Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"

"ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"

Item# 178010
"With this ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove, you can enjoy traditional styling and modern convenience. No wood or electricity is required. This classic stove operates on propane or natural gas for clean-burning performance even in power outages. Handpainted logs add the finishing touch of realism with no messy ashes left behind. Not for sale in California and Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Blower Included No, BTU Output 25,000, Color Black, Includes Hand painted logs, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Stove, Thermostat Included Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 x 33 x 26, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000. Works with blower for ProCom Fireplace/Stove, Item# 178119 sold separately Works with Oak and Cherry Hearth Pads Item#s 177589 and 177553, sold separately Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company"
Average Customer Rating:
4.83 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(235 Reviews) 235
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (235 reviews)
5 stars
208
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
230 of 235(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 206 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Review 1 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This heater rocks

,
December 20, 2014
By CastIronWendy
from Montana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Heater was very easy to install. We had a gas fireplace insert that was replaced by this stove. The insert was removed and we installed a solid metal face to close off the fireplace. The Procom sits in front of the fireplace opening. It works much better then our old insert. Our living room is nice and warm now. Best money spent. We have the thermostat set on 2. The stove is in a large room 20x20 with vaulted ceiling. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
December 17, 2014
By mikemnola
from New Orleans
" Bought this to supplement the central heat in my old and mostly un-insulated home. This unit seems to put out more heat than my central unit, which is not a big surprise because my central unit is electric and gas heat is the way to go. I assembled it with no problem but had a professional run the gas line. I'm pleased with the look and definitely much more comfortable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Pleased

,
December 17, 2014
By Greattimberwolf
from Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Purchased this for an addition to my new house that just had electric baseboard heat. Works great and looks even better. On a setting just above the 2 mark it keeps the 12X24 room toasty, so much so that I even closed the heat registers off in the room next to it. I did not get the blower for it and with a ceiling fan on low it circulates the heat quite nicely. I have also noticed that my main furnace doesn't run as long or as often. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the thermostat on it is a little hard to get it dialed in to the temperature I wanted. Once I did get it dialed in I marked the spot with liquid white-out. This is a new purchase so I can't say how it will hold up, but so far so good. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane Heater

,
December 16, 2014
By SangRunner
from McHenry, MD
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" When installing I sealed, closed and insulated my old fireplace and set the heater on the stone work in front of the old fireplace. It is not located in the fireplace as fire logs would be installed. It does set under the mantel which is about two feet above the heater. The top, sides and back of the heater only gets warm to the touch. The living room is approximately 17 X 32 and this unit heats it easily. I'm on the second year of use of my unit. It works so well that I'm thinking of getting a second unit just to have as a spare in case I have a problem which seems unlikely for awhile. We have very severe winters here in the mountains of western MD. We are located at about 2500' - 3000' and 0 to -10 below temperatures are not unusual. Last year the area recorded 175" of snow and the year before we had 264" recorded. This unit heated our living room very easily. Our unit has a fan, but we absolutely don't use it. It works fine without the fan and therefore there is almost zero noise which is great when watching TV. The fan on this unit is relatively very quiet, but then in my opinion any fan is noisy after a time.
One thing I've notice reading this heater's reviews is that I feel you might get the idea that the flame is adjustable, which it is not. You can set the temperature the unit comes on and goes off and that is how it controls the room temperature. Mine works very well and my living room on the number two setting controls the area at 71 degrees to 73 degrees. No fan or electrical power needed. The flame always stays the same. Moving the control knob only causes the heater to turn on or off at a different temperature. It is calibrated in a setting of 1 to 5 and you will need to find the correct setting which most likely will be around 2.
This unit works great. When starting a new unit care must be taken to purge the supply line of air so the pilot will burn and stay burning. I opened the line at the heater and allowed air to escape until I could smell gas. Reconnected and it started very easily.
I feel the heater is very efficient and would recommend this unit highly.
P.S.
Any open or drying petroleum products will cause the unit to give off odors as it will burn the vapors. This is pointed out in the manual. I learned this after finishing a table in the basement not to do that anymore. I found my error by googling and then reading the heater manual.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Stove

,
December 14, 2014
By tatumcreek
from In the Missouri Ozarks
" Had to wait since the stove was on backorder, but the wait was worth it! It hasn't turned cold-cold yet but the stove is heating the area(s) we purchased it for very nicely! Would recommend this stove to our friends and family. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fine Looking Heater

,
December 10, 2014
By Number1Pastor
from Carrollton IL
" The stove looks great. It arrived when they said it would even though it was back-ordered. My only concern is the lightweight material in its construction. The front grill had to be removed to install the logs. It came apart and went back together just fine, it is just that the metal is very light and easy to bend. It lit well after the air got out of the line and looks good in my room. It seems to be heating well too. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gas heater

,
December 8, 2014
By Jim1800
from nashville,tn
" Heats very well with no attention from me. Excellent supplemental heater will cut your heating costs and keep you as warm as you want. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

