Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI

2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI

Item# 179065
Use the 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit to make a custom workbench to fit anywhere you need a work surface or a storage area. Simply add 2x4s and plywood or particleboard to these leg supports to create a workbench 36in. tall in any length or width up to 8' x 4'. U.S.A. Capacity lbs. 1,000 per shelf, Includes Hardware, Finish Type Black plastic, Material Heavy ga. resin. Only straight 90 cuts are required - no miters or angles Simple assembly with power screwdriver and saw Made of durable heavy gauge structural resin Recommended lumber 2x4s not included Assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.848 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (46 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 46(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Review 21 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised

,
May 7, 2012
By chipslsmn
from Dothan, AL
"I have been wanting to turn a portion of my garage into a nice workstation. With the use of these workbench kits I've fulfilled a lifelong dream. They work as advertised and contained all the parts needed to complete my new benches. I used two kits to have about 14' of workbench space. They are spacious and solid as a rock. Some of the best money I've ever spent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!

,
May 7, 2012
By Nanny1
from Fulton,N.Y.
"I bought my 2X4 basic Workbench Kit(Model#91058) thinking it would be useful for something in my workshop but, WOW. It went together in about 20 minutes and when it was finished I had a work bench I could do ANYTHING with. I built mine 2'X8' and it is so sturdy I could have a tap dancing contest on top of it. The legs are very sturdy, well built and molded to accept the 2X4's in just the right configuration without any stress or strain. I will be buying more of them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy make workbench

,
May 7, 2012
By tjdk
from Uniontown, Pa.
"I was able to quickly put together a new workroom with two of these kits.......up and running in one day with a place for my tools and workspace. I got so inspired that I made a miniature worktable for my grandson."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
March 25, 2012
By NorthTexasFarmer
from North Texas
"This kit makes building a very durable work bench quick and easy. I've had such success with it I've bought four kits in total."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Basics Work Bench Kit

,
January 16, 2012
By Anonymous
from Virginia Beach, VA
"I needed a work bench for my reloading equipment and supplies and this was just the ticket. Its inexpensive to build, very sturdy and easy to assemble. Just doesn't get much better.
Thanks"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
popsinfl
deltonafl 
 
Please wait while more information about popsinfl is loaded.
Additional information about popsinfl could not be loaded.
August 13, 2012
"made my bench 3' x 7' came out strong as bull.rebuild engines on it.worked out real great."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Workbench Supports

,
January 16, 2012
By RickMc
from Garner NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Sturdy resin legs, makes assembly easy.
Looks great and is level. I used just the top and bottom shelf option and made mine 2'X6'ft. Perfect fit for my space. Lightweight to move. I just center a hand truck in the center and lean back with wood scraps under bottom 2X4 to move outside when sawing, to keep the dust down in my garage. Glad I found this product. Beats working on projects on the garage floor.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good looking table

,
January 10, 2012
By StanL
from Austin, TX
"This table is so easy to put together, it only took a friend and I about thirty 45 minutes to cut the wood and assemble. I did the easy 8 feet by 2 1/2. If you make the length 8 feet, you don't need to cut the boards. I like the plastic corners because my garage flooded from of the washing machine and the water didn't soak into the wood as if it would have if I built the legs out of wood. It stores a lot of clutter and makes my garage look more like a garage and not a storage shed. Great product and would highly recommend to others. Looks great too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
SmartA
Climax, NC 
 
Please wait while more information about SmartA is loaded.
Additional information about SmartA could not be loaded.
Long time to build
February 6, 2012
"Did it really take you 22 and 1/2 hours to build? (Your review says 30 45 minutes)."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very nice work bench.

