Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L

Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L

Item# 180280
This Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake effectively levels dirt racing tracks, playing fields and more. This multipurpose harrow's teeth are 3/8in. diameter x 3 1/2in. long and are made of high carbon steel. No maintenance needed. With extra heavy-duty tubular steel draw bar, it lasts for years. Pull behind a tractor, pickup or ATV. Category Type 0, Product Type Harrows, Working Width in. 48, Hitch Type Tow ring, Overall Length in. 90, Tine Size L x Dia. in. 3 1/2 x 3/8. Extra heavy-duty tubular steel draw bar lasts for years Pull behind a tractor, Jeep or ATV Pull with the high-carbon steel teeth forward and down to cultivate, prepare seed beds and rake up dead foliage Pull with teeth backward for less penetration Pull with teeth up to use as a drag mat
Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
April 14, 2014
By Biggerjohnson
from South Dakota
"Works great. Not super heavy duty but I did not expect it to be agricultural quality. I use it on a half mile of gravel and will probably never wear it out.i add railroad ties on top for weight when I want to get really aggressive and pull my old drg behind it for a different finish when needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drag harrow for deer food plots

,
February 6, 2014
By Tomhunt
from South Carolina
"I love this drag harrow
Smooth your ground out after disking
Plant your seed on the smooth bed
Drag again to cover your seed
Seed will come up great
My food plots produce twice as much now that I have a smooth seed bed
Use it for peas, soybeans, brassicas, grain and clover
I killed my biggest buck on one of these plots
Pull it behind your atv or tractor
Deer love ii
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drag

,
December 10, 2013
By Smoothy
from Florida, Georgia
"Bought one to groom gravel driveways, one in Florida and one in Georgia. After dragging it on the gravel driveway in Florida and taking the unit to the property in Georgia, I just purchase a second unit because they worked so well for what I needed them for. I used the unit to groom the driveways removing dips, ruts and puddles. I went crazy with it on our Georgia property dragging it on atv trails and through the woods on our property also removing smaller potholes and smoothing out our property. It would be a pain to bring bring back and forth because of its size and weight, so we just purchased another for the Florida property. Will use the aggressive side for in the spring for leveling and planting grass seed on our properties. Grooms atv trails through the woods very well and does not get hung up on roots or small under growth, removing berms and leaving a nice smooth finish. There was some discussion about the rod that comes with it and its to attach the drag to the tow bar. Perfect for my use. Used small Jon Deere lawn tractor, car, and atv's. Never came close to snagging the unit with tires but tractor and atv's both have a hitch that extends out a bit and I used an large s hook to connect unit to hole in hitch."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harrowing experience

,
September 17, 2013
By Kazar
from Menomonie WI
"This harrow has exceeded my expectations for working the food plots that I own and the ones that I am hired to manage. After tilling the plots, I like to run over the plots with my 4 wheeler to level out the lines that can be left from tilling. After seeding, I flip the harrow upside down and run over the seeds to lightly cover them with soil. Prior to seeding, the teeth work great on helping to remove any quack grass or sticks that are also present. Prior to this harrow, I have used box springs, chain link fences with weights and the results were unacceptable. The harrow is the way to go."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

4' x 7' harrow

,
May 26, 2013
By widowbowhunter
from oakland, tn
"Impressive....I'm a hardcore bowhunter and impresed with how rugged its built as I use for food plots. Won't clog and raise harrow off ground. Pretty much cleans itself out.
Will last for years. Homerun on this one northern tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Just Fine

,
April 25, 2013
By Patches21
from Georgia
"I bought this drag harrow last spring because I got tired of rigging up pieces of fence and boards to make my own. This product work really well for me on my land and It should last me for a long time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value!

,
April 23, 2013
By Texastractor
from Texas
"I bought the Harrow Rake to level and to smooth out some areas on my pasture and riding arena. The rake design is flexible for many situations encounter on an acreage. It is well balanced and works great at full depth for breaking up high spots, or switch the bar to the opposite end and smooth over the area. It is has a much heavier gauge construction than the harrow sold by another farm supply store chain. Rolls up easily to store out of the way."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

'Great Harrow

,
May 8, 2012
By David7
from Normangee, TX
"The harrow is of good quality and great weight for making food plots for deer. It can easily be pulled by a Polaris Ranger EV and smooths out rough areas as it covers the seed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-7points
5out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 7, 2012
By Carlucci
from Spencer, TN
"I bought the Harrow Rake to level and to smooth out some areas on my land. The rake works great with the side with the teeth. Then I would flip the rake over and than smooth over the area. It is great when spreading seed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the change

,
January 9, 2012
By LewisH
from Monroe, GA
"I had been using inexpensive mini harrow rakes made with fencing, but they wore out after 1-2 years of use. This rake is very sturdy and does a great job of clearing my pastures when paired with a lawn tractor. Assembly was simple, taking only a few minutes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great used with zero turn mower

,
June 19, 2011
By edwardsj0
from NC
"i used the harrow behind a big zero turn mower to drag and prepare about 1/2 acre as the final step to grassing the area. i used the drag in its most agressive positon, it smoothed in low spots and got the ground in good shape for seed. after applying fertlize and seed i flipped the harrow over to its least agressive position, and the results were great, smooth ground and the grass came up evenly. very pleased with the harrow."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 14, 2011
By John1956
from South Carolina
"This product is perfect for my use behind my ATV. We have 2 acres that over the years have become a Junk Yard. We recently sold off the Scrap Metal and there was a lot of small metal objects and trash semi-buried in the ground. This Harrow Rake did an excellent job pulling out the trash and metal and also did a great job on leveling the ground so we can now use it for more than a Junk Yard.
Great Product!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great.

