Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"

"ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"

Item# 177217
"With this ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater, you can enjoy 30,000 BTU of comfortable warmth and 99.9 efficiency - saving you money on energy bills. This versatile heater lets you use either natural gas or propane for clean-burning performance. The thermostat control allows you to choose and maintain your desired temperature. For an extra measure of safety, an oxygen depletion sensor is included. Product Style Wall heater, Color Black, Dimensions L x W x H in. 8 x 26 5/8 x 23 1/2, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,100, Blower Included No, Thermostat Included Yes, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, BTU Output 30,000. Patented technology burns either natural gas or propane fuel Works with the ProCom Manual/Automatic Thermostat Blower, Item# 173957 sold separately Oxygen depletion sensor for safety Not for sale in California or Canada Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company"
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (60 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
55 of 60(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 105 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Review 1 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater!

,
November 18, 2014
By Molsen77
from Gillette, WY
"Changed out my Mr. Heater that was putting off too many fumes with this heating unit. Install was very simple and the heat produced is noticeably better (30,000 vs 22,000 BTU). Was able to heat my garage (1,000 SF) in about half an hour with single digit temps outside. Very happy with this heater!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy with this heater

,
November 16, 2014
By ZackyLeeBondoJr
from Michigan
"I bought this heater because I had a similar one many years ago that worked flawlessly. This ProCom unit is junk. Difficult to get lit, burns for a few minutes and the flame and pilot both go out. It's in a large room so O2 is not the problem. NG pressure is fine as well.
I'm going to try and adjust the pilot so the flame hits the Thermocouple better, but if that doesn't work, I'm going to remove it and go with Electric
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product

,
October 16, 2014
By JayZPatriotDen
from UP Mi
"Heater was easy to install and seems to work well. Wall mounting was a snap and I am sure the winter football games will be a little warmer now in the garage with this little beauty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

,
May 22, 2014
By Handyman1124
from Arizona
"I bought this unit to replace an old one in a customers home. While the old one had the digital screen and actual thermostat that you could set to a particular temperature, that screen/display is what failed and required the replacement. While this new one isn't as attractive (in my opinion) it also doesn't have the electronics that can fail and are costly to fix. Very easy to install in either LP or Natural Gas settings. As my customer puts it, "takes the chill off in the mornings very nicely." Only giving it 4 stars as the appearance is lacking (again, in my opinion) compared to the older model. Everything else would get 5 stars. Ease of installation, ease of use, efficiency, practicality, and, bottom line, for what it was bought and installed to do, it gets the job done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Procom 30k BTU vent free heater

,
April 21, 2014
By sicardmd
from Allegan, MI
"This is my third Procom vent free heater. I have one in my garage and another in a three season room. Both have provided excellent performance.
I purchased this for a neighbor who had some frozen pipes and no substantial heat in his basement.
Installation for natural gas was very easy, except I remembered to switch from LP to NG, just AFTER I mounted the heater (hang and bottom screws).
The black finish and blue flame is quite attractive.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Heater for the Money

,
February 8, 2014
By ZachG
from Mountains, VA
"Got my heater on sale for a great price. Hooked it up in the basement for some extra warmth down there. Would have got 5-Stars if it would have came with at least one of the following - blower/fan included (can by for extra $35 but has some bad reviews) or i wish it would come with the "feet" to set the heater on the ground (again, can by cheap pieces of plastic feet for extra $20). Overall I am very happy with the heater's looks, operation and build quality. I dont think you can beat it for the price Northern Tool has it for"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
February 5, 2014
By yohon
from Wyoming
"I have only had this heater a few weeks but it is exactly what I expected. The installation was fairly simple and strait forward I have a 24x30 pole barn that we insulated after installing this heater but even before we insulated this product worked well just as advertised. So far very pleased."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

30X30 garage with 14 feet ceiling

,
February 5, 2014
By Shoptech
from Walton, NY
"This heater works great in my shop. I have high ceilings because I have a lift and this heater works great in my shop. I do have ceiling fans to help draw the heat down. Great product and great price!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my situation.

,
February 5, 2014
By DW61
from North, NC
"The reason I went with this style of heater is the area of space sacrificed for a heater per BTU. This unit mounts out of the way and takes up little usable space. I light the pilot at each use and it is working perfectly. The igniter button hangs on the housing of the heater making it a little harder to press on occasion, but this is the only fault I can mention. The built in thermostat works and seems to be consistent. The heater instructions were very good. I did beef up the mounting to the wall, but it is probably not necessary. The surface of the heater is warm to the touch but not hot. I would recommend the fan option, either the specific fan for this heater or fabricating one from a cabinet fan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Third year and still loving it.

