Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"

"ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"

Item# 178010
"With this ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove, you can enjoy traditional styling and modern convenience. No wood or electricity is required. This classic stove operates on propane or natural gas for clean-burning performance even in power outages. Handpainted logs add the finishing touch of realism with no messy ashes left behind. Not for sale in California and Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Blower Included No, BTU Output 25,000, Color Black, Includes Hand painted logs, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Stove, Thermostat Included Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 x 33 x 26, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000. Works with blower for ProCom Fireplace/Stove, Item# 178119 sold separately Works with Oak and Cherry Hearth Pads Item#s 177589 and 177553, sold separately Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company"
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(227 Reviews) 227
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (227 reviews)
5 stars
202
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
222 of 227(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions | 204 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Review 21 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
February 4, 2014
By Southbuck
from SC
"Not only does this heater look nice but it also really puts out a lot of heat with optional blower installed. It has 5 heat settings on it and we have never needed to use it above number 2. It regulates our home temp nicely while also saving on gas by turning off when pre-set room temp is reached. It's also very nice that you can turn off the pilot light when you leave home and light it again very easy. I am very pleased with this heater all around and would highly recommend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pro con fire place

,
February 4, 2014
By coco3733
from New jersey
"This stove really puts out the heat. I had no problem hooking up the unit myself. I set it up on my enclosed porch . The highest that I could set it is only on number one. My porch is only 14 X 12 and it would roast you out of the room. It will heat a much larger room then I have it in . Only one thing that could be bulid better is the control knob. Its hard to hold it at one temp. and to shut off when it reaches a set temp . other then that it is a good unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Effecient!! Excellent Value

,
February 4, 2014
By CTTerry15
from Stafford Springs, CT
"My house is all electric and you know that can kill you with New England winters. This fireplace easily heats the front half of the house and saves me a ton of money on electricity. It costs less than half to operate and it's a great addition to the living room. We have another one in the family room that takes care of the back half of the house. No pipes, vents or chimneys. No cutting, splitting or hauling wood, no ashes or mess to clean up. 99.8% efficiency so there is no smell or smoke. You can't go wrong with this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a hottie.......

,
February 4, 2014
By Wormy
from Kingsport, Tn
"2nd stove like this i have bought--- I love it. I put several quick connects in house and move this stove whereever the party is...."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent stove

,
January 8, 2014
By DW40
from Maine coast
"I have 2 of these stoves and all I have to say about them in one word is AWESOME. The stoves heat up our living room / kitchen & basement perfectly. I recommend the blower as well to circulate the air more effectively .
Being in the north with negative degree temps these keep you warm . Nice feature is the thermostat control.
Out of 100 + reviews and two bad reports well that speaks for itself . I found customer service to be courteous & and prompt. Would highly recommend .
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You just wont believe it...

,
December 28, 2013
By ManOMan
from Fairfield, CT
"Ok, first I'm in an old historic home (need I say anymore)... When i first seen it I was like yeah okay, ANYTHINGS better than this oil i'm burning.
You won't believe after the hour and a half of setting up with blower (please, get blower worthless without) my life has changed.
My entire first floor 1400sf is heated along with a portion of my second floor. I have not turned on my oil zone on my first floor since install of stove. I also don't have to hear my wife scream its chilly down her again.
What an ivestment I HIGHLY recommend this unit, plus its certified, tested and approved which our local Town inspector wanted."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome unit

,
December 13, 2013
By poppaj
from Barnegat New Jersey, South Jersey that is!
"This is my second winter with this fireplace, I did order and install the blower fan, WELL WORTH IT. We live in a 14 x 75 mobile home with 15 x 15 push out livingroom. In about the nicest senior community in south jersey. We have trees on our lot and space between the homes!. The whole place is like this, Brighton at Barnegat!, enough of my jabber. lol, This fireplace which in in the livingroom pushout will heat this entire home set at # 3 on the thermostat dile.
We have oil heat also but only run it to put some x-tra heat in the floor on very cold days. I Highly recommend this unit and we run on Nat gas. super nice The Wife loves to do her jigsaw puzzles in front of it. That's about all I have to say about that. poppajon
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Huge Money Saver

