Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L

Item# 180280
"This Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake effectively levels dirt racing tracks, playing fields and more. This multipurpose harrow's teeth are 3/8in. diameter x 3 1/2in. long and are made of high carbon steel. No maintenance needed. With extra heavy-duty tubular steel draw bar, it lasts for years. Pull behind a tractor, pickup or ATV. Working Width in. 48, Hitch Type Tow ring, Product Type Harrows, Overall Length in. 90, Tine Size L x Dia. in. 3 1/2 x 3/8, Category Type 0. Extra heavy-duty tubular steel draw bar lasts for years Pull behind a tractor, Jeep or ATV Pull with the high-carbon steel teeth forward and down to cultivate, prepare seed beds and rake up dead foliage Pull with teeth backward for less penetration Pull with teeth up to use as a drag mat"
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
33 of 34(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
April 26, 2015
By GB01
from Huntsville, AL
" Use it to knock down horse manure. Works good and easy to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value!

,
April 20, 2015
By Applal
from WI
" I was at a loss trying to find a tool to work the surface of the ground in my lot to plant the grass. It is a new building, and all I had was coarsely leveled mud. After looking at rental shops I started looking online and found and ordered this device.
It pulled easily behind my lawn tractor and it did an amazing job of breaking the surface of the soil down to about an inch and a half and also provided some leveling across some ruts and ridges left by the construction contractors.
I got my whole acre done in about two hours. It collapses to a small enough size to store easily under a bench and is very sturdily made. Also it can be dragged with the rake fingers down for it's most agressive action to break up the soil, or reverse onto the other side with the rate fingers up just for a gentler more smoothing effect perhaps after seeding.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SAVE TIME BUY 2

,
April 20, 2015
By JUNGLEJOHN
from NEWALD WIS
" THE RAKE WORKS GREAT FOR MAKING FOOD PLOTS FOR DEER. YOU CAN PULL ONE WITH ATV
AND YOU CAN PULL TWO WITH A JEEP. THEY DO A GREAT JOB !
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Multipurpose Tool

,
April 18, 2015
By Klanding
from Dunlap, Tn
" This is a tool I'm using as a drag to, basically, knock down/spread horse manure piles and does a great job. Have not yet used as a harrow/rake but will in the future. Extremely durable! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
April 13, 2015
By Justsal
from North Fort Myers FL
" works great grading the arena and the drive - heavy duty - does need to be weighted down, but that's to be expected "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drag Harrow for Small Gardens

,
November 28, 2014
By HomeFarmer
from Oklahoma City, OK
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I recently ordered online the 4- by 7-foot Mini Harrow Rake for pick-up at the local store to save shipping charges. After unpacking the harrow, I laid it out on my patio, inspected it for missing parts (none) and completed the little assembly required. I ordered the harrow for raking and leveling compost that I spread on my two large vegetable gardens each year. I hooked it to my small garden tractor (27-hp Cub Cadet without mower deck). After raking one garden, I realized that it was floating on top and not going very deep into the compost. I added a couple of cinder blocks and repeated the raking. This time it exceeded my expectation. It took several passes but it pulled the small wood items from the compost and did a great job raking the high spots into the depressions. (See the results in the attached photos) The quality of this harrow is excellent. I wish I had bought one of these years ago. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Harrow

,
October 22, 2014
By inquisitiveEngineer
from SC
" I am using for home/hobby farm. The rake itself is pretty thick and well built. I was using mine to de-thatch the yard before planting grass seed. I have several bare dirt areas. I bolted two large cement blocks to a wood platform and tied it on top of the harrow for additional weight and to dig deeper. In my hard SC clay it was going ~1" deep maybe less. Worked pretty good for the yard and for leveling some trails in the woods. (in softer areas it digs deeper) Paint rubs off easy, but it will rub off during use anyway. I would purchase again. Lowest cost I could find for something this heavy duty. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 17, 2014
By JackT
from Des Moines, IA
" Holy cow, this works as intended! Very heavy duty. I've only used it pulling for the less aggressive result and it pulls easy and does the job. Using it to spread newly planted seed and where I over seeded my lawn. Goes together easy. I was concerned there were no locking mechanisms to hold it together but it works without them just fine. Great product and worth the $$$. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L

,
September 11, 2014
By TheTurf
from Hickory VA
" I use this harrow upside down (Tines up) to drag my Round Pen that my wife trains horses in. It does an excellent job of smoothing the sand base after each training day or heavy rain. I plan to use it in the spring (Tines Down) to prepare a paddock for seeding. I needed to tighten (Hammer down) some of the link connections to prevent them from coming loose; no big deal. In short it does the job for me. Turf "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harrow Rake

