Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics Firewood Rack Bracket Kit, Model# 90142MI

2x4 Basics Firewood Rack Bracket Kit, Model# 90142MI

Item# 179063
These durable structural resin brackets let you create a firewood rack that is perfectly suited to your needs. Using the 2x4s of your choice, you create a rack of any length up to 8-ft.L and 4-ft.H. Combine kits to create racks with multiple layers to separate larger logs from kindling or to make better use of available space. U.S.A. Capacity lbs. 1,000, Material Structural resin. Keeps firewood off of the floor and neatly organized Simple assembly requires just a saw and screwdriver Only 90 cuts are required for construction
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (7 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 of 7(57%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics Firewood Rack Bracket Kit, Model# 90142MI
Review 1 for 2x4 Basics Firewood Rack Bracket Kit, Model# 90142MI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

indoor rack

,
October 17, 2011
By brojim
from Larwill In
"I use this item in my den. I stained some 2x4's to make it more appealing and placed it up against the wall It looks good and works well. My rack is 5' Lx 4' H. holds a good amount of wood for a week or so of burning. Thinking of buying another one for the back deck, To bring the wood closer to the house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 2x4 Basics Firewood Rack Bracket Kit, Model# 90142MI
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Very Strong

,
October 10, 2011
By rabidbeaver
from Massena, NY
"The brackets are not very strong and cannot hold a 90 degree angle."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 2x4 Basics Firewood Rack Bracket Kit, Model# 90142MI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wood rack bracket

,
October 10, 2011
By drift52
from collegeville,pa
"The overall system was nice and easy to assemble, with multiple styles. I had to put an extra 21/2" screw into each upward 2x4 into the base 2x4 because it was flexing. Which seemed to make the unit stronger."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 2x4 Basics Firewood Rack Bracket Kit, Model# 90142MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Model 90142

,
October 10, 2011
By 1exjarhead
from Custer, SD
"Good simple idea that works. This allows you to custom build a log rack any size you want. When we finished, we had efficiently used space on our porch for the rack. No more trudging through the snow for wood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 2x4 Basics Firewood Rack Bracket Kit, Model# 90142MI
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Better off..

,
March 22, 2011
By b82rez
"..using some betteer brackets that have some support in the middle. By the time you load this design it will sag pretty far.
I ended up disassembling it and redoing."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 2x4 Basics Firewood Rack Bracket Kit, Model# 90142MI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Blitz Firewood Rack Bracket Kit, Model# 90142

,
November 17, 2010
By BuckeyeBowhunter
from Central Ohio
"Pro's:
Quick and easy to assemble, just add 2x4's of desired length. Holds just as much wood as you can imagine and its up off the ground/floor. Using inside for nice store of 2-3 weeks worth of wood.
Con's
2x4's are placed flat so they sag in the middle when loaded. If it was designed for installing on side this would not be and issue. I solved by placing appropriate size piece underneath. Side bars are able to move side to side. am going to install short 2x4 on top edge to eliminate movement.
Overall Satisfied, purchased 2 and will probably order 2 more. Would recommend ! Spike
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 2x4 Basics Firewood Rack Bracket Kit, Model# 90142MI
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not very sturdy.

,
November 16, 2010
By DSW99
from Broadway, VA
"The design lays the bottom 2x4s flat so they are not supported in the middle and will bow when filled with wood. I shoved a 2x4 scrap under it in the middle for support. I have seen another brand that sets the board on edge on the ground so it is supported and won't bow."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Baileyscomet
Martha's Vineyard 
 
Please wait while more information about Baileyscomet is loaded.
Additional information about Baileyscomet could not be loaded.
use 4x4's
July 8, 2012
"I am about to order 2 sets of these. I think it's a great design! I already have a different style that the 2x4's are vertical on the bottom rails. i built it as an 8' rack. It also bows in the middle even with the wood on edge. the design had no room for change. after that I build one without pre-made brackets out of 4x4's that held up very nicely, however it was a lot more work! I plan to make a 16'er with 4x4 rails using an extra set to support the center and uprights on the 8' mark. that should do the trick!!!"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)