Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT

ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT

Item# 177221
With a combination of old-world beauty and modern technology, this 99.9 efficient stove is a great choice for heating and comfortable, ambient light in any cabin, living room or lodge. The unique three-sided viewing panels allow even more warmth and light to pour out. The patented dual fuel technology lets you choose between burning natural gas and propane fuel to create the 850 sq. ft. of heating power while the included thermostat remote control lets you set the temperature you desire at your leisure. Oxygen depletion sensor for safety. Works with Blower for ProCom Fireplace/Stove, Item# 178119, sold separately. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Includes Remote control, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, BTU Output 23,000, Color Black, Product Style Stove, Thermostat Included Yes, Blower Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 3/4 x 16 x 28 1/4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 850. Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company Includes remote control
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
17 of 20(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Review 1 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome unit

,
September 17, 2013
By JJBrick
from Brick, NJ
"Puts of great heat. Love that it has multiple options for a fuel source."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks good and very efficient

,
September 13, 2013
By jeeweav
from St Petersburg, Fl
"Believe it or not we have this on our screen porch we like to sit out there on weekend mornings reading the paper and having coffee and use it to knock off chill. It runs along time on a 100lb tank. One thing I added was four 80mm ball bearing computer cooling fans on the back at the top to blow through and come out the front. They are mounted to a length of aluminum angle and are operated with a toggle switch and powered by a small 12V lead acid battery out of an back up power supply.Lots of CFM and quiet. I need to get rid of the toggle switch and wire in a solenoid switch and have them operate in sync with the gas valve using the remote. The finish and all parts are in great shape after 3 years of Florida weather in a semi open area."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent heat source

,
October 26, 2012
By Kinz
from Springfield, MA
"This is the 2nd year I will be using this heater. It is great. I have rarely needed to turn on our gas heat system. This stove heats the whole house, including the upstairs. I do not have the blower attached and it still does a great job. My heating bill has decreased some, too, which is a bonus. We've had wacky weather here within the last year that has resulted in extended power outages, so, this will run even in an outage. Great product. Highly recommend!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
22out of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Ventless Heater

,
May 14, 2012
By HappyinMichigan
from Big Rapids, MI
"Had to replace our ventless propane heater (VanGuard) in summer 2011 because we changed from propane to natural gas. This model PCSD25RT with the remote looks great and operates efficiently in our walkout basement family room. We got the optional fan and hired a heating specialist to install it all. Great price and looks good too. Thanks Northern Tool!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By IDIM
from Griffin, GA
"We have had this heater for over 2 years. And have never had a problem. It is used as the primary heat source of our house. There is a very slight odor when you come into the house from outside due to it being vent free. However it has never set off our CO alarm. I have recommended it to several people."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new stove!!!

,
October 11, 2011
By AmyF
from Freeland, WA
"Our new stove which we set up for propane is awesome. It's as attractive in person as in the catalog photo, and everything we expected. Love the three-sided wire mesh housing so the flame is visible all around. So far it's doing a great job as a "chill killer" in our very large house so we don't have to start a fire first thing every morning in the cooler weather. We also purchased the blower. It is soooo quiet! and really helps spread the heat around. The remote control is the best because the manual controls are all way down low on the front of the stove. Not very visible in bad light, so very nice to be able to turn on and off remotely. However, the blower was very tricky to install and took for granted that we knew a lot more about installing it than we did. (Bad photos in the installation guide.) I really recommend this stove to anyone who wants to save money on a gas stove and have an attractive heating unit in their home."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dual Gas Ventless Stove

,
October 10, 2011
By Jack2640
from Leroy,WV
"Easy installation, however, hard to initially get the "Pilot-Light" going, after many attempts, got it working.
Blower a must, really heats the whole house and looks "good".
Make sure you have model numbers when talking to "Help" line, gruppy service people.
Over all rating VERY GOOD, so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WISH I COULD OF ALWAYS HAD THIS HEATER