,
June 18, 2014
By StacySY
from Denham Springs, LA
" We bought this to work our food plots at our camp in MS. It is perfect for the job. Quality construction. Very impressed. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Harrowing experience

,
June 16, 2014
By JB119
from Cape Coral FL
" Unit arrived all tangled Gave up after an hour Paint was chipped off in several areas . must have been a return , Will try again tomorrow What a mess "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Harrow Rack

,
June 12, 2014
By Macam12
from Rochester, MN
" I haven't used it enough to call it excellent, but rarely use the word. It worked good in the opposite direction mode, teeth down but pulling in the way that the teeth would lay down more. If pulled the way the teeth would stand up more and could possible dig 3-4" deep. Good purchase for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for small tractor and small farm

,
June 11, 2014
By RsqRon
from Crossville, TN
" I bought this to drag my pasture on my small hobby farm. it is good for breaking up manure piles and aerating the soil. I have put a couple of old tires on top of it to get deeper penetration on the harder packed soil. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
May 27, 2014
By canyonman
from Colorado
" needed something to level out washboard on my driveway and this harrow drag works great. One issue is my ATV doesn't turn sharply enough to make a uturn in the amount of space that I have so I just unpin the drag, turn the ATV around and pin from the other end (I drag w/o the spikes so direction of drag makes no difference) and go back the other direction. Easy to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Driveway maintenance made easier

,
May 8, 2014
By DrivewayGuy
from Olympia, WA
" Bulky, heavy and well-designed - turns out you want all three in a harrow. Shipped it clear across the country to see if it could help me regain control of my driveway. It dragged easily behind my lawn tractor, has a sharp turning radius and had the driveway looking good in about an hour. It is a two person job to move it if you don't want it to get tangled up but it works well for this kind of job. Even if it didn't, I don't think I could afford to ship it all the way back to the other corner of the country. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
April 14, 2014
By Biggerjohnson
from South Dakota
" Works great. Not super heavy duty but I did not expect it to be agricultural quality. I use it on a half mile of gravel and will probably never wear it out.i add railroad ties on top for weight when I want to get really aggressive and pull my old drg behind it for a different finish when needed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drag harrow for deer food plots

,
February 6, 2014
By Tomhunt
from South Carolina
" I love this drag harrow
Smooth your ground out after disking
Plant your seed on the smooth bed
Drag again to cover your seed
Seed will come up great
My food plots produce twice as much now that I have a smooth seed bed
Use it for peas, soybeans, brassicas, grain and clover
I killed my biggest buck on one of these plots
Pull it behind your atv or tractor
Deer love ii
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drag

,
December 10, 2013
By Smoothy
from Florida, Georgia
" Bought one to groom gravel driveways, one in Florida and one in Georgia. After dragging it on the gravel driveway in Florida and taking the unit to the property in Georgia, I just purchase a second unit because they worked so well for what I needed them for. I used the unit to groom the driveways removing dips, ruts and puddles. I went crazy with it on our Georgia property dragging it on atv trails and through the woods on our property also removing smaller potholes and smoothing out our property. It would be a pain to bring bring back and forth because of its size and weight, so we just purchased another for the Florida property. Will use the aggressive side for in the spring for leveling and planting grass seed on our properties. Grooms atv trails through the woods very well and does not get hung up on roots or small under growth, removing berms and leaving a nice smooth finish. There was some discussion about the rod that comes with it and its to attach the drag to the tow bar. Perfect for my use. Used small Jon Deere lawn tractor, car, and atv's. Never came close to snagging the unit with tires but tractor and atv's both have a hitch that extends out a bit and I used an large s hook to connect unit to hole in hitch. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harrowing experience

,
September 17, 2013
By Kazar
from Menomonie WI
" This harrow has exceeded my expectations for working the food plots that I own and the ones that I am hired to manage. After tilling the plots, I like to run over the plots with my 4 wheeler to level out the lines that can be left from tilling. After seeding, I flip the harrow upside down and run over the seeds to lightly cover them with soil. Prior to seeding, the teeth work great on helping to remove any quack grass or sticks that are also present. Prior to this harrow, I have used box springs, chain link fences with weights and the results were unacceptable. The harrow is the way to go. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

4' x 7' harrow

,
May 26, 2013
By widowbowhunter
from oakland, tn
" Impressive....I'm a hardcore bowhunter and impresed with how rugged its built as I use for food plots. Won't clog and raise harrow off ground. Pretty much cleans itself out.
Will last for years. Homerun on this one northern tool. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.