Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"

Item# 177584
"Save on home heating costs with a vent-free propane radiant heater. Radiant heaters heat objects in the room before heating the air. Ideal for use in a bathroom or small bedroom. Easy, economical installation with no vent or chimney required. Extremely safe heater features safety pilot with complete automatic shutdown capability. If oxygen levels fall below safe levels, oxygen depletion sensor shuts off gas flow. Heaters can be mounted on wall. Features a diamond mesh front grill. Since no electricity is needed to light or operate, the heater can operate during a power outage. CSA design certified. Product to be used in accordance with state and local ordinances, regulations and codes. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 180, Needs Direct Venting No, Thermostat Included No, Blower Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 1/8 x 6 3/8 x 19 1/8, BTU Output 5,500, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Gas Inlet in. 3/8, Product Type Radiant heat, Igniter Matchless push-button starter. Requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company."
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 of 20(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Review 1 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A useful and inexpensive source of heat indoors.

,
January 13, 2016
By
from Snellville, GA.
I own two of these 5,500 btu LP gas heaters. I use them to heat the very small cabins at my campsite in Tennessee. They produce radiant heat, so they warm objects and people more directly, rather than heating the air first. They also require little propane gas to operate. These ProCom heaters appear to be well-constructed and durable, and I expect them to last a long time in the limited service I demand of them. I also appreciate the built-in safety features such as the oxygen depletion sensor and the temperature sensor controlling gas flow. I sleep well without undue concern that something will go wrong with the heater. These are a great buy if you need a small, safe, efficient heat source in a room or small cabin. I am very pleased with this Northern Tool product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 2 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome buy

,
December 5, 2015
By
from Augusta ks
We have power outages sometimes so this heater was perfect for my well house/bathroom in my shop. Very easy to install and use. No more frozen pipes. I would highly recommend it.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

,
November 18, 2015
By
from burr oak
It is perfect for what I need it for. Just need something to keep my basement warm.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Review 4 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Com 5500 btu heater

,
December 8, 2014
By
from Kaplan La
We recently purchased a ceiling type fan heater from a large home and hardware department store after one year it stopped heating so I decided not to return it and install the Pro Com heater instead .It was not hard to install and we really like the way it heats our small bath room.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

just as good as way it was

,
November 21, 2014
By
from Wellington
used it the last two days pilot came on with ease and help as a backup as we only use wood heat they are great but15 degrees but not untill they are going well thanks for a great heater
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps Me Warm

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Santa Cruz, CA
I live in the mountains and have a wood stove for heat. However it does not heat up the upper part of our house very well. I have one of these ProCom heaters for my room as well as the kids room. It works great and heats up our bedrooms very quickly. I would highly recommend this product.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

propane wall heater

,
February 4, 2014
By
from jacksonville, oregon
The propane wall heater works very well and the thermostat works exceptionally well. Very easy to install and maintain. Good value for our money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, reliable basic heater

,
January 16, 2012
By
from North East Georgia
I installed this a few weeks ago in my bedroom. This is a great supplemental heating unit to my central heating system, since I spend most of my spare time on my computer. I typically keep my central heat around 58-60 deg and this unit gets my ~190sq/ft room to 72 degrees in about 30 minutes.
The issue with this heater is it's lack of thermostat. I knew before purchase that this unit lacked a thermostat, and I'm fine with that. But I would gladly have paid $10 more for this size unit with a thermostat...or at least be given the option. The 10,000btu units are really too large for this size room. This small unit, while the correct size for the room, lacks the option for a thermostat.
I cannot fault the heater, it is an excellent unit, I just wish Pro-com made a unit this small with a thermostat.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
26out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

procom 060 5,500Btu ventless heater

,
December 22, 2011
By
from Danbury, CT
My son is a licensed plumber, he installed this heater in my greenhouse. The first year it worked well, but just after the warrantee ended the unit kept blowing out. I cleaned the gas jet as per instructions but it did not help. I called Procom who told me to clean it again; still the same problem. I cleaned 4 times and it still kept blowing out. Finally, I just bought a new unit from a competitive manufacturer. If I could give it less than 1 star rating I would.
This was a waste of $$. Don't buy it!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater for bathroom

