Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"

"2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"

Item# 179065
Use the 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit to make a custom workbench to fit anywhere you need a work surface or a storage area. Simply add 2x4s and plywood or particleboard to these leg supports to create a workbench 36in. tall in any length or width up to 8' x 4'. U.S.A. Only straight 90 cuts are required - no miters or angles Simple assembly with power screwdriver and saw Made of durable heavy gauge structural resin Recommended lumber 2x4s not included Assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.873 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (55 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
55 of 55(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Review 21 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK Beginner Bench

,
October 9, 2012
By Tiogaman
from South Lake Tahoe Calif
"Excellent Northern service and assembled as advertised.
Bought this because I was short on time to get a bench going at second home.
You need to pay attention to keeping each corner leg aligned as you drive screws.
It's not beautiful but it gets the job done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-11points
4out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition to my workshop

,
October 8, 2012
By VintageAirplaneGuy
from St. Croix Falls, WI
"I've got 3 of these units. Really great design; very flexible and well built.
Can't get enough of these things!!!!!!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 x 4 work bench

,
August 17, 2012
By Tenpoint
from Arkansas
"I found this to be very easy to assemble and liked that it could be build to fit the space I had available. I did exceed the directions by also gluing all the joints and gluing each sheet of plywood in. It looks fine and is sturdy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

40

,
August 14, 2012
By WK01
from Horse Shoe, NC
"Got this for my new shop and love it! meets all my needs and then some. Made mine out of treated material so its heavy, just the way I wanted. Could not get better material and has stood up to some heavy duty projects. Would recommend this bench kit to anyone!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sturdy and clean

,
August 13, 2012
By NoSlackNick
from N metro MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I got these on clearance with a coupon, so good deal.
I used average 2x4's (some reclaimed) and new mid- grade plywood. The shelves were fairly easy to assemble as a 2x8 unit. directions were just clear enough but the copy wasn't very good.
I used a few extra screws than required.
Hardest part is about midway, when you need to do a bit of balancing on the long sides.
I did two units, and quickly filled them up. Due to the nature of the build, the bottom two shelves are pretty close together, so hard to utilize those spaces."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy build

,
May 14, 2012
By Mike1972
from CA
"The bench was real easy to build even by myself. I have very little wood working experience besides shop in high school 22 years ago but this was real easy to build and only took me about an 45 minutes. I love that I can reuild it at anytime and change the size to fit my space. When the top counter gets worn out I can just get another sheet of plywood and it will feel like a new bench. Great product and the screws that it comes with are fine. If by your self clamps or in my case a wall that you can push the 2x4's up against helps drill the screws."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality

,
May 14, 2012
By kkgconnecticut
from danbury connecticut
"Received the kit as described and please with quality of all the components, resin pieces, hardware and direction all quality goods. does permit flexibility in sizing the bench for customization to your space. ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great basic workbench

,
May 14, 2012
By Kmo99
from Atlanta, Ga
"Kit had sturdy legs and easy instructions. Cut a few 2x4's and some plywood, screw it together and you've got a very nice basic work surface with plenty of ways to attached a vise or other tool. Would recommend to any friend who wanted something easy to put together and customize to the size they need."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect bench!

,
May 8, 2012
By SCReloader
from Charleston, SC
"I was skeptical about using this as the backbone of my reloading bench project but much to ny surprise it has made the bench extremely sturdy while simplifying the project overall. These are just the legs so you can build the bench to the size you want it to be so I was able to customize my bench to fit my needs. Highly recommend!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised

,
May 7, 2012
By chipslsmn
from Dothan, AL
"I have been wanting to turn a portion of my garage into a nice workstation. With the use of these workbench kits I've fulfilled a lifelong dream. They work as advertised and contained all the parts needed to complete my new benches. I used two kits to have about 14' of workbench space. They are spacious and solid as a rock. Some of the best money I've ever spent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!

