Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"

"Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"

Item# 177771
"This Q Standard Utility Blower features a rolled steel opening and auto reset thermal protection for optimal use. Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 x 13 3/4 x 12 3/4, Fan Diameter in. 12, Volts 120, Speeds qty. 2, Amps 3.8, Blower Type Utility, Watts 430, HP 3/8, Air Delivery CFM 2,905. Rolled steel opening Auto reset thermal protection Industrial-grade grounded cord Durable carry handle GFCI included"
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (52 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
52 of 52(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Review 1 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
May 10, 2016
By
from Ridgeland, Mississippi
Used to ventilate a wet crawlspace. Ran continuously for over a week with no issues. Sturdy Construction.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty

,
April 22, 2016
By
from Coastal SC
Have not had a need to use the fan yet but it appears to be a well built heavy duty fan. My only concern is that the protective tab by the switch has sharp edges. When I tested the fan it does move a lot of air. Would like NOT to have to reset the GFCI on the cord each time I use it but that is a minor inconvenience.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

This Fan really moves the air

,
April 9, 2016
By
from California
This Fan is well made and really pushes a lot of air, the only drawback is the noise level but this may be unavoidable in a fan this strong.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Utility Blower 12 inch

,
March 13, 2016
By
from Plainview TX
Moves lots of AIR!!
It is noisy but significantly less noise with the Standard Ventilation Hose. Well worth the extra money for the convince of directing the air where you want and to reduce the noise.,
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
February 24, 2016
By
from Texas
We use these fans to dry latex paint in a production line. Works great. Holds up to moderate abuse.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bird

,
February 7, 2016
By
from Locust grove,ga
Great quality fan very well made. I like the two speeds. I used it to dry out a large area. For the price I wish it was a little bigger.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fan

,
October 29, 2015
By
from Seattle, Wa
Using these fans as welding hoods in our shop. Made some quick adapters and put them inline to our existing ducting/air handling system. Moves a very good amount of air even under back pressure.
One bummer was that they cannot be wired into a switch due to the GFCI having to be reset each time power is removed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

unknown

,
July 31, 2015
By
from Taylors SC
I plugged it in for about 30 seconds. It seems to do what I need.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect For the Mining Industry

,
June 2, 2015
By
from Ontario, Canada
I bought this to remove the hot air from my Bitcoin mine... not only does it do it better than any small fan I ever ran into, I don't even need to run it continuously. This will also likely work wonders at the gold mine too. Any application that needs to move A LOT of air in a HURRY, this is the thing for you.
The only downside is the noise... but that's the woman across the street's opinion... personally, I love how obnoxiously loud it is because I know the job's getting done... in a hurry and I'm an "in a hurry" kinda guy.
Very well made.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Robust Construction

,
April 2, 2015
By
from Charlotte, NC
This is really well constructed and works very well. I use it to extract welding fumes with the NT expandable duct - it does a great job. 2-speed switch is nice.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUPER BLOWER!

,
October 4, 2014
By
from brainerd, mn
This blower far surpassed our expectations for it.
Very powerful and smooth. Yes, it has a litlle noise during operation but, that is to be expected with almost 3000 cfm ! Good job Northern. keep 'em coming
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fresh air fan

,
August 18, 2014
By
from boulder creek, ca
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I'm a plumbing contractor and we use these fans to move air in small spaces. We generally work in areas that don't always smell the best. Along with the flexible hose (buy the hose) we can force fresh air into a damp, musty area. Fan operates well and isn't too loud. We have a couple of them and I will buy more when needed. Good product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

blower

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Shepherdsville, KY
Excellent blower, use it to vent paint booth and it does the job, get the 12" dia hose and it takes all the dust away from your painting surface without causing an excessive draft, really gets rid of that overspray.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blower

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Carmi, IL
I am a county coroner and purchased this to help vent out a room that a body has been in for a while. It works great for my purpose. It really moves the air for its' size.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing, and Versatile Blower Fan

,
November 8, 2013
By
from St. Louis
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I can't say enough good things about this blower! In our heat treating plant, we use these fans for everything. We have made portable personnel cooling stations, parts drying racks, induction air movers, part cooling racks, spot coolers, etc. etc. The compact size combined with the enormous amount of air that they move, makes these fans irreplaceable. They also have a great price point. They are of sturdy construction, and hold up very well. Our plant guys are not easy on equipment, and we haven't had to replace a fan yet. As a design engineer, I will continue to incorporate these fans into our equipment, whenever I can.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

mold remediation

,
September 17, 2013
By
from AL
Couldn't find blower fans at rental store so purchased fans and duct for about what I would have rented for. The fans and duct worked great. I cut the bottom out of a 5 gallon bucket and used that bucket as a duct connection sleeve in the blower door enclosure. Also used the bucket sleeve to connect multiple sections of duct. The fan has good power for the money but the duct would be better if both ends had the tie string to connect to other duct or sleeves. In fact the lack of the second end of duct having the draw sting closure is the only reason this system is not a 5 star.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beats a ceiling fan

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Idaho
To heat my very long house during winter with a single wood stove, I use this fan with the twenty foot duct Item# 177770 by placing the fan in my back office and switching on the fan for about ten minutes prior to entering the office. This high flow fan easily exchanges the air in the room for the hot air in my front room ... problem solved and one heck of a lot quicker than ceiling fans! :)
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product

,
February 11, 2013
By
from Bay area, CA
This product stand out pretty well, but not too extreme
Describe Yourself: Professional
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough fan/blower

,
October 21, 2012
By
from Houston, TX
We use these fans to ventilate confined space. They have proven to be reliable and tough. Would definitely buy again.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 3/8 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

utility blower

,
October 8, 2012
By
from pagosa,co.
THE BLOWER WORKS GREAT. IT REALLY CLEARS OUT THE ROOM AFTER WE ARE DONE SPRAYING. I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYON E WHO NEEDS TO BRING IN OR CLEAR OUT ROOM.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.