Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"

"2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"

Item# 179065
Use the 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit to make a custom workbench to fit anywhere you need a work surface or a storage area. Simply add 2x4s and plywood or particleboard to these leg supports to create a workbench 36in. tall in any length or width up to 8' x 4'. U.S.A. Only straight 90 cuts are required - no miters or angles Simple assembly with power screwdriver and saw Made of durable heavy gauge structural resin Recommended lumber 2x4s not included Assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.877 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (65 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
65 of 65(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Review 1 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 basics

,
May 29, 2015
By TpWoodshop
from Northern California
" Great idea, great product. Completely flexible to your needs and adjustable.
I needed a good solid bench but it needed to be removable. This is the right product.
I have a couple of different tops for mine so the versatility has saved me time and money.
Whoever thought of this needs to the idea of the year award. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench Kit

,
April 13, 2015
By Thanks5
from Alvin, TX
" I happen to see this item in an advertisement recently and needed another work table in my shop. I built the table this past weekend. I made it 36" x 72". I used 3/4" plywood for the tabletop and the bottom shelf. Went together very easily in about an hour and a half. Very sturdy table was the end result which I will get a lot of use out of. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Table EVER!

,
March 12, 2015
By CW68
from Long Beach, CA
" I bought 2 of these kits so I could design a modular-multipurpose shop-table, gaming table and desk/workstation. For what I wanted to do it took me about 4 hours to put together, If I wanted just a basic table it would have taken less than 20 minutes. Would definitely recommend, in fact I am looking purchasing the 2X4 Tool Holders. As far as Northern Tool, customer service was awesome! It shipped within 24 hours of purchased and showed up on time! Definitely will us again. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice workbench kit

,
March 11, 2015
By MikeSlink
from Bonita Springs, FL
" The product is essentially four legs and screws but nonetheless it makes the building of a bench rather easy. Requires you to make straight cuts in 2x4s and to cut your shelves and bench top. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong, sturdy and Stable

,
March 7, 2015
By Albsr
from Atlanta
" The 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit is all it claims. Easy to assemble, versatile and Strong.
the "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 basics table

,
February 24, 2015
By ALGRN
from Dublin, GA
" I used the 2x4 basics table set to build a small table for my drill press. It was very stable and worked great for this. There were no angles to cut and it was very easy to build by myself. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work bench

,
February 23, 2015
By Redhotpop
from West Memphis. AR
" Great starter kit for a work shop. My area is a little smaller so I actually modified the table to four feet by eighteen inches. That makes reaching to the back a little easier and also seems to be a tad bit sturdier. I used treated wood myself to insure a lasting work table. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reloading Bench

,
February 9, 2015
By Begin
from Spearman, TX
" The legs cut bench building time by 3/4ths. I had my bench completed in one day 6'L X 24" W with 3/4" birch plywood shelves. The product design is great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 ft x 8 ft workbench

,
January 16, 2015
By brians103
from Portsmouth NH
" I wanted a large workbench for my shop but didn't necessarily want all the weight. I bought the 2x4 workbench kit, Model# 90158MI, to lighten the load as well as make the bench as quickly as possible.
In one hour, I made a 3 foot x 8 foot two shelf bench using pressure treated 2x4s and 3/4 plywood. It could not have been easier and quicker. (I added the pegboard and shelf a few days later)
I would strongly recommend this product to anyone who is just starting out or wants a bench custom to their needs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy simple solution

,
December 8, 2014
By DougSr
from Canton, Ga
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I like this product. Its versatility is one of the best parts of the design. I just used a laminate for the temporary top and will some time get a nicer top for it but its simple and fun project to assemble. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As good as advertised

,
November 19, 2014
By dlc1979
from Southwest Missouri
" This kit makes building the average garage/shop bench a snap. One the 2x4's are screwed into place for the frame, everything gets squared up automatically, then it's just a matter of adding the plywood shelves, and screwing the remaining assembled frame on to complete.
If I had to do it over, I'd leave off the middle shelf, but it's not a show stopper.
I substituted 3/4" for the top, and made cross braces for each shelf and the top since I had an 8'x3' span, but I don't see why it wouldn't be good with the 1/2" plywood and diagonal brace.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Instant Workbench!

,
October 12, 2014
By cptmidnite640
from Littleton
" I needed a quick instant workbench for my basement. Since my basement is not totally dry, the leg material is perfect for this environment. After it was assembled the bench is very, very solid. A wonderful work bench.
A built in self was great, would have been nice if it was adjustable. For the price it is great.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful, Weather Resistant Bench Legs

,
October 9, 2014
By idaintheWood
from Aylett, VA
" I purchased this product for an exterior "chop saw" bench. I use this on the exterior of my wood shop to rough cut long dimensional lumber milled on my bandsaw mill. The legs provide me with the longevity in all weather conditions and the option to renew the bench top materials when they become damaged or weather-battered. I would certainly recommend this product to my friends. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Basics Workbench Kit

,
June 30, 2014
By YWAIT
from Oakboro, NC
" Real time saver. I purchased two kits and built custom sized benches, one for the woodworking shop in the basement and the other for the automotive shop in the garage. Totally satisfied and have already recommended this kit to others. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy, I ordered a second one

,
May 29, 2014
By Jim80018
from Denver, CO
" At first I thought this was a lot of money for some pieces of plastic, but quickly changed my mind when I built a new hobby bench. It made the process of putting together a 30" x 8' work bench real easy. Drop the 2x4's in place, screw them in and screw on the plywood. I was done in less than 30 minutes. It looks great. The only thing I had to buy was wood and I added little leveling feet to the bottom of the legs. I would recommend this product to everyone. It was so good I ordered a second one as soon as I was done putting the new bench together. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench Construction

,
May 21, 2014
By 11142107
from Glendale Arizona
" I enjoyed the process of building this bench. The instructions were simple and I followed them with only one change. I did not install the diagonal brace under the top level. Instead I used two cross members under each level "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Legs

,
May 21, 2014
By Tmblewd
from Phoenix, AZ
" I bought the 2X4 Basics Workbench Kit to build a work bench for my reloading press. I like the fact that being able to make a work bench to my dimentions assists with people with limits work space. I made my table 30 inches wide and 48 inches long. The legs are very sturdy and when placed at the corner of your table. screw right in place. My next house will have more room to use these legs to make a bigger table!! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Bench Kit

,
May 13, 2014
By MDH06
from Rochester, MN
" This was easy to put together and you can make the bench as big as you want. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great basic bench kit

,
May 11, 2014
By Trumax11
from Columbus, Ohio
" These are great basic bench legs. We've used these to make everything from 3'x6' to 4'x8' benches for our community workshop and used one set to make a bench for a small CNC machine...with laminate maple top. Very cost effective vs. using 4"x4" lumber...especially when on sale. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kit!

,
March 26, 2014
By Craig831
from Milwaukee, WI
" I'm no pro. I can cut straight and put things together but I won't win any speed contests. I bought these because I was given a miter saw and band saw for Christmas so my plan was to build a long bench for one and a square one for the other. I decided to go 6' x 2' for the miter saw and 2' x 2' for the band saw. The kits made it extremely easy to put together two nice looking, sturdy, functional workbenches. I'd recommend them to anybody. Great product! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.