Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T

ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T

Item# 178010
A new style of vent-free stove designed to complement any decor. No electricity required. No hassling with cutting wood or hauling ashes. Not for sale in California and Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Blower Included No, BTU Output 25,000, Color Black, Includes Hand painted logs, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Stove, Thermostat Included Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 x 33 x 26, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000. Works with Blower for ProCom Fireplace/Stove, Item# 178119 sold separately Works with Oak and Cherry Hearth Pads Item#s 177589 and 177553, sold separately Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company
Average Customer Rating:
4.838 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(216 Reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (216 reviews)
5 stars
194
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
211 of 216(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
67 Questions | 199 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Review 21 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heater might be nice but Procomm isn't

,
October 31, 2013
By avmiii
from NJ
"got heater and blower assembled 9/25. However several logs were broken. I contacted Procom 10/1 and they said that they would send out logs. As of 10/31 logs are still on backorder to Procom. UNACCEPTABLE!! Was on hold for 40 min just to find this out, and told to call back days later when the issue would be referred to a supervisor. Not sure if it was, but no further information is available. Product seems ok, but I do smell something when it is on. Not sure I like that (nat gas fueled). no other experience as I'm waiting for logs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well built and works great once it lit up

,
October 22, 2013
By Longneck2
from Connecticut
"It looks nice and assembled okay. However, I had hard time to pilot light up because the selector knob could not be depressed on pilot mode. Figured out that I need to push the knob sideway to clear out and press down. Once it lights up, it gives out good heat with a blower even with 20 lb tank. Remember that POL thread is left handed thread to connect. Overall, I am happy with this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, love this heater

,
September 17, 2013
By Wewillie
from Celina, TX
"This heater heats the entire first floor of my house, saving us from running the central heat. It also adds a warm fireplace atmosphere to the room. This is the best, most attractive heater I have ever bought!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
13out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

procom vent free heater

,
September 17, 2013
By jackie9toes
from douglas,ma.
"I purchased this heater about 10 years ago ,and it still performs as it did then, A1.
it is not a replacement for a whole house heater but is perfect for a large room such as a play room in the basement or a large porch to warm it up .
I use it to cut down on the use of my forced hot air furnace (fuel oil is expensive here in the north east) and this stove can be used with an outside dual tank propane setup using 2 -20# grill tanks.
this enables me to go until November without using the main furnace.
I would highly recommend this heater to any one.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad directions

,
August 19, 2013
By Ronnyturp
from Attleboro, MA
"I started to put this heater together using the directions that came with it. First the legs did not line up with the 3 holes in the stove bottom. I called the technical support line they encourage you to call, but got a recording 3 times saying to call back another time.
The manual was full of incorrect information like it didn't even go with this stove. ProCom offered no help at all.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 stoves for 2 years

,
April 23, 2013
By saltydog404
from southern Illinois
"Three years ago, I Installed three stoves in my six room, single story, 2200 sq. ft., 125 year old house, as the only heat source. I am amazed at the warmth they provide which is more than adequate. The old house is well insulated and holds heat well. Blowers on two stoves are good, but not a deal breaker, as heat is distributed slowly and well without them, too.
My only gripe after the two years is the oily film the stoves put on to my one year old double-pane windows by the air discharge! Now what.??
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Propane Stove

,
April 23, 2013
By bigsone
from Sparks, NV
"The stove works very nice for an open room and saves on having to run additional duct work to tie into furnace in the home."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice reliable unit

,
March 7, 2013
By PAresident
from PA
"Have been using two of these units in a large 100 year old victorian. After two years they are going strong and they have paid for themselves many times over. One of the best investments I have ever made."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Addition to New House

