Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H

Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H

Item# 17846
"The Off-Road Commode is a great option when nature calls and there's no restroom for miles. Easily slides into any 2in. receiver hitch and supports up to 500 lbs. Ideal for hunters, fishing fanatics and camping enthusiasts. Not for use when vehicle is in motion. Can get slippery when wet. Accessory Type Commode. Full 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H seat size The 1 5/16in. dia. steel tube seat is covered with soft, padded camo for luxurious outdoor comfort."
Average Customer Rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
30 of 32(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Review 1 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun and useful

,
December 9, 2014
By Kalo
from Knoxville, TN
" I got this as a gift for a dirty Santa exchange. I know it will generate some laughs but that it will be very popular as well. The group includes several hunters and outdoor enthusiast who may covet it. It is kind of heavy but It seems to be made well and reasonably priced, especially compared to other models I saw. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchaser

,
October 14, 2014
By ChiefCookAndBottleWasher
from WV
" Purchased as a gift for my son; he works in the oil fields tending oil wells and lots of off road work. He keeps it in his truck for emergencies. Nice heavy construction and soft seat. I was very pleased with my purchase! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Commode lifts experience

,
May 15, 2014
By 3745
from Cheboygan Michigan
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" ATV, cold wet woodland, and the of road Commode made natures call, came together in perfect harmony. I now carry the off road commode as priority cargo. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outback outhouse

,
February 7, 2014
By Montana2
from Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" We spend a lot of time in Montana off-road for hunting, camping, exploring and other fun. There are no rest areas, gas stations or other facilities when nature calls. My wife especially dislikes brush piles or snowbanks alongside back roads for such purposes. The Off Road Commode is actually a very utilitarian device that meets a real need when driving in the backcountry. This is no gag gift, it is a sturdy, comfortable and easily mounted/dismounted seat that is very stable. For those that spend a lot of time in the backcountry, this is a must have item for your truck. Great invention! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

off road commode

,
February 4, 2014
By RJQQQQQ11111
from Topeka
" Heck of a good tool! Built solid. Bought it for my 15 old son to have in case of emergency while deer hunting. His older sister laughed when he opened it for Christmas. Everyone loves it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get'er Done

,
April 23, 2013
By Jun1966
from Texas
" Great accessory when you are away from the home. Work as one would expect. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

,
October 19, 2011
By Timbeaux
from MS
" I purchased this product before I started bringing my little boy hunting. He was young enough where "emergencies" often approach with little notice. The first time it was used, I knew it was worth every penny. If you're concerned about the covers and hygene, I've found that Subway take-out bags work great as sanitary disposable covers. News paper bags work great too. I carry a little water proof bucket w/TP, the bags, and plastic grocery bags for carry out along with HAND GERM KILLER. If you purchase this product and find yourself in need of using it just once, I think you'll agree it's worth the money. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Useful Novelty..!

,
October 11, 2011
By BelleBoy
from Southern Maryland
" Although this was purchased as a gag for my son, it is quite well made, suitably padded, and certainly useful when nature calls in the wilderness. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice seat

,
June 1, 2010
By sparkye
" Works well holds a lot. Just make sure you move your car before you hitch up your camper! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Toilet on the Go

,
June 1, 2010
By northerntoolholic
from CONYERS GA 30094
" If you work like we do, timber cutting, off road a toilet is never close. This is a super product that I would highly recommend. Great for construction, camping also. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

off road commode

,
February 15, 2010
By NHH13
from Kansas City, Mo.
" Works as it is intended. Very handy when out in the field and no other options are available. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Hygenic and not Tread Lightly Compatible

,
January 21, 2010
By jage
from Colorado
" If you have celiacs or IBS this may seem like a dream product, but honestly going on or near the trail without a way to catch the waste is plain rude, and navigating off the trail into virgin territory is unacceptable. There is no way to "Pack it out" so to speak.
In addition to that the cover and padding are non-hygenic. Sure it's great for a laugh, but there is no way to clean the product surface or the padding underneath.
This might be funny as a gag gift, but for real use it is very poorly designed. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-57points
3out of 63found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
WhoopeeCushion
Somewhere south of a border 
 
