Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L

Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L

Item# 180281
This Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake effectively levels dirt racing tracks, playing fields and more. This multi-purpose harrow's teeth are 3/8in. diameter x 3 1/2in. long and are made of high carbon steel. No maintenance needed. With extra heavy-duty tubular steel draw bar, it lasts for years. Pull behind a tractor, pickup or ATV. Working Width in. 54, Product Type Harrows, Tine Size L x Dia. in. 3 1/2 x 3/8, Category Type 0, Overall Length in. 66, Hitch Type Tow ring. Extra heavy-duty tubular steel draw bar lasts for years Multi-purpose harrow can be pulled behind a tractor, Jeep or ATV Pulling with the strong high-carbon steel teeth forward and down, it cultivates, prepares seed beds and rakes up dead foliage Pull with the teeth facing back for less penetration Pull with the teeth facing up to use as a drag mat No maintenance needed
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drag harrow

,
July 11, 2014
By tare
from Signal Mtn., TN
"The harrow I received was considerably heavier built than the picture in the description. The quality was more than expected and I look forward to using it this fall."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice harrow.

,
April 23, 2013
By JoeCowboy
from Florida
"This is a well made product and does a very good job smoothing uneven dirt areas. I pull it with a 17 hp lawn tractor with no problems. It was a good purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all-around

,
March 29, 2013
By mkrancher
from wellington, colorado
"I hooked this harrow up to my ATV just placing the ring over the ball hitch. It works great dragging the rocky roads up at the mountain property and great grading the road base driveways at our residence in the country. Recently I seeded the front yard using it tines down, then seeding, then flipped it over to smooth. I also used it to drag the horse corral. exactly what I need. It tracks and maneuvers well. It's heavy enough, yet easy to handle by myself. It's solidly made and I'm confident it will last a long time. Breaks up even the hard packed soil and ground. Great buy, great value. Thanks Northern tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harrow rake does a great job

,
October 17, 2012
By SKL3
from Michigan
"At 1st look I had doubts. It was heavy enough, but wasn't surer the connection between the rake and front bar would work. there wasn't anything to hold it in place. we put in six food plots that day without any problems. It's a workhorse."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth It

,
April 25, 2012
By gone
from Finlayson MN
"This was worth every dollar. The first project was to re-work two rutted gravel driveways. I left it on the 'less aggressive' configuration and pulled it behind my ATV. Awesome. The ring allows it to slip onto a trailer hitch but I think a short chain connection would keep the leading edge more engaged. After tilling my 5000 SF garden it normally takes hours to rake it. I used my new purchase and a couple of passes piled up the grass/weeds and left it all smooth. The only shortcoming is the mechanism attaching the mat to the leading edge bar but it works. It is a bit heavy and awkward and I'm planning on simply dragging it to an outside location for storage. It would probably work well as a single pass de-thatching tool for yards that don't need a golf course white glove touch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x

,
January 9, 2012
By GLBinGA
from Atlanta, GA
"The Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake is great for our 5 acre horse farm. It is easy to hook up to the small tractor or the riding lawn mower. The heavy construction of the tines breaks up horse manure and and it is great for leveling out the riding arena footing. I would recommend this product to anyone that lives on a small horse farm. As a side note, the employee at Northern was great when I went to pick it up. I told him it was a Christmas present for my husband and he tried so hard (in the rain) to fit the harrow into my Explorer Sport Trac so that I could hide it, but it just does not fit. So hubby got his gift a few days early, but still very excited about it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Harrow Rake

,
November 16, 2010
By USCGDCCM
from Gloucester, VA
"Purchased this rake about a month ago to assist with maintaining my 900 foot long drive way constructed of sand/clay. I found that adding a few cinder blocks helps with initial smoothing/grading process...after that the rake does quite well without any added weight.
I've used it to thatch my existing lawn...works extremely well.
I also used it to level out new top soil I had spread over a new section of lawn...again, a little added weight hastened the process.
The weight of the rake does make it a challenge to flip over (a must to gain full advantage of the rakes' capabilities) and move around by hand.
I pull the rake with a side-by-side ATV. I have also used my riding mower for light smoothing.
I would recommend this to anyone who has to maintain a dirt/gravel drive way, a large yard, or is preparing/leveling for a new lawn. Wish I had purchased it years ago. Hope this helps answer any concerns."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I expected

,
June 1, 2010
By Marko7
from Centennial, Colorado
"I bought this harrow two years ago just to see what it did and to see if I could level out a field. It has exceeded my expectations. I use it in the Fall to rip out small weeds, I use it in the Spring to prevent weeds from starting and I still use it to level out my 2 acres. I pull it behind my ATV and I don't even know it's back there. The quality is first rate and I'll have it for a long time. I hope this helps your decision."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes hard work easy

,
October 23, 2009
By RC01
from New Caney, Texas
"The Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake is a great addition to my yard equipment. This implement is easy to hook up to the small tractor or the riding lawn mower. The heavy construction of the tines breaks up packed in grass and dead roots allowing new young grass to emerg making my lawn look like a golf course. I would recommend this product to any one that lives on small acarage that needs to help the grass become healthy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

harrow rack

,
October 20, 2009
By PEPT
from WINDHAM,NH
"This heavy duty harrow rack is perfect tool for finishing at a good price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price Works Great

,
March 24, 2009
By DavidAC
from Summit Point, WV
"I originally purchased this rake for our riding ring - it works great. I have also used it to rake our paddocks, scratch ground for seeding, and to smooth our gravel drive. It hitches easily to my garden tractor, my big tractor, and my pick-up. I've used the heck out of this thing and it is still in one piece and works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Mini Harrow Rake - 4 1/2ft.W x 5 1/2ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works greats (helps if you pay attention)

,
August 18, 2008
By UraniumSteel
from Phoenix, Arizona
"Works great. We have two different horse arenas and I use the harrow to keep them groomed. One arena is for carriage driving and is hard packed dirt (Arizona clay hard packed) and the other is sand/wood shavings for Dressage. The harrow keeps both going really well. It helps to pay attention, I just recently discovered I can switch it around so the teeth bite in harder to do a better job on the hard pack. So it's versatility is great. With the teeth pointed backwards it doesn't bite that much - I was thinking of added bricks to the top to give it more weight until I read that you can switch it around. I'll update in a week on turning it around so the teeth face forward."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.