Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI

2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI

Item# 179065
Use the 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit to make a custom workbench to fit anywhere you need a work surface or a storage area. Simply add 2x4s and plywood or particleboard to these leg supports to create a workbench 36in. tall in any length or width up to 8' x 4'. U.S.A. Capacity lbs. 1,000 per shelf, Includes Hardware, Finish Type Black plastic, Material Heavy ga. resin. Only straight 90 cuts are required - no miters or angles Simple assembly with power screwdriver and saw Made of durable heavy gauge structural resin Recommended lumber 2x4s not included Assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.848 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (46 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 46(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Review 1 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kit!

,
March 26, 2014
By Craig831
from Milwaukee, WI
"I'm no pro. I can cut straight and put things together but I won't win any speed contests. I bought these because I was given a miter saw and band saw for Christmas so my plan was to build a long bench for one and a square one for the other. I decided to go 6' x 2' for the miter saw and 2' x 2' for the band saw. The kits made it extremely easy to put together two nice looking, sturdy, functional workbenches. I'd recommend them to anybody. Great product!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great kit

,
February 11, 2014
By lovetheheater
from Tulsa, OK
"This kit makes a great bench. I made it 4x8' and used 3/4" plywood for only the top and bottom shelves. I left the middle shelf out, so I can store taller stuff on the bottom shelf.
The bench is very strong and does not move at all unless you really want it to. It is easy for one person to assemble. I would put together another, but I don't have room. :)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent leg set

,
October 23, 2013
By Dan23
from South Carolina
"I found the leg set very easy to use and very strong. I created two 2 x 8 foot work benches for my work shop and I am pleased with the results. I added 1 x 4s to raise the top above the legs and then used 3/4 in plywood that overlapped the top of the legs. I put a 1 x 2 in edge on the plywood. I stained it light oak and finished with a gloss polyurethane varnish. The 2 x 4s were painted black. It made a very nice looking workbench. I put 1 shelf a the lowest level using 1/2 plywood. This was also stained light oak and finished with polyurethane"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

simple workbench

,
April 26, 2013
By Toolman56
from Tennessee
"I was skeptical of this product at first, but the kit made it very simple to construct the workbench. I ended up buying another kit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good customizeable workbench

,
April 24, 2013
By Ultimatequestion
from Fairfax, VA
"The sturdy legs can be used with your choice of lumber sizes to make a custom workbench."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Going to buy a couple more!!!

,
April 23, 2013
By J5000
from Eaton, Ohio
"This is a great kit.! Cheaper than building one. If I need more room, just take it apart and store it out of the way. Going to buy some more for drill press and miter saw. It is really stronger than you can imagine! Great Item!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2X4 Workbench

,
April 23, 2013
By KDCVSC
from Texas
"This workbench is as solid as granite. I used ply wood and reinforced each shelf with an additional 2X4. Its heavy but I won't need to move it. I even cut out some of the middle shelf so I could sit in front of it while I work. The possibilities are endless."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy as it gets instant workbench

,
April 23, 2013
By msteinha
from Mableton, GA
"This workbench is as easy at it comes. Add 2x4's and you are done. You can make it any reasonable size, and it is very sturdy. Great for any beginner looking to add a reasonable workbench to their basement or workshop. Price was very good, and value was even better."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Close but no cigar!

,
February 13, 2013
By JoeKnows
from Wisconsin
"I am a proffesional and have been for 35 years and 4 certified trades many 1 step up at a time. I saw this and right away I saw a sheetmetal layout bench with 3'X8' sheetmetal storage, also and machine benches in the shop, even an incredibly easy woodworking bench (with a couple upgrades maybe) or a blue print reading table etc .But then I can hear many people say,"All I am saving is the cost of $12.00 for 2- 8' untreated 4 X 4's. The idea is through the roof but the one way they would be viable is for temporary
work stations on construction jobs and then they would without any doubt invalueable and a well needed product and then a great buy.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-20points
3out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Than The Average Steel Bench