,
February 21, 2013
By Dad7432
from Finger Lakes NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
""This little stove is the second Procom product I have purchased. It puts out a lot of heat on high, and can be adjusted down to quite low and has a nice thermostat that lowers the flame as it nears its set point. It turns itself off when it hits the thermostat's set point (except for the pilot). Because of this it is a perfect source of backup heat for our 2600 sq foot lake house when the power fails. Ours is run off propane and the power fails often and for long periods of time. We have a backup generator that also runs off propane, but this is a backup to that, and it looks nice too. For the price, it is cheap insurance against pipe freeze up. Even though the house is brand new, we had to use this stove for a week as backup heat when both the power and generator failed -- and the contractor could not get in due to snow.
As nice as it looks (the flames are a nice yellow color) nobody who has ever seen a wood fire will be fooled into thinking that this is a real wood fire. The fact that there is no chimney is also a giveaway that this is something different. My picture does not do it justice, this is as it was installed the first time it was fired up, but the house is not finished and it was still sitting on the cardboard.
Despite the fact it puts out lots of heat, it is safe. Our stove sits directly on the wood floor in the center of a long narrow house (new) on the middle level. The bottom of the unit does not get hot and the top only gets warm -- you can put your hand on the top and it won't burn you. There is a downside to that safety: it is not a cook stove, even without blower running the top does not get hot enough.
I would consider the blower to be optional. We have it and it helps the stove to heat the place up a bit more quickly, but it is not a must have. Procom has improved the blower instructions over the past three years, although they could do a better job showing you exactly where to run the wires down the back -- you don't want the wires to touch the inside box where the flames are.
One other annoyance: It took my contractor and I about an hour to figure out that the little battery (supplied with the stove) goes INSIDE the LITTLE button you push to start the pilot light! Since we both had older Procom fireplaces (which don't need batteries, they use a push button piezo sparker) this was very confusing to us both. Nowhere in the stove's instructions did it show us exactly where the battery went. FYI, we learned that the pilot can also be lighted with a match if the battery dies!
All in all, this is a bargain and a great stove.""
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stove

,
January 22, 2013
By Icu233343
from arkansas
"Decided to get this stove for heat backup when power goes out. Kerosene has gotten so high in my area they are gouging it seems. This stove gets rid of the hassle of the fuel mess and smell from the kerosene. We love the stove so much that keeping it at a low level keeps the main part of the house very comfortable, much more so than the central unit does. We placed it on our fireplace hearth where it blends right in. Great value and we would suggest it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stove, great value

,
January 14, 2013
By Ceebee
from Maine
"I purchased this stove & blower to supplement oil fire heat. In this area it is not uncommon for temps to reach -40 f, so the on-demand heat this little unit packs is a welcome addition to my home, despite a couple of minor cons.
Pros:
-The stove was a snap to install, the LP hook-up simple.
-This unit works great with a blower and using inducting ceiling fans to pull the heat for a 2nd floor. I think I spent more time figuring out where to put the stove than installing it. :)
Cons:
-The blower instructions were awful and I ended up using common sense and got it done without too much aggravation.
-The very back log was offset by an inch or so, and I had to remount the screws on it to avoid having the log directly in the flame."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

