Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar

Item# 190557
Powerhorse™ chain saws from Northern Tool are engineered to meet the demands of both professionals and homeowners. Powerhorse chain saws deliver power and durability, supported by extensive field testing, elevating technology to a new level of performance. Chain Saw Type: Gas, Engine Displacement (cc): 45, Chain Pitch (in.): .325, Bar Length (in.): 18, HP: 2, Engine Speed (RPM): 2,800, Fuel Capacity (oz.): 18.5, Oil Pump Flow: Automatic, Chain Brake: Yes, Primer Bulb: No, Low Vibration Handle: Yes, Case Included: No 2 HP, 45cc 2-cycle engine Oregon bar and chain WALBRO carburetor EPA approved 2800 RPM idling speed Easy start system Lightweight Shock absorption system For felling and delimbing 2-stroke engine oil and chain oil not included
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 18(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Review 1 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can't resist for the money but.....

,
March 6, 2011
By Greenmtnboy
from Northern VT
"I needed another saw to complement my Stihl MS 290 for logging and firewood tasks on my 40 acre homestead in Northern VT. Agonized over buying this saw the whole time it was on sale, read and reread the reviews. Finally just couldn't resist what appears to be a decent home owner saw at a very decent price. Especially since I didn't want to spend $200+ on another Stihl or a Husky!
So far I'm not disappointed. Put it together, fueled and oiled it, and it started right up with a couple of tugs. But I only ran it long enough to make sure it ran and cut (i.e.-one tank of gas) We still have over 2 ft of snow on the ground. The true test will come this spring. We lost about 30 + trees in a Fall wind storm. They are in the 12" to 24" dia range about 30+ ft long. Cherry, maple, ash and pine. This saw will get a work out as soon as the snow melts. Will report back on long term performance and reliability.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

disapointed

,
January 12, 2011
By pats241281
from northern, vermont
"very disapointed with the bar and chain, it was a small tooth and bar was smaller then what would be on a husky not in length but up and down,
the bar and chain in the pick above looks like a nice ruged bar but one you get even though its made by oregon its not the best bar they make must be the cheapest bar its sumthen you expect to be on a pouline saw, so other then the bar and chain saw isnt to bad its what you get for the money its a homeowners saw and not even close to a professional use, also wasnt happy with the shipping i oredered it on a monday and didnt even ship till friday!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

well worth the money

,
January 1, 2011
By Anonymous
"also have a stihl saw same size only drawback is stihl had a 56cc motor and powerhorse had a 45cc other than that great saw. primary use is for cutting rr ties into cord wood for outdoor woodburner. outdoes the stihl easly, less maintaince and easier all around"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job - Good performer

,
December 1, 2010
By itswhatido
"This is a good performer for a consumer class saw. The 45cc is the one to buy. For the price, this saw does a very respectable job. Working alongside the Husquvarna 450, this saw did more work for me. I would like to say it was my expert skill, but the actual credit goes to the saw."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saw for the money!

,
November 29, 2010
By scotty2hotty
from Tennessee
"I had been looking at many saws before I made my purchase. I thought for quality I was going to have to fork over $300-$400 for a Stihl or Echo saw. After reading some reviews for the Powerforce I thought I would give it a try. To my surprise it has turned out to be a good saw. I had 7 trees to cut down. Two of the trees were about 30" in diameter. It did a very respectable job on them. My friend had brought over his Stihl 18" Farm Boss saw, so we compared them. They had the same gauge chain on them...a whopping ".325" and the Powerforce has a healthy Oregon "double" bar to support it. The main difference between the saws was the engine size. The Stihl had a 56cc and the Powerforce a 45cc engine. That being said, you just had to let the Powerforce eat the wood at its own pace and it was just fine. It really did a good job cutting the trees I had. I must say it was considerably better than the third saw that showed up to help out, which was a Poulan 18". It had a wimpy "skinny" chain on it and only a 40cc engine. It did ok on the branches and stuff, but for the same price range the Powerforce is a much better cutter. All in all, I would recommend the Powerforce to any skeptical buyer. I think it will do great for the occasional home use, even on the larger trees. As far as reliability goes, time will tell. I plan on using it a lot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great chainsaw

,
November 23, 2010
By jrvet
"This chainsaw is the most powerful and fastest I've had. It is very easy to start and cuts like crazy. This is a man's chainsaw!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive

,
November 17, 2010
By nhfarmer
from NC
"I was a little skeptical about this saw, but after seeing in the manual it would turn 12K RPM's i decided to give it a try and so far its been really good, very powerful, starts super easy and cuts great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

oiler

,
August 30, 2010
By Moose373
from Hampden, ME
"The saw is great with one exception - the oiler with maximin output doesn't put out enough oil for an 18 inch bar when using the saw in sustained firewood cutting. I have had to frequently hand oil the chain and bar."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerhouse Chainsaw

,
June 3, 2010
By bluesky67
from MOSCOW TN
"EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR A LITE USE CHAIN SAW. MORE POWER IS NEEDED FOR EVERYDAY LOGGING WORK. THE WEAR AND TEAR CUTTING DOWN LARGE TREES IS REALLY HARD ON A CHAIN SAW."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

