Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA

Item# 177583
Save on home heating costs with a vent-free natural gas radiant heater. Radiant heaters heat objects in the room before heating the air. Ideal for use in a bathroom or small bedroom. Easy, economical installation with no vent or chimney required. Extremely safe heater features safety pilot with complete automatic shutdown capability. If oxygen levels fall below safe levels, oxygen depletion sensor shuts off gas flow. Heaters can be mounted on wall. Product to be used in accordance with state and local ordinances, regulations and codes. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. BTU Output 6,000, Blower Included No, Product Type Radiant heat, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 1/8 x 6 3/8 x 19 1/8, Gas Inlet in. 3/8, Thermostat Included No, Heat Settings 2, Igniter Piezo, Needs Direct Venting No. Manual heat settings Diamond mesh front grill No electricity needed to light or operate CSA design certified
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Review 1 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
April 23, 2013
By lovemud
from Illinois
"We have had this heater for about 2 years. We use it in a unheated area of the house to give it a little boost. I have purchased 2 other units for the little boost in the basement and in a upstairs bedroom. I always put our carbon monoxide tester in the same area for a couple of weeks then every so often I move it to the other rooms. Never once has it detected anything."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

good little heater

,
April 23, 2013
By clay1979
from s w mo
"i put this in a small bathroom and it gets plenty warm. there is no thermostat so it always runs. the knob was a problem from the first day.it didnt fit well in its position and needed adjusting to work.haved used a couple of winters and for the price it is about right.if i had to buy another one with more options it would have to be close to this price before i would switch to something else"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have 3 of these

,
May 7, 2012
By farmrjon
from Indiana
"I use these to heat a garage. They are easy to install. They work perfectly, trouble free, and are completely reliable. This heater is priced right and you can count on it to do the job. It is especially important to my application because one of them protects my water supply from freezing even if there is a power failure!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

6000btu Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By badboy66
from Nappanee, Indiana
"This Heater is awesome for small space,It is working fine for my outside shop , very happy with the size and the output, It has no thermastat which is what i won'ted small pilot light turn on when i need to , very Happy with purchase. Thank you Northern tool"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome heat and value

,
November 23, 2010
By mamison
from tulsa, ok
"I live in a house that has been in my family for over 50 years, with slow renovations just now starting. They used to have the in the floor style heaters, once those were closed up, we didnt know what to buy to heat the house. A coworker gave the website, i bought one . Whew! it put out so much heat we were walking around in T-Shirts when it was 40 degrees outside. We have bought two and stuff for the stopped up fireplace, lets just say my hubby is not the only thing that keeps me warm!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Com Radiant Natural Gas Heater

,
November 16, 2010
By Bill50
from Northern Michigan
"We own a 50 year old concrete block restaurant that has a drafty office area. We purchased the Pro Com Radiant Natural Gas Heater to ward off the chill and couldn't be happier. The product arrived promptly, was easy to install and works great! It lights easily and throws off plenty of heat. No more chills and shivers while trying to work on payroll. We would recommend this product to anyone who needs supplemental heat in a small area."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great & economical

,
August 30, 2010
By RJW3555
from Ogden, Utah
"I purchased this item to take care of a cold area in the back of the house. It was easy to install (I have plumbing experience) and is virtually fool proof to operate. It is more than adequate to heat the 300 sq ft of colder space. I highly recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm but not burned

,
February 18, 2010
By Dapain
from Georgia
"I recently purchased this heater for my bathroom. I had an electric oil filled radiant heater, which was a joke. I stopped laughing when I got my light bill!! To make bad matters worse it had not even gotten cold yet! So I installed this ProCom Radiant heater, and boy was I glad I did. For not long after, the temps took a nose dive. However keeping my bathroom warm has not cost me an arm and a leg. In fact my gas usage is hardly noticeable. Great heater, and a great price. Thanks :)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heater

,
February 15, 2010
By JWPVT
from Norfolk, Va
"It is a good heater for certain applications.It should be stressed that is has no thermostat.Therefor, you can not turn it on and leave it alone. It will eventually run you out of the space and do a number on your gas bill."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
RadarMM
NE Georgia 
 
Please wait while more information about RadarMM is loaded.
Additional information about RadarMM could not be loaded.
November 2, 2011
"It's in the product description that there is no thermostat, so why the 3 star rating? Is there something wrong with it?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
November 1, 2009
By bluewhale32
from Eastern, Wa.
"This heater was a snap to install and is as others have said very good heater. I have it in the kitchen and after the first burn there is no smells whatsoever. Considering where we live gas is about half the cost of heating than with electric, we heat with firewood for the most part but a few areas in the house need a little extra boost. I like it so much i am going to order another. Also northern tool shipped fast."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

vent free gas heater

,
November 20, 2008
By Stan2008
from location, Utah
"we have a small rest room in our shop, and have had trouble in the past finding a good heater to keep the sink and toilet from freezing in the winter. We found your procom infra-red heater on line, and ordered it. We already had natural gas on the wall (from other tried and failed gas heaters). When it arrived, we were able to easily install it in less than an hour, no adjusting or anything. It works fantastic. It is without question, perfect for what we need, and It is exactly as represented by the ads. Thank you very much, we look forward to doing more business with Northern Tools, Stan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater

,
November 18, 2008
By mrherb3
from Coventry,RI
"best money i ever spent i had a vacant space in the attic i had a gas hookup already there
i put this heater in took about 15 minuts this is ventless so no heat goes out the chimney and means you save $$$$$ it works great i also have addional heaters for two apartments
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wall heater...

,
January 21, 2008
By SandyS
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This product was easy to install. My GC ran the gas line himself. Now my laundry area is warm on these bitter cold days. It's easy to light (for us ladies) and simple to operate. I was leery of an unvented heater but as long as you read the cautions about room size and ventilation...you won't have a problem. It's nice to have an area of the house that we can heat when the power goes off. That is why we chose a natural gas heater. We chose a wall mount so that our grandkids can't reach it. It's surprising how much heat this little unit can generate. Pro Com has a great product line all at a great price. You won't be sorry. You may not get all of the bells and whistles of more expensive products but this simple heater (that runs without electricity) certainly fit the bill for us."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 6000 BTU, Model# MN060HPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect heater.

,
January 15, 2008
By bcorn83
from Burton, MI
"This heater is perfect for areas in your home that just dont ever seem to get warm enough with the "normal" seetting on your furnace's thermostat. I installed this heater in my home's upstairs computer room/bed-room. This heater is great for taking the "chill" off when I am upstairs using my computer and also when I have company staying over and they need to use the room as a spare bed-room.
It is extremely energy efficient when it comes to comparing the operating cost of this unit to that of an electric space-heater.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.