Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"

"Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"

Item# 188245
"Open your heavy wood or steel gate easily without any sagging or dragging by installing this 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel. Spring suspension for use on uneven ground. 210-lb. capacity. Includes installation hardware. Wheels qty. 1, Capacity lbs. 210, Axle Diameter in. 5/8, Tire Size in. 8, Tire Type Pneumatic, Wheel Type Steel. 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel Spring suspension for use on uneven ground"
Average Customer Rating:
3.942 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (52 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
3
43 of 52(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Review 1 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Offset Wheel A Major Issue For Large Livestock

,
June 29, 2015
By NoSoup4U
from Kentucky
" Understanding the rationale behind the design, I still should have anticipated that this piece - while fine for non- or small livestock producers - is not something a cattle rancher needs. Just another protusion for large cows/bulls to bend, kick, scrape, twist, etc. when milling around gated areas. Tire should be solid, not pneumatic. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made

,
June 24, 2015
By FLS348
from St Louis
" This wheel didn't work in my particular application and I had to modify the bracket in order for it to swing freely where it was installed.
Over all though, the wheel is well built and should stand up to long term use.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price and product.

,
June 14, 2015
By Micke
from NC
" I ordered 2 gate wheels for our heavy duty wooden gates. They are just what we needed. Now opening the gates is a breeze. Thanks for a great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gate wheel is good Except....

,
June 8, 2015
By Bill829
from Dallas, Georgia
" I recently received my new Gate Wheel and found it to be of good quality, except maybe the Rubber Tire. Every time I open my gate and the wheel swivels from wheel trailing to wheel forward, it hangs badly as the tire changes position. Having had enough of that, I figured out the best position for the wheel to track in an arc without changing positions. I tack welded the mount so the wheel will no longer swivel and it now works great. There should be a pin included with this unit so that a standard user could lock the wheel in place to avoid the problems of the wheel hanging when it changes orientation during operation. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gate Wheel needs ground clearance or shimming

,
May 12, 2015
By BlueRidgeWill
from Floyd, VA
" Bought 2 and can not use either. Gates must be high off ground as wheel swivel is not centered and thus, wheel hits gate unless it is below the bottom of gate.. u- bolts too short to shim out several inches to overcome the problem. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gate wheel

,
May 1, 2015
By billie22
from arizona
" installed very easy and works great,can open a 14 foot gate that otherwise would not be able to open alone. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate support wheel

,
April 20, 2015
By BB7305
from Birmingham, AL
" This gate support wheel assembly is heavy duty and built very well. It arrived fast and is better than I expected! Northern Tool did us right, again! THANK YOU! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Tires

,
March 29, 2015
By CEO500
from Arcata, CA
" Gate tires were exceptionally large and heavy duty. More than adequate for the double fence gate made of wood that they were put on. Easy alteration to attach to fence posts. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rolling Wheel For Gate.

,
February 12, 2015
By Ja222
from Laurens SC
" Not exactly what I expected in its construction. By fitting it on a tubular gate, I had to place a wooden block in order to allow the wheel to rotate without hanging up on the gate (a Spacer) And finally had to completely imobilize the rotation of left and right for it to work properly. Plus I think it should have a solid tire instead of tubeless or tubed tire. Otherwise okay..back to the drawing board.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality component, but poor design

,
February 6, 2015
By ericmgt
from vancouver island, bc, canada
" Construction of the product is robust and uses good materials, but the design is fatally flawed. The wheel does not have enough clearance to turn. You have to use a large spacer block in order to achieve clearance, this causes extra stress on all the moving parts because the weight of the gate is not centered above the wheel, but several inches over. Eventually this caused failure of components. As well, there is no need for the wheel to swivel ... this makes it more complicated than required. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wheeled gate

,
December 25, 2014
By 1125
from RI
" After installing two wheels, one on each 12 foot gate, I quickly learned that I need to adjust the distance between the two gates when they are closed because the wheels touch and interfere with each other at that point. Each wheel is about 3-4 inch wide and the space between the gates when closed is about 3 inches. I plan on widening this space to allow interference free movement of the wheels when the gate is closed. Time will tell if they prove to be an improvement or a nuisance. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did what we wanted it to do, but.....

,
December 23, 2014
By nashvillerider
from Nashville, NC
" Item exactly as described. Installation was easy and only needed a couple of adjustments to make it work properly. The only drawback if you want to call it one is the tire. We replaced it with a solid rubber one since the one that came with the unit won't last long being outdoors 24/7/365. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gate Wheel

,
November 6, 2014
By Samdog1
from North Bend
" The picture of the wheel shows a gap between bracket and gate, this is important because when properly installed the wheel will not reverse or spin back in the other direction. There needs to be a spacer ( I need one three inches thick ) and long u-bolts included in the kit so the wheel reverse direction without hitting the gate! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate wheel

,
October 5, 2014
By TD07
from Wyoming
" Gate wheel very good quality and does a good job of supporting the gate "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GATE WHEEL

,
September 24, 2014
By PDK13
from CHARLESTON, WV
" THE WHEEL IS PERFECT FOR MY NEED. THE DOOR WAS HARD TO OPEN. SINCE INSTALLING THE GATE WHEEL, THE GATE IS EASY TO OPEN AND CLOSE. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
August 31, 2014
By Oz1960
from Hutchinson, KS
" The product is well built. My problem was that I needed it on gates made to keep dogs in. They are cattle gates and they have to be nearly on the ground. These wheels will not work for them as they mount too close too a low gate. They would have worked had the gate been 8" above grade. Not sure how long the tires would stay up. Usual Chinese tires. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

worked great for 9 ft. treated wood driveway gates

,
August 17, 2014
By kaline1029
from Fort Walton Bch, Fl
" A great value, it proved to be the right answer to my concerns about the weight of a 9 ft. Treated wood privacyfence driveway gate. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price.

,
July 23, 2014
By well123
from Auburn, WA
" HD 210lb wheel, that worked great for my double oversize Cedar fence gates. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New use for gate wheels

,
July 2, 2014
By jahart52
from Fombell, PA
" We purchased the gate wheels for a new use. We put them on a used trampoline that we enclosed with chicken wire around the bottom. We now have a portable chicken yard to wheel around the backyard. They work great! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gate wheel

,
June 23, 2014
By pamj
from wills point tx
" This has worked out even better than we expected, Saved me several hundred dollars and didn't have to rebuild my heavy gate. It is built well and heavy duty and I wish I had done it months earlier. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.