Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"

"Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"

Item# 188245
"Open your heavy wood or steel gate easily without any sagging or dragging by installing this 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel. Spring suspension for use on uneven ground. 210-lb. capacity. Includes installation hardware. Capacity lbs. 210, Wheels qty. 1, Axle Diameter in. 5/8, Wheel Type Steel, Tire Size in. 8, Tire Type Pneumatic. 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel Spring suspension for use on uneven ground"
Average Customer Rating:
4.03 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (67 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
18
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
3
58 of 67(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Review 1 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Partial endorsement

,
May 12, 2016
By
from TX
This gate wheel will not operate properly when installed as depicted in the website photograph. It works fine when positioned as it is in the photo, but push the gate and pivot the wheel around and the wheel then hits the gate and stops the gate from moving. The bottom of the gate must be high enough up from the ground to allow the wheel to pivot around and go under the gate in order to let the wheel continue to roll and not block the gate.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gate wheel

,
May 11, 2016
By
from Mo
Easy to install and works ok for now. I wish it had been made in America though. Price was low considering.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 1, 2016
By
from Coon Rapids, MN
This product did exactly what it said it would do. Holds the gate up great and rolls easy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is a heavy duty wheel

,
April 19, 2016
By
from boca raton, fla
When I picked up the box i was awed at the weight. This one heavy wheel. The suspension spring is stiff enough for a few hundred lbs. Wheels rolls of holes and ridges
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Gate Wheel

,
March 17, 2016
By
from IN
I purchased 2 of these for my 12 foot gates. I know how gates can sag over time so i put these on my gates when they were new. The first thing i done was to paint them because i am certain without paint they would rust. They have been installed for over a month with no problems.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in

,
March 7, 2016
By
from Apopka, FL
Before I received this product, the gate that I was using was very hard to open. After installing product (which was extremely easy), the gate opens so easy! Very simple installation that a total beginner can easily do!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gate Wheel

,
January 21, 2016
By
from Ladson SC
Have to modify my gate so they will work both ways.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

,
January 14, 2016
By
from Barnwell,sc
Mounted these on sliding doors to help with weight. Springs were a lot heavier than i thought and will support a lage amount of weight. This was the ideal part for job i was working on.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Bracket. Bad Wheel

,
November 30, 2015
By
from Kentucky
The bracket is well made but the tubed tire is junk. Expect to replace the wheel and tire with a solid wheel. As was stated in some other reviews, Once the wheel was changed, the Gate roller works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gate wheel

,
November 8, 2015
By
from OKC, Ok
Good suspension set up, I replaced pneumatic wheel with solid wheel and it works great now
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate Assist

,
October 30, 2015
By
from Texas
We've got a heavy 16' gate that sagged and drug the ground, this was exactly what we needed. Gate opens & closes effortlessly now. 5 stars
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
October 29, 2015
By
from West Columbia, SC
We put this on a farm gate that had soft sand on the road that you would have to pick up on the gate to move, This product works great and is easy to use.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Piece

,
October 21, 2015
By
from north carolina
Had a unit on my big heavy gate that looked like the one I bought. It was exactly what I wanted. Bolted right up. Works fine.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gate Wheel

,
July 29, 2015
By
from Whetstone, AZ
Works great. Put a solid wheel/tire on it. The AZ sun kills that pneumatic one pretty quickly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product as advertized

,
July 10, 2015
By
from Michigan
The wheel kit was easy to install and works as advertised. The spring suspension is forgiving on uneven terrain.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Offset Wheel A Major Issue For Large Livestock

,
June 29, 2015
By
from Kentucky
Understanding the rationale behind the design, I still should have anticipated that this piece - while fine for non- or small livestock producers - is not something a cattle rancher needs. Just another protusion for large cows/bulls to bend, kick, scrape, twist, etc. when milling around gated areas. Tire should be solid, not pneumatic.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made

,
June 24, 2015
By
from St Louis
This wheel didn't work in my particular application and I had to modify the bracket in order for it to swing freely where it was installed.
Over all though, the wheel is well built and should stand up to long term use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price and product.

,
June 14, 2015
By
from NC
I ordered 2 gate wheels for our heavy duty wooden gates. They are just what we needed. Now opening the gates is a breeze. Thanks for a great product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gate wheel is good Except....

,
June 8, 2015
By
from Dallas, Georgia
I recently received my new Gate Wheel and found it to be of good quality, except maybe the Rubber Tire. Every time I open my gate and the wheel swivels from wheel trailing to wheel forward, it hangs badly as the tire changes position. Having had enough of that, I figured out the best position for the wheel to track in an arc without changing positions. I tack welded the mount so the wheel will no longer swivel and it now works great. There should be a pin included with this unit so that a standard user could lock the wheel in place to avoid the problems of the wheel hanging when it changes orientation during operation.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gate Wheel needs ground clearance or shimming

,
May 12, 2015
By
from Floyd, VA
Bought 2 and can not use either. Gates must be high off ground as wheel swivel is not centered and thus, wheel hits gate unless it is below the bottom of gate.. u- bolts too short to shim out several inches to overcome the problem.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.