COMPARE AND YOU'LL BUY

,
June 1, 2010
By JTDRAFTER
from CULLMAN,AL
"I bought this saw after messing around with a POULAN for a year or so and i have nothing bad to say about it. Compare it with an ECHO and you'll find that they're about the same but the Powerhorse is at least $100 cheaper. I'm a big fan of ECHO products but I'm glad I bought this saw instead. You'll be glad you bought it as soon as you use it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One hungry saw

,
May 31, 2010
By armyzoff
from Lake Texoma, Oklahoma
"I bought this online, it arrived in just over a week, ready to eat some trees.
PROS: I use it mostly to cut old dead & dying Oak trees at which it does an outstanding job, never bogs down, has plenty of power and big enough gas tank to last most of the day.
CONS: Leaks oil when not in use; no user instructions included in the box, box wasn't sealed properly for shipping via UPS; Oiler is marked on the housing but there isn't an oiler lever so I guess it's automatic.
Two of my neighbors have bought this saw from Northern Tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
HeRoze
 
Please wait while more information about HeRoze is loaded.
Additional information about HeRoze could not be loaded.
oiler
December 8, 2010
"there's a little screw near the markings you see... close to the sprocket."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar

,
May 24, 2010
By Dorien
from Byhalia, MS
"I live on a farm and have purchased all sorts of equipment, some of which did not meet my expectations. I am pretty picky and not easily impressed, however this Powerhorse chainsaw has performed better than any chainsaw I've ever owned. It starts easily and goes through trees like butter. It's weight and balance are great. I've only had it for two months, don't know how long it will last but so far I'm happy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse 18" Chainsaw

,
February 16, 2010
By bigfishlon
from South Louisiana
"I ran many poulan saws for years, and the problem with these saws is the primer bulb. They never last very long. Read the reviews on the Powerhorse Chainsaw and for the price I decided to buy it. Have cut down a number of oak and cedar trees with it and have no complaints. The saw starts easily with no priming and has plenty of power for felling large trees and ssectioning them up. This saw is worth the money and then some. I'm very happy with my purchase. Thanks Northern for selling such a great product.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

need some quality control

,
December 28, 2009
By OkieZeke
from NW Arkansas
"I heat with wood, and cut 3-4 cords a year. Been using a 14" saw and needed something bigger.
I bought the powerhorse 18" and it was delivered with half the bar protruding from the box. Assembled OK, but instructions never did say what to do with the plastic block that comes under the sprocket cover(discard) Started right up, but no power to cut.
I adjusted the carb per directions, but still no power. Called tech support and they said they would send me another saw. Later, disassembled saw and choke linkage was installed wrong so choke was always partly on.
Saw #2 arrived in a week. Had no air filter and rubber fitting over carb adj screws had no holes, so had to disassemble to adj carb. Second saw did run better, but still not much power. Would stall from weight of bar on oak log, and had to baby it along to keep cutting. Would probably be OK with a 14" bar, but not the 18" in oak.
After problems with both saws I kind of lost confidence in the product. If assembly and packing were this shoddy, worried that overall quality was also low, so I sent both saws back and bought a higher price 51CC which runs like a dream.
Great customer service from the folks at Northern."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price...great chainsaw

,
November 2, 2009
By DocMathews
from Panaca, Nevada
"I just purchased this 18" chainsaw and am very pleased with the unit. It has great power and is capable of cutting the juniper wood we use in our fireplace. The pirce is great and the saw works very well. It is rather bare-bones, but has and does everything I need."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse 45cc chainsaw

,
November 2, 2009
By buck316
from Morganton, N.C.
"I bought this chainsaw as a beginner for my grandson. I didn't really expect a lot for the price. I was really surprised when I started it the first time. I didn't have to adjust the carb at all. I cut the drags down to app. .040 to allow the teeth to get a bigger bite and the saw is powerful enough to pull it . I own a Husqvarna that I always use for the biggest trees but the Powerhorse is so light , easy to use and has enough power to handle all the normal size trees I cut that I use it unless my grandson is helping me. I was a timber cutter for about 15 yrs. and this would have been a very good trim and small tree saw. It is really good for cutting firewood, [yard and farm work] The Powerhorse 45 starts easy,is light,easy to service,and the chain adjuster is neat. I have been showing this saw to my friends. If the durability matches the performance , this chainsaw is a real bargain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Saw

,
October 15, 2009
By firewoodcutter
from Missouri
"I bought this saw for myself because I do alot of cutting of firewood for friends and family for some extra income. So far I am amazed with this saw. Let it be known their is some fine tuning with this saw to get it to its optimal cutting ability. I also own a bored sach-dolmar which is a cutting machine and having this powerhorse saw it almost keeps up with it. Right out of the box with the chain and bar it comes with this saw is great. For the money you just can't go wrong! Its a great saw without having to pay the money for one of the top brands. I currently only own one at the time and I am such a firm believer in this saw I'm planning on buying another one for a backup saw."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Powerhorse Chain Saw — 45cc, 18in. Bar
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Of the Best

,
July 14, 2009
By puncho
from Victoria Va.
"this saw have great cutting power,handles great,easy start,that is a must in the woods,an you don`t be tried before start cutting,I just had to say that twice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.