Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"

"ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"

Item# 178010
"With this ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove, you can enjoy traditional styling and modern convenience. No wood or electricity is required. This classic stove operates on propane or natural gas for clean-burning performance even in power outages. Handpainted logs add the finishing touch of realism with no messy ashes left behind. Not for sale in California and Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Thermostat Included Yes, BTU Output 25,000, Blower Included No, Includes Hand painted logs, Color Black, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Stove, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 x 33 x 26. Works with blower for ProCom Fireplace/Stove, Item# 178119 sold separately Works with Oak and Cherry Hearth Pads Item#s 177589 and 177553, sold separately Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company"
Average Customer Rating:
4.827 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(249 Reviews) 249
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (249 reviews)
5 stars
219
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
243 of 249(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
73 Questions | 212 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Review 1 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

,
February 25, 2015
By Senile
from Delaware
" This heater was just what I wanted w/ good price to value, fan kit available, and shipped for free. Shipping time was very prompt. I couldn't have asked for a better fit to my need. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gas stove fireplace

,
February 23, 2015
By TR1021
from Philadelphia, TN
" Love the product and would recommend it. Power was off for several days and this was the only source of heat we had and we were able to stay warm and comfortable. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive Stove

,
February 20, 2015
By 1minutewarm
from New York, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I'm sorry I waited so long to purchase this unit. Works great and great looking. Easy to install. I keep it set on #2 and it maintains 70'. Great savings! I do recommend it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
February 19, 2015
By Jdds
from Ga
" This replaced old heater in my mothers house . Keeps it very warm and looks great. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this heater with installed blower!

,
February 16, 2015
By sportcolbs
from Tennessee
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This is easy to install. Just remember to tie the wires going to blower to back panel so they don't touch the heat shield. I did not and had to search the house for a GFI plug to reset. Our basement area is about 1650 square feet, and this heater helps keep us warm while working here. We are thinking of purchasing another for our great room! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Stove

,
February 9, 2015
By scjeff
from Little Mountain, SC
" I needed to have a supplemental heat source to stop my heat pump from running in auxiliary mode on cold nights. I also needed heat if/when the power went out. I researched and found that the ProCom stove met my needs and also looked great in my 100+ year-old home. I did not buy the blower but the heat output is fantastic without it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice item

,
February 8, 2015
By GEBO13
from Az
" Love the unit. Does exactly what we wanted. Very stylish and easy to operate. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
February 2, 2015
By JayM78
from Lansing MI
" I purchased this heater to supplement the heating source in case we lost electricity. It is now our primary heat source. I run this heater between 2 and 3 (13,000 btu's) and it keeps our 1200 sq ft home at 69 degrees. It runs for about 25 minutes (with the optional fan) the shuts off for 40 minutes. This is a fantastic product that looks nice and heats very well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NICE REPLACEMENT FOR MY FIREPLACE

,
January 25, 2015
By SCCoasty
from Gree, SC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have a vented NG log fireplace and was looking for a way to get more heat out into the room. I couldn't get a replacement log set because the fireplace is very small. It was never intended for heat. The only other recourse was to rip out the fireplace and replace it, at a huge cost. I found this heater and decide to try it. Fits perfectly into the first few inches of the fireplace without the back legs. Looks great and works fine. I gave it four stars because the instructions are confusing and, in some areas, wrong. NG pilot is on the right not the left, for one thing. All in all I would say this was a worthwhile purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Gas Stove

,
January 23, 2015
By HRoscoe
from Loudonville, OH
" This is my third gas fireplace by ProCom and let me tell you, they are super! Great warmth - nice and quick too. I keep my household thermostat at 62 degrees and upon returning home, I just turn up the fireplace and enjoy the heat! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

exactly as described!

,
January 15, 2015
By beginner101
from raleigh nc
" would be 5 stars but didn't set up or run it, however a very nice, sturdy dual fuel gas heater. Most unfortunately couldn't use it this year-- hook up to gas main very costly due to home construction & more line needed-- also unable use in room bought if for since overhead clearance was too close (48" min. needed)-- all signs pointed to returning it & rethink scenario for NEXT winter! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Little Stove

,
January 14, 2015
By Gerald1L
from Jackson, TN
" Likes:ease of assembly &installation, thermostat control, puts out good heat, appearance
Dislikes: blower installation was difficult, turning burner off while leaving pilot on is a bit tricky
; "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
December 22, 2014
By LCsmom
from Long Island, NY
" I highly recommend. This stove looks great AND warms the first floor of my home. Easy install (that's what BF said.) Going to get another one for upstairs! I forsee a huge savings in my heating bills too. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Room heater

