Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L

Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L

Item# 180280
This Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake effectively levels dirt racing tracks, playing fields and more. This multipurpose harrow's teeth are 3/8in. diameter x 3 1/2in. long and are made of high carbon steel. No maintenance needed. With extra heavy-duty tubular steel draw bar, it lasts for years. Pull behind a tractor, pickup or ATV. Working Width in. 48, Overall Length in. 90, Product Type Harrows, Tine Size L x Dia. in. 3 1/2 x 3/8, Category Type 0, Hitch Type Tow ring. Extra heavy-duty tubular steel draw bar lasts for years Pull behind a tractor, Jeep or ATV Pull with the high-carbon steel teeth forward and down to cultivate, prepare seed beds and rake up dead foliage Pull with teeth backward for less penetration Pull with teeth up to use as a drag mat
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (26 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 of 26(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L

,
September 11, 2014
By TheTurf
from Hickory VA
"I use this harrow upside down (Tines up) to drag my Round Pen that my wife trains horses in. It does an excellent job of smoothing the sand base after each training day or heavy rain. I plan to use it in the spring (Tines Down) to prepare a paddock for seeding. I needed to tighten (Hammer down) some of the link connections to prevent them from coming loose; no big deal. In short it does the job for me. Turf"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harrow Rake

,
June 18, 2014
By StacySY
from Denham Springs, LA
"We bought this to work our food plots at our camp in MS. It is perfect for the job. Quality construction. Very impressed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Harrowing experience

,
June 16, 2014
By JB119
from Cape Coral FL
"Unit arrived all tangled Gave up after an hour Paint was chipped off in several areas . must have been a return , Will try again tomorrow What a mess"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Harrow Rack

,
June 12, 2014
By Macam12
from Rochester, MN
"I haven't used it enough to call it excellent, but rarely use the word. It worked good in the opposite direction mode, teeth down but pulling in the way that the teeth would lay down more. If pulled the way the teeth would stand up more and could possible dig 3-4" deep. Good purchase for the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for small tractor and small farm

,
June 11, 2014
By RsqRon
from Crossville, TN
"I bought this to drag my pasture on my small hobby farm. it is good for breaking up manure piles and aerating the soil. I have put a couple of old tires on top of it to get deeper penetration on the harder packed soil."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
May 27, 2014
By canyonman
from Colorado
"needed something to level out washboard on my driveway and this harrow drag works great. One issue is my ATV doesn't turn sharply enough to make a uturn in the amount of space that I have so I just unpin the drag, turn the ATV around and pin from the other end (I drag w/o the spikes so direction of drag makes no difference) and go back the other direction. Easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Driveway maintenance made easier

,
May 8, 2014
By DrivewayGuy
from Olympia, WA
"Bulky, heavy and well-designed - turns out you want all three in a harrow. Shipped it clear across the country to see if it could help me regain control of my driveway. It dragged easily behind my lawn tractor, has a sharp turning radius and had the driveway looking good in about an hour. It is a two person job to move it if you don't want it to get tangled up but it works well for this kind of job. Even if it didn't, I don't think I could afford to ship it all the way back to the other corner of the country."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
April 14, 2014
By Biggerjohnson
from South Dakota
"Works great. Not super heavy duty but I did not expect it to be agricultural quality. I use it on a half mile of gravel and will probably never wear it out.i add railroad ties on top for weight when I want to get really aggressive and pull my old drg behind it for a different finish when needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drag harrow for deer food plots

,
February 6, 2014
By Tomhunt
from South Carolina
"I love this drag harrow
Smooth your ground out after disking
Plant your seed on the smooth bed
Drag again to cover your seed
Seed will come up great
My food plots produce twice as much now that I have a smooth seed bed
Use it for peas, soybeans, brassicas, grain and clover
I killed my biggest buck on one of these plots
Pull it behind your atv or tractor
Deer love ii
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drag

