Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8

Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8

Item# 189418
Save both time and money with reliable, bulletproof solid polyurethane tires. Flat-free tires keep your equipment rolling over the toughest conditions any jobsite can throw at you, eliminating costly and inconvenient flat tires. These flat-free tires are non-marking and have the bounce and feel of pneumatic tires without ever getting flat. Blue color helps easily identify your trouble-free, flat-free portable equipment. Load handling characteristics are similar to air-filled tires, except now troublesome flat tires are a thing of the past. This is the perfect replacement tire for residential wheelbarrows and carts - performs like an air tire with NO FLATS Lightweight, solid polyurethane tire is mounted onto a heavy-duty 8in. steel rim, with 3in. symmetrical hub, 3/4in. bearings and grease fitting. Rim Included Yes, Bore Diameter in. 3/4, Bearings Included Yes, Tread Type Ribbed, Rim Size in. 8, Outside Diameter in. 15.5, Tire Size 15.5 in. x 4.80/4.00-8, Load Capacity lbs. 450, Grease Fittings Yes, Hub Width in. 3, Tire Type Flat free.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Review 1 for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 4, 2014
By Craig036
from Garland, Tx 75041
"I used to constantly have to fix flat tires on my wheel barrow and portable welder carts.
No more. Never have to fix a flat again. These wheels are well worth the money, especially if you can catch them on sale."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware of early bearing failure

,
June 2, 2013
By twk7974
from Beaver Island, MI
"Tires do not go flat but bearings in both of mine went after about 6 months of use around the house. Notice that you can buy replacement bearings however also notice they are sold out and back ordered- in all axle sizes. Sounded suspicious to me so I connected with the chat help and was informed they are sold because they are a "big seller" and considered a "wear item". In all my years of cart and wheelbarrows, never had a bearing failure. These 5 star ratings must be either lucky or do use their wheels.. No satisfaction here. So if you purchase, ordre a few sets of extra bearings."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tire

,
April 27, 2013
By Mrfixitall
from nort Texas
"Perfect replacement from the original tire. Best part about this tire is they took the time to put a grease fitting so the bearings can be maintained."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

,
August 14, 2012
By DFakes
from Raleigh, NC
"Tire/Wheel conbination works well. Carry a load without issue and no more squeaks from the old bushing center hubs thanks to the greasable bearings."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

flat free tire

,
May 14, 2012
By andyjeff
from west spfld., mass.
"I wish I had bought these years ago. Easy to install and work perfectly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wheel barrel wheel

,
May 7, 2012
By tim374
from Greensboro, nc
"Good replacement, worked well for me. Easy to install on my old well used frame."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tired of having flat tires?

,
January 9, 2012
By DoySneck
from Hagerstown, MD USA
"Tired of having 'flat tires' when you need a wheelbarrel, Mower or cart? These are the solution!!! Many sizes available to fit almost any application!! They work well and are not 'too hard'. Very good product and it sure is nice to never have flats anymore. Also, Northern carries replacement bearings if you ever need them!!
You will need tire size, shaft diameter and length for proper selection and fit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great replacement

,
October 19, 2011
By ShadetreeofMI
from Portland, MI
"I bought these for my dad's cart he pulls behind his lawn mower. He would buy new tires ever year because they would lose air and come off the rims. Now he hasn't had a problem with the trailer. Worth the extra money to replace with flat free tires."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tire

,
June 6, 2011
By whocareswhoiam
from Fayetteville, GA
"I use my wheelbarrow around the house very seldom. The tire was always flat when I needed it. I happened to be in my local Northern Tool store and discovered the solid airless tire. It is the answer. Now I never walk out to my wheelbarrow and see a flat tire. I also seem to use it more!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marathon flat free cart tires

,
June 6, 2011
By spankyII
"I have owned the same garden cart for 25 yrs, i've used it clearing, sodding, and tending to the yards of three different homes. I could not keep tires inflated or prevent them from dry rotting, it was a constant battle to keep my cart operational until these flat free tires came along....best money i ever spent on yard equipment. I highly recommend these tires...!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Marathon Tires Flat-Free Wheelbarrow and Cart Tire, 15.5in. x 4.80 / 4.00-8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marathon Flat-Free Tire

,
August 23, 2010
By Grampy
from West Wareham, MA
"I bought 2 tires for my garden trailer and they are great. I don't worry about what I am driving over and I can carry a heavier load than with the tires that came with the trailer. I highly recommend them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.