,
December 22, 2014
By Dba123
from Cleveland oh
" This is an outsting product when coupled with the blower. Warms the room nicely and the thermostat controls well "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This heater rocks

,
December 20, 2014
By CastIronWendy
from Montana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Heater was very easy to install. We had a gas fireplace insert that was replaced by this stove. The insert was removed and we installed a solid metal face to close off the fireplace. The Procom sits in front of the fireplace opening. It works much better then our old insert. Our living room is nice and warm now. Best money spent. We have the thermostat set on 2. The stove is in a large room 20x20 with vaulted ceiling. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
December 17, 2014
By mikemnola
from New Orleans
" Bought this to supplement the central heat in my old and mostly un-insulated home. This unit seems to put out more heat than my central unit, which is not a big surprise because my central unit is electric and gas heat is the way to go. I assembled it with no problem but had a professional run the gas line. I'm pleased with the look and definitely much more comfortable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Pleased

,
December 17, 2014
By Greattimberwolf
from Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Purchased this for an addition to my new house that just had electric baseboard heat. Works great and looks even better. On a setting just above the 2 mark it keeps the 12X24 room toasty, so much so that I even closed the heat registers off in the room next to it. I did not get the blower for it and with a ceiling fan on low it circulates the heat quite nicely. I have also noticed that my main furnace doesn't run as long or as often. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the thermostat on it is a little hard to get it dialed in to the temperature I wanted. Once I did get it dialed in I marked the spot with liquid white-out. This is a new purchase so I can't say how it will hold up, but so far so good. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane Heater

,
December 16, 2014
By SangRunner
from McHenry, MD
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" When installing I sealed, closed and insulated my old fireplace and set the heater on the stone work in front of the old fireplace. It is not located in the fireplace as fire logs would be installed. It does set under the mantel which is about two feet above the heater. The top, sides and back of the heater only gets warm to the touch. The living room is approximately 17 X 32 and this unit heats it easily. I'm on the second year of use of my unit. It works so well that I'm thinking of getting a second unit just to have as a spare in case I have a problem which seems unlikely for awhile. We have very severe winters here in the mountains of western MD. We are located at about 2500' - 3000' and 0 to -10 below temperatures are not unusual. Last year the area recorded 175" of snow and the year before we had 264" recorded. This unit heated our living room very easily. Our unit has a fan, but we absolutely don't use it. It works fine without the fan and therefore there is almost zero noise which is great when watching TV. The fan on this unit is relatively very quiet, but then in my opinion any fan is noisy after a time.
One thing I've notice reading this heater's reviews is that I feel you might get the idea that the flame is adjustable, which it is not. You can set the temperature the unit comes on and goes off and that is how it controls the room temperature. Mine works very well and my living room on the number two setting controls the area at 71 degrees to 73 degrees. No fan or electrical power needed. The flame always stays the same. Moving the control knob only causes the heater to turn on or off at a different temperature. It is calibrated in a setting of 1 to 5 and you will need to find the correct setting which most likely will be around 2.
This unit works great. When starting a new unit care must be taken to purge the supply line of air so the pilot will burn and stay burning. I opened the line at the heater and allowed air to escape until I could smell gas. Reconnected and it started very easily.
I feel the heater is very efficient and would recommend this unit highly.
P.S.
Any open or drying petroleum products will cause the unit to give off odors as it will burn the vapors. This is pointed out in the manual. I learned this after finishing a table in the basement not to do that anymore. I found my error by googling and then reading the heater manual.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Stove

,
December 14, 2014
By tatumcreek
from In the Missouri Ozarks
" Had to wait since the stove was on backorder, but the wait was worth it! It hasn't turned cold-cold yet but the stove is heating the area(s) we purchased it for very nicely! Would recommend this stove to our friends and family. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fine Looking Heater

,
December 10, 2014
By Number1Pastor
from Carrollton IL
" The stove looks great. It arrived when they said it would even though it was back-ordered. My only concern is the lightweight material in its construction. The front grill had to be removed to install the logs. It came apart and went back together just fine, it is just that the metal is very light and easy to bend. It lit well after the air got out of the line and looks good in my room. It seems to be heating well too. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.