Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"

"Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"

Item# 188245
"Open your heavy wood or steel gate easily without any sagging or dragging by installing this 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel. Spring suspension for use on uneven ground. 210-lb. capacity. Includes installation hardware. Capacity lbs. 210, Axle Diameter in. 5/8, Wheels qty. 1, Tire Size in. 8, Tire Type Pneumatic, Wheel Type Steel. 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel Spring suspension for use on uneven ground"
Average Customer Rating:
4.016 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (61 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
16
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
3
52 of 61(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Review 1 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gate Wheel

,
January 21, 2016
By
from Ladson SC
Have to modify my gate so they will work both ways.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

,
January 14, 2016
By
from Barnwell,sc
Mounted these on sliding doors to help with weight. Springs were a lot heavier than i thought and will support a lage amount of weight. This was the ideal part for job i was working on.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Bracket. Bad Wheel

,
November 30, 2015
By
from Kentucky
The bracket is well made but the tubed tire is junk. Expect to replace the wheel and tire with a solid wheel. As was stated in some other reviews, Once the wheel was changed, the Gate roller works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gate wheel

,
November 8, 2015
By
from OKC, Ok
Good suspension set up, I replaced pneumatic wheel with solid wheel and it works great now
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate Assist

,
October 30, 2015
By
from Texas
We've got a heavy 16' gate that sagged and drug the ground, this was exactly what we needed. Gate opens & closes effortlessly now. 5 stars
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
October 29, 2015
By
from West Columbia, SC
We put this on a farm gate that had soft sand on the road that you would have to pick up on the gate to move, This product works great and is easy to use.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Piece

,
October 21, 2015
By
from north carolina
Had a unit on my big heavy gate that looked like the one I bought. It was exactly what I wanted. Bolted right up. Works fine.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gate Wheel

,
July 29, 2015
By
from Whetstone, AZ
Works great. Put a solid wheel/tire on it. The AZ sun kills that pneumatic one pretty quickly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product as advertized

,
July 10, 2015
By
from Michigan
The wheel kit was easy to install and works as advertised. The spring suspension is forgiving on uneven terrain.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Offset Wheel A Major Issue For Large Livestock

,
June 29, 2015
By
from Kentucky
Understanding the rationale behind the design, I still should have anticipated that this piece - while fine for non- or small livestock producers - is not something a cattle rancher needs. Just another protusion for large cows/bulls to bend, kick, scrape, twist, etc. when milling around gated areas. Tire should be solid, not pneumatic.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made

,
June 24, 2015
By
from St Louis
This wheel didn't work in my particular application and I had to modify the bracket in order for it to swing freely where it was installed.
Over all though, the wheel is well built and should stand up to long term use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price and product.

,
June 14, 2015
By
from NC
I ordered 2 gate wheels for our heavy duty wooden gates. They are just what we needed. Now opening the gates is a breeze. Thanks for a great product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gate wheel is good Except....

,
June 8, 2015
By
from Dallas, Georgia
I recently received my new Gate Wheel and found it to be of good quality, except maybe the Rubber Tire. Every time I open my gate and the wheel swivels from wheel trailing to wheel forward, it hangs badly as the tire changes position. Having had enough of that, I figured out the best position for the wheel to track in an arc without changing positions. I tack welded the mount so the wheel will no longer swivel and it now works great. There should be a pin included with this unit so that a standard user could lock the wheel in place to avoid the problems of the wheel hanging when it changes orientation during operation.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gate Wheel needs ground clearance or shimming

,
May 12, 2015
By
from Floyd, VA
Bought 2 and can not use either. Gates must be high off ground as wheel swivel is not centered and thus, wheel hits gate unless it is below the bottom of gate.. u- bolts too short to shim out several inches to overcome the problem.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gate wheel

,
May 1, 2015
By
from arizona
installed very easy and works great,can open a 14 foot gate that otherwise would not be able to open alone.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate support wheel

,
April 20, 2015
By
from Birmingham, AL
This gate support wheel assembly is heavy duty and built very well. It arrived fast and is better than I expected! Northern Tool did us right, again! THANK YOU!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Tires

,
March 29, 2015
By
from Arcata, CA
Gate tires were exceptionally large and heavy duty. More than adequate for the double fence gate made of wood that they were put on. Easy alteration to attach to fence posts.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rolling Wheel For Gate.

,
February 12, 2015
By
from Laurens SC
Not exactly what I expected in its construction. By fitting it on a tubular gate, I had to place a wooden block in order to allow the wheel to rotate without hanging up on the gate (a Spacer) And finally had to completely imobilize the rotation of left and right for it to work properly. Plus I think it should have a solid tire instead of tubeless or tubed tire. Otherwise okay..back to the drawing board..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality component, but poor design

,
February 6, 2015
By
from vancouver island, bc, canada
Construction of the product is robust and uses good materials, but the design is fatally flawed. The wheel does not have enough clearance to turn. You have to use a large spacer block in order to achieve clearance, this causes extra stress on all the moving parts because the weight of the gate is not centered above the wheel, but several inches over. Eventually this caused failure of components. As well, there is no need for the wheel to swivel ... this makes it more complicated than required.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wheeled gate

,
December 25, 2014
By
from RI
After installing two wheels, one on each 12 foot gate, I quickly learned that I need to adjust the distance between the two gates when they are closed because the wheels touch and interfere with each other at that point. Each wheel is about 3-4 inch wide and the space between the gates when closed is about 3 inches. I plan on widening this space to allow interference free movement of the wheels when the gate is closed. Time will tell if they prove to be an improvement or a nuisance.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.