Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fast Barn Framing Kit

Fast Barn Framing Kit

Item# 183442
You use straight-cut 2 x 4s throughout. No angles to cut No lost time Your barn goes up lightning fast, because the galvanized steel bases and angle brackets make framing do-it-yourself easy. Kit includes 12 base plates and 40 angle brackets. Angle brackets speed attaching studs to rafters and rafters to ridgepole. Order one framing kit for a 7 x 8 barn two kits for a 8 x 14 barn three kits for a 10 x 22 barn. Complete with plans and materials list. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Item cannot be returned all sales final. Dimensions L x W ft. One framing kit for 7 x 8 barn. Door height 6ft.
Average Customer Rating:
3.643 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
20 of 28(71%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Review 1 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

,
April 27, 2013
By jb99
from AZ
"These brackets are barely heavier than foil. I am building a 10x22 and other than the material list the directions are useless. These things are great hassle and take much longer than described. "Fast" should not be in the title. TIPS: use the scrap pieces to temporarily support the bracketed connections. Get a friend or two to help.
If i could start over i definitely would not use these again. Spend your money on a better product. I recommend these to no one.
I am a big fan of northern tool and their products but they really let me down here. I should have trusted the reviews before buying.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy, but four hands are better than two.

,
October 15, 2012
By ridgerider60
from Okanogan, WA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Product was very easy to use, and was very satisfied with results. You should have another person to help with framing assembly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

,
May 9, 2012
By RHDP
from Richmond, Va
"We got this mostly for the plans, cut list, buy list etc. But this is what we found out. First the brackets are weak metal and bend like butter. We had to go back and reinforce every one. It would have been easier to just cut the angles and build it the traditional way. Second the directions are horrible. Building a shed is a complex thing. The directions take up about half a page. That should tell you they are not good. The plans do NOT include a floor. They don't include a door. They don't include the necessary studs for the back, the front or either gambrel section. We would have never got this thing standing if one of my volunteers hadn't been a carpenter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
26out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fast Barn Framing Kit

,
January 16, 2012
By Reademanweep
from NY,NY
"I had two of the kits. Not a One man project .
have agroup of friends over for the weekend then you might get it done. Be prepared to make adjustments and modifications. The end result is great but the amount of time spent would have me rethink my options next time around."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

,
January 10, 2012
By millero
from Brandon, MS
"DO NOT waste your money. Kit if it worked, would have been great, however instructions are poor, material is thin/cheap. Put kit together per instructions, NONE of the arches were the same even though all the cuts were the same. Spent a weekend to find this out, and threw this kit away!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY !!!!!!!!!

,
January 9, 2012
By EastTexas
from East Texas
"These brackets are extremely flimsey, less than 1/2 the thickness of of standard rafter ties! Takes two on each board;one can't even support the weight of a 30 inch board without bending in half! Cross supports fit sideways into slots on the brackets. The solts have "0" tolerance, NOT EVEN A MM of clearance. IF you can line up 16 brackets on 2 foot centers PERFECTLY you are one good carpenter! Do not use nails.Use screws; because you will take this thing arpart several times before you get it build. Get some plans and cut your own braces out of plywood. THIS IS WORTHLESS!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

,
October 17, 2011
By EricsGarden
from Logan, UT
"I bought two of these kits to make a larger barn. I used it to store my lawn tractor and other outdoor equipment. The kit instructions were very explanatory and easy to understand. I used the same vinyl siding and roof shingles that I have on my house to give a cohesive look to the yard. I am very pleased with the results and have been asked many times who I had build the shed for me. When I tell people that I did it all myself with the help of the kit from Northern Tool they are amazed! The ease of use has made this a very successful and useful project for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as easy as they make out

,
September 30, 2011
By JPinNEK
from NEK
"Purchased three kits for the 10x22. These brackets are flimsy. Now I can get past this, but the instructions with the product and on line are worthless. If I knew in advance that these brackets were going to be such a hassle, I would have just cut the angles myself. Northern Tools, I like your products but you should send a note to these guys and suggest that they issue better instructions and beef up the brackets. If they did this and made brackets that would accomadate a 2x6 then I think they would really have something, and so would you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast Framing Kits

,
July 11, 2011
By MHToter
from Coulee City, WA.
"These fast framing kits are fantastic, just follow the directions and have it up in a day even if you have never built anything before. Complete lumber list provided so you do not have to do any figuring. Save tons of money over buying a prebuilt shed or paying a carpenter to come build one for you."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3 Weekend Project

,
June 13, 2011
By GeneralRaider
from Stockton, California
"I have some knowledge of building small sheds and such, so when I was in need of a larger one I figured why not give this s try. At first I wasn't sure what I got myself into when I ordered two kits and all the pieces came in two boxes. As long as you take inventory of what you have and lay it out you should be ok. So I followed the instructions as they have in the kit easy to understand and cut all the wood at one time that was easy. I mounted all the hardware to the wood and I was ready to piece it all together. My foundation was done and the floor. Once you start its hard to stop you will need two other people to help you. It all came together but not really lined up I had to bend and pry and hammer things to get things to work. But over all this is a great kit. Once you are done your family and friends will be impressed. You just earned your self 4 Man card points."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beautiful but difficult build

,
June 13, 2011
By thomastech
from Pittsfield, MA
"The shed has come out beautifully. However, the kit is not as easy as it is made out to be to build. The instructions leave you hanging in many locations and unless you savvy in the construction world, you may run into a brick wall. The brackets needed to be adjusted several times in order to get the angles correct and get things to line up on both sides of the roof.
I guess if you are prepared to sacrifice some sanity in order to save some money, I would recommend buying this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shed Kit

,
March 14, 2011
By Toolman2010
"The brackets made the installation a breeze and my wife and I practically saved hundreds of dollars from buying a store built shed."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just right...

