Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO

Item# 177216
Can't decide where you want to place your vent-free fireplace This unit comes with a corner conversion kit that lets you switch between flat wall and backed into a corner as much as you like. Choose this 99.9 efficient vent-free fireplace to warm up to 1200 sq. ft. without the need for messy fuel or ventilation. Drawing from patented dual fuel technology burns propane or natural gas, this vent-free fireplace heats without needing a chimney. Oxygen depletion sensor automatically turns off the heater in case of low-oxygen levels. Thermostat helps you maintain desired room temperature. Works with Blower for ProCom Fireplace/Stove, Item# 178119 sold separately. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Includes Corner kit, Blower Included No, Color Medium oak, Thermostat Included Yes includes thermostat remote control, BTU Output 32,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,200, Product Style Fireplace, Dimensions L x W x H in. 44 1/2 W x 16 3/16 D x 42 7/8 H Corner setup is 44 1/2 W x 37 11/16 D x 42 13/16 H. Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company
Average Customer Rating:
4.629 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (35 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
34 of 35(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Review 1 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great after 2 years

,
February 4, 2014
By PumpDr
from Lake Ozark,MO
"Went together easy and have been using for 2 years to heat my family room and a good part of this one level house. Only negative is that the thermostat has wide on range. I have set at 70 deg and needs to get down to 68 to turn on ( just about time you start getting a chill ) and turns off at 72 ( just about time you hope it shuts off soon ). Would still buy again since is a good value for money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fireplace

,
February 4, 2014
By Smart1
from Helenwood, TN
"Love my new fireplace! Bought it before the winter season hit and i haven't turned my central heat and air unit on not even once and my electric bill has gone down dramatically. This heats my whole house and my husband and i are currently raising 6 kids. We did not buy a blower for our fireplace and it still puts out a lot of heat and was well worth the money. I bought it before it went on clearance and now we are getting ready to order another one for my dads house while it is on clearance. And i must mention that i love the look of it as we bought it in in the Heritage Cherry."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Trouble from the beginging

,
December 24, 2013
By Hes44
from WV
"I helped my brother purchase this product online. Product arrived the first of November. When it arrived, we put it together and installed according to manufactures specs. Had trouble with remote control & receiver ( would not pair). Tried to contact manufacturers customer service(PROCOM). After about 11/2 hours of waiting on phone(# 49) tech finally cam on and decided we needed a new receiver. We have been waiting since (it is now Dec. 23,2013) still have not received part. we have called several times( each time we have to wait about an hour to get tech on phone. Say we are on list for part or part is on the way, different story each time. I have tried to contact company by there website email with no response . This part should be readily available. Have not been able to use this brand new fireplace since purchase. I would give this product and customer support a zero rating, however a 1 star is as low as it goes. I believe that there is a lot more trouble with the remote controls system on these fireplaces than company admitting. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProComm Gas Fireplace

,
April 23, 2013
By TD843
from NJ
"Product was packaged well and arrived without damage. The instructions were good and assembly was easy taking less than an hour. It is well constructed and looks great"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Fireplace

,
April 23, 2013
By Grace2000
from Minneapolis, MN
"I spent 2 years looking at a seperate heating source for my semi-finished basement. Once I found this unit, I did a fair amount of searching on the web to see how safe vent-free fireplaces really were. There is mixed opinion. In light of everything I read, I opted to get this unit as it has an oxygen depletion sensor. This unit was easy to install and now provided the added warmth I wanted. Just to be safe, I added 2 carbon menoxide sensors to the basement. I am happy to say, that after almost 2 years of use, we have had not issues and the fireplace looks awesome. The only thing that I wished that I had purchased was the fan. But unfortunately too many reviews said that it was noisy so I skipped it. To circulate the air, I have a room fan sitting on top of the fireplace."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful and Functional

,
April 23, 2013
By 1HuskerFan
from Kearney, NE
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The fireplace was very easy to install and worked very well right from the start. We have used this for two winters now and it warms up the family room extremely quickly (without optional fan)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Remote Thermostate

,
December 26, 2012
By JK3775
from Jamestown,Tn
"We love ours, but I am disappointed in the remote. There is too much of difference in temperature from when it turns on and off. 2 degrees each way from where it is set. Also to turn the temperature down you have to click all the way up to 95 and then up from 45. This seems like like excessive use of the remote. It seems like there should be a way to go up and down with the adjustment.
The fireplace works fine otherwise and seemed like quality workmanship and materials.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace

,
May 14, 2012
By mmd13
from Sumter, SC
"Very impressed with this fireplace. Looks nice and puts out warmth for the whole house. Recommend the optional blower. Love the remote control! Saved a few bucks by picking it up at the store. The box was to large for my 4Runner but was able to remove the contents and packed it in without any problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-7points
5out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gas fireplace

,
May 10, 2012
By rhteb
from Monmouth, Me.
"We purchased one of these gas fireplaces for our family room addition. It is perfect for this room as it is on the north side of the house and winters in Maine can be very cold. It easily heats this room and the thermostatically controlled remote means even comfort throughout the coldest nights. It is economical and easy to run own and install. It is also aesthetically pleasing. I recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Pleased