,
December 12, 2013
By abrandt
from MN
"I installed the ProCom Duel Fuel Stove three months ago to be used as an alternate heating source in my 120 year old farm house. When I first unboxed the stove I was a bit leary about the build quality but decided to proceed with the installation. Now after having been in constant daily use for three months I am impressed. This little stove heats my whole 1200 square foot house and keeps it above 70 degrees even in subzero temps. I have yet to run my forced air furnace this year and rely on this stove as my main source of heat. Also, my propane usage has dropped in half from at this time last year and my house is warmer. Overall I highly recommend this stove. My only wish would be for the possibility to control it with a thermostat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wishing I had this fireplace long ago.

,
November 23, 2013
By wavefan50
from Cullman, Alabama
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We put this in about 3 weeks ago. The fireplace was simple to install. Probably took 45 minutes all together. It heats up our little (1100 sq. ft.) house quickly and seems to be very efficient. I keep the heat turned down to 63 degrees and use this fireplace while we are awake. I turn it off completely (including the pilot) at night. The thermostat does not have temperature settings but it turns itself on and off based on 5 "general" settings. We pretty much keep it on the lowest setting all the time and it cycles on and off keeping it about 70 degrees in the main living area of the house. We have it hooked to a 100 lb. propane tank. Again, simple to do with minimal handy man skills. I have a daily email that tells me how much electricity we used the previous day. It seems to be much lower while we're using this fireplace. It seems, so far, that it is much more efficient than our electric heat pump. You can turn it up high enough to run yourself out of the room very easily. Very good appearance and appears to be well made. Also, it's only warm to the touch on top, sides and back. It's only hot on the front near the top. I don't know why you would ever need a blower unless you are trying to heat a very large space."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

ProCom Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T

,
November 20, 2013
By tjkaz
from AZ
"purchased one over a year ago , worked fine for about 3 months, then pilot light would not stay lit, took it to a certified licensed gas heater repair facility , changed over 100 dollars worth of parts 100 dollars worth of labor, really liked the unit when it is working but turned into a money pit, and now it does not work again, keep being told by ProCom my lp tank was not big enough and kept telling them it was hooked to a 250 gallon tank and it worked fine for 3 months but it no longers works again and i would highly Not recomend"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm

,
November 5, 2013
By Kcusa
from warwick, ri
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I first bought this heater without the blower. A year after decided to buy the blower and it really makes a big difference. The heater is warm, efficient and keeps my house cozy."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heater might be nice but Procomm isn't

,
October 31, 2013
By avmiii
from NJ
"got heater and blower assembled 9/25. However several logs were broken. I contacted Procom 10/1 and they said that they would send out logs. As of 10/31 logs are still on backorder to Procom. UNACCEPTABLE!! Was on hold for 40 min just to find this out, and told to call back days later when the issue would be referred to a supervisor. Not sure if it was, but no further information is available. Product seems ok, but I do smell something when it is on. Not sure I like that (nat gas fueled). no other experience as I'm waiting for logs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well built and works great once it lit up

,
October 22, 2013
By Longneck2
from Connecticut
"It looks nice and assembled okay. However, I had hard time to pilot light up because the selector knob could not be depressed on pilot mode. Figured out that I need to push the knob sideway to clear out and press down. Once it lights up, it gives out good heat with a blower even with 20 lb tank. Remember that POL thread is left handed thread to connect. Overall, I am happy with this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, love this heater

