BTU

,
January 9, 2012
By Mom57
from Southold, NY
"This product is very simple to operate. Comes w/remote or you can manually turn off and on on the bottom of the fireplace. You can control the temp. and after reaching the desired temp. it will automatically shut off. Will go on again when temp. falls below setting. Beautiful and so realistic without the mess of wood, ashes. I've had so many compliments on it. It heats the entire room within minutes. I cannot say anything that isn't great about it only that I wish I had ordered one last year when I had thought about it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Heritage Cherry Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-HC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent fireplace

,
March 14, 2011
By windmill
from Raleigh, NC
"I've had the fireplace for about 4 months now, and I've been very pleased with the overall performance. I use mine with natural gas.
The unit puts out a LOT of heat, more than enough for the 2,000 sq.ft. basement it's in. Granted, it's used as "supplemental" heat, but the regular heat hasn't been running much ever since I got it. Like all vent-free systems, there is a bit of an odor for the first few minutes when you run it. Compared to a previous vent-free system I used, this is very minor. I also got the optional blower, which helps disperse the odor pretty quickly. I highly recommend the blower, it is quiet and helps distribute the heat.
The remote is extremely convenient. When you're cold, you turn on the fireplace. Warm enough? One click and it's off. It's probably the ultimate proof of my laziness, but it is _nice_. I have not used the "temperature" mode (which will turn the fireplace on automatically if the room is too cold), since I don't really want the system to come on when I'm not there.
The documentation is superb. Clear diagrams, advice for the installers, etc. You have to really try hard if you want to mess up the assembly. Even the log stacking was well described. The logs look decent, but it's nothing spectacular. Some gas fireplaces have the fluffy stuff that glows like embers, this unit doesn't have that. So if you want the ambiance of a wooden fire, you may be disappointed. The mesh doors work really well, I have several cats and the doors provide a great deal of security compared to the mesh "curtains" some units have.
I was pleasantly surprised by the wooden mantel. It's not real wood of course, but the veneering is pretty decent. I originally was interested in the unit because it could be used in a corner. I ended up installing it in the center of the wall, but it's nice to have the option. There is just enough room inside the mantel for the flex hose for hooking up to the gas supply, but things can get a little tight.
In short, there is nothing about the unit I don't like. I'd buy it again in a heartbeat. Quality, fit and finish were well above what I expected at this price point."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Heritage Cherry Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-HC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
March 14, 2011
By consumer1351
from oklahoma
"this is an excellent source of backup heat that looks attractive in any room. we put it in our living room and it can get it as hot as you want. its controlled by battery power. the remote works great and it comes with enough batteries to run it. i'm pretty sure you can turn it on manually. we bought it as a backup in case the power went out but wound up using it as a supplemental too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Heritage Cherry Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-HC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great item for price

,
November 17, 2010
By fkeggas
"very nice gas fire place for the price I `ve been installing gas units now for 17 years and I seen them all this is a great unit the remote could be better but works good battires I just wish u could upgrade the remote or change it out but u cant."
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Nanneygoat
Anderson 
 
Please wait while more information about Nanneygoat is loaded.
Additional information about Nanneygoat could not be loaded.
Installation
December 2, 2010
"Does anyone know of someone that can install this fireplace in a slab foundation home and an idea of installation cost?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
EZstreet
 
Please wait while more information about EZstreet is loaded.
Additional information about EZstreet could not be loaded.
Remote
November 23, 2010
"What are the cons with remote that you mention ?
Thanks,
K.
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)