Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames

Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames

Item# 19056
"This Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode is a lightweight, solar-powered, high-impact nylon helmet designed for both welding and grinding applications. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area allows you to see more of the workpiece at once. The lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Plus, the helmet acts as a protective shield when grinding by preventing the lens from darkening. Meets ANSI Z87.1-2003/CSA Z94.3 standards. Packed with a host of features comparable to the leading brands at a fraction of the cost. Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Fit Yes, Low Battery Indicator Yes, Grind Mode Yes, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Product Type Welding helmet, Power Supply Solar, Auto Darkening Yes, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Grinding, Variable Shades 9-13, CSE/CE Standard Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, Battery Included Yes, 2 AAA, Arc Sensor qty. 2. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens with 2 replaceable AAA batteries Excellent lower amperage TIG responsce &ge5 Amps High-level, quality LCD ensures the welding spot appears more clearly and protects your eyes from fatigue after extended use 2 independent arc sensors Variable shades 9-13 auto-darkening with sensitivity and delay adjustment Adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Stylized flame graphics Includes extra lens, AAA batteries and low-battery alarm ANSI/CSA approved"
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (88 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
87 of 88(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD HELMET/GOOD PRICE

,
January 6, 2016
By
from PHILA.,PA.
THIS WELDERS HELMET IS THE BEST ONE I EVER OWNED. LIGHTWEIGHT , EASY TO USE AND WELL WORTH THE PRICE.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto darkening Welding Helmet

,
November 29, 2015
By
from Northern Maine
This is one of the best investments I have ever made. Welding has always been difficult for me. The problem is being unable to get accurate positioning when starting and maintaining the arc.
This helmet eliminated the problem and changed my welding capability from dismal to successful.
I highly recommend this helmet to others having the same difficulty.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value for the weekend warrior

,
November 24, 2015
By
from Burke, VA
Overall, this product exceeded my expectations. I've used this on and off for over a year and am just as happy with my purchase now as when I received it. The headband is comfortable. The viewing port is adequate (more would be better, but at this price point, is good). Battery life has far surpassed what I would have expected. Adjustability of sensitivity, darkness, and delay is also better than expected. I also like having a 'test' mode to ensure it is working before I actually strike an arc. I also like that it comes with one replacement protective lens (and more are readily available, Item #23108). It is lightweight plastic, so it isn't going to cause fatigue -- but that lightweight plastic offers no impact protection and would likely melt if globs were to drop from working overhead. Overall, I give it a 4 out of 5. If you are a weekend warrior, this is a great compromise between cost vs protection.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done.

,
October 27, 2015
By
from Crisfield Md.
Decent welding helmet with basic head gear. Functions like it's supposed to and no complaints after 6 months of use. Nice looking and easy to use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Weekend warrior duty

,
September 8, 2015
By
from Indiana
For the price this is a great helmet for an avid MIG homeowner/welder. It is light, AAA battery replacement, and auto darkening. The head band is 3 way adjustable.
But if you stick weld with a lot of amps or overhead weld this helmet shows its faults. Heavy sparks and flying or dripping molten metal will destroy this helmet; IT'S ALL PLASTIC! Even the threaded headband bolts are nylon.
For the occasional bench project, it's worth a try. If you want a helmet that lasts, save up your money for a fiberglass shell with a GLASS protective faceplate.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice hood

,
August 21, 2015
By
from miami
really nice for the price haven't try any other
little slow reaction
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto darkening helmet

,
August 12, 2015
By
from California
Got this to go with the new welder I purchased. Helmet seems to be quality construction and I like the fact it has a grinding option - very happy with product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

,
July 31, 2015
By
from Monmouth, Oregon
I bought this helmet because of the Grinding Mode it had available. So far the helmet fits nicely, works very well, and has not disappointed. We will have to see how well it holds up to student use over the next season or two. My past "budget" helmets have not held up so well, and the nicer more expensive ones only held up slightly better because students didn't want to damage the "expensive" helmet.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding helmet

,
July 9, 2015
By
from San Jose, Ca
Just starting out with welding and this helmet works great. At first was not sure what was going to happen when i first started to weld if my eyes were really protected but after the first strike, wow it works and it works great!! After a few adjustments i'm able to see what i'm welding a lot better.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Full feature and options list

,
June 23, 2015
By
from Chattanooga, TN
There are a number of helmets available in this price range.
What sets this model apart is operation at low amperage. That allows you to weld thin metal.
The option that I like is the full set of magnifying lenses and lens covers on the rack next to the helmets. My instructor says that you can't weld it if you can't see it.
One caution is the shape of the helmet. It's not as long as more expensive commercial models. You have to cover your torso to avoid welder's tan anyway. The drape just has to come farther up.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good buy

,
June 23, 2015
By
from Rural Texas
This is very good auto darkening hood for the money. Visibility is great and the on/off response time is fine. I needed a hood that works well, but not too expensive to have to worry about it getting beat up. This is it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great helmit for price

,
May 12, 2015
By
from canfield, Oh
Fits great, responds great to flash, for price it can't be beat.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good!

,
April 22, 2015
By
from Midwest
I bought this helmet to replace a slower reaction helmet (1/20,000). This was a noticeable improvement. So far, so good!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
April 21, 2015
By
from Punxsutawney,PA
I purchased this helmet when I bought my welder. It looks great but performs even better. I purchased it for odd jobs here around the farm and it does the job. It took a few adjustments before I had the shading set right, I started too dark. A great price for a great helmet.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding helmet

,
April 17, 2015
By
from idaho
Short period of use (about 20 hrs). Have recommended to fellow welders as a good buy for the features. Looked at much more expensive hoods with very similar features. If it has good long life (yet to be seen) I will say that it is a really good hood. The only feature I would like to have that it does not is the ability to install a cheater lens as my eyes are not young. Do not need the flames but had no choice.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Outstanding value

,
March 29, 2015
By
from Southern California
You cannot buy a better helmet for the price. Comfortable and fast response time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As good as any other

,
March 9, 2015
By
from Minot, ND
I am behind mine 40 hours a week as a production welder, and used this as a fabricator before that.
I bought mine 4 years ago and it shows its age, especially as it has become my standard helmet, it's replaced my Jackson, Forney, and Speedglas on a day-to-day basis.
As long as you replace both the inner and outer protective lenses regularly, it is a clearer view than both the Jackson and speedglas, but it's still the (albeit very light with this one) green tint, when you need a really good view I use my Forney with the yellow tint, or just a plain #11 gold fixed shade.
Batteries last a long time, even HF cheapos last months, don't bother using the rechargeables, they aren't worth the aggravation of them losing power from sitting between uses, or from extreme temperatures.
I beat, batter, and abuse this thing, I wear it all day and smack it on overhead bars, toss it in the back of the truck, and throw it onto hot parts when I take it off for a break.
Would I recommend this helmet? Dang right I would.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recharge?

,
February 28, 2015
By
from Manteno,Il.
Great product for the price. Looks and works great. Only concern is if the solar panel is supposed to recharge the batteries, why do they send non rechargeable alkaline batteries? I will invest in some ni-cads to correct this oversight.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding

,
February 23, 2015
By
from Hardin, Mt
Great helmet does everything advertised. Great for welding and grinding. Protects the eyes very well and still lets you see what your doing.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Black with Flames
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet

,
February 11, 2015
By
from Atlanta Ga
Tinting adjustments are great. I've had no problem with adjusting it to tint properly if room lighting is in front or behind me. Visibility is very good when adjusted properly. Skull harness adjustments hold well and are comfortable.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.