,
December 10, 2013
By Smoothy
from Florida, Georgia
"Bought one to groom gravel driveways, one in Florida and one in Georgia. After dragging it on the gravel driveway in Florida and taking the unit to the property in Georgia, I just purchase a second unit because they worked so well for what I needed them for. I used the unit to groom the driveways removing dips, ruts and puddles. I went crazy with it on our Georgia property dragging it on atv trails and through the woods on our property also removing smaller potholes and smoothing out our property. It would be a pain to bring bring back and forth because of its size and weight, so we just purchased another for the Florida property. Will use the aggressive side for in the spring for leveling and planting grass seed on our properties. Grooms atv trails through the woods very well and does not get hung up on roots or small under growth, removing berms and leaving a nice smooth finish. There was some discussion about the rod that comes with it and its to attach the drag to the tow bar. Perfect for my use. Used small Jon Deere lawn tractor, car, and atv's. Never came close to snagging the unit with tires but tractor and atv's both have a hitch that extends out a bit and I used an large s hook to connect unit to hole in hitch."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harrowing experience

,
September 17, 2013
By Kazar
from Menomonie WI
"This harrow has exceeded my expectations for working the food plots that I own and the ones that I am hired to manage. After tilling the plots, I like to run over the plots with my 4 wheeler to level out the lines that can be left from tilling. After seeding, I flip the harrow upside down and run over the seeds to lightly cover them with soil. Prior to seeding, the teeth work great on helping to remove any quack grass or sticks that are also present. Prior to this harrow, I have used box springs, chain link fences with weights and the results were unacceptable. The harrow is the way to go."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

4' x 7' harrow

,
May 26, 2013
By widowbowhunter
from oakland, tn
"Impressive....I'm a hardcore bowhunter and impresed with how rugged its built as I use for food plots. Won't clog and raise harrow off ground. Pretty much cleans itself out.
Will last for years. Homerun on this one northern tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Just Fine

,
April 25, 2013
By Patches21
from Georgia
"I bought this drag harrow last spring because I got tired of rigging up pieces of fence and boards to make my own. This product work really well for me on my land and It should last me for a long time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value!

,
April 23, 2013
By Texastractor
from Texas
"I bought the Harrow Rake to level and to smooth out some areas on my pasture and riding arena. The rake design is flexible for many situations encounter on an acreage. It is well balanced and works great at full depth for breaking up high spots, or switch the bar to the opposite end and smooth over the area. It is has a much heavier gauge construction than the harrow sold by another farm supply store chain. Rolls up easily to store out of the way."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

'Great Harrow

,
May 8, 2012
By David7
from Normangee, TX
"The harrow is of good quality and great weight for making food plots for deer. It can easily be pulled by a Polaris Ranger EV and smooths out rough areas as it covers the seed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-7points
5out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 7, 2012
By Carlucci
from Spencer, TN
"I bought the Harrow Rake to level and to smooth out some areas on my land. The rake works great with the side with the teeth. Then I would flip the rake over and than smooth over the area. It is great when spreading seed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the change

,
January 9, 2012
By LewisH
from Monroe, GA
"I had been using inexpensive mini harrow rakes made with fencing, but they wore out after 1-2 years of use. This rake is very sturdy and does a great job of clearing my pastures when paired with a lawn tractor. Assembly was simple, taking only a few minutes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great used with zero turn mower

,
June 19, 2011
By edwardsj0
from NC
"i used the harrow behind a big zero turn mower to drag and prepare about 1/2 acre as the final step to grassing the area. i used the drag in its most agressive positon, it smoothed in low spots and got the ground in good shape for seed. after applying fertlize and seed i flipped the harrow over to its least agressive position, and the results were great, smooth ground and the grass came up evenly. very pleased with the harrow."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 14, 2011
By John1956
from South Carolina
"This product is perfect for my use behind my ATV. We have 2 acres that over the years have become a Junk Yard. We recently sold off the Scrap Metal and there was a lot of small metal objects and trash semi-buried in the ground. This Harrow Rake did an excellent job pulling out the trash and metal and also did a great job on leveling the ground so we can now use it for more than a Junk Yard.
Great Product!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great.

,
June 7, 2011
By cgls333
from Santa Fe, NM
"Just what I wanted. It is small enough to pull with my four-wheeler, but gets the job done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.