,
March 8, 2011
By RobCA
from California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I consider myself skilled enough but taking on building a shed from scratch was overwhelming. I purchased the kit to help me with all the angles so things would match up without to much math on my part. The instructions were a little lacking but with some studying I was able to figure it out easily. I bought two kits for a 8x14 shed and it was definitely a two person job. My wife helped and, with building a raised leveled floor, was a two weekend job including floor, roofing and paint.
As other reviewers stated the brackets are flimsy so be careful, don't try to raise the arches by yourself. Also, I found that once I connected the "tie collars" on the ground I had to take them off when I had the arches up to make the cross beams fit into the brackets. Without doing this things just didn't line up. Once assembled the shed is very sturdy. Have patience and take your time for a nice completed shed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Successful First-time Builders

,
November 26, 2010
By Amateurs
from Arlington, Massachusetts
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We decided to build a storage shed in our small backyard. Under city zoning laws the maximum size without obtaining a building permit was 8X8 ft. We had no previous experience building, so we followed the instructions to the letter. We used two kits and the exact profile of the 8X20 ft drawings for the framing, but built out only 8 ft deep to conform to city code. We used deck screws throughout, which allowed us to easily make corrections by removing/replacing screws as required. The only dificulty was positioning the siding panels. We used T-111, 1/2 inch thick panels which we had to lift and brace until we could securely fasten them. Overall, a very satisfying first-time project!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Handy Kit to Use

,
September 10, 2009
By KevinM
from El Cajon, CA
"I bought two of thes kits to build a shed in my back yard. My shed was going to be 9x11' due to space issues, so I had to modify the plans from 8x12' to do that. I also added a second deck inside at the 6' level to increase storage space and raised the roof several inches to accomodate this addition. I found the brackets to be pretty flimsy, but since I had purchased two kits, I had plenty of brackets to use. I doubles the brackets on the top three roof positions and that really firmed up the roof framing and made the "arches" easy to work with while installing the roof framework. I would recommend this kit for anyone who might need some help with the planning, although the plans are pretty simple and do not give a lot of detail. It is a great place to start and you can modify as needed to suit your needs. Sorry I do not have any images to share right now."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

barn/storage kit

,
August 5, 2009
By featherfather
from Northern California
"This kit is one of Northern Tools best value products! A quality result with minimal difficulty. I made mine 10 feet by 16 feet by adjusting the length of the rafters and acquiring additional brackets from the manufacturer. It is nearly impossible to not bend the metal brackets when turning the studs-trusses over to fasten them to the opposite side of the 2x4's. So I doubled the number of fasteners to provide strength. Also, I fastened a 12" 2x4 at a 45 degree angle in each upper corner of the door opening to provide lateral stability (sheer strength), then attached a metal roll-up door to eliminate the extra space required of a swinging door. These minor changes produced an extremely stable building, I highly recommend this flexible kit to one and all, very cost effective. Good luck!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Barn

,
July 20, 2009
By Anonymous
from Tahlequah, Ok
"Highly recommend this product to anyone not a carpenter. So easy to build and get done with. Easy instructions on how to put together. Me and my son built a 10x22 to store lawn equipment in."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Got by with a little help from my friends...

,
July 20, 2009
By csampsell
from Akron, OH
"The brackets bend easily if frame pieces aren't moved carefully. Took 3 people to move each piece into place. Project was completed in 2 days and I'm happy with the results."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kit, I WILL buy more in the future

,
November 17, 2008
By Remihome
from Spokane, WA
"This kit makes building a shed so easy. I bought two of them and built the 8 x 14 shed, this ends up being a two person job, but nothing difficult about it.
A couple of tips though:
1. Build the rafters on a flat solid space, preferably a garage floor, I put mine together in the ground next to the shed and they ended up being not as straight as they could have been. Still worked out OK, just didn't look as professional as I wanted it to. Also, the rafters are very flimsy until the screws are in both sides of the brackets, be careful when flipping them over. Don't worry, they stiffen up quite well once all of the screws are in place.
2. Doubling one set of rafters in the middle of the shed frame by screwing 2x4s to them give a solid location for the seam between the ends of the sheets that make up the roof, this makes it much more solid for when you are up there walking around while doing the roofing.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fast Barn Framing Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Like a Charm...

,
August 18, 2008
By Tomisnotmyrealname
from Upstate NY
"Easiest shed I've ever built. Read the instructions a couple of times before starting and it went up in one day. Cut all the 2x4's to length and put them in seperate piles...it was like an assembly line. Very Nice!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.