Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"

"Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"

Item# 178503B
"Quantum shelf bin system comes complete with 96 durable plastic bins. Economical small parts storage system keeps parts easily accessible. Open hopper front bins with label area provide fast access to stored items. Rear 'V' lock enables bins to be hung from shelf above when in use. Constructed of high-grade, 22-gauge 36in. wide standard shelving. Gray baked enamel finish metal will not rust or corrode. Bin dimensions are 11 5/8in. x 4 1/8in. x 4in. each. 400-lb. capacity per shelf. Total unit is 75in.H x 36in.W x 12in.D. U.S.A. Shelves qty. 13, Material Type FDA approved polypropylene, Bin Divider Item Number s 2785010, Bin Dimensions L x W x H in. 11 5/8 x 4 1/8 x 4, Bins Included qty. 96 # 278501, Bin Color Blue, Shelving Type Steel shelving, Dimensions D x W x H in. 12 x 36 x 75, Weight Capacity lbs. 400 per Shelf, Metal Gauge 22, Bin Type Included Economy shelf bin."
Average Customer Rating:
4.053 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
16 of 19(84%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Review 1 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Descent Shelf

,
July 13, 2015
By
from Mason, MI
Nice way to organize multiple bins. Wish the shelf was a little heavier built.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

storage shelves

,
March 11, 2015
By
from Olympia, Wa
Good unit for hardware and automotive electrical products
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
May 11, 2014
By
from Houston, TX
Just purchased this smaller bin unit after we used the bigger bin unit.
Nicely built, very easy to put together and excellent all around product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

bolt bin

,
May 7, 2012
By
from Lexington, VA
The Good....Very strong construction and simple to assemble. Nice place on the front of the bins to label them, and there are provisions for dividing each bin.
The bad...Only thing I was expecting the small red bins to be somehow attached to the frame. In other words the entire bincan fall out when you are pulling it out.
Overall I am very happy with this for clips and bolt organization in our auto repair shop.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Item

,
January 16, 2012
By
from Clinton Missouri
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This is an excellent storage unit. Small floor footprint with maximum storage space. Well designed and heavy duty. Easy to assemble with no missing parts.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A good product for the price

,
January 13, 2012
By
from Utah
I have used this in my shop to hold bolts, nuts, fitting and other misc parts. It was short fasteners so I had to use some of my own. It seems a bit weak on the construction.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Storage System

,
June 7, 2011
By
from Boston, MA
I've been messing around for years with storing fasteners, plumbing and electrical fittings, and all manner of stuff in cans, jars, boxes and just about everything else. I finally decided to go pro, and buy this storage system and am thrilled. The additional dividers are a necessity, since the bins are big enough to hold a lot. It's allowed me to clean up my shop and save a lot of time, finding the right supplies and restocking items when I get low. I should have bought this type of system 20 years ago.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

QuantumStorage

,
March 21, 2011
By
from Pa
Overall this product is great for organizing and storing items. I purchased it for hardware storage. The plastic bin dividers can pop out of postion if the bin is loaded heavy.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected.

,
March 15, 2011
By
from Texas
While the shelf unit is fairly stable I had expected that the bins would somehow slide or be held in place. Instead it is just a bunch of shelves with a bunch of bins which easily shift when getting one out such that it is then difficult to get back in. Based on the pictures it looks like they would fit in just right but in reality it isn't nearly so organized. It will do the job but wouldn't buy one again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy!

,
November 8, 2010
By
from Arizona
I bought this for my husband for his birthday...didn't take him long to fill the bins with his misc. mini pieces and parts. This unit is great. It's easy to put together, 'attractive', the bins are tough and versatile and they make getting organized easy and efficient. Shipping was fast and it came in several boxes. A word of advice, don't forget to order the bin dividers that go with this unit as it doesn't come with any.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Storage Bins

,
June 3, 2010
By
from Leander, TX
Opening a new hardware store in a limited space, we needed room for bolts and steel fittings. These bins worked out great. The depth was perfect and the locking lip on the bins kept the plastic bin in place while the customer retrieved there merchandise. I purchased 2 of these units and still use them in our new bigger store. I would highly reccomend these to anyone.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!!!