,
April 2, 2011
By TWOSHOES
from BRUNSWICK GEORGIA
"THIS LITTLE HEATER FITS SO NICE IN OUR CABIIN (WHICH IS OUR FULLTIME HOME), LOOKS NICE, VERY ATTRACTIVE AND KOZY, KEEPS US WARM! THE REMOTE CONTROL THERMOSTAT IS EASY TO USE AND IS A REAL ENERGY SAVER , OUR CEILING FAN DISTRIBUTES THE HEAT UPSTAIRS, NEVER DID TURN ON THE ELECTRIC UPSTAIRS HEATER LAST WINTER! WE DID PURCHASE THE BLOWER AND NEED TO INSTALL IT. WOULD LIKE TO PURCHASE ANOTHER SMALL HEATER FOR THE DOWNSTAIRS BEDROOM."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 17, 2011
By Hutch14
from Woodstock, NY
"I bought my first house last year and have spent a lot of money on renovations. The addition of this ProCom vent free stove really brought a surprisingly warm feeling to the entire house. We have a long living room that created a design challenge. Having the fire visible on 3 sides was the perfect solution to bring the entire room together. It has become a very pleasant and functional centerpiece for the house. The remote control is excellent and mounts nicely on the wall. The unit gives off plenty of heat even without the additional blower. The only draw back is that there is only one setting for the flame - on or off. Would be nice to have control but it does have a room temperature setting that allows you to maintain a constant temperature if you like. Stylistically it is GREAT and beats all the other products on the market that I saw in price and looks. We added a piece of bluestone to go underneath it and it looks great even though it looked great without it.
In short I highly recommend this product. You will be very satisfied with your purchase!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

luv luv luv this darling stove

,
March 15, 2011
By 1hotlittlestove
from Iowa
"Our secondary heat source has always been a Blaze King woodstove used during power outages and additional bone warming heat as desired. It is too much for us to handle the wood now but until we visited with a neighbor who had purchased a similiar vent-free stove and sang its praises we were sold. The style of the 3-sided viewing is great for more heat and a wonderful light. The logs are realistic and the mesh screen and handle to open the front door make it seem more "real". My husband says he "went from a splitting maul to a remote" and takes the remote to bed so he can start a little fire and cozy up the house before we get up in the mornings. This stove is well designed and works wonderfully. It heats our 1,000 sq ft more than enough. You can set the temperature from the remote, push the "mode" button and its automatic to within a couple of degrees (off/on). Very quiet even with the optional blower we purchased although we rarely turn the blower fan on because its not been needed. We have experienced no excess moisture on windows or doors as others have mentioned. I was nervous about the whole "vent-free" concept but not anymore. No odor whatsoever. And the professional plumbers who ran the gas line and hook-up re-assured me and said they are doing more and more vent-free stoves. The last and greatest thing about this whole process was getting the gigantic space stealing wood stove with all its ash dust and the "elephant in the room" stove pipe moved out of the living/dining/kitchen area. This stove fits close against the half brick wall that the other stove had been taking a good 5x5 ' walk area and gave me so much more space plus a very updated-chic look that is a real bonus. Oh, did I say we luv luv luv our darling stove?"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

it lives up to the description

,
November 16, 2010
By tommyg
from new orleans
"This heater/stove adds a great look and charm to the room and puts out a great amount of heat, adding to the ambiance and comfort of my old home. My only complaint is the finish on the top was rubbed off a bit in the shipping process...it installs, works and looks great and was a reasonable buy given what other such heaters are selling for!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring on the Snow Storms!

,
October 6, 2010
By anniec
from Burlington NC
"We have a fireplace with a tiny firebox in our 1930's cottage that we have learned is a coal burning model. No regular sized gas logs will fit and custom units designed for this type of fireplace are very expensive, not to mention, the need to address any outstanding chimney issues to make sure that it is functional as well. As an alternative, we bought the Pro-Com vent-free 23,000 BTU stove to sit on the hearth and had a natural gas line run. First of all, we ordered on Friday and expected 5-10 business days for shipping - but we got a call the following Monday that it had already come in to the store! Within a day, our technician had finished the 3 hour job of running the natural gas line and completing the install. We could not be happier! This little guy packs so much heat and looks absolutely perfect and quite authentic to the style of our home. The thermostat is perfectly calibrated and keeps the room at a very constant temperature. If we had one small wish for the stove, it would be that the flames could be adjusted lower so that we could keep it on for longer periods. It looks so cozy and because of the 3-sided viewing, you can see the flames from wherever you happen to be sitting in the room.
We can't wait for our first big snowstorm and inevitable power outage!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

lp gas free standing fireplace

,
October 8, 2014
By xwam
from halder wi
"The stove functions exactly as advertised, installation was straight foreword. I almost made it with just one trip to the hardware store."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little stove.