,
January 8, 2013
By TemplesOfSyrinx
from Chicago IL
"I now have 5 of these in my sewer-backup-prone basement and in my garage. They not only have saved me many hundreds of dollars in steel workbenches that, in several instances, I would have used only as a table, but they, unlike steel workbenches, can be made with the size of a 4'x8' sheet of plywood as a maximum. I have had great success in using them as a base for power tools such as a router table, portable table saw, and drill press and have used them for projects requiring a large flat surface, such as gate construction. They also look great with oak/birch veneer tops/shelves and cedar 2x4's as the frame, Many thanks to Northern Tool for introducing me to these workbenches."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
November 18, 2012
By gbatch
from Hope Valley, RI
"Awesome product and super useful tool bench. Took about an hour to put together and cut the pieces of wood to the size I needed, but it is a great product and would highly recommend it to others. You can attach items to the plywood top (power strip, miter saw, clamps, etc) and move them around for ease of use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK Beginner Bench

,
October 9, 2012
By Tiogaman
from South Lake Tahoe Calif
"Excellent Northern service and assembled as advertised.
Bought this because I was short on time to get a bench going at second home.
You need to pay attention to keeping each corner leg aligned as you drive screws.
It's not beautiful but it gets the job done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-11points
4out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition to my workshop

,
October 8, 2012
By VintageAirplaneGuy
from St. Croix Falls, WI
"I've got 3 of these units. Really great design; very flexible and well built.
Can't get enough of these things!!!!!!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 x 4 work bench

,
August 17, 2012
By Tenpoint
from Arkansas
"I found this to be very easy to assemble and liked that it could be build to fit the space I had available. I did exceed the directions by also gluing all the joints and gluing each sheet of plywood in. It looks fine and is sturdy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

40

,
August 14, 2012
By WK01
from Horse Shoe, NC
"Got this for my new shop and love it! meets all my needs and then some. Made mine out of treated material so its heavy, just the way I wanted. Could not get better material and has stood up to some heavy duty projects. Would recommend this bench kit to anyone!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sturdy and clean

,
August 13, 2012
By NoSlackNick
from N metro MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I got these on clearance with a coupon, so good deal.
I used average 2x4's (some reclaimed) and new mid- grade plywood. The shelves were fairly easy to assemble as a 2x8 unit. directions were just clear enough but the copy wasn't very good.
I used a few extra screws than required.
Hardest part is about midway, when you need to do a bit of balancing on the long sides.
I did two units, and quickly filled them up. Due to the nature of the build, the bottom two shelves are pretty close together, so hard to utilize those spaces."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy build

,
May 14, 2012
By Mike1972
from CA
"The bench was real easy to build even by myself. I have very little wood working experience besides shop in high school 22 years ago but this was real easy to build and only took me about an 45 minutes. I love that I can reuild it at anytime and change the size to fit my space. When the top counter gets worn out I can just get another sheet of plywood and it will feel like a new bench. Great product and the screws that it comes with are fine. If by your self clamps or in my case a wall that you can push the 2x4's up against helps drill the screws."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality

,
May 14, 2012
By kkgconnecticut
from danbury connecticut
"Received the kit as described and please with quality of all the components, resin pieces, hardware and direction all quality goods. does permit flexibility in sizing the bench for customization to your space. ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great basic workbench

,
May 14, 2012
By Kmo99
from Atlanta, Ga
"Kit had sturdy legs and easy instructions. Cut a few 2x4's and some plywood, screw it together and you've got a very nice basic work surface with plenty of ways to attached a vise or other tool. Would recommend to any friend who wanted something easy to put together and customize to the size they need."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect bench!

,
May 8, 2012
By SCReloader
from Charleston, SC
"I was skeptical about using this as the backbone of my reloading bench project but much to ny surprise it has made the bench extremely sturdy while simplifying the project overall. These are just the legs so you can build the bench to the size you want it to be so I was able to customize my bench to fit my needs. Highly recommend!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.