,
January 9, 2012
By grabb
from Allen, TX
"I purchased the 2x4 workbench kit and the wood required with the helpful instructions inside the box. I was able to put it together in about an hour, which is very good for me. I have it now supporting my reloading tools. Works great."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

workbench kit

,
January 9, 2012
By rg11n13
from washington, pennsylvania
"The kit is complete with hardware, the legs are sturdy, it went together fairly easy although there should be more detailed written instructions for people who are not mechanically inclined. I used 3/4 inch oak for my top and bottom, it will support more than 1/2 inch. final note it is ok."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and easy

,
January 9, 2012
By RickED
from Pahrump, NV
"I needed two work benches, both custom sizes. I bought the two kits and took the measurements for the plywood to my local store and they actually cut it for me. When I got the wood home I had two custom work bences in less than an hour and a half. I do have to say, I added extra screws that were not called out to screw the shelves and top down to the 2x4s because I didn't think that the 4 screws that came with it would be adequate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Idea...

,
January 9, 2012
By Robbie99
from NC
"Purchased X2 bench kits. Home Depot cut all my wood to size and I assembled both benches in about an hour. These are really sturdy and the built in vice clamps on the leg are a nice idea. The best thing is that you can make the benches whatever size you want to fit the space. Definitely a great product - My workshop looks so much better now!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Other review says it all

,
December 1, 2011
By Desjo
from South Dakota
"My experience is in keeping with the other reviews. An exceedingly simply concept, easy to use, flexible and sturdy. I bought one, then another and now just put my 3rd workbench together, all 3 being of different sizes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Workbench Ever!!

,
October 21, 2011
By JShoesole
from Crawfordville, Florida
"I bought this kit because I needed a workbench in my barn. I needed something that would be heavy-duty. This more than filled the bill, I made the lower and center shelves out of 3/4" plywood and for the top I used a 4'x8'x1" sheet of plexiglass. It is so sturdy I can jump on it and it is rock solid. I am going to eventually purchase a couple more, cause you can build them to just about any size you like. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Make your own work bench kit.

,
October 18, 2011
By chevybull
from Lexington, NC
"This kit is fantastic. First of all, it is completely customizeable. You can make a work surface of any dimension up 8' x 4'. You can even customize the number of storage shelves you have underneath. I made mine 8' x 2.5' with just one storage shelf at the bottom for storing larger junk. Used 3/4' plywood for my work surface, looks and works awesome."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You can make a high quality workbench very cheaply

,
October 17, 2011
By 64droptop
from Santa Rosa, Ca
"I was very frustrated that I could not find a workbench with the dimensions I needed without an outrageous price tag. With this product I made a very stable, quality workbench to my exact s dimensions. The project was very easy and fun. All the components are very strong and can support a very large load. I have a miter saw, a parts washer, A heavy vise, an overhead light, and three shelves of nuts, bolts, nails, etc. sitting on it all the time with plenty of work room left over."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy workbench/shelf kit

,
October 14, 2011
By TCRosie
from Inver Grove Heights, MN
"All you need is this kit, a few 2x4s, plywood and a couple of hours. It took me more time to clear a space in my garage than it took me to build a 6'x26' workbench.
Then I realized that there were parts left over to make a shelf. Bonus! Easy directions, sturdy, practical, affordable and two great little projects. Now I am back on line to buy more tools... thanks Northern Tools"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blitz Workbench

,
October 13, 2011
By Anonymous
from New Jersey
"Great product. Easy to put together and very sturdy. I love the flexibility to adjust and build to your needs. I plan to purchase additional units for building."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding bench kit

,
October 11, 2011
By ossy
from miami,fl
"this is the third kit that i bought.it was easy to put together.i love it... there is plently of room to put all of my tools.i will recommend to anybody who has a garage."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
October 11, 2011
By Simple
from Roanoke, VA
"Easy to use, just cut 2x4s and place in legs. Sturdy. Alot easier than making your own legs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for 2x4 Basics Workbench Kit, Model# 90158MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Make building a bench fast and easy

,
October 10, 2011
By JeremyK
from Novi, MI
"One of the easiest projects that I've done in a while. These kits look good and in theory could be taken apart and modified for use in a different space of for a different function."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.