,
May 7, 2012
By Nanny1
from Fulton,N.Y.
"I bought my 2X4 basic Workbench Kit(Model#91058) thinking it would be useful for something in my workshop but, WOW. It went together in about 20 minutes and when it was finished I had a work bench I could do ANYTHING with. I built mine 2'X8' and it is so sturdy I could have a tap dancing contest on top of it. The legs are very sturdy, well built and molded to accept the 2X4's in just the right configuration without any stress or strain. I will be buying more of them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy make workbench

,
May 7, 2012
By tjdk
from Uniontown, Pa.
"I was able to quickly put together a new workroom with two of these kits.......up and running in one day with a place for my tools and workspace. I got so inspired that I made a miniature worktable for my grandson."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
March 25, 2012
By NorthTexasFarmer
from North Texas
"This kit makes building a very durable work bench quick and easy. I've had such success with it I've bought four kits in total."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Basics Work Bench Kit

,
January 16, 2012
By Anonymous
from Virginia Beach, VA
"I needed a work bench for my reloading equipment and supplies and this was just the ticket. Its inexpensive to build, very sturdy and easy to assemble. Just doesn't get much better.
Thanks"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
popsinfl
deltonafl 
 
Please wait while more information about popsinfl is loaded.
Additional information about popsinfl could not be loaded.
August 13, 2012
"made my bench 3' x 7' came out strong as bull.rebuild engines on it.worked out real great."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Workbench Supports

,
January 16, 2012
By RickMc
from Garner NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Sturdy resin legs, makes assembly easy.
Looks great and is level. I used just the top and bottom shelf option and made mine 2'X6'ft. Perfect fit for my space. Lightweight to move. I just center a hand truck in the center and lean back with wood scraps under bottom 2X4 to move outside when sawing, to keep the dust down in my garage. Glad I found this product. Beats working on projects on the garage floor.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good looking table

,
January 10, 2012
By StanL
from Austin, TX
"This table is so easy to put together, it only took a friend and I about thirty 45 minutes to cut the wood and assemble. I did the easy 8 feet by 2 1/2. If you make the length 8 feet, you don't need to cut the boards. I like the plastic corners because my garage flooded from of the washing machine and the water didn't soak into the wood as if it would have if I built the legs out of wood. It stores a lot of clutter and makes my garage look more like a garage and not a storage shed. Great product and would highly recommend to others. Looks great too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
SmartA
Climax, NC 
 
Please wait while more information about SmartA is loaded.
Additional information about SmartA could not be loaded.
Long time to build
February 6, 2012
"Did it really take you 22 and 1/2 hours to build? (Your review says 30 45 minutes)."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 37 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very nice work bench.

,
January 9, 2012
By grabb
from Allen, TX
"I purchased the 2x4 workbench kit and the wood required with the helpful instructions inside the box. I was able to put it together in about an hour, which is very good for me. I have it now supporting my reloading tools. Works great."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

workbench kit

,
January 9, 2012
By rg11n13
from washington, pennsylvania
"The kit is complete with hardware, the legs are sturdy, it went together fairly easy although there should be more detailed written instructions for people who are not mechanically inclined. I used 3/4 inch oak for my top and bottom, it will support more than 1/2 inch. final note it is ok."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and easy

,
January 9, 2012
By RickED
from Pahrump, NV
"I needed two work benches, both custom sizes. I bought the two kits and took the measurements for the plywood to my local store and they actually cut it for me. When I got the wood home I had two custom work bences in less than an hour and a half. I do have to say, I added extra screws that were not called out to screw the shelves and top down to the 2x4s because I didn't think that the 4 screws that came with it would be adequate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Idea...

,
January 9, 2012
By Robbie99
from NC
"Purchased X2 bench kits. Home Depot cut all my wood to size and I assembled both benches in about an hour. These are really sturdy and the built in vice clamps on the leg are a nice idea. The best thing is that you can make the benches whatever size you want to fit the space. Definitely a great product - My workshop looks so much better now!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.