Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"

Item# 177218
"This heater, perfect for icehouses and hunting shacks, heats a 300 sq. ft. area with 10,000 BTU. The thermostat control maintains your chosen temperature setting. 99.9 efficient. Connects to a 20-lb. propane tank with the included 10-ft.L hose with regulator. Oxygen depletion sensor for safety. Not for sale in California or Canada. Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 1/8 x 6 3/8 x 19 1/8, BTU Output 10,000, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Category Type Radiant heat, Regulator Included Yes, Blower Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 300, Needs Direct Venting No, Igniter Piezo, Thermostat Included Yes. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements"
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 19(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Review 1 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice heater but not enough for a 20x20 garage

,
February 20, 2015
By Drakeskeeper
from Alabama
" I bought this heater because it was the only one that I didn't have to use a 100lb LP tank for. While it is a nice unit and works as described, without a fan it doesn't heat my garage at all. I wish I would have bought the bigger unit with the fan. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spot-on for the money

,
February 14, 2015
By RodnSC
from SC
" Great little heater! The thermostat control is like icing on the cake. Easy installation from mounting to hooking up. I like in a small cabin on the lake and since I installed it, the electric heat has/is turned off. The thermostat settings run 1 through 5 - so far (Upstate of SC) I haven't had to turn it above 3 - averaging 71-73 degrees. I wanted black and since the other models were back-ordered - I went w/the "Ice House heater which included the 20 lb regulator ... Using 2 @ 40 Lb propane cylinders, I had to purchase a 2-stage regulator (went with a auto-changeover feature) - nothing but. pleased with my purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater

,
February 5, 2015
By rockinrobin123
from new york
" very nice heater, easy install. the included regulator and hose made my life easy. the heater has worked flawlessly no problems at all. they do not tell you in the description or the instructions that it has levels of heat output, the more you turn the dial the higher the flame goes, when the room starts to warm up the flame will go down slowly on its own and then switch to pilot, this saves a lot of propane. amazing it does this without any power going to it, not even a battery. also when it comes back on depending on the room temp it decides what level of heat it should use, incredible!!! its a smart heater!!!. works great with just a 20 pound tank. between the pilot setting and number 1 on the dial is useable for when your not in the room you can turn it way down and it will keep the room from freezing. i love this heater, "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ice House Heater

,
January 17, 2015
By Jimarlene
from Whidbey Island, Wash.
" I winter in Mexico and do not need a lot of heat so I bought this and had it shipped to a friend. It arrived yesterday and other than a small dent in the top was more than I expected. It has a pilot lighter so no matches needed. I hooked it up and it is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It is wonderful to have some heat with no noise.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Off-Grid Heater!

,
January 16, 2015
By LaMarOffGridder
from High Uintah's
" I live full time off-grid in a 14x14 400 sqft cabin in the high Uintah mountains and have used several heaters in the past. The procom brand has been the most reliable and this Ice House heater is what I now use. This heater uses about 30% less propane than the old 30,000BTU Procom I had and will last me two weeks on a 7 gallon (30 pound tank) on setting 3 and keeps the place a constant 70 degrees in our cold winters. Thermostat works great and no blower required. This heater is designed for smaller tanks. I have recommended this heater to many off-gridders. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Installed in a 26' travel trailer

,
December 18, 2014
By r12methane
from Wa State
" I installed this heater in my 26 foot camp trailer.This heater puts out plenty of quite heat without very much odor.The problem with Installing this in an RV is that propane heat puts out a lot of moisture so it steams up the windows(even with them open just a crack) and makes things feel damp...Personally I think a direct vent type heater would be much better for an RV.Im not sure how much I will use it.Would probably work better in a different application.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ice house heater

,
December 17, 2014
By leo01
from texas
" this ice house heater is just what we wanted for backup heat in case lights go out cause our house is all electric . The heater works very good had no issues at all with it does the job. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ONE AMAZING HEATER

,
November 29, 2014
By FISHSTYX
from MT. PLEASANT, MI
" THIS WAS AN EASY INSTALL!
INSTRUCTIONS WERE EASY TO UNDERSTAND,
HAD IT UP AND RUNNING IN 20 MINUTES!
WORKED GREAT HEATED MY HUNTING CAMPER
WITH EASE. BURNED CLEAN NO SMELL.
GREAT QUALITY. CAN'T BEAT IT THE PRICE WAS
A DEAL. WAS SHIPPED ULTRA FAST.
IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A GREAT HEATER THIS IS
THE ONE TO BUY! THANKS TO ALL!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Still waiting for parts

,
February 18, 2014
By lkt53
from Nassau, NY
" It has been over 2 months waiting for a part, the unit has never been turned on as the part it needs I am still waiting for and I will not have until after march 1st.
If this had worked out people I work for may have purchased almost 100 plus of them. ProCom can forget that now.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Black looks great!

