Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity

Item# 188236
"This Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat platform truck has a a 1980-lb. capacity and features a narrow deck design that enables it to be used in confined areas. Dimensions L x W in. 60 x 16, Wheel Type Swivel caster, Shelves qty. 1, Wheel Size in. 4 4 x 4, 2 8 x 8, Includes Continuous flow handle, Material Type Steel, Total Capacity lbs. 1,980, Shelf Capacity lbs. 1,980. Narrow deck design enables use in confined areas Twin removable handles enable handling of oversized loads Deck has diamond shaped rugged steel to help prevent load from slipping off Reinforced steel frame withstands heavy-duty use Cross-braced handles are reinforced for extra strength 360 steering"
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

no mounting holes

,
May 20, 2015
By Sparky1884
from midwest
" I put 5 of the 6 wheels on the frame and when I got to the sixth one I see that no mounting holes were drilled into the frame like all the others. Didn't notice until I was at that point in the assembly. So I had to measure and drill the holes myself. So much for quality control. Fortunately, I have the skills and tools to take care of this screw up. I wonder what others do if not so equipped. If this is purchased by a business they would have to pay an employee to make it right. Once I got it together it seems like a sturdy product. The metric nuts and bolts were a little funky too. Even my metric wrenches didn't fit just right on the hexes of some of the fasteners. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality for the price!

,
May 17, 2015
By MrLavaSoap
from Kennesaw, Georgia
" The product was well-protected and unpacked in perfect condition, despite my concerns. It was easy to assemble but do yourself a favor and grab a deep socket (like the Klutch 1/4in.-Drive Socket Set — 26-Pc., Metric/Item# 41235) to speed things up. I had it done in about 15 minutes, and it was ready to go.
I quickly used it to unload freight straight off the arriving semi, and then used it for mobile storage as I reset some shelving units. What a time saver, not to mention a back saver! Using the u-boat instead of a pallet jack allowed me to move freight into tight spaces and up slopes that the pallet jack couldn't handle. Inspection after the work was done showed little to no wear and no stress on the handles. If you're going to use it on linoleum, wrap the large wheel with duct tape to keep marks down.
The welds and finish were first rate, and I am going to get 3 more to make life simple. This product could be priced $50 higher and you'd still call it a great value.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it's weight in gold.

,
March 26, 2015
By JEH2015
from Cumming, GA
" The U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck worked better for us than expected. We stacked 10-12 heavy banker boxes full of files and moved them throughout the building with ease. The wheel placement made it easy to maneuver the truck around doorways and through halls. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
March 19, 2015
By Leozepolusa
from Austin, TX
" I purchased this platform truck in order to load, transport, and store heating fire wood from outdoors in my garage. My first impression was of good heavy duty quality. Assembly was reasonably quick. The function is great. It may be that identical platform trucks sold by commercial outlets at twice the price are made better for constant daily use, but I doubt any higher quality level would justify double the cost. I expect this thing to last longer than I do. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my cart!

,
December 26, 2014
By B1413
from Durham, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" A must-have cart for the seasonal shipping I do within a small bakery that has tight access. As heavy weight was not a factor, I chose not to mount the center wheels. Very sturdy and an excellent value. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

U-Boats

,
December 23, 2014
By Jbmech
from N.Y.
" Slightly lighter guage than others costing 2-3 times as much, but you can't beat Northern for selection and service. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner

,
December 3, 2014
By CRAR
from California
" High quality and easy to assemble. With the narrow tracking and easy turning radius it is a great fit to our warehouse. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Value

,
November 17, 2014
By RJ21
from FL
" Very good value..... welds could be improved but a solid performer for the cost "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable and maneuverable at a great price

,
November 9, 2014
By Tightwarehouse
from Salem
" This is a great alternative to hauling pallets or making stacks with a 2 wheel and truck. Gets in and out of tight places but the shallow depth keeps hallways clear for passers by unlike pallets. If you need to break down pallets quickly this has the capacity to carry more per employee and the added ability to maneuver through narrow doorways. Would recommend to anyone transporting midsize packages in a warehouse or grocery type setting. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy load u-boat truck

,
April 26, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
" These are a very good truck for getting up and down narrow aisles with a heavy load. We put cases of glassware on them for transport around our warehouse. We actually don't need the full lift capacity of them so we take the middle wheels off from them so they have omni-directional steering. With the center wheels on, they stay straight/true and it's harder to get them to turn while loaded. Overall, a very capable platform. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soda Prekitting

,
August 15, 2012
By prekit
from Atlanta, GA
" This is the best valued u-boat cart I have found for prekitting, as long as you are able to pick it up from a store. The cardboard packaging is a little thin but it is a sturdy metal cart so the packaging is not a great concern. I would reccomend this cart for anyonr wanting to prekit soda's. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools U-Boat Narrow Aisle Platform Truck - 1980Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner

,
August 31, 2010
By cncrider
from illinois
" this cart is the best thing for my business .i sell firewood bundle's and
when we bundle now we just put them on the cart and load them in to the
trailor and when we get to a stop to sell them we just roll them out
and pick up the empty one and leave the full ones.save a lot of time and time
is money now day's.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.