REVIEW OF PRO-COM HEATER QD 250T 25000 BTUs

,
January 9, 2013
By TXDRMST
from Montana
"REVIEW OF PRO-COM HEATER QD 250T 25000 BTUs JANUARY 1 -2013
I bought the heater, the Pro-Com blower that they recommend (QEB 100) and the installation kit from Northern Tool. Everything was well packed and they shipped fast by UPS. I also bought a combination CO 2 and fire/smoke detector.
We live in Montana at about 4700 foot elevation.
I installed this heater one month ago 12/1/12 and decided that it's time to do a review.
I read all the reviews before I bought it. There were about 180 reviews as I recall and there were only 2 that were unfavorable. Overall nothing really bad.
It was one of those rare things that just seemed to be too good to be true.
I liked the fact that it would put out heat even if there was a power outage.
We are on natural gas here so that was a plus.
We had a wood burning stove sitting on a brick base so I took it out and set this in it's place.
I had to run a gas line to it and that required drilling 2 one inch holes so I could run the 1/2" black pipe down through the floor and back up through the floor on the other side of the room. Tight quarters under the floor meant I had to measure very carefully. I had to make several trips to the hardware store but at least it's close by.
I had to have pipe cut and threaded. I also needed 1/2 " pipe tees, elbows, a pipe cap,
some close nipples, some short nipples and a pipe union. I bought the white pipe dope with a brush in the can (called tfe paste). It is slow drying which is a good thing. Everyone said don't use tape- use dope, it seals better and you don't want a gas leak.
(Tape was included in the installation kit but I feel better and safer using the dope.)
I got a lot of exercise because we have 24 stairs to get down to street level then around back of the building and in the back door. There I had a scaffold set up in a hallway and a ladder in a small sideroom. I was up and down countless times because I was working by myself and in cramped quarters with 2 pipe wrenches and flashlights and brushing pipe dope. But over a few days time I got it all put together and it passed the sniff and soap test with no leaks.
I have to agree with everyone else that the instruction book for the fan was very poorly written. But I got the fan in and finally found where the AA battery went.
It took a few minutes to purge the air from the line but soon I had the pilot lit and then the stove lit and it's been going ever since.
The odor from the initial burn was not bad at all. It was mild and only noticible the first few hours.
The fan is very quiet and has no vibration.
I can feel the heat from the flames standing 12 foot away in front of the heater on 'high'.
It really warms the air very well in an open room that measures 22'X 36'.
There's a thermometer at each end of this room and this heater keeps a nice 70 degrees at each end.
It's just a lot nicer in here now compared to when we just used the forced air natural gas furnace. The furnace is now in 'backup mode'.
This heater eliminated the uncomfortable cold spots in the room.
Since installing this heater the coldest weather we have had is 3 below zero.
Another nice thing is that with a ventless heater there is no heat loss up the chimney.
When the heater is set to low and it cycles off then a few minutes later the fan goes off.
When the heater cycles back on then in a few minutes the fan automatically comes on.
Everything works exactly as they said it should.
Comparison of cost for December 2011 using only our old forced air furnace and
December 2012 using mostly the Pro-Com heater with the furnace only as a backup.
Comparing our bills the average daily temperatures for both Decembers was 25 degrees. We saved $114.09 December 2012 over December 2011 on gas and electric.
So I would say it's an easy 6 month payback and much more comfortable.
When we walk in the door and the warm air hits us in the face it makes us wish we had known about this heater years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater 4 years and going strong

,
January 3, 2013
By CraiginRI
from Warwick RI
"I've had this heater now for 4 years. The first year I installed it to "supplement" the oil fired steam boiler heating system, and it worked great. The second year I decided to give it a try to see how it would do as the only source of heat. It worked great! We never turned on the oil heat again. This is now the 4th heating season, the stove is in great shape, no issues there, and we haven't bought a drop of oil in over 3 years now. We heat a 110 year old 2 story, 3 bedroom 1400 sq.ft. colonial that is lacking in insulation in some parts, with this heater in the living room on the 1st floor. We do have a small oil-filled radiator style electric heater in the upstairs bathroom to keep that room a little warmer, but the rest of the house relies on this unit, and we do not have the blower. In all, even factoring in the extra electricity for the bathroom heater, we've cut out heating bill by about 30% over what oil was costing us."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

woosh

,
December 8, 2012
By nancypoo
from pennsyvlania
"Had bought another LP gas fireplace to heat our chopped up layout in our home and it was great...inexpensive compared to electric heat. We put an additional family room onto our house, tried to find the same fireplace with no result.
We bought this fireplace in its place. The shipping was fast, arrived in great condition, easy installation (my husband did it) and it does the job but the only thing is the WOOSH when it first ignites. We cleaned it out, and it still wooshes...got the first gas bill from that stove and it was doubled what the other fireplace was...so I thought it was a fluke..no fluke...this is our 2nd winter with that stove and the gas bill is double what the other stove is...so woosh goes all my money. The description neglects to tell you that it is a "U" shape burner as where my other is just plain two straight rows...so I am diligently looking for an insert to put into this one...the money that I spend for a new insert will save me the next month when the gas bill comes...and just a side note...we turn off both stoves during the day while we are working to save on the propane....any one else having same issues?
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-2points
8out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sun Room Heat.

