Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"

"ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"

Item# 177217
"With this ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater, you can enjoy 30,000 BTU of comfortable warmth and 99.9 efficiency - saving you money on energy bills. This versatile heater lets you use either natural gas or propane for clean-burning performance. The thermostat control allows you to choose and maintain your desired temperature. For an extra measure of safety, an oxygen depletion sensor is included. Product Style Wall heater, Color Black, Dimensions L x W x H in. 8 x 26 5/8 x 23 1/2, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,100, Blower Included No, Thermostat Included Yes, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, BTU Output 30,000. Patented technology burns either natural gas or propane fuel Works with the ProCom Manual/Automatic Thermostat Blower, Item# 173957 sold separately Oxygen depletion sensor for safety Not for sale in California or Canada Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company"
Average Customer Rating:
4.608 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (74 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
69 of 74(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 104 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Review 1 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Heater

,
January 24, 2015
By davet1
from detroit
" I bought this to replace a SuperFlame ventless furnace I could not get parts to repair. It is working very well to heat the room I put it in, it looks good, and not hard to install. Great value at a little over $200 bucks (with shipping). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exact fit for my needs

,
January 23, 2015
By Eljay123
from Texas
" Dual fuel feature offers great flexibility. Works as advertised. I use on a small greenhouse and it keeps the temperature nice and stable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Heater

,
January 18, 2015
By BigJohn12345
from Ripley, WV
" Nice heater, easy to add the blower and easy to install and heats my workshop very well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantabulous

,
January 18, 2015
By Varshanka
from Rocky Mountains
" this is the second unit i've purchased. One for the house nad one for the garage. The first unit dropped my energy bill by over fifty percent. Now I live in a cold climate and high altitude so when i can save this much money it's awesome. Especially with the rising prices! I recommend this item for anyone, and everyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Altitude, Regulator Info, Odor Info

,
January 16, 2015
By RoyalBounty
from Northern NM
" This review is for the ProCom MD300TGA. Jan, 2015
Am glad to add my 5 Star review to many others.
Had a couple of initial problems that, hopefully, will save some others a bit of grief. On install, pilot came on fine but would drop out either immediately or after 30-40 seconds of operation and cause unit to flame out. Was hoping it was just air in the line but it wasn't that easy. Suspected our elevation (8,300') to be the problem. However, I became suspicious of regulator I was using. Specs say to use 2 stage regulator with 3/8" input, 3/8" output. When looking for one of these online, however, I could only find 1/4" in and 3/8" out. (Weird). Figured it would be OK. Then I got to thinking that, with that 1/4" constriction on the input side, the pilot might just be starving when that big, 30k BTU burner kicked on. Sure enough. Ran 3/8" straight through and problem gone. Runs like a champ - and at 8,300' no less.
One more comment. I read a few concerns about odor. I have another ventless unit in different part of the house and I can only say, beware of the following before you blame the heater. Every time I've noticed a smell coming from the unit, I can ALWAYS associate it with the use of some chemical product in the house; i.e. cleaner, wax, oil, paint, etc. Apparently those fumes hang in the air but you don't really notice them until you run the air over an open flame. They become REAL noticeable then. Air the house or building out real good and, dollars to doughnuts, the smell will go away.
Heat output is fantastic I'm running it in a 750sf space (well insulated) which I let drop to about 60 overnight. I kick the heater on at about 6am and in 20-30 minutes I'm at 65. Very pleased.
One more point. If you are having any problem with yellow flame, check other appliances running off the same tank. If you notice the same problem there, (especially in very cold weather), you may have condensation in your propane. My supplier injected some methanol in my tank and all my flames are now a nice, bright blue. No more yellow.
Hope someone finds this helpful. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Garage Heater - Great Output

,
January 15, 2015
By Yukon2017
from Macungie, PA
" Installed this last weekend in 2 car attached garage with average insulation. Converted it to the NG setting. Easy. Temps in the 20s mostly. Garage reads 64F and it is set as low as I can get it. Wish it could go a little lower. Definitely heats the place up. Gets hot above it (optical thermometer read 112F on shelf bracket just above it), so watch putting it below shelves. Would be 5 stars if the thermostat had more range or could be remotely added. Still has a slight burn off odor, but hopefully will dissipate. Overall very happy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

"ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heat

,
January 11, 2015
By WES38
from PA
" VERY HAPPY! INSTALL IT MYSELF IN OUR FIRE PLACE PUTS A LOT OF HEAT ON LOW SETTING. IT WILL KEEP USE WARM WHEN WE LOSE POWER.I WOULD OF GOTTING THE ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Wall Heater — 30,000 BTU Output, 1000 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD300TBA, BUT I WANTED IT WITH GLASS, THIS REPLACE OUR FIRE LOGS, AND DOES A BETTER JOB. I ALL SO HAVE THE BLOWER ,BLOWER WORKS BUT ON AUTOMATIC DOES NOT WORK. I WELL CALL FOR HELP WITH THIS. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

very pleased

,
January 10, 2015
By kiddo2
from branson
" was easy to install, worked just like it was supposed to. Will be able to tell you more after we use it for a while. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

product is as advertised

,
December 29, 2014
By soba1
from Nash Tenn
" The product meets the needs for which it was ordered. The price was reasonable, the product was exactly as described. The product is working as was described. I would highly recommend this stove to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shop Heater