,
January 29, 2012
By Jollyjoe
from Pennsylvania
"We use it every day in the winter. It does put out alot of heat with the blower.The blower is a little hard to install due to the lack of room for running the wires. Very tight if you have large hands. It's very light weight which means the metal is very thin and it is cheaply made.You can not adjust the flame either. But for the price I am still very Happy. The remote is nice as well. Nice looking stove and there is no problem getting the temp up to 76 degrees in about an hour when its in the 30's in my 1000 square foot room."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

dual fuel stove

,
March 14, 2011
By arealdeal
from Georgia
"we bought this stove this year and the QD25OT last year. If you are wanting it for ease of operation and heat then buy the QD25OT, if you are buying more for looks then buy this one, it is prettier but doesn't seem to heat as well. Both have been in our front room at one time so could compare apples to apples and the other one performed better and was easier to use. We don't like the remote control, to tricky to use and the on/off switch is floppy inside the front control. Still this is a great little stove and did heat, just not as fast or hot as the other one. very pretty with my old 110 yr old coal fireplace though. Don't worry about carbon monoxide either, I have a detector right above it and never a peep out of it. Do get one to be safe, but I never smell gas fumes and the flames in both models are realistic just more adjustable in the QD25OT You have to have the blower sold separately if you really want to heat the room, and you will need a plug in for that close to the fireplace. Pretty quick install, did by hubby with kit sold here for gas line. We now have 3 of these stoves and have cut our gas bill significantly by keeping the main furnace set at 62."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU

,
March 14, 2011
By cedarflow
"Stove is exactly what we wanted for those cold evenings and in case of electrical failure it fits the bill nicely.it looks good in our living room.The only downside is the instruction manual on using the remote control is vague and ambiguous .Installation was very easy and well documented for the stove in general."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little stove

,
December 12, 2010
By Matl
from NE Wisconsin
"I had been looking at these smaller vent free stoves for the last couple years now after owning a free standing pellet stove for the last 6 years. I was fed up with the maintenance of the pellet stove not to mention the ever increasing cost of fuel. This year I sold the pellet stove and bought this little vent free stove. It really produces a lot of heat. I live in NE Wisconsin where it tends to be in the teens into the low 30's for most of the Winter. I've set this stove on the highest setting in the central part of our house and it has kept most of the house at nice toasty 68°-72° so far. The gas furnace will start up if it gets cooler than that. Plus at 99.9% efficient you really can't beat that. My only reason for giving it four stars instead of 5 is that it really should come with the blower fan pre-installed by default. This would throw off very little heat without it. Also, the fan is a bit of a pain to install. Other than that I did have to hire a heating installer to run a gas line connection in the basement and up through the floor with a shutoff valve which cost an additional $200. Having it run a lot will produce moisture in the house so it is a good idea to have either a dehumidifier running or circulate the air with your furnace fan. Overall, I'm very happy with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
November 23, 2010
By readytoteeitup
from Church Hill,TN
"The heater works great and the remote control is very nice,since the pilot light does'nt have to be on all the time.The built in sensor is also great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Better hope you never need service or parts

,
November 22, 2013
By grangerman
from McConnellsburg, PA
"This is a great stove. Looks nice and does a good job of heating. However, you better pray you never need to call ProCom for service or parts. Had to hold for over one hour (not one time, but several times trying to get help). They promised to ship parts and it has been over a week and still no parts, no tracking number and I have been on hold for over 45 mins again trying to confirm part was shipped. We run a B & B and this terrible service and unreliable heater has cost us business. Will never buy a ProCom product again. NEVER"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 23,000 BTU, 850 Sq. Ft. Heating Area, Model# PCSD25RT
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

No warrenty

,
December 30, 2011
By fred66762
from Kansas
"I installed this stove the first of December and it has worked great but needed the blower. I installed the blower the middle of December and was really enjoying the stove. This morning, it wouldn't ignite. I changed batteries but didn't help. I consulted the manual but there was nothing to cover the problem. I went to procom's website and got no results from the FAQ page so sent them an inquiry. They've not responded yet but has only been a half hour. I may have to call them on their toll-free number. While on their website, I discovered that the one year warrenty is void if a certified installer doesn't do the installation so I guess if you spent extra money on the extended warrenty, that would be lost also. If I'd known there actually was no warrenty, I wouldn't have purchased this stove. READ THE FIND PRINT."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.