,
May 7, 2012
By Gladiboughtit
from Loganton, PA
"I must admit that I hesitated purchasing a gas fireplace on line. After reading all the reviews I decided to take a chance and purchase it . I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of this product. The wood does not look cheap and assembly was not bad at all. My daughter and I actually put the mantle together ourselves! It puts off instant heat and warms my whole upstairs in no time at all. I am very pleased with my purchase and wish I would have done it long ago! I recommended this to my neighbor and they bought one from Northern Tool also. Great product at a good price!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gas Fireplace

,
January 16, 2012
By McBride
from New Jersey
"Since I purchased this fireplace, it has helped us save on oil, as we do not need to keep the oil burner running. The amount of money it has saved us in the last month is exceptional. The fireplace is an attractive addition to our living room. I have already recmmended this product to a friend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IMPRESSED WITH PRO-COM FIREPLACE

,
January 13, 2012
By MALCOLM6O
from MANCESTER,OH.
"THIS FIREPLACE WAS EASY TO INSTALL& REALLY LOOKS GOOD. IT HEATS MY 1000 SQ. FT. HOME EASILY. WISH I HAD BOUGHT ONE YEARS AGO."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy !

,
January 11, 2012
By splintterblue
from Ladysmith, Va
"The fireplce looks great and functions wonderfully , it was very easy to assemble and install . The controls are simple to use and being remote controled is very handy .The fireplace heats my home easily . I have nothing bad to say about about this product and would recomend this to anyone !!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fireplace

,
January 9, 2012
By ElectricalTech
from Tennessee
"This fireplace is a simple easy to install set up. For any trained gas piping specialist. This unit will add beauty to any room, whether installed ina corner or straight wall. This unit will accept propane/or natural gas. The logs are very well placed and looks great!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Holiday Experience

,
January 9, 2012
By Johnny123
from Southwest Missouri
"My 10 year old son and I put it together. It came with good instructions. Turned out to be a great time together. Very nice looking finished product. A half
an inch by 3 quarter of an inch piece of the veneer
finish got snagged on the carpet while putting it together and came off. I carefully glued it back on with some wood glue and it was good as new.
Everyone loves it. It put out great heat. Its nice just to watch the real fire. Remote control is a nice touch. Installing the gas line was not a problem at all. Your main line home improvement stores will carry everything you need. Installation/Training Guides are available for PRO-FLEX CSST metal hose piping. We had a qualified installer help us with connecting the gas lines. I still can't beleive how easy it was. Very Good Price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fireplace! Hihgly recommend it!

,
December 21, 2011
By Donathon
from Sioux Falls, SD
"I was a little hesitant to order this item because of the price. I had bought a similar fireplace for a different house for about $1000, but I had to put the cabinet together, then stain and varnish it all. This comes more assembled, although not completely assembled it was easy to put together in about 30 minutes, and was all pre-finished. And it is a nice cabinet! The instructions are pretty well written, the logs actually fit (they didn't on my other fireplace) and it is an easy installation once the gas line is there. The remote is also easy to use. It smells a little when you light it the first time, as it burns off the oil, etc used in the mfg process, but otherwise it does not smell and puts out great heat, plus it's pretty! I highly recommend it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love our Procom fireplaces

,
November 9, 2011
By wvcabininwoods
from wvhunter1968@yahoo.com
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is the 2nd Procom unit that I've installed in our house, and my wife and I love them.
I just installed this unit in the front room last week and it is nice and toasty throughout complimenting the other procom stove we have in the back room.
This is a beautifully made unit that looks like it belongs in our humble home as a permanent fixture. It is seriously functional and very happy with it's performance. The thermostat on this system is a welcome addition compared to our smaller unit in back room that has a timer type function. Thank you Northern Tool and Procom for a wonderful, well built, reliable, modestly priced and functional heat source. My second Procom stove in now, I feel like a pro."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top notch LP Fireplace

,
March 15, 2011
By SA2011
from Florida
"This is a great fireplace for any large room. It has become the focal point to our family room. It is a powerful unit that can heat a very large area in a short period of time. The woodwork is excellent and everyone thinks that it is a built-in unit. I highly recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well Built

,
March 15, 2011
By amen
"I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 only because of the fairly large temperature swing of the thermostat. The unit was easy to assemble and works excellent. It is really an attractive looking unit. It malfunctioned once and embarrassed me when my service guy told me the batteries in the remote needed replacing. there is no indicator for this."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Fireplace with Corner Conversion Kit - 32,000 BTU, Medium Oak Veneer, Model# FBD400RTCC-M-MO
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

really like it

,
March 14, 2011
By noreviewname
from wy
"was easy to assemble, works great the only draw back is the battery operated tstat system if they get low, fire place doesn't come on. The fan really doesn't make alot of difference i leave mine off. i bought a second smaller fireplace because i liked this one so well"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.