Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity

Item# 188212
This heavy-duty appliance truck with kick back swivel wheels for support features exceptional stair-climbing ability and auto-rewind ratchet belt tightening. Use as 2-wheel or 4-wheel position. Handle Type Double continuous flow, Toe Plate Width in. 24, Overall Width in. 24, Tire Type Mold-on rubber aluminum, Height in. 66, Load Capacity lbs. 1,200, Compatible With Vending machine, residential/commercial appliance, Toe Plate Depth in. 5, Tire Size H x W in. 8, Material Type steel, Includes Auto-rewind ratchet belt tightening. Robust steel construction for extra strength Powder-coat finish for durability Two 8in. aluminum-center rubber wheels Two retractable 4in. poly casters to support heavier loads Ideal for vending machine delivery Auto-rewind ratchet belt tightening Kick back swivel caster Easily changes to 4-way position Includes aluminum stair climbers Measures 24in.W x 14 1/2in.D x 66in.H overall Includes 24in.L x 5in.D toe plate
Average Customer Rating:
4.593 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 of 27(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good deal

,
February 6, 2014
By BusyBecca
from Newcastle, UK
"After searching for days to find a hand truck this size, that could be shipped to the UK, I'm so glad I found this one. It arrived yesterday and is nigh on perfect.
The only flaw is that the ratchet belt feels a little loose, but I can fix that myself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Appliance Truck - 1200 LB

,
February 5, 2014
By OLK391107
from Sugar Land, Texas
"Great appliance truck, my son uses it in his vending machine business to move 750 lb machines. Easy to use with the kick back swivel wheels and auto-rewind ratchet belt."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best buy

,
February 5, 2014
By doitnow1
from Effingham, SC
"I looked at a lot of hand trucks and this is the best one
I found in this price range. Great for one person moving heavy appliances.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-L

,
February 5, 2014
By Cdog98754
from Wichita falls TX
"outstanding piece of equipment, very safe way to move heavy equipment, and it's made to last, nothing it can't left, 1200 Lb"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good Appliance Dolly

,
February 4, 2014
By Blaster6
from Milwaukee, WI
"Use it to move our house hold items, including my 800 lb gun safe. Only draw back I can find is the belt system. Only 4 stars do to the ratchet system not holding at first, I had to bend the angle back on the hook a little to keep it from slipping out before you could tighten down an appliance.
Wheels are great and don't mar the carpet.
Would highly recommend to anyone.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Almost ok

,
September 25, 2013
By wctsra
from Missouri City. Texas
"I bought this dolly when I moved my household goods as well as shop Equiptment. The cinch it had was inferior in quality, had to jiggle it to get it to tighten up. Real pain. But did move large items safely once secured by straps"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great appliance truck

,
April 26, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"A very capable appliance truck. Great for moving washers/dryers, ovens, fridges. I even used it to move a big mahogany hutch. The way it's set up, it's easy to get under the legs of things and ratchet strap them back into place. I can now move things by myself that used to take 2-3 guys to move."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Appliance Dolly

,
April 23, 2013
By Doc1357
from Louisville KY
"This is one of the best heavy duty appliance dollies I have ever seen for the price. The only thing I would have improved upon would have been to add another strapping mechanism at the bottom to prevent appliances from slipping off the blade (this is the same design seen in many other heavy duty appliance dolly models)"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best appliance truck that I could find....

,
April 23, 2013
By SupraMkIV
from Houston, TX
"Years ago, when helping a friend move a gun safe, we tried using a basic hand truck. Needless to say it was destroyed in the process. After learning from my mistakes, I spent days searching online for the BEST appliance truck that I could find. I searched various stores and online retailers before finding the model that I needed HERE at Northern Tool & Equipment. I made my purchase and picked it up at my local store in order to avoid shipping charges. Overall, it was a fabulous experience from start to finish and the guys at the store were not only helpful, they also offered to load it into the bed of my truck. I'm really pleased with the fact that this product is "over-built" and full of many features that I've not even had a chance to use. I am willing to bet that it will be the ONLY appliance truck I'll ever own. Thanks... a loyal customer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only hand trucks you will ever need!

