Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"

"Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"

Item# 188245
"Open your heavy wood or steel gate easily without any sagging or dragging by installing this 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel. Spring suspension for use on uneven ground. 210-lb. capacity. Includes installation hardware. Wheels qty. 1, Capacity lbs. 210, Axle Diameter in. 5/8, Tire Size in. 8, Tire Type Pneumatic, Wheel Type Steel. 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel Spring suspension for use on uneven ground"
Average Customer Rating:
3.978 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (46 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
3
39 of 46(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Review 1 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate support wheel

,
April 20, 2015
By BB7305
from Birmingham, AL
" This gate support wheel assembly is heavy duty and built very well. It arrived fast and is better than I expected! Northern Tool did us right, again! THANK YOU! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Tires

,
March 29, 2015
By CEO500
from Arcata, CA
" Gate tires were exceptionally large and heavy duty. More than adequate for the double fence gate made of wood that they were put on. Easy alteration to attach to fence posts. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rolling Wheel For Gate.

,
February 12, 2015
By Ja222
from Laurens SC
" Not exactly what I expected in its construction. By fitting it on a tubular gate, I had to place a wooden block in order to allow the wheel to rotate without hanging up on the gate (a Spacer) And finally had to completely imobilize the rotation of left and right for it to work properly. Plus I think it should have a solid tire instead of tubeless or tubed tire. Otherwise okay..back to the drawing board.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality component, but poor design

,
February 6, 2015
By ericmgt
from vancouver island, bc, canada
" Construction of the product is robust and uses good materials, but the design is fatally flawed. The wheel does not have enough clearance to turn. You have to use a large spacer block in order to achieve clearance, this causes extra stress on all the moving parts because the weight of the gate is not centered above the wheel, but several inches over. Eventually this caused failure of components. As well, there is no need for the wheel to swivel ... this makes it more complicated than required. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wheeled gate

,
December 25, 2014
By 1125
from RI
" After installing two wheels, one on each 12 foot gate, I quickly learned that I need to adjust the distance between the two gates when they are closed because the wheels touch and interfere with each other at that point. Each wheel is about 3-4 inch wide and the space between the gates when closed is about 3 inches. I plan on widening this space to allow interference free movement of the wheels when the gate is closed. Time will tell if they prove to be an improvement or a nuisance. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did what we wanted it to do, but.....

,
December 23, 2014
By nashvillerider
from Nashville, NC
" Item exactly as described. Installation was easy and only needed a couple of adjustments to make it work properly. The only drawback if you want to call it one is the tire. We replaced it with a solid rubber one since the one that came with the unit won't last long being outdoors 24/7/365. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gate Wheel

,
November 6, 2014
By Samdog1
from North Bend
" The picture of the wheel shows a gap between bracket and gate, this is important because when properly installed the wheel will not reverse or spin back in the other direction. There needs to be a spacer ( I need one three inches thick ) and long u-bolts included in the kit so the wheel reverse direction without hitting the gate! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate wheel

,
October 5, 2014
By TD07
from Wyoming
" Gate wheel very good quality and does a good job of supporting the gate "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GATE WHEEL

,
September 24, 2014
By PDK13
from CHARLESTON, WV
" THE WHEEL IS PERFECT FOR MY NEED. THE DOOR WAS HARD TO OPEN. SINCE INSTALLING THE GATE WHEEL, THE GATE IS EASY TO OPEN AND CLOSE. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
August 31, 2014
By Oz1960
from Hutchinson, KS
" The product is well built. My problem was that I needed it on gates made to keep dogs in. They are cattle gates and they have to be nearly on the ground. These wheels will not work for them as they mount too close too a low gate. They would have worked had the gate been 8" above grade. Not sure how long the tires would stay up. Usual Chinese tires. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

worked great for 9 ft. treated wood driveway gates

,
August 17, 2014
By kaline1029
from Fort Walton Bch, Fl
" A great value, it proved to be the right answer to my concerns about the weight of a 9 ft. Treated wood privacyfence driveway gate. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price.

,
July 23, 2014
By well123
from Auburn, WA
" HD 210lb wheel, that worked great for my double oversize Cedar fence gates. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New use for gate wheels

,
July 2, 2014
By jahart52
from Fombell, PA
" We purchased the gate wheels for a new use. We put them on a used trampoline that we enclosed with chicken wire around the bottom. We now have a portable chicken yard to wheel around the backyard. They work great! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gate wheel

,
June 23, 2014
By pamj
from wills point tx
" This has worked out even better than we expected, Saved me several hundred dollars and didn't have to rebuild my heavy gate. It is built well and heavy duty and I wish I had done it months earlier. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Owner

,
June 21, 2014
By Robb0711
from Selma
" I purchased this for my 10 ft. Gate into my property. It has performed as described keeping my gate straight and upright. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but not great

,
June 12, 2014
By AlexB1
from Pittsburgh PA
" If you have to attach the wheel in the middle of the gate like I did, you will find that you have to add 2-1/2 inches to the bracket. The bracket is designed for a 6" wheel and the wheel is 8-1/2 inches.
Also the u-bolts are not square and the threads (one on each bolt) were damaged. So a trip to the big box was needed.
The bracket and post themselves are fine, even a grease fitting- lol. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great concept, cheap tire

,
May 27, 2014
By brooks156
from Albuquerque, NM
" The only problem I have with this gate wheel - and this is number three - is the tire. They last about six months, and within a year, they are completely shredded. Other than that, everything else is fine, no part shortages or other failures. For the price, and the ease at which the gate glides over uneven gravel, I'll continue to buy these once a year until I find something better. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Design--but

,
May 12, 2014
By Mary98
from Iowa
" I have 2 of these I have been using for a couple of years.
The design and mechanism are good and sturdy, the wheel, however, is junky. I replaced both wheels on mine with solid rubber ones and they are now good. The original wheels lasted only a few months on both a hard use gate and a light use gate. The new wheels cost almost as much as the whole gate wheel assembly but its worth it to have them function as intended.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

What we were looking for

,
May 10, 2014
By Simp3
from Palestine, Tx
" The wheel was what we were looking for. The only thing that was wrong with it is the weak U bolts. We ended up going to a parts store to get new U bolts as the ones that came with it stripped out as we were putting it on the gate. Other that that, the wheel went on easily, and is very free moving. It is perfect for our gate. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed!

,
March 31, 2014
By Lonestar75093
from Plano, Texas
" I bought three of these wheels for my ranch gates. All three went flat and will not hold air. Nothing more frustrating than a flat tire on a country gate. This company needs to put FLATLESS tires on this product. The pneumatic tires are worthless! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.