,
February 4, 2014
By furnone
from Trumbull, CT
"I purchased the Procom 30,000 btu. garage heater three years ago. I installed it myself using the enclosed instructions. It is still working great. On the lowest setting it keeps the garage at 50 degrees even in zero degree weather as we have experienced the past month. It uses around 3/4 gal. of propane per day.
We keep my wife's car and my John Deere diesel tractor in the garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater for garage

,
February 4, 2014
By Hollywood80
from Knoxville tn
"Bought this heater for my 20x20 garage. I use the natural gas and it will bring the temperature up for 40s to 70s in no time. Really impressed with quality ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage heater

,
February 4, 2014
By Maxwf
from Sterling AK
"Installed this heater in my 24 by. 32 foot garage last fall .
It has worked great all winter
I was able to work in the garage in my shirt sleeves even on the coldest days.
The thermostat works well adjusting the flame to maintain a constant temp .
I installed the blower option to help distribute the heat .
I have natural gas but love the idea that I can hook to propane if I needed to.
Great product at very good price point.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater, easy to install.

,
February 4, 2014
By Ridgerunner58
from Powell, TN
"I purchase to put in basement workshop to heat area while working in the area and to supplement the heating of rooms above the area in extreme cold weather. Found the instructions on how to install and set up for use very easy to follow and was able to complete installation in a very short time. The heater works really good at keeping the workshop warm even during below freezing weather at very low settings on the controls. Only draw back is that is due to the size of the area and the structure of the house the supplemental heating of the rest of the house can not be used because the heater can not be turned down low enough to not over heat the above room in anything but extremely cold weather which in this area we have very little. Really great little heater and does work well at heating whole workshop even without blower attachment. Highly recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Product

,
February 4, 2014
By DangerZone
from MA
"This garage heater is being used in an uninsulated shed (14'x20') with a loft. I use the shed as workshop for tinkering with small engine repair and maintenance and it only takes minutes to bring the single digit temperature up to a comfortable warm temp where I can work without bulky clothing and gloves. Easy propane setup and quiet. I love this heater and plan on getting another one for my garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As promised. Good buy.

,
January 18, 2014
By BWelch
from NW Maryland
"Bought the MD300TGA as a back up heat supply for the core of the house (master br, water/septic piping not on outside walls). Printed pdf instructions, did set up work at time of order (trip to hardware store, about 30 mins at home), then hooked it up on receipt (about thirty mins - gas system already pressure tested, etc.) and fired it up. Wow.
Caveat: hire a professional unless you know EXACTLY what you are doing.
If installed properly, then believe five star reviews."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Procom service

,
December 26, 2013
By 4866272
from Beulah, nd
"The heater works great. You get what you pay for. The controls are cheap. Don't bother calling or trying to email procom if you have issues. I tried several times with no reply. You'll have to purchase a separate regulator to get your line pressure down to 1/2 psi if you want to run it off of a larger tank."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

CHEAP INSURANCE!!!

,
December 20, 2013
By Buckshot407
from 'Up North' Wisconsin
"I recently purchased and installed this heater in the basement of our northern Wisconsin lake home. We occasionally use this home year round, so we keep it minimally heated throughout the winter. All too frequently, we experience power outages, which leaves our LP gas forced-air furnace inoperative. I know if an outage lasts too long, we could easily have major damage from freezing. So, last month, I purchased and installed this heater. On a recent visit to the home, I opened a basement door to the outside. On the lowest setting on the heater, it kicked in at 47 degrees, and kicked out at 49 degrees, which is perfect! We set the furnace thermostat at 50 degrees when we are away, and leave the basement door to the upstairs open. I am very confident that the heater is capable of supplying enough heat to prevent freezing until power is restored. A couple of hundred bucks and a couple of hours to install, and I am covered!! That is cheap insurance and peace of mind!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Unit

,
November 27, 2013
By CaptChris
from Algonac, MI
"I purchased this unit to replace the infrared electric heater in our office. A 10,000 b.t.u. unit would of been enough for the offices and bathroom. But I went with the larger unit instead because it was a better buy and I didn't want a smaller furnace running all the time. I installed it in the main office and installed vents thru the walls so it heats a bathroom and mechanical room as well.(The manual will show you how to do this) Even when it got into the teens my office stayed a toasty 75 degrees and the bathroom was probably around 60-65. I keep this heater on the lowest setting and with the optional blower it really works nice. It works so well that my shop stays around 50 degrees so I don't have to run the two large tube heaters in the 3,600 sq. ft. shop area either. So I basically heat my whole place with this unit and my natural gas bill has been about $30 a month. Very please with this unit and it's efficiency."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good heater

,
September 17, 2013
By Bill1234567890
from Ca.
"More heat than I expected. Most of the unit stays fairly cool to the touch. The only issue I have is with the optional fan. Not a lot of space behind the heater for it to draw from and you would expect more flow out of it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ProCom Dual Fuel Vent-Free Blue Flame Garage Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MD300TGA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GARAGE HEATER

,
April 27, 2013
By DUCKKILLER
from GRANGER IN
"I PURCHASED A NATURAL GAS HEATER FOR MY SHOP, REPLACING A 230VAC ELECTRIC WHICH WAS NOISEY AND INEFFICIENT. I WAS NOT OPTIMISTIC THAT THIS LITTLE GUY COULD DO THE TRICK BUT IT HAS WORKED GREAT FOR THE PAST YEAR. I'M SATISFIED. TIP: BE SURE THAT YOU CHANGE THE GAS SETTING UNDER THE BACK PANEL TO THE FUEL TYPE YOU'LL BE USING.
BEST REGARDS, JEFF
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.