,
September 17, 2013
By Wewillie
from Celina, TX
"This heater heats the entire first floor of my house, saving us from running the central heat. It also adds a warm fireplace atmosphere to the room. This is the best, most attractive heater I have ever bought!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
14out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

procom vent free heater

,
September 17, 2013
By jackie9toes
from douglas,ma.
"I purchased this heater about 10 years ago ,and it still performs as it did then, A1.
it is not a replacement for a whole house heater but is perfect for a large room such as a play room in the basement or a large porch to warm it up .
I use it to cut down on the use of my forced hot air furnace (fuel oil is expensive here in the north east) and this stove can be used with an outside dual tank propane setup using 2 -20# grill tanks.
this enables me to go until November without using the main furnace.
I would highly recommend this heater to any one.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad directions

,
August 19, 2013
By Ronnyturp
from Attleboro, MA
"I started to put this heater together using the directions that came with it. First the legs did not line up with the 3 holes in the stove bottom. I called the technical support line they encourage you to call, but got a recording 3 times saying to call back another time.
The manual was full of incorrect information like it didn't even go with this stove. ProCom offered no help at all.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 stoves for 2 years

,
April 23, 2013
By saltydog404
from southern Illinois
"Three years ago, I Installed three stoves in my six room, single story, 2200 sq. ft., 125 year old house, as the only heat source. I am amazed at the warmth they provide which is more than adequate. The old house is well insulated and holds heat well. Blowers on two stoves are good, but not a deal breaker, as heat is distributed slowly and well without them, too.
My only gripe after the two years is the oily film the stoves put on to my one year old double-pane windows by the air discharge! Now what.??
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Propane Stove

,
April 23, 2013
By bigsone
from Sparks, NV
"The stove works very nice for an open room and saves on having to run additional duct work to tie into furnace in the home."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice reliable unit

,
March 7, 2013
By PAresident
from PA
"Have been using two of these units in a large 100 year old victorian. After two years they are going strong and they have paid for themselves many times over. One of the best investments I have ever made."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Stove - 25,000 BTU, Model# QD250T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Addition to New House

,
February 21, 2013
By Dad7432
from Finger Lakes NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
""This little stove is the second Procom product I have purchased. It puts out a lot of heat on high, and can be adjusted down to quite low and has a nice thermostat that lowers the flame as it nears its set point. It turns itself off when it hits the thermostat's set point (except for the pilot). Because of this it is a perfect source of backup heat for our 2600 sq foot lake house when the power fails. Ours is run off propane and the power fails often and for long periods of time. We have a backup generator that also runs off propane, but this is a backup to that, and it looks nice too. For the price, it is cheap insurance against pipe freeze up. Even though the house is brand new, we had to use this stove for a week as backup heat when both the power and generator failed -- and the contractor could not get in due to snow.
As nice as it looks (the flames are a nice yellow color) nobody who has ever seen a wood fire will be fooled into thinking that this is a real wood fire. The fact that there is no chimney is also a giveaway that this is something different. My picture does not do it justice, this is as it was installed the first time it was fired up, but the house is not finished and it was still sitting on the cardboard.
Despite the fact it puts out lots of heat, it is safe. Our stove sits directly on the wood floor in the center of a long narrow house (new) on the middle level. The bottom of the unit does not get hot and the top only gets warm -- you can put your hand on the top and it won't burn you. There is a downside to that safety: it is not a cook stove, even without blower running the top does not get hot enough.
I would consider the blower to be optional. We have it and it helps the stove to heat the place up a bit more quickly, but it is not a must have. Procom has improved the blower instructions over the past three years, although they could do a better job showing you exactly where to run the wires down the back -- you don't want the wires to touch the inside box where the flames are.
One other annoyance: It took my contractor and I about an hour to figure out that the little battery (supplied with the stove) goes INSIDE the LITTLE button you push to start the pilot light! Since we both had older Procom fireplaces (which don't need batteries, they use a push button piezo sparker) this was very confusing to us both. Nowhere in the stove's instructions did it show us exactly where the battery went. FYI, we learned that the pilot can also be lighted with a match if the battery dies!
All in all, this is a bargain and a great stove.""
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.