,
February 28, 2013
By NightRider327
from Ga.
"Great product. I bought these hand trucks almost a year ago and used them to move two households and 1 hobby auto repair shop. They worked very well even moving a 60 gal 300 lbs air compressor down stairs with 6 steps, as well as two full tool chests weighing around 500 lbs each. After using them to move with, I still use them now to move engines around in my shop. The strap holds very well, easy to tighten unlike some of the straps on other hand trucks. The kick out arm and rear wheels is a back saver for sure. They take all the load off of you and you can push 300 lbs around with very little effort."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

,
October 15, 2012
By bwv1
from dayton ohio
"best dolly ive ever had
have moved everything with it mostly bye myself
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A decent dolly

,
September 19, 2012
By TimSJ
from San Jose, CA
"I like this appliance dolly. It is a decent unit. I have a few quality concerns with the straps and the winding mechanism. The straps appear to be made of nylon. When lifting a 350 lb arcade game the straps stretch. Not a huge deal, but a little too much stretching. The winding mechanism works, but I'm just not sure how long it will last. For my use this dolly will work just fine. I would most likely buy another one in the future if this one holds up. Time will tell. Overall I recommend this. I just wouldn't use it for something that weighs 1000 lbs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

appliance

,
May 14, 2012
By misfit5213
from cabot, ar
"excellent product, would recommend this product to anyone who wants a well built product at reasonable price. service and delivery of product was excellent."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty Appliance Mover

,
May 14, 2012
By jlr54
from North TX
"I purchased this appliance dolly to move a 980 pound SubZero refrigerator that is one big chunk of stainless steel. It held up under load during the move and the price is low enough that renting one twice will pay for the unit, so why not buy it? I've also moved cast iron wood burning stoves, ceramic kilns, storage cabinets, small machine tools and gun safes with this unit. It's become a go-to item in my shop. The secondary trolley wheels are a life saver, letting you balance the load at a 45 degree angle while you traverse the load to it's new location.
I was a bit concerned with durability of the trolley wheels but so far they've held up satisfactorily after several months use. I'd buy it again in a heartbeat."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

,
October 10, 2011
By ArkieFarmer
from Summers, AR
"This is a well made unit. Levers and springs have appropriate ease of use and movement, not catching or jamming. There are grease zerks for the wheels, and the belts for climbing steps work as they should. My only complaint is the weight (84 lbs I think). It's stout, sure enough. But if anyone plans to use an aplliance truck like this frequently, I'd advise purchasing an aluminum version. But I got this one on sale and have been pleased. Most certainly got what was advertised and what I expected. Thanks!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good :)

,
October 10, 2011
By arcadejunkie
from Syracuse, NY
"I use this dolly to move arcade games around. Time will tell how it stands up, but it is working fine so far. I don't use it a lot, but when I need it, it can't be beat!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb

,
April 22, 2011
By tlthomas1313
from Gloversville, NY
"I bought this hand truck to move my 800 lb gun safe and this site was the cheapest I could find. I have used it to help my neighbor move to another apartment and it works great on appliances and large dressers/furnature. The kick out wheels help take off the load while moving around and the strap comes in handy. I usually buy tools that are way over-rated for the jobs I use them for, like this item, I will never have to buy another one in this lifetime. I would suggest this hand truck for anyone moving large items and it would be great for large vending machines."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy but nice

,
March 23, 2011
By ceyko
from Plano, TX
"Yes it is heavy, but you're not going to notice when moving 500+ lbs at a time. Other then that, this product works as advertised and the wheels deploy/secure really easy. As usual with these I'd like the strap to be longer, that is easily remedied with an axillary strap.
It seemed like an excellent "bang for the buck" to me. Used ones were not that much cheaper and damaged, the lower end ones were not that much cheaper and could only haul 700 lbs (I need 800 minimum) and the more expensive ones were double the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

it moved a household of big stuff

,
March 15, 2011
By steamenginesteve
from Tuba City, AZ
"The wheels, skids and tilt back are great features! The tall handles give very good leverage and the heavy gauge steel frame can take the load. This hand truck is heavy at 65# you'll know it if you let it fall over. I was not satisified with the quality of the appliance strap and its ratchet mechanism. I thought it was awkward and flimsy compared to a U.S. designed and made tie down mechanism, however it functions adequately. Overall this handtruck is a good tool to have around."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Appliance Truck - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for working alone

,
November 23, 2010
By Crgaine
from Conway, AR
"I purchased this product because I have a shop where I move things around and need the unit. Did not know I would end up using it to move my shop but due to it being big and somewhat heavier than most would prefer this was an advantage to me while moving the shop mostly by myself. I was able to load an 80 Cu ft Air compressor, a blast cabinet, large shop press, drill press and several heavy work tools by myself into an enclosed trailer, all in one morning"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.