,
December 18, 2014
By Cohomojo
from Port Orchard, WA
" 5 stars for the operations and functionality of the heater. 4 stars for the installation condition. The heater had three screws and a couple of rivets that were rattling around the stove. Once we figured out where they went, and re-installed them, the installation went smoothly. Very pleased with the heater and the way it quickly heats up and maintains the temperature in our insulated garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater

,
December 11, 2014
By HeadBangingAllWinter
from Raymond, ME
" Purchased this heater for my 24x24 garage.The garage is insulated and has interior walls. This little heater mounted easily to the wall and I had heat within an hour.Thermostat control is great, keeping the garage at 40 even when it's 4 outside. Turn up the thermostat a little and the garage is a nice toasty 50 to 55 within 20 minutes. Would purchase one of these again. Would be an awesome supplemental heat source for any approved room. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised.

,
December 1, 2014
By PaulSB
from North Jersey
" Wow this heater really pumps out some heat, warms my 1000 square foot garage (well insulated) to a very
comfortable temperature in about an hour. Easy to install and is virtually silent in operation. I would buy this again with a smile.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane space heater

,
November 26, 2014
By BKirk
from Pittsburg,NH
" Easily installed in 30 minutes including the add on fan and gas piping. Clean burning. The optional fan helped quickly heat up our new game room above the garage. Nice looking unit also. Simple for grand kids to start and set temperature. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy to set up

,
November 23, 2014
By RavenLover
from Kanosh Utah
" The product was back ordered, but it still arrived quickly. I was a little worried about its set up. I'm disabled but under my supervision my 13 year old son was able to do everything, and it works like a charm.
I love the warmth and the blue flame.
Excellent product in every aspect.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater!

,
November 18, 2014
By Molsen77
from Gillette, WY
" Changed out my Mr. Heater that was putting off too many fumes with this heating unit. Install was very simple and the heat produced is noticeably better (30,000 vs 22,000 BTU). Was able to heat my garage (1,000 SF) in about half an hour with single digit temps outside. Very happy with this heater! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy with this heater

,
November 16, 2014
By ZackyLeeBondoJr
from Michigan
" I bought this heater because I had a similar one many years ago that worked flawlessly. This ProCom unit is junk. Difficult to get lit, burns for a few minutes and the flame and pilot both go out. It's in a large room so O2 is not the problem. NG pressure is fine as well.
I'm going to try and adjust the pilot so the flame hits the Thermocouple better, but if that doesn't work, I'm going to remove it and go with Electric
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-8points
3out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product

,
October 16, 2014
By JayZPatriotDen
from UP Mi
" Heater was easy to install and seems to work well. Wall mounting was a snap and I am sure the winter football games will be a little warmer now in the garage with this little beauty. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

,
May 22, 2014
By Handyman1124
from Arizona
" I bought this unit to replace an old one in a customers home. While the old one had the digital screen and actual thermostat that you could set to a particular temperature, that screen/display is what failed and required the replacement. While this new one isn't as attractive (in my opinion) it also doesn't have the electronics that can fail and are costly to fix. Very easy to install in either LP or Natural Gas settings. As my customer puts it, "takes the chill off in the mornings very nicely." Only giving it 4 stars as the appearance is lacking (again, in my opinion) compared to the older model. Everything else would get 5 stars. Ease of installation, ease of use, efficiency, practicality, and, bottom line, for what it was bought and installed to do, it gets the job done. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Procom 30k BTU vent free heater

,
April 21, 2014
By sicardmd
from Allegan, MI
" This is my third Procom vent free heater. I have one in my garage and another in a three season room. Both have provided excellent performance.
I purchased this for a neighbor who had some frozen pipes and no substantial heat in his basement.
Installation for natural gas was very easy, except I remembered to switch from LP to NG, just AFTER I mounted the heater (hang and bottom screws).
The black finish and blue flame is quite attractive.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Heater for the Money

,
February 8, 2014
By ZachG
from Mountains, VA
" Got my heater on sale for a great price. Hooked it up in the basement for some extra warmth down there. Would have got 5-Stars if it would have came with at least one of the following - blower/fan included (can by for extra $35 but has some bad reviews) or i wish it would come with the "feet" to set the heater on the ground (again, can by cheap pieces of plastic feet for extra $20). Overall I am very happy with the heater's looks, operation and build quality. I dont think you can beat it for the price Northern Tool has it for "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.