Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"

Item# 177217
"With this ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater, you can enjoy 30,000 BTU of comfortable warmth and 99.9 efficiency - saving you money on energy bills. This versatile heater lets you use either natural gas or propane for clean-burning performance. The thermostat control allows you to choose and maintain your desired temperature. For an extra measure of safety, an oxygen depletion sensor is included. Dimensions L x W x H in. 8 x 26 5/8 x 23 1/2, Thermostat Included Yes, Product Style Wall heater, BTU Output 30,000, Color Black, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,100, Blower Included No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes. Patented technology burns either natural gas or propane fuel Works with the ProCom Manual/Automatic Thermostat Blower, Item# 173957 sold separately Oxygen depletion sensor for safety Not for sale in California or Canada Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company"
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (81 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
76 of 81(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Review 1 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Procom 30,000 btu stove

,
February 24, 2015
By mickydee55
from Rio Rancho, NM
" Fantastic price and works great! I looked for a used stove and could not buy one at this price...fantastic! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom 30,000 BTU Heater

,
February 7, 2015
By Jergadoo
from NH
" So far this has been a great product. Shipped from Northern Tool in a timely manner and arrived to my house in less than a week. Very easy to install and even easier to operate. I use this heater to heat a second living room and bedroom above it. That side of the house is not heated, or very well insulated. I run the heater on 3 out of 5 and it does great to heat both rooms even during negative temperatures. Not only does it heat the two rooms but it also keeps my furnace from running. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome heater

,
February 7, 2015
By DetroitHolster
from Metro Detroit
" This is a great heater. Easy to install, efficient and really throws off the heat. We usually keep it at the 1.5 settings out of 5 and it will easily heat a decent sized room with all that room to spare.
We liked it so much that when we expanded our shop we bought a second identical one. Very satisfied with this heater.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
February 6, 2015
By rcv111361
from Sainte genevieve
" Great heater for my shop 30 X 40. Works great in my shop for welding, cutting, changing motors out or just drinking cold budlight. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom 30,000btu VENT FREE

,
February 6, 2015
By Satisfide
from Buffalo, NY
" This heater works far better than I expected. I have it in my basement and it actually is lowering my heat bill. I have it approximately 12 foot from a co2 / smoke detector and have had no problems. Yes , the detector works ! I would recommend this unit for a secondary heat source. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom 30,000 BTU Blue Flame heater

,
February 4, 2015
By KsCold
from Russell, Ks
" Researched this product for several days, reading other reviews and finally decided to give it a try. Heating a 18 ft. x 36 ft. garage, WoW, very impressed. When it was 25 degrees outside, I lit it up, and and hour later it was 60 degrees in my shop. Very impressed. Works Great "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
January 31, 2015
By MikeFishing
from PA, PA
" Heater works great. I used it in my basement and it heats the entire room easily. I have it set on number 2 setting. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Heater

,
January 24, 2015
By davet1
from detroit
" I bought this to replace a SuperFlame ventless furnace I could not get parts to repair. It is working very well to heat the room I put it in, it looks good, and not hard to install. Great value at a little over $200 bucks (with shipping). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exact fit for my needs

,
January 23, 2015
By Eljay123
from Texas
" Dual fuel feature offers great flexibility. Works as advertised. I use on a small greenhouse and it keeps the temperature nice and stable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Heater

,
January 18, 2015
By BigJohn12345
from Ripley, WV
" Nice heater, easy to add the blower and easy to install and heats my workshop very well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantabulous

,
January 18, 2015
By Varshanka
from Rocky Mountains
" this is the second unit i've purchased. One for the house nad one for the garage. The first unit dropped my energy bill by over fifty percent. Now I live in a cold climate and high altitude so when i can save this much money it's awesome. Especially with the rising prices! I recommend this item for anyone, and everyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Altitude, Regulator Info, Odor Info

