Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area

ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area

Item# 177218
This heater, perfect for icehouses and hunting shacks, heats a 300 sq. ft. area with 10,000 BTU. The thermostat control maintains your chosen temperature setting. 99.9 efficient. Connects to a 20-lb. propane tank with the included 10-ft.L hose with regulator. Oxygen depletion sensor for safety. Not for sale in California or Canada. Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, BTU Output 10,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 300, Igniter Piezo, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 1/8 x 6 3/8 x 19 1/8, Needs Direct Venting No, Thermostat Included Yes, Blower Included No, Category Type Radiant heat, Regulator Included Yes. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Review 1 for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Still waiting for parts

,
February 18, 2014
By lkt53
from Nassau, NY
"It has been over 2 months waiting for a part, the unit has never been turned on as the part it needs I am still waiting for and I will not have until after march 1st.
If this had worked out people I work for may have purchased almost 100 plus of them. ProCom can forget that now.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Black looks great!

,
September 17, 2013
By IGirl
from New England
"Bought this for reliable backup heat for power outages for our small cape. We had it placed it centrally (by professional installers) low on a wall on the main floor so that the heat will rise upstairs. This propane gas heater is great because of the low BTUs--we didn't want to have the heat blast us out of the room--but I hated the look of a white machine hanging on the wall clashing with our dark cabinets and mahogany furniture. This black heater blends elegantly and works like a charm. The heat rises nicely. No smell. Nice blue flame. We've been using it a few hours a day instead of the oil to save a few dollars. Wish we had known about the Ice House Heater before the Ice Storm of '08!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
16out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice

,
September 17, 2013
By JG76
from TX
"I use this heater in my 1987 Dodge Camper Van in the winter. I bought this unit to replace a Lil Buddy heater I originally use because this unit's mechanical thermostat allows me to set it to a temperature and sleep comfortably vs waking up every couple of hours to open/ close windows to regulate temperature. The thermostat turns the unit on/off automatically (pilot remains lit until you shut it off) and this saves me a lot o money on propane, normally I used 20lbs in about 2.5 weeks @ a rate if 8 hours per night, and this past winter I used one 20lb tank all winter long (6 weeks). Price is awesome, install is easy (FOLLOW DIRECTIONS) I mounted mine on the rear door of my van (my bed is located on top of the rear wheels). The blue warm glow makes it nice and cozy inside. I love this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane heater

,
January 11, 2012
By Normy1
from Quebec, Canada
"I'm a Canadian and I bought this product (propane heater) for my cabin. Excellent product. It's exactly what I wanted for my use. Easy to install. The delivery was exactly what I expected. I'm really satisfied about this heater. Thank you for all!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Ice house Heater

,
January 9, 2012
By Whatzup045
from Sparks, NV
"Great Heater! I use this heater to keep my 30' 5th wheel warm. I am a campground host and this lets me heat without running down my battery power. I have purchased 5 heaters for my other Hosts and they all love it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
12out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very well Engineered Heater

,
December 3, 2011
By MowerGuy
from Northern Florida
"Behind front grill is a glass pane and behind that is the flame. Heat only comes up above the front grill. The sides and back do not get hot. Gas hose enters at bottom,so wall mounting or on a custom stand. Thermostat works fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cozy & Warm

,
October 17, 2011
By Staci
from PV, MO
"My husband and I have a small (12ft x 14ft) shed that we sometimes stay in on our property in the country. This heater was just what we were looking for. It keeps us warm, it's quiet and puts off a "fireplace" like glow. My husband had no problems with getting it up and running. We are very happy with our purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
23out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

20 Degrees Outside

,
December 20, 2010
By Rodolfo
from Westport CT
"I installed this heater in the space under our hot tub. The space is 5' X 7' and 5' high. I got the heater to keep the tub from freezing. When I first mounted the heater the lowest setting on it made the room too hot and the tank would only last a week. The directions show you how to mount the temperature sensor in different ways. After I mounted the sensor in front of the heater the space was 50 degrees and the tank last three weeks. This heater works fine for adding just a little heat for weeks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for deer stand or ice fishing shack

,
November 23, 2010
By pfnffemtt
from iowa
"very nice heater. After freezing while deer hunting the past few years I got this heater for a box deer stand. This is such a good heater that I can use it in the garage after the deer season."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom vent free heater

,
November 16, 2010
By Bruce911
"We had tried heating our hunting trailer for several years with several differant types of heaters both electric and propane. Everyone was either not enough to do the job or so hot that you had to turn it up and down to be comfortable. We have been using the new heater for about a month now and could not be more pleased. It is great, and I could not be more satisfied."
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ProCom Vent-Free Propane Ice House Heater -10,000 BTU, 300 Sq. Ft. Heating Area
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats great

,
November 16, 2010
By tjguenth
from Sedro Woolley, WA
"We rent a mobile home with no insulation and our furnace ran non stop. Now the furnace stays off and this little heater keeps the whole house warm about 850 sq feet. With everything electric in the house, if the power goes out we will still have heat. Great back up heat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
25out of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.