,
September 17, 2013
By IGirl
from New England
" Bought this for reliable backup heat for power outages for our small cape. We had it placed it centrally (by professional installers) low on a wall on the main floor so that the heat will rise upstairs. This propane gas heater is great because of the low BTUs--we didn't want to have the heat blast us out of the room--but I hated the look of a white machine hanging on the wall clashing with our dark cabinets and mahogany furniture. This black heater blends elegantly and works like a charm. The heat rises nicely. No smell. Nice blue flame. We've been using it a few hours a day instead of the oil to save a few dollars. Wish we had known about the Ice House Heater before the Ice Storm of '08! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
27out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice

,
September 17, 2013
By JG76
from TX
" I use this heater in my 1987 Dodge Camper Van in the winter. I bought this unit to replace a Lil Buddy heater I originally use because this unit's mechanical thermostat allows me to set it to a temperature and sleep comfortably vs waking up every couple of hours to open/ close windows to regulate temperature. The thermostat turns the unit on/off automatically (pilot remains lit until you shut it off) and this saves me a lot o money on propane, normally I used 20lbs in about 2.5 weeks @ a rate if 8 hours per night, and this past winter I used one 20lb tank all winter long (6 weeks). Price is awesome, install is easy (FOLLOW DIRECTIONS) I mounted mine on the rear door of my van (my bed is located on top of the rear wheels). The blue warm glow makes it nice and cozy inside. I love this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane heater

,
January 11, 2012
By Normy1
from Quebec, Canada
" I'm a Canadian and I bought this product (propane heater) for my cabin. Excellent product. It's exactly what I wanted for my use. Easy to install. The delivery was exactly what I expected. I'm really satisfied about this heater. Thank you for all! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Ice house Heater

,
January 9, 2012
By Whatzup045
from Sparks, NV
" Great Heater! I use this heater to keep my 30' 5th wheel warm. I am a campground host and this lets me heat without running down my battery power. I have purchased 5 heaters for my other Hosts and they all love it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
16out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very well Engineered Heater

,
December 3, 2011
By MowerGuy
from Northern Florida
" Behind front grill is a glass pane and behind that is the flame. Heat only comes up above the front grill. The sides and back do not get hot. Gas hose enters at bottom,so wall mounting or on a custom stand. Thermostat works fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cozy & Warm

,
October 17, 2011
By Staci
from PV, MO
" My husband and I have a small (12ft x 14ft) shed that we sometimes stay in on our property in the country. This heater was just what we were looking for. It keeps us warm, it's quiet and puts off a "fireplace" like glow. My husband had no problems with getting it up and running. We are very happy with our purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
29out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

20 Degrees Outside

,
December 20, 2010
By Rodolfo
from Westport CT
" I installed this heater in the space under our hot tub. The space is 5' X 7' and 5' high. I got the heater to keep the tub from freezing. When I first mounted the heater the lowest setting on it made the room too hot and the tank would only last a week. The directions show you how to mount the temperature sensor in different ways. After I mounted the sensor in front of the heater the space was 50 degrees and the tank last three weeks. This heater works fine for adding just a little heat for weeks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for deer stand or ice fishing shack

,
November 23, 2010
By pfnffemtt
from iowa
" very nice heater. After freezing while deer hunting the past few years I got this heater for a box deer stand. This is such a good heater that I can use it in the garage after the deer season. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom vent free heater

,
November 16, 2010
By Bruce911
" We had tried heating our hunting trailer for several years with several differant types of heaters both electric and propane. Everyone was either not enough to do the job or so hot that you had to turn it up and down to be comfortable. We have been using the new heater for about a month now and could not be more pleased. It is great, and I could not be more satisfied. "
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats great

,
November 16, 2010
By tjguenth
from Sedro Woolley, WA
" We rent a mobile home with no insulation and our furnace ran non stop. Now the furnace stays off and this little heater keeps the whole house warm about 850 sq feet. With everything electric in the house, if the power goes out we will still have heat. Great back up heat. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
25out of 36found this review helpful.