,
June 7, 2011
By cgls333
from Santa Fe, NM
"Just what I wanted. It is small enough to pull with my four-wheeler, but gets the job done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for smaller projects

,
April 7, 2011
By webbender
from Florida
"I purchased this mini-harrow mainly for my long (half mile) gravel/sand driveway. After time, areas wash out and the drive becomes bumpy. I used the harrow behind my lawn tractor (you will need to purchase a clevis (such as NT sells Item# 318027) to connect the harrow to the hitch on a standard riding lawnmower/garden tractor.
The harrow is made of heavy gauge metal and should last a very long time. It is easy to attach, but it's very heavy and unwieldy.
I went over the driveway 6 times with the tines down (to break up the rock/sand) then twice with the tines up (to smooth everything out). It worked perfectly for what I needed.
The only reason I rated this 4 stars is due to it's weight and the fact that it's unwieldy to store and move, although I wouldn't want a lightweight harrow that would wear out quickly. It would be easier with a harrow designed for a 3 point hitch, but they are very expensive (i.e. NT Item# 250046).
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tough and useful

,
March 21, 2011
By FarmWoman
from Central Illinois
"I use this harrow regularly to maintain our 700ft+ gravel drive and to harrow our pastures using both our garden tractor and our Jeep (in cold weather). I have two panels and having the different options is great. Medium teeth + flat for pastures works just about perfectly. Same setup with concrete blocks for weight does a great job on the gravel drive. I will be using the most aggressive arrangement this spring when I prep a 200 strip to plant a hedgerow for wildlife."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price for a Great Product!

,
August 24, 2010
By LarsonPolo
from Upper Marlboro, MD
"After purchasing a home with attached horse property, my wife and I attended a free Horse Pasture management class at University of Maryland. As part of the class, it was mentioned that I would need to harrow (spread the manure) the field and mow it after the horses are rotated to another field. Researched many places with this type of harrow, and found this to be the best price and most durable product. I have been using this harrow all Summer long with tines facing down and forward to get the full "scratching" effect. The harrow has not only spread the horse manure, it has been very good at de-thatching the fields and encouraging grass seed growth. My fields have been producing double the amount of grass for grazing as it had in years! Recommend placing the harrow in a spot where others will not drive over or accidentally step on it. I spray painted white stripes on it also to make it more visible. Recommend the product be painted a bright yellow vs. black for safely reason."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A BIG Help Around the Ranch

,
November 2, 2009
By BrettG
from Wickenburg, AZ
"I bought this harrow rake to function as an arena drag for my round corral, because getting a regular tractor into the pen was a real pain. This rake hooks up easily behind a quad or side-by UTV, and does a pretty decent job of breaking up the top layer of an arena. It also works great on the driveway for light storm cleanup. I would suggest that you go one size bigger if you're going to use a UTV. Flipping it over gives you access to ripping action that susprised me in terms of effectiveness. Add a little water, and this rake will do a really nice job on the top several inches of fill. In the desert, that's saying something.
I only have one complaint about this product. Attaching the two sections of matting to the tow bar is difficult. I had to spread the hooks a little bit in order to make it work properly. The caveat with doing that is that you don't want to spread it too far, because then you run the risk of having the sections come partially off if you hit a rough patch or catch a fencepost. That is the only reason I docked it a star. Otherwise, it is a fabulous product that is great for working over arenas and the like."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harrow Rake Review

,
March 23, 2009
By BradO
from Peyton, Colorado
"Excellent results for leveling loose dirt and raking up debris (tree limbs, brush weeds, etc.). Pulls easily behind my 4-wheeler and light enough to store in the shed."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4ft.W x 7 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No harrowing tales from this harrow

,
March 20, 2009
By JMMack
from I live in Colton California (60 miles east of LA
"I bought this Mini Harrow Rake to save my back! Before purchase I hand raked after roto-tilling. Now I can harrow my orchard with the mini harrow rake. There are three ways to pull this harrow. My wife hitches it to her Percheron and I hitch it to my Suzue tractor or my Craftsman riding lawn mower. It has two sides that can be used; one for deep harrowing and the other for smoothing. After roto-tilling the orchard my wife hitched up the horse and harrowed with the deep side. After 2 passes this smoothed out all of the mounds of tilled dirt until the dirt was very flat. Then she turned the harrow over to complete the smoothing. So, in conclusion this harrow is light enough for my wife to turn over but it is strong enough to do a marvelous smoothing job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
CypressTexas
Houston 
 
Please wait while more information about CypressTexas is loaded.
Additional information about CypressTexas could not be loaded.
Decent product BUT
January 22, 2011
"the effective work area of the harrow IS NOT 4 X 7.5 ft; that includes the ring and towing bars. The mat itself is 4 X 6 ft which is slightly deceptive. Otherwise, tows fine but needs to be dragged several times over the same area to reduce the manure piles to small size suitable for degradation within an acceptable time."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
dragger
Crystal River, Fl. 
 
Please wait while more information about dragger is loaded.
Additional information about dragger could not be loaded.
Mine drag harrow
August 30, 2010
"I purchased this drag harrow for clearing areas to hunt on. There are three ways this harrow can be used. It does an excellent job behind an ATV. If the tines don't get deep enough just attach some angle iron on top. I attach the angle iron with quick links."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)