,
October 19, 2009
By
from NYC
I gotta tell ya< it was shipped fast, cheap and i put it together in a snap! My friends think i have a hardware store in my garage now! i wish i had room for another! it is such a time saver, nevermind clutter eliminator!
GREAT JOB NORTHERN!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

96 bin unit

,
December 10, 2008
By
from Akron ohio
item was well made. a little pain putting it together with all the nuts and bolts and 13 shelfs. best to assemble on a flat surface and square up as you tighten all the bolts. It was sturdy after it was assemble for only being 12" deep.
only reason i didnt give it a 5 was the bins can be pushed back to far. to keep that from happening, i took sheet metal 33" long by 2" wide and bent it 1" up,
1/2" over then 1/2" up and pop rivited the 1" side to the back of the shelf, this way the bins have a stop to them
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy Unit with lots of storage

,
November 18, 2008
By
from Central Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Purchased this parts storage rack for shop on my ranch. Instructions for assembly could be a little more complete but if you are handy at all you can get it put together within a few hours (you have to plan out the spacing so all the shelves fit for all 96 bins - no instruction is given). All hardware was included with some extra bolts and nuts for spares.
The unit is very solid and sturdy after the cross braces are installed. Shelves are good quality with nice finish. I have already filled most of the 96 bins... you can never have enough storage for all the nuts, bolts, nails, screws and other odd parts in your shop or garage! Really like the design of the bins as they will latch at the top when you pull them out so you can easily see in the bin. We bolted a piece of 1/4 inch MDF on the back to prevent bins from falling out if you shove them in too hard.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great storage

,
August 17, 2008
By
from washington
holds a great amount of weight. i use it for nuts and bolts and it holds up well
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

bins

,
June 11, 2008
By
from washington
I was so disappointed with these bins. Some of my shelves had dents and the paint was chipped, it was crazy putting it together, it is rather flimsy, and the bins were squashed so the sides of the bins were odd shaped. I was very unhappy!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

96 Bin Unit

,
May 18, 2008
By
Exactly what I expected. Tedious to assemble, very stable when done. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was that at eight bins per shelf, it is a bit hard to pull out one bin at a time when in a hurry. No problem with instructions (you do have to interpret a bit). I'm not likely to shove a 12 inch box seven inches in, so the lack of a back was not an issue.
I probably won't use the 45 degree exposure thing a lot, but it worked with a heavy box.
I liked it enough that I called Northern to order an empty shelf unit and some wide bins. Northern could not find the empty unit, so Quantum pointed me to someone else. So, I now have two units, bolted together. Bought some wide bins from Northern,, and have the 96 4" units, 18 12" units, and three empty shelves for some flat storage.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf unit

,
May 4, 2008
By
from Southern Indiana
I tried to give it 0 stars but it wouldn't let me. Absolute worst piece of junk I have ever ordered from Northern Tool. Instructions are a joke. I had better luck from the picture on the internet than the instructions. No details on how far apart to put shelves. No back to the unit to keep bins from sliding off the back The bins held at 45 degrees in the picture are a joke. Don't put more than 2 bolts in them or they will fall out. Highly disappointed, should have guessed why it was on sale.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Quantum Storage 96 Bin Shelf Unit - 12in. x 36in. x 75in. Rack Size, Blue"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quantum Storage System 96 bin shelving

,
October 8, 2007
By
from Orange Park, FL
The 96 bin storage unit from Quantum is a great system. It's sturdy and well thought out. It is versitle too in the fact that you can modify the shelving to suit your needs. I use it for the many small bolts, nuts, and tiny electronic items that I used to store in those little plastic drawer type units that always seems to wind up mixing all of it's contents together with every little bump and jossle.
The unit is quick to assemble and light enough for one person to put it all together.
The only thing that keeps me from giving this a 5 star rating was the shipping. It took me over three weeks to get the items but that was due to a mistake on the shippers part (Yellow Fright) They had the items with in days of ordering but since the items were wrapped together (which I thought was a great idea) in plastic wrap into four seperate wrappings they thought it was only four boxes vice the eight it was.
After the thrid week I asked them to send me what they had. Once it arrived and unwrapped it was indeed eight boxes. A needless wait that I hope Quantum and Northern will look into.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.