TOP QUALITY PRODUCT

,
November 26, 2014
By KizziahB
from McCalla, AL
" The heater is well constructed. It can be self-installed if you know what you're doing. I connected mine to a 100lb. propane tank. It heats our 24' x 24' living room great. After the initial shock of purchasing the heater, tank, propane, valve, and regulator wears off. It should really help on heating bills. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeping Warm

,
November 21, 2014
By 75TRIUMPH
from Rome,NY
" This replaced a vent-free with remote thermostat that had a temperature range of @ 10 degrees and not comfortable....this heater with the self contained thermostat is fantastic ! keeps temperature range within 3 degrees....the way to go "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Consider everything

,
November 20, 2014
By T2C2
from Abbeville, South Carolina
" Heats up our room quickly. It looks better than some less expensive gas heaters. But, the controls sit way too low and are difficult to view properly without putting your head to the floor. It also takes 2 hands to light the pilot - pressing in on both buttons. Since it sits on a hardwood floor, I have to hold the bottom of the unit with my thumbs (while using fingers to press the buttons,) to keep it from sliding backward. It would have been great if the store had a display before purchase. But, considering what's available, this was still the best choice for our needs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

more for looks

,
November 19, 2014
By Doc11
from Texas
" This heater is more for looks and to add something to the room but not for someone wanting to actually warm a room efficiently
If you have a new home or have done some remodeling to make a house more energy efficient then this could be a source of heat and stylish at the same time
The flame is all yellow to portray more of a wood burning style of flame
A good source of heat and best out put is a good blue flame with a hint of yellow on the very tip
It does look very nice and complements a room very well but is not a great heat source if your home is not well insulated
I think any heater should have to disclose info such as this " it is for style and looks and should not be considered a source of warming a home" or something along that line
It says it will warm a 1000 sq ft that is true if it is above average insulated if not above average then it is only about 800 sq ft or less
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
November 18, 2014
By mad1767
from Stanford, KY
" This is a great little fireplace. We added it to our 160 sq. ft. enclosed porch that has a 6 ft. opening to our kitchen. It not only warms the room quickly but also takes the chill off our cool kitchen. We bought the blower with it, but haven't used it, but will if we lose power to force heat thru the house. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this unit!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Stove

,
November 15, 2014
By BroBill
from Natchitoches, LA
" I couldn't be more pleased with this stove heater, it was easy to set up and puts out more heat than I ever thought it would. I read all the reviews and studied this heater before purchasing and I am certainly not disappointed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home Gas Stove

,
November 13, 2014
By jhaslett
from Poltland Oregon
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" The stove was installed and running in an evening. Had gas hook up parts ready a head of time.Stove is keeping our rooms/ 2 warmer than expected. Did install blower. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Never cycles off

,
November 12, 2014
By DK27
from Michigan
" I like this fireplace, but it doesn't work as good for me as it does for many others. Installed it the end of October and it has yet to cycle off. Today it was in the 30s but never got warmer than 64 on setting between 2-3 and after burning my wood stove, it's now 81 in my home but it still hasn't cycled off. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for a great price

,
October 30, 2014
By WojSci
from Red Creek, NY
" My in-laws have used this heater for several years to heat the 1st floor so my family purchased one this year. We are excited to have an inexpensive yet dependable source of heat for our home. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

selector dial--for pilot light and flame settings

,
October 7, 2014
By pro11
from arkansas
" great fireplace---only problem was the selector dial it was not pointing in the right direction --so when trying to light the pilot light it appeared to be in the correct position but was not "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very classy!

,
October 3, 2014
By songnbird
from Tonawanda, NY
" This replaces a vented wall furnace and is a great looking addition to our sun porch. It was fairly easy to assemble and set up. The only thing I would like is an ability to set a temperature at which it comes on.... a thermostat control. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product at a great price.

,
September 28, 2014
By JCandCC
from Bunn, NC
" We have had this stove for a year now and are very pleased with it. It heats our 1600 ft room very well. Easy to install and easy to operate. It looks great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY INSTALL

,
September 8, 2014
By BOBCATTF5
from Wautoma, WI
" EASY TO READ INSTRUCTIONS MAKE FOR A VERY EASY INSTALL, YOU PAY FOR WHAT YOU GET IN MOST CASES, BUT YOU GET THE BIGGEST BANG FOR THE BUCK WITH THIS STOVE, A LOT OF HEAT FOR A SMALL UNIT! JUST REMEMBER THAT ITS VENT LESS!!!! DON'T BURN ALL THE CLEAN AIR OUT OF YOUR HOUSE OR ROOM, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE AIR MOVEMENT THOUGH OUT THE HOUSE! AND HAVE A CO2 ALARM OR TWO INSTALLED JUST TO BE SAFE! WORKS GREAT FOR THAT FAST HEAT UP BEFORE THE PRIMARY HEAT SOURCE TAKES OVER!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.