,
November 16, 2010
By
from New Ipswich, NH
We replaced an old (inefficient) vented propane heater with this in our bathroom and it's perfect for the space, doesn't take up much room and with the 99% efficiency rating I know we will be saving a lot of $ on our gas bill. It doesn't shut on and off but you can set the flame at different levels.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
February 26, 2010
By
from long island, ny
great little heater. works just fine with regular small barbecue style lp gas tank...!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
jm54
san marcos texas 
 
Please wait while more information about jm54 is loaded.
Additional information about jm54 could not be loaded.
bottle for bbq type grill
October 21, 2010
" how long does a bottle of this type last? "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

propane heater

,
February 15, 2010
By
from S. Central TX
Heater works fine for a small room. Wall mounting is pretty easy and straightforward. As long as you know when you are purchasing this that it does not have a thermostat and don't expect one, you're getting what you ordered. Good bang for the buck.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Radiant heater, vent free

,
November 14, 2009
By
from Rosarito Beach, Baja California
I have had the heater one year. Don't expect this small heater to preform like a large one. It is too small to heat a large room by itself, but works great in combination with a fireplace. I put it on the opposite side of the room. It takes the chill off. Product worked as described. Easy to install if you have a gas line already there. Running the gas, well, that is another thing.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Heater!

,
October 30, 2009
By
from Alpine, AZ
I bought this heater for my greenhouse, and it keeps it warm all winter long, even at 8000'. We had tomatoes in February! Folks who have a problem with it shutting down need to give it a little more fresh air. The O2 sensor is designed to do this. Highly recommended!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great small heater

,
November 18, 2008
By
from Spiro, OK
I have used this heater in my workshop for over a year and works great for the 240 sq. ft. building. The heater is saves me a lot of money over the electric heater I was using. If you have a small building or cabin to heat this is the heater you want.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit the bill perfectly

,
April 14, 2008
By
from AZ
My mom lives on my ranch in a small cabin and had been using electric space heaters to keep warm during a cold spell. Sticker shock when I got the electric bill!
I saw this on Northern Tool's website, and thought it might save us a buck or two on the electric.
Was pleasently surprised with how much warmth this small unit generated. More than enough for Mom's small space. It was an easy install and looked good.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Review from a Lady's viewpoint

,
April 14, 2008
By
from Jay, Ok.
We recently purchased a propane fireplace and then later a propane stove. The prices were great, much lower than could be purchased locally and the promptness with which it was shipped and received was exceptionally good. I have and will continue to recommend this company to family and friends. Both items were just as described and very good quality. Thanks for 2 great experiences on these purchases.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heat for a goose pit

,
January 14, 2008
By
from Nebraska
I installed two of these heaters in my goose pit and they work great and they are quiet. If you were to install one of these in a small room i would recommend a thermastat.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Procom ML060 HPA

,
October 8, 2007
By
from Pueblo, Colorado
The Procom is a great little heater for anyone who is in the need of a small radiant heater that is economical to operate and easy to use. I did have to order the legs seperately for my needs, but it is a very nice unit and although the small 6000 BTU won't blast you out of the room, it is a comfortable warming device and is 99.9% efficient. It just doesn't get much better than that.
Propane use is very minimal. I would recommend this unit to anyone and Northern is a fine retailer with fantastic selection and great prices, (especially when on sale!)
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "ProCom Radiant Vent-Free Liquid Propane Heater - 5,500 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

6000 BTU Radiant Propane Heater

,
November 20, 2006
By
from Western New York
First of all I have to commend you on the speediness with which you processed and shipped my order! The unit is compact and 'non-utilitarian-looking' enough to use on a sitting porch. The radiant-type heat is extremely comfortable and quiet operating, and appears to be extremely conservative in propane use. My only wish is that this small unit had the option of an automatic thermostatic!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.