Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01

Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01

Item# 188245
Open your heavy wood or steel gate easily without any sagging or dragging by installing this 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel. Spring suspension for use on uneven ground. 210-lb. capacity. Includes installation hardware. Axle Diameter in. 5/8, Wheels qty. 1, Capacity lbs. 210, Tire Size in. 8, Wheel Type Steel, Tire Type Pneumatic. 8in. pneumatic rubber gate wheel Spring suspension for use on uneven ground
Average Customer Rating:
3.926 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
22 of 27(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Review 1 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed!

,
March 31, 2014
By Lonestar75093
from Plano, Texas
"I bought three of these wheels for my ranch gates. All three went flat and will not hold air. Nothing more frustrating than a flat tire on a country gate. This company needs to put FLATLESS tires on this product. The pneumatic tires are worthless!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made!!!!!!!!!!

,
February 4, 2014
By 22dog
from Watertown,TN.
"Easy to assemble and install on gate. Keeps the gate from sagging and loosening the post the gate is hooked too! I am happy with this product!!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install

,
February 4, 2014
By Orthodox
from Berea, WV
"This is a well built and easy to install gate wheel. My gate is 12' wide and my gravel driveway is not level and it rolls right along. If you need one, buy it now."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Check right away

,
January 25, 2014
By NGP1
from Texas
"Check your order right away. The u-bolts were missing on my order. The packaging was secure and not damaged so I'm assuming it came from the manufacturer as such"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gate Wheel is Worst Thing I've bought from Norther

,
October 18, 2013
By jfhdfbedbnjr
from Tennessee
"Brilliant Concept / Poorly executed
Really good idea that just wouldn't work for me. Out of the box, one tire was nearly flat, and one wheel was bent. I checked back to the website, and though I can't find it now, I'm sure that I saw "since this is a wear item, there is no warranty". I spent a lot counting tax and shipping for a bunch of scrap metal.
I finally modified one of them that wouldn't clamp tight to my 1 3/4 " tube gate by using a pair of 1/5/8" muffler clamps and drilling new holes in the gatewheel frame. That was lots better as far as gripping the gate. One bearing fell apart after 5 or 6 uses. I'm in the process of taking them off now, and will go back to propping the gate on a rock when fully open or fully closed, and just let it swing on the hinges in between . This pair of gate wheels is the ONLY Northern Tools product that I wasn't satisfied with, but boy what a disappointment!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasted my money

,
September 25, 2013
By njfarm
from NJ
"Bought about 10 of these thinking I could replace the small wheels on my pipe gates. These are probably o.k. on concrete or hard flat surfaces but NOT on grass and uneven ground. They kept twisting around no matter how tight the bolts are installed. We tried everything to make them work. I'm now trying to figure out what to do with them. Costly mistake."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate wheel

,
September 17, 2013
By jdu52
from Twin Falls ID.
"Great product ! I bought two of these and mounted them on two eight foot wood gates. They roll well on concrete and gravel. Mounting them was a breeze. I would highly recommend this product to anyone with a heavy gate that is long. These are built well and should last a good long time. Really like the grease cert on these."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate Wheel

,
April 23, 2013
By Dacp03
from chickasha, Oklahoma
"Product very adaptable for different ways of usage. Easy to to attach to just about anything"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gate Wheels

,
January 18, 2013
By nuve
from Rockford, IL
"Purchased 2 of these gate wheels for a wood fence. After 7 months the shaft broke and the bearings fell out on one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Way more than i expected for price

,
December 6, 2012
By CICOwner2012
from Enid oklahoma
"I got this product to install on a customers fence, It came on time and was more than i expected for what little money i spent on it. However when i received the box it had a couple holes in it and one of the bolts that hold wheel on tire to rim was missing the lock washer and nut to hold it in place. I am giving this a 5 star rating because it is such an awesome deal. I plan to buy one of these for every gate i build. This product can also be installed on a wood gate but it comes with u-bolts for pole gate installation. Versatility and sturdy construction make this a must have for any gate longer than 5 foot. Thank you for reading my review."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Support

,
October 16, 2012
By IYQ2
from OH
"Used product for six month, no problems at all.
No more load on post.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solid product

,
October 15, 2012
By FarmerGal
from West Tawakoni, TX
"Great gate wheel. Have tried several others, this one is the best in terms of features and quality."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gate Wheel with Spring

,
October 8, 2012
By joe666
from Brooklyn, NY
"Excellent products, heavy duty for heavy gate. Roll out easily even old a gate."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unexpected

,
October 8, 2012
By Odin55
from Narragansett,RI
"The gate wheel with suspension works better than expected. My son and I had built a fence with a driveway through the middle of it . We needed a gate wide enough to accommodate his car and realized that the power company may also need access. Sixteen feet was the proposed opening we needed, of coarse that meant two eight foot gates. We used an angle set stationary wheel on one of the gates because most of the gate swung over a nice black top drive, the other gate swung over uneven ground and this is where your suspension wheel worked unexpectedly. We leveled the unit, plumbed it, bolted it to the fence (quickest and easiest part of the job). It road up and down as it followed the uneven terrain and the fence remained level, the wheel swiveled when the fence went from open to closed each time, it also kept the fence from sagging. There were smiles every where. it has worked perfectly ever since installation. Great product!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
October 8, 2012
By Hen2
from Birmingham, AL
"It took me a while to get the wheel properly affixed to my gate because it opened over uneven terrain and a cattle gap. Once I got it properly located on the gate, it worked very well. Definitely recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a good purchase

,
October 8, 2012
By Dave76
from Crowley, LA
"I purchased the wheel to help support a 10ft wooden gate I recently built. The wheel supports the gate beautifully. Of course it is made for a metal so I had to make an adapter to ensure wheel clearance. The only drawback is there is no way to adjust the tension on the spring without moving the entire wheel assembly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gate wheel

,
August 18, 2012
By richierich1
from Carmel, NY
"Gate wheel keeps post from moving.., and works smoothly and without a hitch...love it!!! made with quality materials and i think it will last!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect Gate

,
August 14, 2012
By metroman
from Mountain Home Idaho
"I purchased this Gate Wheel with Suspension to fix a heavy sagging RV gate I build a few years back. The hardware made it easy to adapt to my gate and the swivel wheel has made my gate easy to operate. I would highly recommend this gate wheel!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREATEST INVENTION ON THE PLANET!

,
August 13, 2012
By Flcountrygrl
from Lake Worth, FL
"My son installed a new gate for my fence and did it crooked. Nothing worked to make it shut with ease, until I found this gate wheel. He put it on and WOW, the gate now works GREAT. Even the grandkids can open and close the gate."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gate Wheel with Suspension - 210-Lb. Capacity, 8in. Pneumatic Tire, Model# CT-GW01
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gate wheel

,
August 13, 2012
By Smokeys427
from Texas
"Wheel will only fit a small diameter pipe fence and will NOT rotate to clear the fence properly when opening or closing. Now, If you have the professional welding equipment it can be made to work like I had to do but would not recommend it for a heavy cattle fence. other wise the wheel it self is good and strong"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.