,
January 16, 2015
By RoyalBounty
from Northern NM
" This review is for the ProCom MD300TGA. Jan, 2015
Am glad to add my 5 Star review to many others.
Had a couple of initial problems that, hopefully, will save some others a bit of grief. On install, pilot came on fine but would drop out either immediately or after 30-40 seconds of operation and cause unit to flame out. Was hoping it was just air in the line but it wasn't that easy. Suspected our elevation (8,300') to be the problem. However, I became suspicious of regulator I was using. Specs say to use 2 stage regulator with 3/8" input, 3/8" output. When looking for one of these online, however, I could only find 1/4" in and 3/8" out. (Weird). Figured it would be OK. Then I got to thinking that, with that 1/4" constriction on the input side, the pilot might just be starving when that big, 30k BTU burner kicked on. Sure enough. Ran 3/8" straight through and problem gone. Runs like a champ - and at 8,300' no less.
One more comment. I read a few concerns about odor. I have another ventless unit in different part of the house and I can only say, beware of the following before you blame the heater. Every time I've noticed a smell coming from the unit, I can ALWAYS associate it with the use of some chemical product in the house; i.e. cleaner, wax, oil, paint, etc. Apparently those fumes hang in the air but you don't really notice them until you run the air over an open flame. They become REAL noticeable then. Air the house or building out real good and, dollars to doughnuts, the smell will go away.
Heat output is fantastic I'm running it in a 750sf space (well insulated) which I let drop to about 60 overnight. I kick the heater on at about 6am and in 20-30 minutes I'm at 65. Very pleased.
One more point. If you are having any problem with yellow flame, check other appliances running off the same tank. If you notice the same problem there, (especially in very cold weather), you may have condensation in your propane. My supplier injected some methanol in my tank and all my flames are now a nice, bright blue. No more yellow.
Hope someone finds this helpful. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Garage Heater - Great Output

,
January 15, 2015
By Yukon2017
from Macungie, PA
" Installed this last weekend in 2 car attached garage with average insulation. Converted it to the NG setting. Easy. Temps in the 20s mostly. Garage reads 64F and it is set as low as I can get it. Wish it could go a little lower. Definitely heats the place up. Gets hot above it (optical thermometer read 112F on shelf bracket just above it), so watch putting it below shelves. Would be 5 stars if the thermostat had more range or could be remotely added. Still has a slight burn off odor, but hopefully will dissipate. Overall very happy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

"ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heat

,
January 11, 2015
By WES38
from PA
" VERY HAPPY! INSTALL IT MYSELF IN OUR FIRE PLACE PUTS A LOT OF HEAT ON LOW SETTING. IT WILL KEEP USE WARM WHEN WE LOSE POWER.I WOULD OF GOTTING THE ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Wall Heater — 30,000 BTU Output, 1000 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MD300TBA, BUT I WANTED IT WITH GLASS, THIS REPLACE OUR FIRE LOGS, AND DOES A BETTER JOB. I ALL SO HAVE THE BLOWER ,BLOWER WORKS BUT ON AUTOMATIC DOES NOT WORK. I WELL CALL FOR HELP WITH THIS. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

very pleased

,
January 10, 2015
By kiddo2
from branson
" was easy to install, worked just like it was supposed to. Will be able to tell you more after we use it for a while. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

product is as advertised

,
December 29, 2014
By soba1
from Nash Tenn
" The product meets the needs for which it was ordered. The price was reasonable, the product was exactly as described. The product is working as was described. I would highly recommend this stove to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shop Heater

,
December 18, 2014
By Cohomojo
from Port Orchard, WA
" 5 stars for the operations and functionality of the heater. 4 stars for the installation condition. The heater had three screws and a couple of rivets that were rattling around the stove. Once we figured out where they went, and re-installed them, the installation went smoothly. Very pleased with the heater and the way it quickly heats up and maintains the temperature in our insulated garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater

,
December 11, 2014
By HeadBangingAllWinter
from Raymond, ME
" Purchased this heater for my 24x24 garage.The garage is insulated and has interior walls. This little heater mounted easily to the wall and I had heat within an hour.Thermostat control is great, keeping the garage at 40 even when it's 4 outside. Turn up the thermostat a little and the garage is a nice toasty 50 to 55 within 20 minutes. Would purchase one of these again. Would be an awesome supplemental heat source for any approved room. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised.

,
December 1, 2014
By PaulSB
from North Jersey
" Wow this heater really pumps out some heat, warms my 1000 square foot garage (well insulated) to a very
comfortable temperature in about an hour. Easy to install and is virtually silent in operation. I would buy this again with a smile.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane space heater

,
November 26, 2014
By BKirk
from Pittsburg,NH
" Easily installed in 30 minutes including the add on fan and gas piping. Clean burning. The optional fan helped quickly heat up our new game room above the garage. Nice looking unit also. Simple for grand kids to start and set temperature. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.