Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210

Item# 177994
The Optimus infrared quartz radiant heater provides instant sun-like warmth for fast focused spot heating. Energy-efficient unit has two heat settings and safety features. Remote Included No, Tip-Over Safety Switch Yes, BTU Output 2,730, Dimensions W x D x H in. 6 x 14 x 15, Product Type Radiant heater, Heat Settings 2, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Product Style Portable, Blower Included No, Watts 400/800. Instant sun-like warmth Uses less energy than conventional heat source Provides up to 2730 BTU of infrared heat Cool-touch housing Ultra-quiet operation Carrying handle Durable sheet metal cabinet
Average Customer Rating:
4.62 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (92 reviews)
5 stars
70
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
86 of 92(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Review 1 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
April 23, 2013
By SpaceBuckaroo
from Keokuk, IA
"This is an actual infrared heater. It works great, and is very efficient. You get good heat at only 400 watts. It also has an 800 watt setting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the price

,
April 23, 2013
By TommyGunTom
from Sula, MT
"I leave this in my hunting cabin with a thermostat year round and it does a great job of keeping away the freeze."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for the money

,
February 18, 2013
By yuoz
from Asheville, NC
"Good product I even bought one for a friend. It keeps the room warm (rather large room) and I have seen the electric bill go up $9 and I use it all the time.
Only thing I'm not thrilled about is when turning it off I see a flash of light by the switch however I don't think anyone is at harm by it, I think Its just a fash of light from it going off."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Keep Looking

,
January 22, 2013
By Foxfire
from Ozark Mountain Country
"I tried this heater in an add on bathroom 6'x12' to help keep the temp reasonable. The unit shuts off between 65 and 70 degrees and wont turn back on until it is un plugged for about 20 seconds. You can hear it reset. I was shocked to walk into the bathroom a couple hours later to find it freezing cold. If the unit would come back on automatically, it might be worth keeping. It does work great as a spot heater that is going to be on for just a little while. Other than that, it doesn't make a good space heater.
Keep on looking.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Optimus Quartz heater

,
November 25, 2012
By moose60061
from Vernon Hills, Illinois
"This quartz model is quiet because it doesn't have a fan like other models. Without a fan you don't get heat that radiates, it merely rises up so its hot to the touch if you try to move it.I use it only in my small bedroom, keeps it toasty warm in there.Not recommended for an open , large area. Only a small confined space will stay warm."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Optimus Heater

,
October 15, 2012
By cms3357
from Oklahoma
"Very good little heater. Quiet and works for what I bought it for. Good price. It will help heat a room without any problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's still running!

,
October 15, 2012
By silvertipgriz
from New Mexico
"After 4 years, I've shifted this heater from our master bath to the guest bedroom, but it still works fine. it is a decent product for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Optimus Infrared Heater Model H-5210

,
May 15, 2012
By Looschanj
from Ogdensburg, NJ
"Great little heater. Works great on low setting for basement bathroom and is easy on the electric bill.
I used this heater in the dead of winter to heat the bedroom 12 x 15 when the furnace was down it was absolutely fantastic.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money Saver!!!

,
May 7, 2012
By wilrose3
from Long Island City, NY
"Since it was a mild winter here in NY, I did not want to use our oil heat in our warehouse, it just cost too much. I purchased 3 of these heaters for my warehouse guys and the heaters were perfect to heat their own personal space. I never turned our heat on this year. I saved thousands of dollars in oil supply by using these heaters. I plan on purchasing more in the future!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless

,
January 25, 2012
By LoneRider357
from Texas
"Does nothing but glow! Not enough heat to warm up anything! Waster time and money buying this!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
jimml
CT 
 
Please wait while more information about jimml is loaded.
Additional information about jimml could not be loaded.
January 31, 2012
"Look at the watts that it uses. It is a small capacity heater. If you want a lot of heat with 115V you need 1500 watts, not 800."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little heater

,
January 17, 2012
By J1957
from Coats, NC
"Great little heater. Just the perfect size for a small room or bathroom. Quick heat without a fan so it is quiet. Also it appears to be very energy efficient so far."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By ebug
from Chino, CA
"I love this heater for a few reasons:
-Price (one of the cheapest ones out there)
-Size and weight (weighs nothing)
-Efficiency (puts out lots of heat without using up the entire 15 amp circuit. With most heaters they need a circuit to themselves.)
-Quality (Even though its light, it feels like it will last a very long time. The manufacture did not over complicate the heater)
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
January 16, 2012
By gbell
from Jacksonville, FL
"We use it to take the chill off our bedroom, and use it on the low power because on the higher setting, you can't sleep under the covers. Went to my local Northern Tool store to buy a different heater, but the 5210 was on sale, so I thought I'd give it a try. Glad I did. Would be a good value at the normal price, but at the sale price, it's fantastic."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Little Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By caddy365
from Minnesota
"I purchased two of these heaters and am completely satisfied. While concerned about the plastic feet, they seem to be holding up OK and it does sit level. The amount of heat coming out of this little heater is amazing. It definitely keeps one room, such as a bedroom, nice and cozy. Because I live in an older home with limited circuits, I needed a heater that didn't draw high amps. This fits the bill and does a great job. After using the first heater, I went back and purchased the second for another room."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Twighunter
from LaBelle, FL
"This is a great little heater for heating a small room. Have had it a few weeks and no problems. Takes that chill out. Like the feature that it turns off if tipped."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy Instant Heat

,
January 16, 2012
By BOBNY555
from Massapequa, NY
"Use daily to heat just the area of my home where sitting rather than heating the entire house. Result has been a much lower home heating oil expense."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warms your feet & legs

,
January 16, 2012
By raceman
from Tennessee
"Nice little heater that puts out lots of heat even on the 400 watt setting.
Also GREAT little heater for the price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater Review

,
January 16, 2012
By Jock88
from Vancouver, WA
"The heater is small enough and portable enough for moving from room to room where heat is needed. I bought two of these."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little heater

,
January 16, 2012
By jeepguy2
from Boston, MA
"i use this in my garage on a regular basis. infrared heaters are great because i can set it near where i am working and it directs the IR at me quite well so it really takes the edge off the cold. it's also small enough i can set very close if i'm under my car."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Optimus Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater - 2730 BTU, Model# H-5210
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lower Power Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By NewEnglandGuy
from Newington, CT
"Ninety Nine percent of the heaters on the market are 750/1500 watts. I wanted a low cost, quiet, low wattage unit. This one fits the bill in the 400 watt position. Perfect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.