Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012

Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012

Item# 177771
This Q Standard Utility Blower features a rolled steel opening and auto reset thermal protection for optimal use. Speeds qty. 2, Blower Type Utility blower, HP 4/7, Fan Diameter in. 12, Amps 3.8, Air Delivery CFM 2,905, Volts 120, Watts 430. Rolled steel opening Auto reset thermal protection Industrial-grade grounded cord Durable carry handle GFCI included UL approved for wet locations
Average Customer Rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (40 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 of 40(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Review 1 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

blower

,
February 5, 2014
By mike109g6
from Shepherdsville, KY
"Excellent blower, use it to vent paint booth and it does the job, get the 12" dia hose and it takes all the dust away from your painting surface without causing an excessive draft, really gets rid of that overspray."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blower

,
February 4, 2014
By CDubya68
from Carmi, IL
"I am a county coroner and purchased this to help vent out a room that a body has been in for a while. It works great for my purpose. It really moves the air for its' size."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing, and Versatile Blower Fan

,
November 8, 2013
By Angarlo
from St. Louis
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I can't say enough good things about this blower! In our heat treating plant, we use these fans for everything. We have made portable personnel cooling stations, parts drying racks, induction air movers, part cooling racks, spot coolers, etc. etc. The compact size combined with the enormous amount of air that they move, makes these fans irreplaceable. They also have a great price point. They are of sturdy construction, and hold up very well. Our plant guys are not easy on equipment, and we haven't had to replace a fan yet. As a design engineer, I will continue to incorporate these fans into our equipment, whenever I can."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

mold remediation

,
September 17, 2013
By JC1492
from AL
"Couldn't find blower fans at rental store so purchased fans and duct for about what I would have rented for. The fans and duct worked great. I cut the bottom out of a 5 gallon bucket and used that bucket as a duct connection sleeve in the blower door enclosure. Also used the bucket sleeve to connect multiple sections of duct. The fan has good power for the money but the duct would be better if both ends had the tie string to connect to other duct or sleeves. In fact the lack of the second end of duct having the draw sting closure is the only reason this system is not a 5 star."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beats a ceiling fan

,
April 23, 2013
By paineite
from Idaho
"To heat my very long house during winter with a single wood stove, I use this fan with the twenty foot duct Item# 177770 by placing the fan in my back office and switching on the fan for about ten minutes prior to entering the office. This high flow fan easily exchanges the air in the room for the hot air in my front room ... problem solved and one heck of a lot quicker than ceiling fans! :)"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product

,
February 11, 2013
By solbrothers
from Bay area, CA
"This product stand out pretty well, but not too extreme"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough fan/blower

,
October 21, 2012
By Mikeiver
from Houston, TX
"We use these fans to ventilate confined space. They have proven to be reliable and tough. Would definitely buy again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

utility blower

,
October 8, 2012
By CK62
from pagosa,co.
"THE BLOWER WORKS GREAT. IT REALLY CLEARS OUT THE ROOM AFTER WE ARE DONE SPRAYING. I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYON E WHO NEEDS TO BRING IN OR CLEAR OUT ROOM."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Blower at a great price

,
October 8, 2012
By Riprocken
from Salt Lake City
"Our company enters utility vaults and depend on reliable ventilation systems to keep our workers safe. This blower will run for hours without any problem. The 12" blower works great for larger confined spaces."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fan

,
August 20, 2012
By RescueProject
from Chicago, IL
"This fan is perfect for getting rid of dust and overspray, especially in smaller spaces like a bathroom. I tear out or refinish bathrooms all the time and without a doubt always use this fan. It's even helped with the sensitive customers who cannot take the "construction odors." Great fan to pick up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

12 inch Blower Delivers!

,
May 7, 2012
By moopa
from Nanaimo,BC Canada
"I use this blower to evacuate dust out of my 10' X 20' sand blasting tent. In conjunction with the collapsible ventilation hose. It does the job very well, moves a lot of air( and dust!). The price at Northern Tool was excellent, and shipping to Canada reasonable and quick. Would buy again!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of airflow

,
January 9, 2012
By curtinkc
from Kansas City, MO
"This fan is very impressive. It has lots of power and can move a lot of air."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

12'' AND 8'' - both great for the price

,
October 10, 2011
By Hindsight
from Saint Louis, MO
"We use both of these blowers with hoses to exaust paint - price is unbeliveable - we have bought many with no problems"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

high CFM

,
June 13, 2011
By Cacica
from Uxbridge, Ontario
"Moves a lot of air. Is fairly loud if it is located in the work area. Consider buying the hose attachment and remote locating the fan at the other end."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can take the heat!

,
June 6, 2011
By Cooks75
from Demopolis, AL
"I've been using these blowers for almost two years now.
I use them to cool off industrial babbit bearings, motors, high-speed fan bearings, and a myriad of other uses. Once I began using them to cool overheating equipment instead of the poor-practice of cooling with compressed air, each blower saves us on average $350 of wasted energy cost/year...and we have at least eight of them here.
Several of them are placed under our cement kiln which can radiate temperatures up to 500 deg F, and these little fans keep on running. The heat will get to them eventually, but I've only had to replace the connector on one of them, which ran continuously, day and night under this heat for over a month. They have also ran during heavy rainstorms without tripping or motor damage.
They are tough, easy to move around, push a considerable amount of air, are simple to maintain, saves us money, and have a multitude of uses. I definitely plan to purchase more. Seldom are commercial tools so rugged as to be placed (and perform) in a heavy industry setting.
Our plant employees love them (and have fought over them too...better get each department theirs, hehe)"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Blower

,
November 16, 2010
By Hostaking
"Well built for the job and super powerful. Was really able to evacuate a lot of smoke from our building."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

,
November 16, 2010
By semprfi
from New Hampshire
"I purchased several of these blowers for my company, they work as well as ones I've bought in the past for a lot more money, my guy's in the field love them. I'd recommend them to anyone who needs to supply fresh air to a confined space."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for ventilating confined spaces.

,
September 13, 2010
By FreshAir
from DesMoines, Iowa
"I used this fan to ventilate an attic that I was working in on a 95 degree day. I used it with the collapsable duct to push fresh air into the attic space. The fan itself sat on the floor on the lower level with the duct going up through the attic door. It can move a lot of air even through the collapsable duct. It is noisy but that is to be expected given the volumn of air. It is well made with a sturdy housing and the optional collapsable duct attaches easily to either the exhaust end or the intake end."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Utility blower

,
August 23, 2010
By macktractor
from Indiana
"This unit does the job, but it does make more wind noise than other similar units that put out the same amount of blown air. I bought it for my basement workshop, but moved it to my barn instead as my wife complained about the noise. It does put out the air so it keeps me cool in the barn."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Q Standard Utility Blower - 12in., 4/7 HP, 2905 CFM, Model# 39012
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent performance

,
May 31, 2010
By mikepupstate
from upstate NY
"I use this product regularly to blow automotive exhaust out of my shop while working on my truck. I use the 20' hose attachment as well. Extremely powerful and durable - this thing moves all the exhaust I could need out the door, making it possible to work on engine tuning for extended idle periods."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.