Please wait while more information about WhoopeeCushion is loaded.
Additional information about WhoopeeCushion could not be loaded.
Suggestions to reviewer
August 25, 2011
" Well, in response to your review....
You can take a small shovel along and dig a hole first underneath the seat...
You could place a 5 gallon bucket under the seat, close the bucket up with a lid when done and "pack it out"
Or you can take along a dog like ours who'll make sure its all cleaned up before too long....gross, but true!
Just use some common sense and it can be a good product for a part of life that can be ignored. "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr

,
November 24, 2009
By Measuretwicecutonce
from Florida
" As all the others have said, "a great and useful product". However, a great big, huge piece of advice, try inserting it at home, BEFORE its need is critical. I demoed this product for the Mrs. and discovered that it would not fit into 2 of the 3 recievers available. It would work on the truck's rear reciever, but not the front one or the one on the ATV. These are all standard name brand recievers, and I'd never had a draw bar that didn't work in them. It was just a hair to large on all 4 corners. As I was home, with a full workshop, a few minutes radiusing the corners on the bench grinder had it working satisfactorly. A little spray paint, and good as new. It goes without saying, but I will anyway. Carry a shovel, dig a hole first, before doing the deed, and be sure to fill in afterwards. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Funny Gift

,
July 20, 2009
By JJKeen
from Milwaukee, WI
" My father-in-law always complains about the number of stops they need to make for my Mother-in-law to go to the bathroom when we are on trips. So we thought we would fix that by giving them a potty that can be used almost anywhere. They recently retired and will be doing lots of traveling and the off road commode looks great on the back of their new truck!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Commode to the rescue

,
March 16, 2009
By jd4244
from Thunder Bay Ontario Canada
" When I saw it I had to have one. I had to pick it up at the border. When I went across to get it the U.S. border guard asked what I was getting and I had to show him a picture of this wonderful product. He took one look and with a big smile said I better get going and pick it up. This was one of the quickest crossing ever. He wanted to know if he could have a copy of the info so he could get one too. As I was going back into Canada about 20 minutes later the Canadain border guard took one look at my purchase and also wanted to know how he could get one. Who knew a little thing like a commode could be so helpful in border crossings. All my hunting buddies laughed at it when I had it out moose hunting this fall. After a couple of days of rain all my hunting buddies wanted one too. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Long Road Trips

,
November 18, 2008
By Anonymous
from Albuquerque
" The off road commode works great! My wife bought this for me for our drives from ABQ to SAT. We always leave about 2:00 am and I always have to pull over about 3 hours into our drive. I just pull off the Highway on an empty road, slide the seat into the receive hitch and have a seat. Same goes for her. Both of us hate using gas station bathrooms. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely changed my first impressions

,
November 18, 2008
By Puregore
from St-Albans, VT
" When I first saw this thing in the Northern Tools catalog, I thought it was the silliest idea ever. But then the more I thought about it, the more sense it made. Within a few hours, I had completely changed my mind. This is the greatest idea for a product ever! Not only is it convenient, it also made a fantastic gift for my brother-in-law who goes camping frequently. When he unwrapped his gift, he also thought it was a great product idea. Now it's indispensable on his camping trips. The quality is outstanding, the seat is surprisingly comfortable and the price is right. I definitely recommend this to anyone who goes camping. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Off-Road Way to Go

,
November 17, 2008
By Speck50
from Torrington, WY
" This was a gift for my husband. He loved it as he does a lot of off road hunting. Sure made things easier and was the talk of hunting camp. The construction is solid and held a 260 lb man without any problem. Good for older people who are out in the woods and can no longer bend down for any length of time. Great Idea. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gift idea!!

,
August 11, 2008
By jbrowne
from Troy, MO
" We bought this as a gag gift for a friend and he absolutely loved it!! We even made a toilet paper holder stand to go with it. He camps often and goes on a few extended road trips every year. I don't know if he will actually use it but knowing him, he just may!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Off-Road Commode - 18in.L x 13in.W x 3in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gift

,
April 21, 2008
By bubb
from Louisiana
" Got the off road commode as a gift for my friend who is a forester and a hunter. He uses the great outdoors more than any other person I know. Now he can do it in comfort! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.