Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"

"Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"

Item# 188245
"Open your heavy wood or steel gate easily without any sagging or dragging by installing this 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel. Spring suspension for use on uneven ground. 210-lb. capacity. Includes installation hardware. Axle Diameter in. 5/8, Capacity lbs. 210, Tire Size in. 8, Tire Type Pneumatic, Wheel Type Steel, Wheels qty. 1. 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel Spring suspension for use on uneven ground"
Average Customer Rating:
3.975 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (40 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
3
34 of 40(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Review 1 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gate Wheel

,
November 6, 2014
By Samdog1
from North Bend
" The picture of the wheel shows a gap between bracket and gate, this is important because when properly installed the wheel will not reverse or spin back in the other direction. There needs to be a spacer ( I need one three inches thick ) and long u-bolts included in the kit so the wheel reverse direction without hitting the gate! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate wheel

,
October 5, 2014
By TD07
from Wyoming
" Gate wheel very good quality and does a good job of supporting the gate "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GATE WHEEL

,
September 24, 2014
By PDK13
from CHARLESTON, WV
" THE WHEEL IS PERFECT FOR MY NEED. THE DOOR WAS HARD TO OPEN. SINCE INSTALLING THE GATE WHEEL, THE GATE IS EASY TO OPEN AND CLOSE. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
August 31, 2014
By Oz1960
from Hutchinson, KS
" The product is well built. My problem was that I needed it on gates made to keep dogs in. They are cattle gates and they have to be nearly on the ground. These wheels will not work for them as they mount too close too a low gate. They would have worked had the gate been 8" above grade. Not sure how long the tires would stay up. Usual Chinese tires. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

worked great for 9 ft. treated wood driveway gates

,
August 17, 2014
By kaline1029
from Fort Walton Bch, Fl
" A great value, it proved to be the right answer to my concerns about the weight of a 9 ft. Treated wood privacyfence driveway gate. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price.

,
July 23, 2014
By well123
from Auburn, WA
" HD 210lb wheel, that worked great for my double oversize Cedar fence gates. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New use for gate wheels

,
July 2, 2014
By jahart52
from Fombell, PA
" We purchased the gate wheels for a new use. We put them on a used trampoline that we enclosed with chicken wire around the bottom. We now have a portable chicken yard to wheel around the backyard. They work great! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gate wheel

,
June 23, 2014
By pamj
from wills point tx
" This has worked out even better than we expected, Saved me several hundred dollars and didn't have to rebuild my heavy gate. It is built well and heavy duty and I wish I had done it months earlier. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Owner

,
June 21, 2014
By Robb0711
from Selma
" I purchased this for my 10 ft. Gate into my property. It has performed as described keeping my gate straight and upright. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but not great

,
June 12, 2014
By AlexB1
from Pittsburgh PA
" If you have to attach the wheel in the middle of the gate like I did, you will find that you have to add 2-1/2 inches to the bracket. The bracket is designed for a 6" wheel and the wheel is 8-1/2 inches.
Also the u-bolts are not square and the threads (one on each bolt) were damaged. So a trip to the big box was needed.
The bracket and post themselves are fine, even a grease fitting- lol. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great concept, cheap tire

,
May 27, 2014
By brooks156
from Albuquerque, NM
" The only problem I have with this gate wheel - and this is number three - is the tire. They last about six months, and within a year, they are completely shredded. Other than that, everything else is fine, no part shortages or other failures. For the price, and the ease at which the gate glides over uneven gravel, I'll continue to buy these once a year until I find something better. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Design--but

,
May 12, 2014
By Mary98
from Iowa
" I have 2 of these I have been using for a couple of years.
The design and mechanism are good and sturdy, the wheel, however, is junky. I replaced both wheels on mine with solid rubber ones and they are now good. The original wheels lasted only a few months on both a hard use gate and a light use gate. The new wheels cost almost as much as the whole gate wheel assembly but its worth it to have them function as intended.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

What we were looking for

,
May 10, 2014
By Simp3
from Palestine, Tx
" The wheel was what we were looking for. The only thing that was wrong with it is the weak U bolts. We ended up going to a parts store to get new U bolts as the ones that came with it stripped out as we were putting it on the gate. Other that that, the wheel went on easily, and is very free moving. It is perfect for our gate. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed!

,
March 31, 2014
By Lonestar75093
from Plano, Texas
" I bought three of these wheels for my ranch gates. All three went flat and will not hold air. Nothing more frustrating than a flat tire on a country gate. This company needs to put FLATLESS tires on this product. The pneumatic tires are worthless! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made!!!!!!!!!!

,
February 4, 2014
By 22dog
from Watertown,TN.
" Easy to assemble and install on gate. Keeps the gate from sagging and loosening the post the gate is hooked too! I am happy with this product!!!!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install

,
February 4, 2014
By Orthodox
from Berea, WV
" This is a well built and easy to install gate wheel. My gate is 12' wide and my gravel driveway is not level and it rolls right along. If you need one, buy it now. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Check right away

,
January 25, 2014
By NGP1
from Texas
" Check your order right away. The u-bolts were missing on my order. The packaging was secure and not damaged so I'm assuming it came from the manufacturer as such "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gate Wheel is Worst Thing I've bought from Norther

,
October 18, 2013
By jfhdfbedbnjr
from Tennessee
" Brilliant Concept / Poorly executed
Really good idea that just wouldn't work for me. Out of the box, one tire was nearly flat, and one wheel was bent. I checked back to the website, and though I can't find it now, I'm sure that I saw "since this is a wear item, there is no warranty". I spent a lot counting tax and shipping for a bunch of scrap metal.
I finally modified one of them that wouldn't clamp tight to my 1 3/4 " tube gate by using a pair of 1/5/8" muffler clamps and drilling new holes in the gatewheel frame. That was lots better as far as gripping the gate. One bearing fell apart after 5 or 6 uses. I'm in the process of taking them off now, and will go back to propping the gate on a rock when fully open or fully closed, and just let it swing on the hinges in between . This pair of gate wheels is the ONLY Northern Tools product that I wasn't satisfied with, but boy what a disappointment!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasted my money

,
September 25, 2013
By njfarm
from NJ
" Bought about 10 of these thinking I could replace the small wheels on my pipe gates. These are probably o.k. on concrete or hard flat surfaces but NOT on grass and uneven ground. They kept twisting around no matter how tight the bolts are installed. We tried everything to make them work. I'm now trying to figure out what to do with them. Costly mistake. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate wheel

,
September 17, 2013
By jdu52
from Twin Falls ID.
" Great product ! I bought two of these and mounted them on two eight foot wood gates. They roll well on concrete and gravel. Mounting them was a breeze. I would highly recommend this product to anyone with a heavy gate that is long. These are built well and should last a good long time. Really like the grease cert on these. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.