,
November 25, 2012
By 63bulldog
from Lynchburg Va.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I got a price from my propane suppler for a heater for my sun room. $$$$$$ So I started looking around. I was told I only needed around 10-15000 BTU heater. Well the wife did not like the look of them and so you know I had to get the QT250T that she liked. I ran about 45' 1/2" copper to hook it up. After the hook up I restarted the fireplace logs then the tankless water heater with no problem. Then to start the Pro Com heater. I held the button in and the straker until I thought the battery was going to give up. It was late so gave up for the night. Next dad I opened the door and took the gas line lose turned on the gas valve cut off and let it go until I could see ( looks like heat coming off the road on a hot day ) the gas coming out to make sure the line was not stopped up then closed the gas valve and reattached the line. Now there is no more than 2' from the gas valve and the stove and it still took a very long time to get the pilot lit. So just to let you know as others said like some other things the first time it is hard to light just don't give up. By the way the wife is very Happy. The room is 14'x20' with no ceiling and all glass sliding doors. So far it is doing a great job, we don't use the room every day so it does take awhile to heat but it does heat the room and I am not using the fan. It was very easy to put together. The top does get to hot to put any thing on."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed

,
November 19, 2012
By jamspace
from Ashland, OR
"This heater was installed in a standalone shop/music studio building, approximately 600SF. At 25,000 BTU it is probably overkill for the room size, but that was by choice so that we can bring the room (which is used occasionally) up to temperature quickly and avoid the temptation to leave it running 'just in case'.
I had a plumber install the heater since he was already there to install the natural gas line, but installation was a breeze and should be doable by anyone with basic handyman skills.
The heater looks nice and puts out plenty of heat. The thermostat works well, I set it near the low end of the range and it runs the heater full blast until it reaches temperature then holds it pretty steady.
We've only had the heater installed for about a week so it's too soon yet to report on long term performance, but the initial impression is very good and I would recommend this unit and would not hesitate to buy another one if we needed it somewhere else."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally worth the money!!!

,
October 25, 2012
By jesse884
from Georgia
"Have owned this heater for about 5 years no problem! Had it installed by professional. Ours runs on propane. Didn't purchase blower, we use it along with ceiling fans on low. We turn it off at night and use central heat while asleep just as a precaution. Adds humidity to the air in winter which is wonderful for your skin. Bought it as back up heat because we lost power for a week during an ice storm but ended up using it most of the time. We love this heater!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PROCOM DUEL FUEL STOVE

,
October 25, 2012
By WYNDELL
from DAM-B TEXAS
"THIS STOVE LOOKS GREATKEEPING THE OLD TRADITIONAL LOOK. SHIPPING WAS VERY TIMELY AND SET UP IS VERY EASY. AFTER I HOOKED IT UP I PUT A BOX FAN IN THE WINDOW TO DRAW OUT THE FUMES FOR THE FIRST TIME BURN IN. THE SMELL IS NOT BAD JUST THAT NEW SMELL. I LOVE HOW EASY IT IS TO LIGHT WITH THE NEW ELECTRONIC IGNITER. JUST SET THE CONTROL FOR THE TEMPRETURE YOU WISH AND SET BACK AND ENJOY. THIS STOVE IS VERY WELL BUILT, SO I SHOULD GET MANY YEARS OF USE FROM IT. GET YOUR COFFEE CUP AND SIT IN FRONT OF IT AND ENJOY."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Little Stove

,
October 17, 2012
By dkjo
from Cleveland, WI
"This stove has been a great buy! I love that it is dual fuel. This gives people either option. Very cool! After having it installed, I cannot imagine our room without it. It does more than taking the chill out. We will start it, and after a little time, the burner will automatically cycle off. We then can't wait for it to cycle back on! After some time, we cannot believe that it didn't turn back on yet. But, then we check the temperature in the room and it is 75 degrees! No wonder it doesn't cycle back on!! It is one efficient little unit. We love it and would recommend it to anyone! The Lord has blessed us with a nice home and a great little stove!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Investment!

,
October 15, 2012
By Cris1959
from Hudson Valley, NY
"I don't know how we ever lived without the fireplace! It has been a real lifesaver for us, here in NY. The winter's can be brutal and we are at times left with no heat or electricity for days. Thanks to our fireplace, that is no longer an issue. The ease of use and the heat that this fireplace puts out is crazy., Our home is a split level, and the fireplace has no problems taking the chill off our second floor, as well. We also purchased the blower, which really pushes the hot air throughout the house. I can not recommend this unit enough. Even our propane company tech. commented on the quality of our fireplace."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.